Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

General PL Matchday Thread

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

I reckon every Utd fan agrees with Superhans right now

1g41vk.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Paully D wrote: »
    Hard to see Sunderland or Villa getting out of trouble now especially if Newcastle beat Villa this evening. Every possible result going against both sides again this week. Fair play to Bournemouth and Norwich especially. Some great performances of late.

It must be awesome to be a Leicester fan at the moment. The run they're on is beyond belief.

It almost feels like LC need their own thread at this stage!

Great to see Eddie Howes side clicking as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Chrissybhoy

Him and Ozil for me

surprisingly West Brom are now level!

Wouldn't put Ozil in top 3

Mahrez
    Vardy
    De Bruyne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Wouldn't put Ozil in top 3

Mahrez
    Vardy
    De Bruyne
    First two is an actual debate, but Ozil's been miles better than De Bruyne this season.

Miles ahead ??? Come on now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,427 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Leicester City, first team in EPL history to be bottom one Christmas and top the next*.

* I know it means nothing cos its only since '92 and not in the history of football since the beginning of time, but o thought it was interesting anyway :)

Miles ahead ??? Come on now

I'm actually understating it when I say miles. Leagues maybe. De Bruyne has done a few great things in patches, but he's pretty inconsistent so far. Ozil's been the driving force of the Arsenal attack since day 1 of this season, and he hasn't stopped since. The stats back him up too.

I think you'll be in the minority on this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Stats according to transfermarkt.com in all competitions

Played/Goals/Assists

Ozil - 22/4/13
    KDB - 25/10/11

I do think Ozil is the better player but KDB being inconsistent...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Leicester top of the calender year table yet?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

I'm actually understating it when I say miles. Leagues maybe. De Bruyne has done a few great things in patches, but he's pretty inconsistent so far. Ozil's been the driving force of the Arsenal attack since day 1 of this season, and he hasn't stopped since. The stats back him up too.

I think you'll be in the minority on this one.

Hard to argue with you if think Ozil is that far better than De Bruyne. I wouldn't be dictated to by stats but you obviously are and they show De Bruyne is not inconsistent. Your an Arsenal supporter I take ?

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    Stats according to transfermarkt.com in all competitions

Played/Goals/Assists

Ozil - 22/4/13
    KDB - 25/10/11

I do think Ozil is the better player but KDB being inconsistent...?
    That's better than I thought De Bruyne had admittedly. By inconsistent, I mean he tends to flit in and out of games. He certainly doesn't have the influence on a game that say, David Silva does.

Hard to argue with you if think Ozil is that far better than De Bruyne. I wouldn't be dictated to by stats but you obviously are and they show De Bruyne is not inconsistent. Your an Arsenal supporter I take ?
    I didn't post any stats to back up my argument, but if you insist.

mesut.jpg?w=748&h=561&crop=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,882 ✭✭✭✭klose

As odd a first half a season ive seen in a while, a welcome change imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,199 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

What a hit from Ayew

That's better than I thought De Bruyne had admittedly. By inconsistent, I mean he tends to flit in and out of games. He certainly doesn't have the influence on a game that say, David Silva does.

I didn't post any stats to back up my argument, but if you insist.

mesut.jpg?w=748&h=561&crop=1

Them stats are impressive but if it's anyone to flit in and out of games Ozil is a big culprit has been good this season. Don't think he's had as big of an impact so far than KDB has

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,791 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Ozil and Silva are comparable players, 2 playmakers, dictators of play.
    KDB is all about moments. That doesn't mean he's inconsistent, just a different type of player.

Them stats are impressive but if it's anyone to flit in and out of games Ozil is a big culprit has been good this season. Don't think he's had as big of an impact so far than KDB has

That's just cliches from someone who apparently hasn't seen Arsenal's big games this season. Man Utd? Bayern at home?

As for impact - without Ozil, Arsenal are fecked. There's nobody to feed Sanchez, Ramsey, Walcott, even Giroud. Take De Bruyne out of that team and City would be ok, as they have David Silva to pull the strings.

That's just cliches from someone who apparently hasn't seen Arsenal's big games this season. Man Utd? Bayern at home?

As for impact - without Ozil, Arsenal are fecked. There's nobody to feed Sanchez, Ramsey, Walcott, even Giroud. Take De Bruyne out of that team and City would be ok, as they have David Silva to pull the strings.

Very good in them games and I have seen them plus I've seen him be poor in big games Chelsea Zagreb Olympiakos and Bayern away. My point wasn't who has the biggest impact on their team it was IMO De Bruyne has been the better player this year and that's why I'd have him in my top 3 players along with Mahrez & Vardy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Braindead stuff from McLean. What the fcuk was he thinking of? Okay, so he didn't get a free kick a few seconds earlier. Tough. You can't go looking to "do" the player immediately afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Some strike for the Palace winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Terrible tackle, maybe he could use the Chewbacca Matic defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

What a goal from shaqiri for Stoke. Beautiful passing move.

Lukaku equalises for Everton.

• What a goal from shaqiri for Stoke. Beautiful passing move.

I know I'm repeating this but what a signing by Hughes

Hes a beast

Watford 1 - 1 Spurs. Ighalo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,928 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Ighalo with another.

He should be the striker that one of big clubs should go for over Vardy I think.

Shaqiri again.

Everton 1 2 Stoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

Shaqiri again.

Everton 1 2 Stoke

twas a lovely goal too

Shaqiri again.

Everton 1 2 Stoke

Cracker again.

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    I know I'm repeating this but what a signing by Hughes

Hes a beast

Couldnt understand why Liverpool / Spurs werent in for him. I would have taken him at arsenal tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭ASOT

Drexel wrote: »
    Couldnt understand why Liverpool / Spurs werent in for him. I would have taken him at arsenal tbh

He said in an interview that he wanted to rebuild himself away from a big club that's why he chose Stoke.

Sign all the middle ranking clubs strikers!

ASOT wrote: »
    He said in an interview that he wanted to rebuild himself away from a big club that's why he chose Stoke.

Fair play to him so. He is going about his 'rebuilding' the right way anyways

He still could have went to Spurs tho :D

Everton - Stoke is very entertaining game.

Should be more goals 2nd half

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Unearthly

They were saying the Shaqiri goal was a fluke on sky sports. It was amazing

No fluke about that was pure skill.

Unearthly wrote: »

Was this a comment from their brains trust? :p

• Drexel wrote: »

I'd have him at Utd no bother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

Unearthly wrote: »

Merson is honestly losing it this season, how did he think he did not mean it.

Absolutely unreal finish.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

Lads the everton v stoke game is a cracker

Everton 3 Stoke 2

• Registered Users Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

Everton 3 Stoke 2

Everton defence is all over the place. Stoke could get another

Lumbo wrote: »
    Everton defence is all over the place. Stoke could get another

I hope so! I want to see more goals! Big john is on now:D

3 all now!! Cracker

What a game.

3-3!!

That's why I love the Christmas period of games.

Jesus christ haha

3-4 to Stoke what a game.

Loving this game