Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jobstown water protesters to be charged

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I honestly dont see them getting convicted on this one.
    False imprisonment? Nah. They would be unlucky to have a jury convict them.
    I dont agree with that they did though.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,939 ✭✭✭20Cent

A sinister development.
    If you can be arrested for delaying a politician then any protest could be illegal.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,998 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

20Cent wrote: »
    A sinister development.
    If you can be arrested for delaying a politician then any protest could be illegal.

It's a law whether you like it or not that you cannot delay a member of the Dail if they are trying to get there, surely that is a much more integral part of our democracy that votes on how our country is being run cannot be interfered with in this way.

Also your straw man skills suck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

A sinister development.

They're not being arrested for delaying a politician.

They're being arrested for surrounding her car, banging repeatedly on it and shouting while doing it, thus making it too intimidating for her to leave her car. Big difference. They harassed and scared someone, while doing something that could be called criminal damage to her vehicle.

I doubt they'll be convicted, however.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭Bio Mech

A sinister development.

I disagree. I think it was less about the delaying of a politician and more about the scumbag behaviour of some of those there who have no interest in politics and were just looking for an excuse to act like scumbags en masse. They let the actual protestors down. You cant expect carte blanche for your behaviour just because you are at a protest "its a protest I have a democratic right to throw this bottle".

The false imprisonment charge is a nonsense thought and makes the DPP look foolish and like a government pawn. Violent conduct yes, public order yes, false imprisonment no. IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,400 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

A sinister development.

Sinister me arse, shower of thugs. I see the head honcho Paul Murphy giving out about it on Facebook. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

A sinister development.
    No. Standing at a gate and impeding entry to a building is not false imprisonment. Blocking the roads and making someone go the long way around is not false imprisonment.

These are the sorts of delay usually associated with peaceful protests.

These people are not being charged with "delaying a politician". That is not, nor was it ever, a crime.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,939 ✭✭✭20Cent

Seems they haven't been charged yet, the story was "leaked" to the media in advance. Political policing at its best.
    Violence damage yeah of course but false imprisonment no way. Any protest outside the Dail could be deemed false imprisonment.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

VinLieger wrote: »
    It's a law whether you like it or not that you cannot delay a member of the Dail if they are trying to get there, surely that is a much more integral part of our democracy that votes on how our country is being run cannot be interfered with in this way.

Also your straw man skills suck

How were the protestors to know she was on her way to the Dail? It'll be quite a simple defence i'd imagine if it ever gets to court, I doubt it will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭RomanKnows

I would love if Paul 'The Revolution will be tweeted about' Murphy wasn't one of those charged.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,637 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

False imprisonment:
    15.—(1) A person shall be guilty of the offence of false imprisonment who intentionally or recklessly—

(a) takes or detains, or

(b) causes to be taken or detained, or

(c) otherwise restricts the personal liberty of,

another without that other's consent.
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1997/en/act/pub/0026/sec0015.html

Seems pretty clear to me. Was the minister detained? You can argue circumstances all you want and even use the witness box as a platform for railing against austerity but the only question to be answered in court is, "Was the person detained and was that detention intentional or reckless?".

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,480 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Does it matter if they are charged? Most of them probably have dozens of convictions anyway, whats one more for the pile.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

If they charge Murphy it would be a very big mistake. It would guarantee him getting re-elected next year. I would love if they charged everyone but him. Leave him without a cross to jump on to :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Coat22

gandalf wrote: »
    If they charge Murphy it would be a very big mistake. It would guarantee him getting re-elected next year. I would love if they charged everyone but him. Leave him without a cross to jump on to :)

The only reason he got elected last time was as an alternative to the shinners. The right minded people of D6 or wherever it is brought him in as the lesser of 2 evils, not sure he'd get back in in a full general election but as you point out the martyr in him might bring out a few votes (probably to the detriment of Sinn Fein which is probably a good thing overall)

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

who gave the order to the gardai to arrest them?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,788 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

If there were sh1tloads of Gardai on site during this protest, why didn't they clear a path for the Minister to leave?

Charge people for throwing bricks, throwing water balloons, stealing Garda equipment etc, but the false imprisonment is a bit excessive.

If a celebrity is in a car and there is a scrum of photographers outside and they are afraid to get out of the car, does that mean that it's false imprisonment?

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

BattleCorp wrote: »
    If there were sh1tloads of Gardai on site during this protest, why didn't they clear a path for the Minister to leave?
    Because baton charging an already tense mob when they have an innocent civilian's vehicle trapped and surrounded is a stupid idea.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭paulbok

The Muppet wrote: »
    How were the protestors to know she was on her way to the Dail? It'll be quite a simple defence i'd imagine if it ever gets to court, I doubt it will.

She was a TD, stands to reason there was a good chance she would be going to the Dáil.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

I dought anyone would have liked to be placed in that situation the minister was. She deserves to have the same protection as anyone else no matter what you think of her policies.

Waiting for the "bankers" comment

• Registered Users Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭touts

Ironically if this had taken place in the sort of Socialist paradise Comrade Murphy and his mob want to impose on us they would have spent a couple of days being tortured until they were brought in front of a show trial to confess their crimes live on national TV before being dragged out a side door and shot. Now that is "political policing".

• Registered Users Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭ShaShaBear

They utterly terrified a perfectly innocent person by being excessively aggressive and threatening.
    Doesn't matter who she was - it was wrong.

If any single one of these people ended up trapped in their car on their way to work by a mob wielding bricks, bottles and banging on the car and the gardaí did nothing, it would be a nationwide scandal.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭paulbok

ShaShaBear wrote: »
    They utterly terrified a perfectly innocent person by being excessively aggressive and threatening.
    Doesn't matter who she was - it was wrong.

If any single one of these people ended up trapped in their car on their way to work by a mob wielding bricks, bottles and banging on the car and the gardaí did nothing, it would be a nationwide scandal.

Or if the Gardai surrounded and blocked off their local post office to protest on dole day.

touts wrote: »
    Ironically if this had taken place in the sort of Socialist paradise Comrade Murphy and his mob want to impose on us they would have spent a couple of days being tortured until they were brought in front of a show trial to confess their crimes live on national TV before being dragged out a side door and shot. Now that is "political policing".

LOL but you mean utopia doesnt exist !!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

The Muppet wrote: »
    The Dáil thing has nothing to do with this. Burton's destination is irrelevant, but I think she was going home.
    gandalf wrote: »
    I wouldn't be surprised if he wasn't.

He could scupper his prosecution via Dáil privilege.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,637 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

touts wrote: »
    No, that's hyperbole.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,400 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

who gave the order to the gardai to arrest them?

Dennis O'Brien. Don't you know they're his personal security service? Rabble rabble etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭RomanKnows

Murphy's head looked particularly puffed-up and engorged yesterday evening as he read his statement outside the Garda Station.

The high point in his career so far as a professional socialist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Waiting for the "bankers" comment

Or Angela Merkel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

ShaShaBear wrote:

Are you saying joan Burton was trapped in her car whilst a mob wielding bricks and bottles surrounded the car? That's not what happened. Hysterical much?