Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hoping to buy

Options
  • 29-07-2015 9:17pm
    Registered Users Posts: 778 ✭✭✭

Hi guys,
    need a little advice. I'm in the process of trying to buy the house I've been renting for for the last nearly 8 years. Yesterday I made an offer that the landlords considered fair. They said though that the furniture would be separate which is fair enough, but they want 5k for it. Bearing in mind that it has all been here since before I moved in so due to depreciation and natural wear and tear I don't think it is worth that. So I'm tempted to tell them that I don't want it and that they can take it.
    The thing I want advice on though is that when she was talking about the furniture and how it was worth 5k she specifically mentioned the shower. I would have thought that the shower would be an essential fixture in the house. There is only the one bathroom and it only has the shower no bath. Are they entitled to include the value of it in the price of the furniture?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭MouseTail

Entitlement doesn't come into it. Houses are sold sometimes without bathroom fittings, kitchens etc. This is a private sale and it really is up to the two parties to negotiate what is and isn't included in the sale. I would get everything in writing rather than just verbal agreements.

• Registered Users Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Littlefinger

MouseTail wrote: »