Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,398 ✭✭✭Dartz

What happened at the end there, she seize up? :pac:

Slowed down..... and deleted that post, lol. In hind****e, a bad idea. so maybe kindly edit?

Just decarboning the engine and getting all the little valves working in the intake again. Accelerate in a gear, drop back, accelerate again. Never exceeding the speed limit, of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭blackbox

I knew that bang as he was changing into third was a bad sign...

blackbox wrote: »
    I knew that bang as he was changing into third was a bad sign...

Lifting on and off the throttle at high RPM in gear can make it do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Christ! That engine-noise description from Dartz gave me flashbacks of Satan, a psychopathic Suzuki RG250 Gamma I had way back.:):):)

jimgoose wrote: »
    Christ! That engine-noise description from Dartz gave me flashbacks of Satan, a psychopathic Suzuki RG250 Gamma I had way back.:):):)

It's not that different.

Lots of revs. ****all torque. Keep it on the boil.

I should probably be in bed but I'm buzzing with static at the moment and can't shut down.

Today me and my lovely C5 felt the wrath of Dublin Street Parking Services :(

Towed and clamped. €80. Bastards.

My own fault, of course. I was in a bus lane. But I didn't realise, as the bus lane has parking spaces painted on it. I missed the sign that says the parking spaces aren't valid after 4pm. Which is annoying as I had actually meant to get into the car and leave at 4:10, but instead, realised I needed to use a toilet, so threw another €2 in the machine (to bring me past 5pm) and put a fresh ticket in the window at 4:10 while I went in search of a toilet.

Came back to an admittedly cool looking DSPS tow truck who informed me of my wrongdoing.

You live and learn. :o

Coby asked me to pop up to them at 10am tomorrow, and they'll NCT the car for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

... I was in a bus lane. But I didn't realise, as the bus lane has parking spaces painted on it. I missed the sign that says the parking spaces aren't valid after 4pm. ...

Yep, theres one of those at the end of the Malahide road near fairview that nearly caught me out once.

Ah sure, I take it as a lesson learned. It's the first and last clamp that'll ever be on a car of mine.

One thing that confuses me though is; what would have happened if the truck wasn't still there? How would I know where my car was? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

Ah sure, I take it as a lesson learned. It's the first and last clamp that'll ever be on a car of mine.

One thing that confuses me though is; what would have happened if the truck wasn't still there? How would I know where my car was? :confused:

You would call to report it stolen and presumably the Gardai would already know that it got towed.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

National Shhhlow Dowen day tomorrow peeps, crouching garda hidden speedguns all round.

am wfh relaxing and doing sfa tomorrow :)

Brought the car back to Coby today and he sent me to the Geeenhills NCT centre.

Sitting here about an hour now and it's the bleakest, hour of my life so far.

Theres an air of disinterest and waiting to die that hangs over the building. Feel like I'm alone in a zombie outbreak as the soulless sit in wait around me.

Even a clean pass does nothing to lift the morale of the doomed.

How ye Dubliners put up with this I don't know. I never thought I'd actually wish I was doing something in Drogheda instead of elsewhere but the Drogheda centre is a million miles away from this (not geographically, obviously).

OSI wrote: »
    Well thankfully, unlike Drogheda, Greenhills NCT centre is neither the only NCT centre in Dublin (there are 4 others)

Can't imagine they're much better?
    Part of city living I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

OSI wrote: »
    Well thankfully, unlike Drogheda, Greenhills NCT centre is neither the only NCT centre in Dublin (there are 4 others) or the sole place of note in the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

dorgasm wrote: »
    Did you take out the resonator? Funnily enough, now that I think of it, it could have been your video, but an Irish lad had a video of his 3er resonator delete on YouTube and it sounded pretty sweet. I'd consider doing my own if it's not a big job.

Yeah I'd say that was my video alright. The e46 has two resonators, one close to the backbox, which is the one I have already removed, and one closer to the engine side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

Yeah I'd say that was my video alright. The e46 has two resonators, one close to the backbox, which is the one I have already removed, and one closer to the engine side.

And you don't find it too loud? I might just get rid of the furthest back one, like your own one now. Wonder how much different the 320 would sound compared to the 325 hmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

5.5 padre pio stickers!
    2yywd36.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

dorgasm wrote: »
    And you don't find it too loud? I might just get rid of the furthest back one, like your own one now. Wonder how much different the 320 would sound compared to the 325 hmmm

I doubt the 320 vs 325 thing makes any difference to be honest.

It's not loud at all. It's nice at about 3000rpm, but you wouldn't really notice otherwise. Hence me wanting to remove the second now...

This is the video, it seems loud, but I would imagine you're not going to be revving the nuts off your car in the drive every morning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

I doubt the 320 vs 325 thing makes any difference to be honest.

It's not loud at all. It's nice at about 3000rpm, but you wouldn't really notice otherwise. Hence me wanting to remove the second now...

This is the video, it seems loud, but I would imagine you're not going to be revving the nuts off your car in the drive every morning!

I'd say horse off the 2nd resonator (good guinea pig :P)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Interesting how you managed to mention two animals in one car related sentence. :pac:

Beru
    Bosch
    Febi Bilstein
    SWAG
    Denso

Which of the above would be a good glow plug brand? They are all about €10 each but the Beru are going for €15. Would the quality of the Beru be better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Much quieter than mine :)

I'll provide a video :)

Pov06 wrote: »
    Beru
    Bosch
    Febi Bilstein
    SWAG
    Denso

Which of the above would be a good glow plug brand? They are all about €10 each but the Beru are going for €15. Would the quality of the Beru be better?

