Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,858 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Best place for pressed plates anyone?
    Front bumper. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

joujoujou wrote: »
    Yes, you can. But if you (unlikely) get "fail - dangerous" - you can't.

What time would I expect you tomorrow, by the way?

About 19:00 ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

Getting a hang of this coolant leak. 1 coolant reservoir = 10 km :pac:

Hopefully it gets fixed properly tomorrow :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Lads, aircon making a "gurgling" noise after I turn the engine off. Lasts for a few minutes. Does that mean it needs a refill?

Pov06 wrote: »
    Getting a hang of this coolant leak. 1 coolant reservoir = 10 km :pac:

Hopefully it gets fixed properly tomorrow :)

That reminds me I used to carry a couple of liters of water in the back of my Bora. At one point it was scary how much it was pissing out, ran out of water about 4km away from the house.

Jesus. wrote: »
    Lads, aircon making a "gurgling" noise after I turn the engine off. Lasts for a few minutes. Does that mean it needs a refill?

It means your car is too high and you must lower it.

GvidoR wrote: »
    That reminds me I used to carry a couple of liters of water in the back of my Bora. At one point it was scary how much it was pissing out, ran out of water about 4km away from the house.

I'm leaving water drips all over the place. Every time I park it I can see wet drips all over the road :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

It means your car is too high and you must lower it.

On that note I have some lovely coilovers arriving tomorrow :)

Pov06 wrote: »
    I'm leaving water drips all over the place. Every time I park it I can see wet drips all over the road :rolleyes:

Getting flashbacks here. :pac:
    YbFocus wrote: »

Nice. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

I was driving home yesterday evening so I decided going around town I'd actually follow the gearshift indicator and change gear when it said. You end up changing up at about 2,100 Revs although it changes this based on engine load how hard your accelerating etc. it was mad altogether you probably would save diesel but I mean you'd go mad following it. I have the car over 3 months and that was literally the first time I ever looked or paid any attention to it. It's fairly wated on me :)

Easy to guess what you'll be thinking of in work tomorrow :pac:

I'm back to college in the morning hopefully traffic won't be too Heavy in the morning although I intend hitting jack lynch around 7.30am so shouldn't be too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

GvidoR, did you get sorted with that cable? I have the light blue cable obd to usb and also a black bmw round connector to obd.

CIP4 wrote: »

They are arriving to the office at some stage :)

GvidoR, did you get sorted with that cable? I have the light blue cable obd to usb and also a black bmw round connector to obd.

Well I already have the USB to OBD but I need the red adapter cable. I can only find sets of 3 or 4 adapter cables for sale, but I just need the one.

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/New-ODB-2-ODB2-Female-20-Pin-to-16-Pin-Connector-Adapter-Cable-for-BMW/32347573232.html?ws_ab_test=201407_5,201444_5,201409_3

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Mc Love wrote: »
    Learning instructor shows how not to get involved :D

Great, guy didn't get prosecuted. Lack of evidence. So having you car with reg plus your mug on camera isn't enough. Looks like the cops just couldn't be arsed or maybe the guy has them in his pocket.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Was that a lesson in everything you shouldn't do as a driver? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

I'm back to college in the morning hopefully traffic won't be too Heavy in the morning although I intend hitting jack lynch around 7.30am so shouldn't be too bad.

Do you commute Kilkenny - Cork - Kilkenny daily?

Unregistered Users

About 19:00 ?
    Good. :)

SatNav equipped?

Want coordinates? :D

joujoujou wrote: »
    Good. :)

SatNav equipped?

Want coordinates? :D

Well I have a phone with GPS, which should do the job.:P

You're not far from the main road, are you?

• Registered Users Posts: 677 ✭✭✭vidor

vidor wrote: »
    Ah ok, thanks. NCT expires tomorrow but I can't get it serviced until Wednesday :/ And have zero other means to get to work.

So I take it a fine and points would have to be issued to me there and then by a Garda (as in I can't go around driving and clock up a load of points unknowingly)?

Sorry guys, this expires tomorrow and wouldn't mind knowing that the ANPR cameras 'just' means that I'll be stopped i.e. it doesn't automatically issue me points and a fine.

Unregistered Users

Well I have a phone with GPS, which should do the job.:P

You're not far from the main road, are you?
    If your car could fly like a helicopter - 300m. :D

If not - approx 1700m.

Will PM you with coordinates in a minute.

Do you commute Kilkenny - Cork - Kilkenny daily?

Christ no. I probably would only for my course takes up so much time I wouldn't have enough time to spare 4 hours of commuting a day as I'm generally in college 9-7 most days with later lectures some days till 8 or 9pm.

But I spend almost all the weekends at home and don't bother going back till Monday morning and go back home to Kilkenny Friday afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

CIP4 wrote:
    But I spend almost all the weekends at home and don't bother going back till Monday morning and go back home to Kilkenny Friday afternoon.

Was just going to ask if you go down every Monday morning. I always used to wait until Monday morning, leaving at about 6:45ish. Makes all the difference having all of Sunday to yourself.

Christ no. I probably would only for my course takes up so much time I wouldn't have enough time to spare 4 hours of commuting a day as I'm generally in college 9-7 most days with later lectures some days till 8 or 9pm.

The life of a final year engineer!
    Been there man, best feeling once you get out the far side :)

Untitled.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

vidor wrote: »
    Sorry guys, this expires tomorrow and wouldn't mind knowing that the ANPR cameras 'just' means that I'll be stopped i.e. it doesn't automatically issue me points and a fine.

You'll be fine. No Garda will give you hassle for something barely out. Only way you'll have a problem is if street parking and a warden fines you for non display.

