Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How old are you and what do you do?

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭koriko

It is uplifting to hear about your job teaching kids. We were all there at some stage and you are the representative of those who led us through our learning lives. Kudos.

As for the bold bit quoted, you are right there too.

You need to write a book about this.
    You 'took early retirement' - I smell another teacher in the house :-)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

42 and work as an IT consultant.

Most of the time it's similar to herding cats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

7, household pet, CEO of a multi billion dollar corporation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

ConM96 wrote: »
    I'm 19 and going into my third year in college. Future Maths Teacher.

So you started college at 16 ish? Whoa!

One and one is two, two and two is four.

I can manage that and a bit beyond. But Pythagorus' Theorem, and all those ovals seeping into each other in sets kinda got me in the end?

But never mind. Each to their own.

As you can see, I have this awe for ANYONE who gets maths. Well done. We need you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 803 ✭✭✭jungleman

I run an unsuccessful shrimp company.

I love shrimp. And it's hard to get good shrimp. I want to know more about your company. Where the shrimp at, G?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

I step in front of cars and sue the drivers, and I beg celebrities for money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 ConM96

So you started college at 16 ish? Whoa!

One and one is two, two and two is four.

I can manage that and a bit beyond. But Pythagorus' Theorem, and all those ovals seeping into each other in sets kinda got me in the end?

But never mind. Each to their own.

As you can see, I have this awe for ANYONE who gets maths. Well done. We need you!

I was gone 17 a few months before I started. And yes I adore Maths! I'm doing Biology too which will allow me to teach Junior science and Leaving Biology but I much prefer the maths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,902 ✭✭✭✭ted1

koriko wrote: »
    Would love to be the owner of Brown Thomas!!!

Marry a rich guy that's what Hilary l did

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Older than most people here. I ban people.

You 'took early retirement' - I smell another teacher in the house :-)

Hands up, Public Sector alright. But not teacher, but would have loved to have been one.

Always wanted to teach, but my parents' income was just above the threshold at the time for a grant, so no go.

Anyway, my job encouraged further study, so I did a night degree in UCD, and followed that by further MA, (I know you'd never think it cos I am a bit mad!)

Then I went after a job in the training units within the PS. Those were the best years of my life, so far. Have to say it was great, but tough on the oul voice box.

And I would safely say that teaching Adults is a whole different ball game to teaching kids. But each have their own challenges.

Happy out now. Got what I always craved, even if late in life.

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    42 and work in a brewery

42 and I distribute your product

Across the counter to the old fella On the high stool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,902 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Just gone 36, energy manager/Engineer with the TSO, dad to 3 crazy kids.

Getting younger as I grow older

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭leinsterdude

39, sales rep, starting to hate it, might move to a low pressure job !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Early 30's, work in international development in a round about way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 803 ✭✭✭jungleman

Zaph wrote: »
    Older than most people here. I ban people.

The Prison thread always keeps me entertained. That rereg though. Needs to register himself with a psychologist rather than boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭agent graves

20's and a student... left a job I hated and went to college

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Lau2976

20's, an artist.

ted1 wrote: »
    Just gone 36, energy manager/Engineer with the TSO, dad to 3 crazy kids.

Getting younger as I grow older

Great statement.

I feel the same way, but am a good bit more ahem... mature in age than you are, but feel so young inside, even though outside, I am invisible to everyone now. That's the way now!

Do I care? Guess the answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭MagicHumanDoll

Nearly 19, going into second year as an architecture student

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭koriko

Hands up, Public Sector alright. But not teacher, but would have loved to have been one.

Always wanted to teach, but my parents' income was just above the threshold at the time for a grant, so no go.

Anyway, my job encouraged further study, so I did a night degree in UCD, and followed that by further MA, (I know you'd never think it cos I am a bit mad!)

Then I went after a job in the training units within the PS. Those were the best years of my life, so far. Have to say it was great, but tough on the oul voice box.

