Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Oil service about 3K Miles ago, turned off car after I got back from work, oil light, #M54Life :pac:

Will check it tomorrow when it's cold to see the actual level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

Would you touch a Corolla 1.4 d4d with 250,000 km on the clock?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Je suis tres mal

Only with a bargepole to push it towards some scrapyard!

Have to go for the Focus then. The wet belt is putting me off but the dealer says he will change it.

That's just my personal opinion, despise those D4D engines with a passion and I hate that era toyota.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

saw a 3 series bmw yesterday was a 05

was a 4 door with no modifications, but it had 4 exhausts

all 4 exhausts were working too as was stopped in traffic lights and could see fumes coming out of all 4

Anyone know the story with this, didnt have sports suspension or any body kit either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,301 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Just a catback system probably

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

That's just my personal opinion, despise those D4D engines with a passion and I hate that era toyota.

Infairness they were considered one of the best smaller Diesel engines of that time very reliable efficient and refined for a small engine. How good or bad it would be after 250k km would depend on how it was minded. Minded ones would do double that mileage easily enough they can deal really well with high mileage.

However in this case is prefer the mk2.5 1.8 focus just seems like more of an upgrade and would be a bit more powerful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Without doubt audi a4's are one of the most common cars in Mayo. Travelling to the match in Croker yesterday, so many a4's, 5's, 6's and even a few 7's overtook with flags etc. The amount that blew their horns, flashed etc was an awful lot then times before. Then I suppose a few of us waving the flag out the back window at every Mayo car enticed them more 

The flag at the back of the bus was a cool idea, but by 11 o clock last night it was all tangled into a wet ball!

Any boardsies pass by us?

30wr2vb.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,865 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Was wondering why there was a lock of them stupid flags you put on the windows spewn all over the roads...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Spotted some interesting cars today, like Dodge Dakota, Ford Sierra and Citroen AX.

CIP4 wrote: »
    Infairness they were considered one of the best smaller Diesel engines of that time very reliable efficient and refined for a small engine. How good or bad it would be after 250k km would depend on how it was minded. Minded ones would do double that mileage easily enough they can deal really well with high mileage.

However in this case is prefer the mk2.5 1.8 focus just seems like more of an upgrade and would be a bit more powerful.

Arah sure it's only my own personal dislike towards that umbrella of companys.
    There a fine bus for what they do, just not my cuppa so to say.

I wouldn't be too into Toyotas of that era myself either. I'd still have to give the 1.4 d4d engine it's credit. Although the 1.8 ford Diesel engine is a very well proven engine lacks refinement a bit compared to some other diesels but other than that it's a great engine.

I was quite impressed how quiet the 1.4 d4d is. Can't be said for the Focus engine. Maybe it's because it's a bigger engine. Sounds similar to our 2.0 d4d.

Pov06 wrote: »
    I was quite impressed how quiet the 1.4 d4d is. Can't be said for the Focus engine. Maybe it's because it's a bigger engine. Sounds similar to our 2.0 d4d.

Ye the 1.8 would be on the louder less refined end of the diesel scale probably even worse than the vag 1.9tdi engine. But that doesn't make it a bad engine plus at higher speeds it's not going to be any worse than your Yaris as that would rev high.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Without doubt audi a4's are one of the most common cars in Mayo. Travelling to the match in Croker yesterday, so many a4's, 5's, 6's and even a few 7's overtook with flags etc. The amount that blew their horns, flashed etc was an awful lot then times before. Then I suppose a few of us waving the flag out the back window at every Mayo car enticed them more 

The flag at the back of the bus was a cool idea, but by 11 o clock last night it was all tangled into a wet ball!

Any boardsies pass by us?

Delighted mayo got the win the hotel I was in in Sligo had a load of mayo fans in the bar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

What is it with pictures with darkened bands with a slogan in them propping up everywhere? It's like the motivationals from a few years ago

I got a nice surprise when I stopped in to fill up with diesel it's been 2 weeks since I last filled up and today was 7cent a litre cheaper same place. 1.269 per litre now. I let the tank run down and I recon I was about 50km of the light coming on at a guess 920km on it and it took 51.1 litres of diesel. I still can't figure out whether it has a 60 or 55 litre tank I recon it's a 55 litre tank and probably 2 litres of fuel filler pipe then too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

What is it with pictures with darkened bands with a slogan in them propping up everywhere? It's like the motivationals from a few years ago

Snapchat or sumtin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Hi.

Are you trying to impersonate an ex member from here? You are doing a bad job of it.

Got my hands on a handy little camera so ofcourse I had to make a test video. :P

*excuse the little fails - I did only 1 attempt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Was it connected to your head?

I also thought you were going to cycle into the lake at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

As in my picture is it?

That's just snapchat, you have an option to add in a line describing whatever pic you're sending. Most of ye oldies wouldn't understand :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Grand aul headliner you have there :pac:

GvidoR wrote: »
    Got my hands on a handy little camera so ofcourse I had to make a test video. :P

*excuse the little fails - I did only 1 attempt

Next time put your seat in the gangsta lean position so we can see through the windscreen :pac:

j6v3bseuw9vr54boasb2.jpg

Was it connected to your head?

I also thought you were going to cycle into the lake at the end.

Hahah. :D

I stuck the camera onto my old hockey helmet.

