Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ID Mobile - Closing down April 6th

• Registered Users Posts: 20,836 ✭✭✭✭cormie

My sister is on ID and can't get 3G/4G working at all so has no data, I'm suspect that it may be her phone settings that have it turned off but it's hard to direct her what options to go to without knowing the phone or OS, she doesn't know herself :(

Is there a chance it may be ID I wonder? It's too late to ring them now, but do they usually send MMS and data details or how would it work I wonder?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,802 ✭✭✭DopeTech

cormie wrote: »
    My sister is on ID and can't get 3G/4G working at all so has no data, I'm suspect that it may be her phone settings that have it turned off but it's hard to direct her what options to go to without knowing the phone or OS, she doesn't know herself :(

Is there a chance it may be ID I wonder? It's too late to ring them now, but do they usually send MMS and data details or how would it work I wonder?

Assuming she's not in ballygobackwards its just her APN settings need tweaking. They were posted further back in the thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 647 ✭✭✭jonny_b

I could get LTE two days ago but no 3G or edge with the correct APN settings. After contacting customer care they got it sorted for me and rang me to let me know it should be working and sure enough it was

• Registered Users Posts: 20,836 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Thanks a lot for the replies, I'll have a look for the APN settings.

johnnyb, any idea what they may have done to resolve the problem?

Thanks a lot for the replies, I'll have a look for the APN settings.

johnnyb, any idea what they may have done to resolve the problem?

No idea I'm afraid.. I didn't do anything on my end. It was a strange one really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

Am moving over from 48 tomorow once I pay for the sim on a deal, just wondering are the iPhone apn/internet settings sent too you or do you manually instal them?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,080 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

MrMac84 wrote: »
    Am moving over from 48 tomorow once I pay for the sim on a deal, just wondering are the iPhone apn/internet settings sent too you or do you manually instal them?

I didn't get sent any settings but all you need to do is put in 'internet' in for APN and that's it.

• Registered Users Posts: 823 ✭✭✭dave oc

Aquos76 wrote: »
    Mine seems to be working fine, have you gone into messages settings and verified that it's sending from 2 addresses, your email and your number, and in the option below the 2 addresses you have your number ticked in the option to "start new conversations from"?

Meant to reply yesterday that I got iMessage working. I had it set up and activated on mine correctly, the girlfriends phone wasn't activating for a while so couldn't properly test it. Eventually after many restarts and turning iMessage off/on its activated on both now.

Tech support mentioned an issue with activation, so it's probably just network teething issues. All's good now for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

Question lads has anyone been able too register a guest list sim in the last day or so?

MrMac84 wrote: »
    Question lads has anyone been able too register a guest list sim in the last day or so?

Guest list registration window is closed. Too late.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Called into the Carphone Warehouse Yesterday and the knowledge of the girl working there to be pretty bad.

I'm finding the network pretty good. Customer care are a bit inexperienced but they will get better in time. A few seem to be new to telesales too but I won't hold it against them. Better Irish than a call centre in India full of ignorance and even yawning on the phone

• Registered Users Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

jonny_b wrote: »
    I'm finding the network pretty good. Customer care are a bit inexperienced but they will get better in time. A few seem to be new to telesales too but I won't hold it against them. Better Irish than a call centre in India full of ignorance and even yawning on the phone

I agree with that. Very helpful and patient.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭StaticNoise

I'm going to post my thoughts on iD Mobile here as I keep personal opinions separate from MoolaMonkey.

The scene
    I've got an early-bird deal with Three. I am on 3Pay, paying €20 per month, with a bonus €10 credit given to me. I have the All You Can Eat 4G, with free weekend calls, and the like. I've also got a registered and paid-for iD SIM Card with the Friends and Family deal on it. I've been registered for two months now and I've not ported my number.

Three are not without problems, but there are a few things that I would love to see on iD before I moved. They're nothing major, but they're nice to have.

