Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Louis theroux

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Watched the LA story one on abandoned dogs and watching the Thai Brides one now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Just watched the wrestling one after reading some of the comments here. Not one of his more interesting ones (for me) but very funny :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭seenitall

And his cousin is Justin Theroux - actor, director, and fiance of Jennifer Aniston :D

Husband, as of yesterday - or so the reports say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,958 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

There's a really good podcast of an interview with Louis from around 2 wks ago.It's an interview from Richard Herrings Leister Square Theatre podcasts. It gives a good insight into what happened during and after some of his best docs...and he's just really funny and enjoyable to listen too. I've rarely heard a long interview with him so I'd definitely recommend it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Isn't the really ****ed up stuff becoming increasingly the norm though?

It would depend on what your definition is of "really ****ed up stuff" is though, tbf.

Video on Demand has taken over from DVD sales now and Vivid are still the biggest adult production company around but yet Vivid have always been notoriously vanilla. The fact that they are the biggest and richest, or at least one of the biggest, is just why you won't see much of their stuff on the tube sites, as Vivid can afford to sue the likes of PornHub if they refuse to remove clips when requested.

Whereas, scumbag porn companies that produce the FaceF**king/Bashing semi consensual kind of stuff, with girls crying/puking, will be uploaded, shared and torrented all day, every day because the companies that produce that crap, won't sue and can't sue. They won't even request those sites to remove the clips as they know they would be wasting their time. Instead they make sure they use huge watermarks instead and that way at least they are getting advertising whilst their being pirated.

All this low end context freely being shared online then gives the impression that that is by and large the majority of what's been made today, but it really isn't. I'm not saying that there isn't other rough sex stuff out there that is high budget, there is. Evil Angel, Stagliano's Buttman, Kink etc etc are all producing rougher style porn but they are all in the game a long long time and they will only hire girls who have a genuine desire to shoot that style of scene. Porn stars like Sandra Romain and Fashionistas would be a good example of such a film and I believe it is one of the highest budgeted adult films of all time in fact.

It's worth bearing in mind also, that porn is pretty east to get into for young girls and by it's very nature it is going to attract girls (and men) who have issues and may even getting into porn as an easy way to fund a drug habit or two. Then when suddenly they get a little fame and it becomes clear that they are have problems, it's all too easy to point the finger at the porn industry and say look what you did. Look at Traci Lords of a good example of that. She faked ID just so she could make films and so it's not always the case that a porn girl with problems has her problems because she is in porn. Quite often, and I would suggest in the majority of cases in fact, they had they problems long before they knocked on an adult entertainment agency's door.

Vivid were also the company that paid Kim Kardashian $1m for her sex tape by the way and now as a result, a few women that have had a little fame from shows like MTV's Teen Mom are making tapes with porn stars like James Deen, starting rumours that the tapes exist, going on Dr.Phil to say that they made them for "personal reasons" and that they have no intention of selling them. You couldn't make it up. Course, they do sell them, usually for around a million dollars. Here's the latest chancer. Not that I blame them. Nice work if you can get it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

Mr.Plough wrote: »
    Have his momma sendin me money. Check out under my name I got to have you.

Man was cold as ice

This is the guy your referring to, I remember him well from that Miami Mega Jail show.... not a very pleasant individual to put it mildly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭ger vallely

Just finished watching his Edge Of Life episode. Amazingly beautiful show to be a part of. That's how good I feel it was. It was very delicately dealt with and I felt Louis really connected with the patients, their families and the medical staff. I almost feel this episode would be a great one to show in secondary schools (if teenagers were different and didn't take the piss) . It might help show the privilege life is and the very delicate balence it teethers on. Well done Louis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

nelly17 wrote: »
    Does anyone know if the Scientology crowd are still following him around?

And on that topic, any idea with it will be available for us to watch. Should be a cracker.

• Registered Users Posts: 497 ✭✭Darkest Horse

"I was in Birmingham, Alabama.........."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

He just married Jennifer Aniston.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

mad muffin wrote: »

No he didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭SouthernBelle

mad muffin wrote: »
    That would be Louis' cousin, Justin Theroux.

Love Louis' documentaries and can't wait for the Scientology one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Vandango

I love all his work and how he handled Saville was masterful.

• Registered Users Posts: 172 ✭✭sinead88

Louis Theroux. His documentaries on the Westboro Baptist Church are fantastic. Any of ye who are interested in his Scientology documentary should watch "Going Clear" by HBO. I watched it a while back and it's really good. It's really easy to find online.