Swag. Definitely swag. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭arleitiss

Bought new car today, not for myself though but for parents.
    They decided to go for 2008 Opel Corsa as cheap insurance and tax.

Gotta admit - I quite like it, I didn't expect it to be so cosy inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I'd go bosch or denso on the glow plugs.

Ended up going for the Beru plugs as that's what the Focus came with standard. Ended up getting them for €14 a pop at Tallaght Auto Parts.

Just after putting them in. I tested the old glow plugs with an ohm meter and only 2 glow plugs were actually working, I couldn't get a reading for the other 2. I connected all 4 up to a battery and there wasn't even a spark whilst connecting the cable. Explains the rough cold start really, which wasn't even THAT rough but then again the temps are about 10 degrees in the mornings so it shouldn't really be rough.

New glow plugs create an instant spark so the current must be high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Saw a rare beast earlier a Focus Zetec ST220! :pac: :p

Passed through adare earlier. I'd imagine it's not easy or cheap to get the church there for a wedding... but to go that trouble for a classy wedding and then the wedding cars are....

...Stretch PT Cruiser, stretch hummer.

Euwww.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,478 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Know your market.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Passed through adare earlier. I'd imagine it's not easy or cheap to get the church there for a wedding... but to go that trouble for a classy wedding and then the wedding cars are....

Euwww.

Sounds P-p-p-p-p- traveller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,301 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Gavman84 wrote: »
    Saw a rare beast earlier a Focus Zetec ST220! :pac: :p

My next yoke hai.

Just need to save up for a plug in electric supercharger for it off of ebay

My next yoke hai.

Just need to save up for a plug in electric supercharger for it off of ebay

You should put like 4 in a row you'll get a 100 hp gain.

Euwww.

I passed that too! The 300c with ribbons all over it looked alright from the front till he went around the roundabout unveiling the big TAXI sticker on the side.

I'm getting married after Christmas, I have no idea what I'll do for wedding cars tbh

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I'm getting married after Christmas, I have no idea what I'll do for wedding cars tbh

Get married while there are two or three AE86 doing donuts around you and your wife. :pac:

I passed that too! The 300c with ribbons all over it looked alright from the front till he went around the roundabout unveiling the big TAXI sticker on the side.

Saw that near ncw I think. Didn't think k it was part of the same thing but I did think, f**k it I could get one of them any day as a taxi in limerick and I didn't even see the sign on it.

GvidoR wrote: »
    Get married while there are two or three AE86 doing donuts are you and your wife. :pac:

Wedding cake in the style of a big cone.

Saw that near ncw I think. Didn't think k it was part of the same thing but I did think, f**k it I could get one of them any day as a taxi in limerick and I didn't even see the sign on it.

He was turning right at the roundabout in adare so I assumed he was part of it. Only passed the hummer a few seconds later as I was coming out of adare at the other roundabout. Passed a load of other wedding cars so probably was two seperate events.

If its the same 300c cab from town I've been in it once or twice. Grand yoke in fairness. Baits any avensis or Octavia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Has the wife to be any interest in cars?? I know I do and for me it has to be a classic car :)

Autosport wrote: »
    Has the wife to be any interest in cars?? I know I do and for me it has to be a classic car :)

Karmann Ghia!

Very nice alright :)

I myself would like a Ferrari or Lamborghini :)

She's not that into cars but loves certain classics. We have a Mini Cooper (as in the non BMW one) at our disposal, but will obviously need something bigger for the bride and bridesmaids.
    Friend has a silver e class but something older would be better.

Very nice alright :)

I myself would like a Ferrari or Lamborghini :)

A bit mainstream, aren't they? :P

She's not that into cars but loves certain classics. We have a Mini Cooper (as in the non BMW one) at our disposal, but will obviously need something bigger for the bride and bridesmaids.
    Friend has a silver e class but something older would be better.

Rolls, Bentley?? One of my friends is hiring her cars from wedding cars and she is having a Capri, porsche, a few old classic BMW's and a escort Cosworth, her fiancé loves his rally cars :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭coolisin

It was the only part of the day I was actually put the foot down and say I want this!
    Got a Quattroporte as the limo. Worth it!!
    Not to drive to be driven in!

A bit mainstream, aren't they? :P

Yea you see so many of them on the roads :P

I'm down the country so options will be limited.

Well this is happening in Kilkenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Brake pads were a tad worn :eek: slight bit of damage done to the disc, nothing major though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Brake pads were a tad worn :eek: slight bit of damage done to the disc, nothing major though.

Half the brake pads I take off cars in work fall apart once they're away from the disk. Said disk usually has a good 3-4mm lip.

One woman actually had a go at our service advisor because her car was only three years old and it needed brake pads already... :rolleyes:
    I'm glad I only have to deal with the end product. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Rolls, Bentley?? One of my friends is hiring her cars from wedding cars and she is having a Capri, porsche, a few old classic BMW's and a escort Cosworth, her fiancé loves his rally cars :)

As much as I'm into cars I never really seen the point of all these fancy wedding cars. Id personally be happy enough to use whatever car I'd have at the time when / if I get married. Maybe I'll look at it differently when / if the time comes. I mean any half decent car looks well with a few fancy plates, ribbon and a well detailed exterior.

On the brake pads checked mine during the week basically new on the front 70% on the back not so bad :) I'd personally change them once they get near at the limit with a few mill left there fairly cheap generally.