Was just going to ask if you go down every Monday morning. I always used to wait until Monday morning, leaving at about 6:45ish. Makes all the difference having all of Sunday to yourself.

Ye I like the weekends at home as I can kind of clear my head a bit not be thinking of college all the time. Although with 4th year I'll probably end up doing some work at home but at least the end is in sight. I won't be sorry to be finished tbh. Not one of these people that sees the mad appeal of college id rather have a job. Granted college is great craic and all that but constant assignments, presentations, labs and exams takes its toll on you. Plus I need to go looking for a job this year too and do interviews and all that which can be time consuming enough.

Also I calculated my mileage if I traveled up and Down to cork 5 days for a college year it would be roughly 70k km :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,301 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Cripes wonder how much it will cost to post 2 driveshafts to newcastle, found some cheap refurbed ones done by a crowd there that will save me 250e on an exchance but im guessing it won't be cheap

The life of a final year engineer!
    Been there man, best feeling once you get out the far side :)

Untitled.jpg

That pretty much sums up the whole thing. I found my summer of work placement to be a refreshing rest. At least when I finished work I was finished none of this going home after lectures to do lab reports, assignments and study. Anyway 3 years down one to go it doesn't sound too bad when you put it like that and I loved being a student engineer and had a real interest in it so at least I've picked the right course although I always wanted to be an engineer from primary school up.

Cripes wonder how much it will cost to post 2 driveshafts to newcastle, found some cheap refurbed ones done by a crowd there that will save me 250e on an exchance but im guessing it won't be cheap

Would parcel motel work don't they deliver oversized stuff still fairly reasonably.

That pretty much sums up the whole thing. I found my summer of work placement to be a refreshing rest. At least when I finished work I was finished none of this going home after lectures to do lab reports, assignments and study. Anyway 3 years down one to go it doesn't sound too bad when you put it like that and I loved being a student engineer and had a real interest in it so at least I've picked the right course although I always wanted to be an engineer from primary school up.

The great thing is the feel of making a difference where you work.
    I can see stuff changing, be it saving money, higher efficiency etc.

Its awesome :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,301 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Would parcel motel work don't they deliver oversized stuff still fairly reasonably.

Really ? I use them all the time, the longer of the two shafts is almost 4 foot long though

The great thing is the feel of making a difference where you work.
    I can see stuff changing, be it saving money, higher efficiency etc.

Its awesome :)

I got to work on a few of those projects and it was great. Especially the ones where it involves changing something in a process that doesn't work and coming up with a solution implementing it and then seeing the working finished product the sense of achievement is unreal.

Really ? I use them all the time, the longer of the two shafts is almost 4 foot long though

Maybe not but it just says 7 euro plus 10 euro per 10kg for oversized parcels but not sure if that's for just recieving oversized parcels or if you can drop them to a nigh line depot and let them deliver it. You could ring them and see I'm sure they will give you a quote as it's ultimately just courier service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭Dartz

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Dartz wrote: »

I thought it didn't happen?

Dartz wrote: »

The Stagea and S13 look awesome. S13 still on Japanese plates. :)

http://i.imgur.com/XnR1TXV.jpg
    http://i.imgur.com/TghZtwD.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,118 ✭✭✭job seeker

Just looking at the build treads and a lot of young people with nice big engines cars. Then here's me struggling to get a decent quote on a firkin 1l corsa B Well FML..:(

job seeker wrote: »
    Just looking at the build treads and a lot of young people with nice big engines cars. Then here's me struggling to get a decent quote on a firkin 1l corsa B Well FML..:(

What age are you man?
    I'm 26 and have only had 2 large capacity machines.
    Couldn't afford the quotes before that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,499 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Sounds odd for a motors forum, but don't get too caught up on whatever your internet peers have. Nothing comes without its cost. When I was young I was spending 1/3 of my income on paying for a car. In hindsight it was foolish and it didn't make me as happy as it should have.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Sounds odd for a motors forum, but don't get too caught up on whatever your internet peers have. Nothing comes without its cost. When I was young I was spending 1/3 of my income on paying for a car. In hindsight it was foolish and it didn't make me as happy as it should have.

I was stuck in 1.4s and diesels through college too. As colm says, once you get a few years under you, you can have what you want and it won't be overly expensive.

What age are you man?
    I'm 26 and have only had 2 large capacity machines.
    Couldn't afford the quotes before that!

22, 4 years names drivers experience, but that's only micky mouse experience now a days..

Agreed. I'm lucky enough to be in a situation where I can afford the car I have even being in college, it has however cost me a rake, but that hasn't bothered me as I've made a lot of new friends and other opportunities have come up since I've gotten a BMW. My car right now is my main hobby though which is why I can justify the cost.
    22, 4 years names drivers experience, but that's only micky mouse experience now a days..

I'm 21, 3 years named and 1 year own policy and got that quote of €1256 on my 525, some places count named experience as full No-Claims, like the crowd that gave me the quote, Aviva.

Don't worry, I'm on my third year of insurance and driving a 1.2 Punto. :P

20924480738_95f2fcdc9b.jpg

Ah don't get me wrong. I love looking at the car porn and reading the treads, each owner takes great care and has fun with their car. But earlier in my life I always. Imagined having a nice car by now but it just never happened.. Anyway. It was just a rant.

This has been how I've been living my life recently :pac:

Works well for me!

Don't worry, I'm on my third year of insurance and driving a 1.2 Punto. :P

20924480738_95f2fcdc9b.jpg

Not one thing wrong with it. :)

If I wouldn't be playing hockey, I would probably have a different car, or more car parts. It's a pricey sport, but it's worth it because it's awesome.

This has been how I've been living my life recently :pac:

Works well for me!
    I can see how that works for some. But I've never been shouted at like that before. :/