'Beyond Belief' by Jenna Miscavige-Hill is a must read for those interested in the inner workings of the CoS. Jenna is the niece of the leader of Scientology.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

I love his work and his disarming style. He always covers great topics. The Weird Weekends material was fantastic. He makes compelling documentaries that will make you think but will give you a bit of a laugh as well. I remember during the swinging documentary (think it was part of Weird Weekends series) Louis asking the swinging party host who claimed she was really comfortable about swinging if he could ask the checkout girl in the supermarket to the party. The awkwardness :D

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

He also wrote a book to accompany the original series of Weird Weekends where he goes into further depth about each case featured. I found it very interesting.

I love his work and his disarming style. He always covers great topics. The Weird Weekends material was fantastic. He makes compelling documentaries that will make you think but will give you a bit of a laugh as well. I remember during the swinging documentary (think it was part of Weird Weekends series) Louis asking the swinging party host who claimed she was really comfortable about swinging if he could ask the checkout girl in the supermarket to the party. The awkwardness :D

By the end of that episode it there was a distinct impression that the wife wasn't into the swinging as much as the husband was.

This is the guy your referring to, I remember him well from that Miami Mega Jail show.... not a very pleasant individual to put it mildly.

The thing that disturbed me was that when that inmate said "The Game Ain't Based on Sympathy", the black female prison guards all agreed and chimed in and said "Never, never".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

By the end of that episode it there was a distinct impression that the wife wasn't into the swinging as much as the husband was.

Ya, her husband was way more into it than she was. She seemed to be sat out in the hallway all night taking money while her husband was off doing God knows what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭wolfyboy555

I thought "edge of life" one was very good!

For what it's worth I think Louis is actually more ballsy than he lets on to be in among those inmates. I would be sh*tting myself, but I think he is a tall guy which gives him an immediate head start plus he must pre-prepare himself to look those guys square in the eye and not show fear. That plus the knowledge that the guards must protect him means he is able to ask all of the questions that are worth asking.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

anewme wrote: »
    His Jimmy Seville documentary was excellent, both fascinating and scary at the same time. Powerful stuff

Just finished watching ....what a wierdo!

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    Just finished watching ....what a wierdo!

Have you seen the 'A Place for Paedophiles' documentary Theroux did? Chilling but incredible viewing. Well worth a watch if you haven't seen it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

The thing that disturbed me was that when that inmate said "The Game Ain't Based on Sympathy", the black female prison guards all agreed and chimed in and said "Never, never".

The American prison system is a murder machine, an absolute blight on the country. When will they cop on and realize they're spending billions of dollars creating massive finishing schools for sociopaths. Never mind the hundreds of thousands of mostly minority non violent (initially at least) drug offenders that must go through that hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,050 ✭✭✭nokia69

Yurt! wrote: »
    The American prison system is a murder machine, an absolute blight on the country. When will they cop on and realize they're spending billions of dollars creating massive finishing schools for sociopaths. Never mind the hundreds of thousands of non violent, mostly minority non violent (initially at least) drug offenders that must go through that hell.

Louis has made a few prison documentaries and all of the people he talked to looked like they deserved to be behind bars

I think the american system is far better than ours where scumbags can do crazy things and never get send down

nokia69 wrote: »
    Louis has made a few prison documentaries and all of the people he talked to looked like they deserved to be behind bars

I think the american system is far better than ours where scumbags can do crazy things and never get send down
    Both systems are bad, period. It's not a question of one being better than the other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

Im not sure about that, there was an inmate interviewed whos crime was driving while his license was suspended. He had been beaten up by 10 other inmates the night before. Seems very harsh that he was made share a cell with violent prisoners and subjected to violent assault for no other reason than 'thats the code'.

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

I've watched a few - the best one being on Saville. The Nevada brothel one was pretty good too. I think I'll watch a few more tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 824 ✭✭✭setanta1984

"I'm Louis Theroux, I'm Louis Theroux........................."

• Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭IrishAlice

Didn't Baz Ash-whatshisname have a go at being him for a bit?

Yea I think he did a couple of seasons. They actually weren't half bad considering it was by RTE.

The two I remember the most were when he went out with fishermen from Wexford deep sea fishing and when he went away with the army on a peace keeping mission.