Things I'd like iD to have

Google Play Store - Carrier Billing

This is something that Three got a number of years ago, and I find it dead handy. Sure, it's not as relevant when you have a credit card or bank account tied to a Bill Pay account, but it is great to have when you're on Pay as you Go. If iD had the ability to buy apps, music, and everything in between on the Google Play Store and add it to my bank account/monthly bill, I'd be a very happy man.

Roaming - Three Like Home

OK, so roaming will be phased out in a few months, but Three still have a pretty good offer. iD currently have no specialised roaming arrangements, and their charges are just pegged at the price set by the EU directive. Not ideal. If I got to Italy or the UK on Three, I can use as much internet as I want. I can receive calls as much as I like. I can be fairly close to my normal usage, abroad. And without cost. iD don't have this. Yes, their UK counterpart have such services available, but if they ever do come here, it'll be some time from now.

Also, an official stance was that iD will be focusing mainly on calls to and from the US and Australia, as most 'Irish young people are over there'. Not ideal. Surely holidaymakers would prefer access to and from a destination rather than those who have been forced to emigrate (not that I'm blaming them).

Customer Care

Yes, Three's customer care is not the most efficient of stress-free in the world. Some have an issue with the call centre being based in India, and most just find it frustrating that it is heavily scripted and requires a lot of patience- but I personally think that they're fine. OK, I shouldn't have to rely on using Boards to explain a problem to a customer care agent, but it's not the worst. For the price I'm paying, it's grand.

The best thing is that I can call them anytime, day or night, and someone will answer. iD Mobile have restricted hours, and they're open from 10am to 6:30pm, which isn't great. I'm not saying to go 24/7, like Three, but maybe even from 7am to 10pm, and at least open on a Sunday. It is early days, so I will give them a chance.

These are just a few of the little niggles that are holding me back from porting to iD. Personally, I want to- but I am worried about losing these key features when moving to a good network. So far, I've paid around €35 for services I haven't used, just to keep the option to move open.

iD, it's your move.

I'm going to post my thoughts on iD Mobile here as I keep personal opinions separate from MoolaMonkey.

The scene
    I've got an early-bird deal with Three. I am on 3Pay, paying €20 per month, with a bonus €10 credit given to me. I have the All You Can Eat 4G, with free weekend calls, and the like. I've also got a registered and paid-for iD SIM Card with the Friends and Family deal on it. I've been registered for two months now and I've not ported my number.

Three are not without problems, but there are a few things that I would love to see on iD before I moved. They're nothing major, but they're nice to have.

This is something that Three got a number of years ago, and I find it dead handy. Sure, it's not as relevant when you have a credit card or bank account tied to a Bill Pay account, but it is great to have when you're on Pay as you Go. If iD had the ability to buy apps, music, and everything in between on the Google Play Store and add it to my bank account/monthly bill, I'd be a very happy man.

OK, so roaming will be phased out in a few months, but Three still have a pretty good offer. iD currently have no specialised roaming arrangements, and their charges are just pegged at the price set by the EU directive. Not ideal. If I got to Italy or the UK on Three, I can use as much internet as I want. I can receive calls as much as I like. I can be fairly close to my normal usage, abroad. And without cost. iD don't have this. Yes, their UK counterpart have such services available, but if they ever do come here, it'll be some time from now.

Also, an official stance was that iD will be focusing mainly on calls to and from the US and Australia, as most 'Irish young people are over there'. Not ideal. Surely holidaymakers would prefer access to and from a destination rather than those who have been forced to emigrate (not that I'm blaming them).

Customer Care

Yes, Three's customer care is not the most efficient of stress-free in the world. Some have an issue with the call centre being based in India, and most just find it frustrating that it is heavily scripted and requires a lot of patience- but I personally think that they're fine. OK, I shouldn't have to rely on using Boards to explain a problem to a customer care agent, but it's not the worst. For the price I'm paying, it's grand.

