Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Things You Don't See Anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Umbro clothing. ..outside of the Ireland kit.

I still have this, one of my fav jumpers that I wear round the gaff in winter or out playing football. Cost me a 5er on SportsDirect, some value out of it!

http://www.acasports.co.uk/images/products/full/umbro-repton-sweatshirt-navy.jpg

posh gits. we didnt even have a telephone in the house when i was growing up.

Posh Christophers you mean :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

People picking spuds, stacking hay bales.
    A piece of stick being used as a gun, homemade gigs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Cilla Black.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭Paz-CCFC

posh gits. we didnt even have a telephone in the house when i was growing up.

House? You were lucky to live in a house. We used to live in one room, all 26 of us, no furniture, half the floor was missing, we were all huddled together in one corner for fear of falling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

Paz-CCFC wrote: »
    House? You were lucky to live in a house. We used to live in one room, all 26 of us, no furniture, half the floor was missing, we were all huddled together in one corner for fear of falling.

Apu?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,382 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Dublin telephone numbers with only 6 digits.

My old man still does a big pause when listing out the number, pausing for the "new" number, and then rattling off the number he knows well.

• Registered Users Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

kfallon wrote: »
    I still have this, one of my fav jumpers that I wear round the gaff in winter or out playing football. Cost me a 5er on SportsDirect, some value out of it!

http://www.acasports.co.uk/images/products/full/umbro-repton-sweatshirt-navy.jpg

Good stuff, fight the good fight! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭Herpes Cineplex

White Dogsh1te.

Brilliant.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

People picking spuds, stacking hay bales.
    A piece of stick being used as a gun, homemade gigs.

Homemade gigs!

Do kids do that anymore?

Good stuff, fight the good fight! ;)

It keeps me warm, it's comfy so for that reason I'll wear it, I'll wear it with pride and if anyone wants to chastise me about it they are welcome to go and ask me prick! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Telephone table in the hall. With a green velvet seat.
    The table in the hall was for the neighbours to sit at when they called in to receive a booked person to person long distance/international call.
    I remember having to call the operator for "long distance" calls outside your STD area. And the local payphone used to take 2p, 5p and 10p but I remember it taking 1p, 2p and 5p.

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭sm213

The kids on my road are all bored to tears.
    I asked do they not play games and got the reply I like minecraft. :/
    Wtf is wrong with kids these days. I'm 23.
    I see my generation as the last kids to actually play.
    That's actually really sad.
    All the kids on my road do is throw rocks at houses and break other kids toys.

Ah yes. The sugar cube with something injected into it.

That was a thing for us '70s kids. Wonder does it still go on..

Still went on in the 90's

• Registered Users Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭KungPao

phill106 wrote: »
    The national anthem at the end of the broadcast.

Lol, what was that all about? Do they still play that at the end the night in GAA type places?

---

Jim'll Fix It.

That was a great show, wonder what ever happened to Sir Jimmy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Tinder Surprise

coats on the bed in Winter to keep you warm.

ahh that lovely weight to keep you warm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Tinder Surprise

dry film/feel on your teeth from consuming so much cheap Soda Stream cordial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭agent graves

flip up phones..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

flip up phones..

They are coming back, there is a few Android flip phones coming to the market soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

fanny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

sm213 wrote: »

my estate is full of kids playing football all day long .
    The girl seem to do gymnastic stuff and play with babies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

Party line - if it rang three times it was us. One was the garda station, two was the doctor.
    Press button A or B phones that took huge pennies that clanked down into the works.
    In some country places, phones with a handle that you wound around to alert the operator in the exchange a few miles away that you wanted a call put through.
    Kids doing dangerous things and their parents just seeing it as part of growing up - climbing to the top of high trees, jumping down across the area from the first-floor window, playing chicken, scutting on lorries…
    Milkmen, coalmen, gardeners, basically all men having the ability to whistle tunefully and warble fancy bits like birdsong.
    Men working singing songs together.
    People selling stuff on the street - newspaper sellers and people with fish and vegetable stalls and all market stalls - calling out their wares in a kind of chant.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭KungPao

They are coming back, there is a few Android flip phones coming to the market soon.
    I think shows like Breaking Bad kinda made them desirable again. Whether they'll ever be popular again is unlikely but it would be nice to have a choice and mix of styles.

They all look the ruddy same now.

Plus when you need to hang up dramatically, you need something to slam...pressing a virtual red button just isn't the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Do milkmen still exist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Nesta99

arayess wrote: »
    The girl seem to do gymnastic stuff and play with babies.

The days when something like this was said and it didnt creep you out even if said in a purely innocent and normal manner!!! Sad indeed :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭filbert the fox

real traffic wardens with the cool chocolate brown outfit.

Clarnico iced caramels

urney nougat

blackjacks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Nesta99

Blackboard and chalk, none of this fancy OHP malarkey :p etc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,409 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Kids robbing orchards , my kids couldn't see the point.