Louis is great, the one about the town addicted to crystal meth is fascinating. The Miami mega jail one was really interesting too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Both systems are crap.

Prison should aim at rehabilitating people, if you don't try to rehabilitate them then you may as will kill them because they'll either come out worse than they went in or you have to pay to keep them in prison for the rest of their lives.

Or you could just put them on an island with a limited amount of resources, put cameras everywhere and license the whole thing to Sky™

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

For what it's worth I think Louis is actually more ballsy than he lets on to be in among those inmates. I would be sh*tting myself, but I think he is a tall guy which gives him an immediate head start plus he must pre-prepare himself to look those guys square in the eye and not show fear. That plus the knowledge that the guards must protect him means he is able to ask all of the questions that are worth asking.

If you skip to about 17:30 minutes into this he meets this skinhead and the way it ends is so weird genuinely Louis was ballsy to not say if he was Jewish or not to him.
    I thought "edge of life" one was very good!

Genuinely one of the most upsetting documentaries I have watched the scenes with that guy Javier. Jesus that gets the tears going every single time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Prison should aim at rehabilitating people, if you don't try to rehabilitate them then you may as will kill them because they'll either come out worse than they went in or you have to pay to keep them in prison for the rest of their lives.

And what if it doesn't take? What if the person in question doesn't want to be rehabilitated?

Alcohol and drug rehab programs, for instance, have a roughly 5-10% success rate and there would be a lot of overlap between people attending these and people who are/have been in prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

And what if it doesn't take? What if the person in question doesn't want to be rehabilitated?

Alcohol and drug rehab programs, for instance, have a roughly 5-10% success rate and there would be a lot of overlap between people attending these and people who are/have been in prison.

Sticking everyone into the same cage regardless of the type of crime and then giving them terrible food and an absence of any form of society is certainly not going to improve their situation.

Would make more sense to have them do some productive things in prison like gardening or to perhaps learn a craft.

People that commit crime don't think about going to prison, they only think about not getting caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭TomBtheGoat

PandaPoo wrote: »
    I love him. I'd watch anything he does, and even if I don't think its a subject I'll be interested in I always end up enjoying it.

The same here and no matter what the subject matter, I always find anything with him in it, is compelling viewing for me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

People that commit crime don't think about going to prison, they only think about not getting caught.

......so that they don't end up in prison.

So, yes, they do think about going to prison and know it is a risk they want to mitigate or otherwise they wouldn't care about getting caught.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Good interview with Theroux, talks in depth about his shows with Saville and Clifford

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2DnUUkvGoGs&index=2&list=LL3-PV2-PM9jH1QuF24cdNOw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,050 ✭✭✭nokia69

sonofenoch wrote: »
    Good interview with Theroux, talks in depth about his shows with Saville and Clifford

and Simon Cowell LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Louis' documentary on Scientology is to premiere on 14th October at the London Film Festival :):):)

Source
    The BFI London Film Festival announced today that among the films it has selected for its 59th year will be My Scientology Movie, the highly anticipated BBC-backed Louis Theroux feature that will premiere on October 14.

Produced by Oscar-winner Simon Chinn and directed by John Dower, the film is presented by Theroux, who has made a career out of gently coaxing amazing interviews out of people in some of America’s strangest subcultures. And while he was filming this movie he became the target of Scientology’s camera-wielding crazies, as we reported last December.

In one incident, former Scientology executive Mark “Marty” Rathbun was filming scenes with Theroux at a Hollywood studio when, as they were exiting, they were ambushed by two older Scientologists carrying handheld cameras.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Sunflower 27

Love him and actually have a crush on him!! Brilliant at reading people and just really enjoyable to watch. The one with the KKK guys was very good. I also liked the mail order brides one.

If you have Netflix, there are loads of his documentaries on there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭SouthernBelle

sinead88 wrote: »
    Louis Theroux. His documentaries on the Westboro Baptist Church are fantastic. Any of ye who are interested in his Scientology documentary should watch "Going Clear" by HBO. I watched it a while back and it's really good. It's really easy to find online.
    It started on Sky Atlantic +1 at 10pm.

• Registered Users Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Reiver

Legend.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

Seems to work in Norway. When people go to jail there, they usually only go once. Whereas in the US 76% of criminals released from prison are re-arrested within 5 years.

http://uk.businessinsider.com/why-norways-prison-system-is-so-successful-2014-12?r=US&IR=T