The best thing is that I can call them anytime, day or night, and someone will answer. iD Mobile have restricted hours, and they're open from 10am to 6:30pm, which isn't great. I'm not saying to go 24/7, like Three, but maybe even from 7am to 10pm, and at least open on a Sunday. It is early days, so I will give them a chance.

These are just a few of the little niggles that are holding me back from porting to iD. Personally, I want to- but I am worried about losing these key features when moving to a good network. So far, I've paid around €35 for services I haven't used, just to keep the option to move open.

iD, it's your move.

Customer care is 8am-8pm

• Registered Users Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭jgbyr

jonny_b wrote: »
    Customer care is 8am-8pm

Has it changed? I rang last week with an enquiry & got a recorded message saying it's 10 to 8.

• Registered Users Posts: 472 ✭✭CVB

Here is a handy guide of understanding your First Bill :

My First iD Bill :
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PRNALNFP21I

iD care team : 8am to 8pm - 7 days a week
    Call : 089 7001747

Hi, question for anyone who has ported over their number. I ported mine over last week but I'm not able to get into My ID, it throws up a message that my number is not on their system yet. Is this happening for everyone else?

Would like to have a way to check my remaining data etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭Curb Your Enthusiasm

FrostyJim wrote: »
    Hi, question for anyone who has ported over their number. I ported mine over last week but I'm not able to get into My ID, it throws up a message that my number is not on their system yet. Is this happening for everyone else?

Would like to have a way to check my remaining data etc.

Yep, happens to me too. So annoying. It only works once you get your first bill. Stupid system.

Techmaster wrote: »
    Yep, happens to me too. So annoying. It only works once you get your first bill. Stupid system.

I'm just worried as I signed up mid month that I wouldn't have been given the full data allowance and therefore may have went over. Without being able to log in there's no 100% accurate way of knowing.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Are they also using the designation 089?

My iD has not fully launched as of yet . Customers will receive a text with a link to access a part of my iD to view their bills only as this is the only feature working as of now . Where a bill has been processed for your account then customers be able to see bills as other full account information & access is not fully launched / not setup - still in finalising stages , you can view your bills through a link in text message when you get a text saying bill is ready . Hope this helps

iD mobile provides customers with an 089 Prefix mobile number .

CVB wrote: »
    My iD has not fully launched as of yet . Customers will receive a text with a link to access a part of my iD to view their bills only as this is the only feature working as of now . Where a bill has been processed for your account then customers be able to see bills as other full account information & access is not fully launched / not setup - still in finalising stages , you can view your bills through a link in text message when you get a text saying bill is ready . Hope this helps

I'm happy with the deal i'm on but it just seems like something they should have in place for when people start using the service regardless of whether they have fully launched or not. Did they not launch last week or the week before?

Do you have any estimate on when myid will be functional? Or is there a short code you can text to get your balance?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭StaticNoise

The scene

Customer Care

iD, it's your move.

Anyone got any thoughts on this? Obviously customer care has been spoken for.

• Registered Users Posts: 590 ✭✭✭Toxica

Any way to order a phone online without having to go in-store to collect and pay?

To find out your remaining usage for now until MyiD will be fully launched, just give a call to your iD care team and the team will be happy to help you.

iD care team : 089 700 1747

CVB wrote: »
    To find out your remaining usage for now until MyiD will be fully launched, just give a call to your iD care team and the team will be happy to help you.

iD care team : 089 700 1747

It took me two calls to get ported over. The first one disconnected after 17 mins on hold and then I got through after about 10-15mins on the second attempt. That's ok though as I imagine they are out the door with queries/ports at the moment. It's not really a handy way of checking your balance with wait times like those.

Blimey, I wasn't getting these speeds on 3. Well done iD.

ahLFxADl.png

• Registered Users Posts: 275 ✭✭retweet

I was looking at their T&C regarding upgrades, it seems if you want an upgrade early, you can pay off what you owe for your current device and then upgrade to a new device and pay for that every month.

or am I wrong?