Hahah. :D

I stuck the camera onto my old hockey helmet.

You must have looked some sight... wearing a hockey helmet with a camera stuck on top driving around in a punto with a bike in the back. Imagine you met a checkpoint :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,660 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Quite the eventful day today.

Was standing on Ormond Quay beside the Four Courts with my brother outside his new office, and watched on as a car was being clamped by DCC. 5 minutes after they left, the owner came back, a Frenchman with two young kids, who was due to catch a flight in 2 hours. We helped him ring them up and pay the fine and planned to waited with him until the clampers returned.

Them all of a sudden there was a COLOSSAL smash that seemed to continue for 6-7 seconds, almost sounded like a building was collapsing, echoing around all the buildings in the entire Liffey area. People started shouting, running and pointing towards the Four Courts junction:

crash2_zpsfezdziaw.jpg~original

I rang 999 and asked for all services; for the sheer amount of people in that area, no one seemed to have a phone to their ear.

crash1_zpshgylnnb4.jpg~original

They arrived fairly smartish. A Fiesta and a Passat collided with each other, can only assume one of them broke the lights.
    There was an eerie silence on the streets, not a bit of traffic on the whole quay, on match day too, was like something out of a movie.

Anyways it didn't look like there was major injuries which was good. You can only imagine how distraught the Frenchman was at this stage when DCC couldn't get through the roadblock to unclamp his car. They managed to squeeze past the Gardai 30 mins later and unclamped the car, I then escorted him out the port tunnel to the airport which was on the way. Good deed for the day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,478 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Seems to be an upside-down focus

Is that a 30kmph area?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Looks brand new as well. I'm wondering how it's even possible to flip a car on the Dublin quays, must be going far too fast.

It could be a rental

Looks brand new as well. I'm wondering how it's even possible to flip a car on the Dublin quays, must be going far too fast.

Someone managed to flip a car in the car park of the crescent shopping centre in Limerick not so long ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,660 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Your right, could be a Focus alright. Could not BELIEVE the noise it made; everyone looked down the street and could only see a bus and feared the worse. One of them was fairly moving i'd say.

Just did a reg check, it's a focus titanium, April 2015

Feck sake!

https://www.motorcheck.ie/free-car-check/151l1697/

2015 Ford Focus Titanium 1.6tdci 95PS 4DR

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Didn't know whether to post this here or in the cycling forum, it's awesome either way. :P

One can't help but think that it's been done before:

TivvyShenton-JaguarXK140-BO.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Anyone see dragons den fella with an app for extra security for car. Seems bit mad and kind of pointless. Also your phone is dead then so is your car! :confused:

Gavman84 wrote: »
    Anyone see dragons den fella with an app for extra security for car. Seems bit mad and kind of pointless. Also your phone is dead then so is your car! :confused:

Ah my canbus Clifford alarm will keep my car safe. You know yourself when you drive something as rare and sought after as a megane 1.5 dci it would be madness not to have the extra security :D :pac:

I have a Laserline alarm on the 19, really good set up for a 90s kit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Does anybody know this man? :D

0661_b1f3_zpsoazz68g8.jpeg

I have a Laserline alarm on the 19, really good set up for a 90s kit

Your 19 wouldn't of had a factory alarm or imobiliser would it in this case an after market alarm is a good addition. Where as on modern cars with all the security systems from the factory I don't see the benefit of the likes of a Clifford alarm system but sure it doesn't do any harm and I suppose would make a car a bit more secure.

No alarm or immobiliser from the factory, just central locking. I wouldn't be surprised if the alarm was a dealer add on though. I've never really been one for alarms or anything but now that I have this I'm quite happy with it. Thankfully I've never had a car stolen or messed with, but with an old car in north dublin you can't be too safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,398 ✭✭✭Dartz

I don't neeed secutity. Nobody will steal my car because they know the engine seals will blow

Also. I'm drunk offf muy arse.

Clifford blackjack would be handy on newer BMWs

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Clifford blackjack would be handy on newer BMWs

I suppose it would be alright. My one is kind of the standard canbus one. So has infrared detectors in the car and supposedly some body shock sensor. I think the main benefit of it is that when its armed even if you bypassed the immobiliser the car won't start as the alarm has the starter circuit broken so no power can go to the starter motor. My one is not too bad as it's not an additional alarm the cars ecu kind of knows it has it afaik as it's wired into the system. It also means that a normal keycard will work you don't need alarm fobs or whatever it just recognises the keycard.

Still though there is some description of a sensor on the dash with Clifford Written on it and then sensors of the window pillars and 90 percent of people that get into the car ask what are they :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Gavman84 wrote: »

I drive an alfa thats many shades of red....only a gombeen would rob one of those :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Dia1988

Ye the 1.8 would be on the louder less refined end of the diesel scale probably even worse than the vag 1.9tdi engine. But that doesn't make it a bad engine plus at higher speeds it's not going to be any worse than your Yaris as that would rev high.

I can vouch for the reliability of the 1.8TDCI Focus.

Just look out for dirty or leaking injectors and of course the wet belt as mentioned.

Also, the 1.8tdci doesn't have a dpf either which imo is less of a headache!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Could have been worse :eek:.

AvR27Gd.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Holy shít. The car got sucked up by tornado. What is that gob****e doing on the road could he or she not pick a better place to hide.

Id say they're glad they let that Getz out there!