And I would safely say that teaching Adults is a whole different ball game to teaching kids. But each have their own challenges.

Happy out now. Got what I always craved, even if late in life.

Very interesting- I'm always intrigued by people's life stories. Your career path sounds colourful. Please stay teaching in some capacity- I'm doing a masters at the moment and some of the tutors are 'retired'- they give the best advice and great to chat to. I'll wrap up my rant now- otherwise I'll have you back working a 39 hour week in no time!

Very interesting- I'm always intrigued by people's life stories. Your career path sounds colourful. Please stay teaching in some capacity- I'm doing a masters at the moment and some of the tutors are 'retired'- they give the best advice and great to chat to. I'll wrap up my rant now- otherwise I'll have you back working a 39 hour week in now time!

Not a chance will I work again, but do lots of Tour guiding on a voluntary basis. - Talking again, now who'd a thunk it!

Feel free to PM me if you wish. But wait for reply!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭cassid

Off sick from work recovering from two surgeries.

Am loving spending all day with my children, dreading going back to work and missing them all day long. The youngest burst into tears when I told him, will be returning to work soon so am hoping that means he is having the craic as well.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

40 years of age and I'm a lecturer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

job descriptions as self descriptions

19, 'towel-boy' in a Cuban brothel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭ladyella

33 and a mammy personally and receptionist professionally. I love both my jobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

job descriptions as self descriptions

I was thinking that too :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I'm 26 and I am self employed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,285 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

113, I play a millionaire at parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,158 ✭✭✭✭HugsiePie

20, college student, professional procrastinator, hobbies include sarcasm and moping around the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭ISOP

38, Project Manager for major property developer in London

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

27 and a senior accountant in a large European bank.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Mid 20s, loyalty and customer insight scheme manager. Yes, that can be as boring as it sounds, but I love a good spreadsheet!

20 year old loser.
    Aw, don't say that. You're no loser, you're 20. You're on Page 1 of your Life.

I'd give all my worldly possessions to be your age again.

Chin up, young man.

The world is your oyster now, go, suck it for all it's worth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I can't see this thread's title without this going through my head.

29 and I work in Insurance

I'm 25 and I also work in Insurance. Maybe you could let me know what the next 4 years will be like? :pac:

I don't really have any set career path in mind; my job is grand but I don't know if it's something I want to do for the rest of my life. Then again, I can't think ofanything I would want to do, other than perhaps being a professional singer/musician; sadly my total lack of ability to either sing well or play an instrument has been somewhat of a hindrance to that "dream". :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

ladyella wrote: »
    33 and a mammy personally and receptionist professionally. I love both my jobs

Mammy's should rule the world, then it would always be a great place

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

45, civil servant, recovering junkie, off the gear 13 or so years, still struggling, and there's a black hair on me keyboard and it's not mine, but I still drink

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭kingsofoffaly

21 and. student

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

34, Bartender and technically a student too (studying Physics). That's more of a hobby though. Still don't know what I want to be when I grow up and I'm a brilliant bartender so sticking with that for now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭colossus-x

I'm 107 and I've been playing Dot Cotton on Easterners for the last 50 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭triggermortis

I'm 48 and an aircraft engineer. I don't design or build them, just fix them when they break

• Closed Accounts Posts: 821 ✭✭✭eatmyshorts

I'm 35 and a Boeing 777 Captain for a major airline.
    I'm 48 and an aircraft engineer. I don't design or build them, just fix them when they break
    I break them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭William F

Hi

My name is William F.

I'm 28 and I'm a coward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

I'm 30 and shoot birds at the airport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

Is this I need some friends thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

I'm a pretty big wheel down at the cracker factory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

I'm 29 and work in IT support and app development

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Dramatik

Yes the weather is much milder than it was yesterday...Oh I'm sorry, I thought you wanted to talk about the other most repetitive topic that people talk about on a day to day basis.