"Ma buys us apples " they said .

"Yeah but the farmer chases us with his dog threaten to shoot us, its great fun " I said

The look of horror on their faces.

• Registered Users Posts: 212 ✭✭chanelfreak

Kids being roped in to help with stuff like bringing in the harvest, carting home turf, etc (I'm a culchie!). I remember my dad driving home from the bog with a tractor trailer full of turf and myself and the brother sitting on top of the turf bags like kings :) I'm sure if that was to happen now some bleedin do-gooder would call the guards or social services.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

"Yeah but the farmer chases us with his dog threaten to shoot us, its great fun " I said

Never mind kids, I was up in the strawberry fields in Perthshire (Scotland) and the amount of people helping themselves to the strawberries was fantastic to see.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,852 ✭✭✭Steve F

Laughter
    :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,694 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I saw a kid the other day with a bit of a plastic bottle wedged into his bike to make a motorbike sound through contact with the rear wheel.

That's something I thought I wouldn't see any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭TheBigGreen

X-Works jeans

• Registered Users Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

What's the difference between a Lada and a sheep?

It's marginally less embarrassing getting caught coming out the back of a sheep.

What's the difference between a Lada and a golf ball?

You can drive a golf ball 200 metres!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

My Exes .......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Nodding dogs in the rear windows of cars.

Children sitting on their mothers lap in the front of cars.

Dinosaurs.

• Registered Users Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

sm213 wrote: »

It fills my heart with joy when I go back to my home estate in Kerry. Bunches of kids playing around making their own fun. .traditional games like hide and seek, kerbs etc. Boys and girls mixing not a bother. No technology in sight* and having a great time. That's the environment I want for my kids in the future.

*Make Kerry jokes at your peril.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭filbert the fox

zcorpian88 wrote: »
    What's the difference between a Lada and a golf ball?

You can drive a golf ball 200 metres!

guy goes into motor factors and says to the assistant :

"give us a petrol cap for a Lada"

and the assistant says

"that's a good swap"!

boom boom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

KungPao wrote: »
    Lol, what was that all about? Do they still play that at the end the night in GAA type places?

---

Jim'll Fix It.

That was a great show, wonder what ever happened to Sir Jimmy...
    GAA type places?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,647 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Nesta99 wrote: »
    Duffle coats, parkers, bomber jackets? Queues and queues of traffic backed up behind tractors on 'main' roads. Guiness/Carlsberg etc in some pubs. Proper spare wheel in cars, Smug Liverpool fans (hmmm). Weve loads of reincarnations of old TV gameshows but no Blockbusters grrrr. Re-runs of old shows but no CHiPs....

Still happens a lot in County Cork. Guinness and stout in general has practically been eradicated from most Irish music festivals apart from the Fleadh and Cork Jazz, its either Heneiken, Bavaria, Bulmers and Becks. We need to get Guinness back to Electric Picnic.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

It was always handy to have that kid that couldn't climb back over the wall. They could be sacrificed as the rest of us made good our escape.

• Registered Users Posts: 465 ✭✭Undercover Elephant

You can still find these on Ivor Callely's expenses claims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭aaabbbb

Still happens a lot in County Cork. Guinness and stout in general has practically been eradicated from most Irish music festivals apart from the Fleadh and Cork Jazz, its either Heneiken, Bavaria, Bulmers and Becks. We need to get Guinness back to Electric Picnic.

Happens here in North Co Dublin too !

We also still have a milkman :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Those little plastic windmills the kids used to like,
    Noise machines from the pound shop,
    Top hats,
    Extremely submissive women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭aaabbbb

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    Those little plastic windmills the kids used to like,
    Noise machines from the pound shop,
    Top hats,
    Extremely submissive women.

They sell these in shops on the seafront in Bray still

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Rust on cars. I mean proper rust, like a Datsun Cherry with a bit of carpet covering a gaping hole in the floor.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

guy goes into motor factors and says to the assistant :

"give us a petrol cap for a Lada"

and the assistant says

"that's a good swap"!

boom boom

[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]1.[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif] [/FONT]What's the difference between a Jehovah's Witness and a Lada?[/FONT]

[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif] You can shut the door on a Jehovah's Witness.

[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]2. [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]What is the maximum acceleration of a Lada?[/FONT][FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][/FONT] [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]

9.8 m/s². Only in [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]a [/FONT]downward direction, however. [/FONT][FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]

[/FONT]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭satguy

sparrows,
    amicado sheery 99p a bottle,
    the neighbors,
    golliwog ice cream bar,
    pack on 10 cigarettes,
    that aqualung that used to hang around outside the school gate,

But I have see the odd lump of white dog dodo recently..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

Irish women used to wear scarves. men would smoke pipes.
    we used to win the eurovison.
    kids used to build go carts.
    kids used to play football in the street.
    people have 2 or 3 kids max.
    instead of 5 or 6 .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony