Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clonakilty Waterfront Marathon, Half & 10k

• Registered Users Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭thomas anderson.

Drove back the city. Hotel won't refund the cost of the room now either

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭Shane12

No Surprise this was cancelled I turned around when I got to Bandon, the most astonishing thing is that the authorities did not force them to cancel it yesterday. One would have to wonder!

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭SeanPuddin_

Inevitable news, really unfair on paying customers.

Does anyone mind telling me how the road from Limerick to Cork is? And is cork city flooded. Have to go in that direction today.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭rom

Having been stung by similar before the best rule of thumb is to only do races where there is an athletics club involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

You called it yesterday Rom, exactly as it happened.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,016 ✭✭✭Itziger

People have to stop supporting these races. Haven't there been many problems and complaints with Clon before?

Rom did indeed call it. Tough luck on Tomas and others like him.

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭podgec10

I think the majority of the local running club don't support this race. It's a pity that it's not their race. They seem to be a good club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

A pretty shambolic showing from the Clon crew it has to be said. Looking at their FB page they announced on Friday afternoon that the race was definitely going ahead (how could they tell?) They then proceeded to ignore all the inquiries asking for an update before this morning posting at 8am (1 hour before the start) that the race had been called off at 6:45am!! No mention of dates or refunds, nothing
    Contrast that with Waterford AC who have already a refund, transfer and reregistration policy along with a new date since yesterday. It's like night and day and it's easy to see who is getting the good will.

Even the likes of parkrun events puts these commercial runs to shame. We had two posts up yesterday evening urging potential runners to keep an eye on the FB page this morning before heading to the run. Our RD got up early to check the course and posted at 7:30am (2 hours before the off) to confirm the run was going ahead. We got a total of 37 runners all for a fee of €0 while these jokers took in tens of thousands of Euros and haven't done a tap. I really hope this puts people off these kind of races in the future.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭rom

I know a sub 2:40 guy that got a job as a pacer here and all he was offered was free race entry. For a for profit event to offer that is all I needed to know. I hope the race organiser lost a packet.

rom wrote: »
    I know a sub 2:40 guy that got a job as a pacer here and all he was offered was free race entry. For a for profit event to offer that is all I needed to know. I hope the race organiser lost a packet.

They haven't even offered any refunds as of yet so they still hold all the money.
    There are no details of when there might be a rearranged event, no answers to anyone's questions since the event cancellation this morning.
    There are however plenty of FB pictures of the organisers socialising with the MCI crowd and at least they are 'liking' posts on their page defending their event so it's good to see they are still alive I guess ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Rick Ford

menoscemo wrote: »
    They haven't even offered any refunds as of yet so they still hold all the money.
    There are no details of when there might be a rearranged event, no answers to anyone's questions since the event cancellation this morning.
    There are however plenty of FB pictures of the organisers socialising with the MCI crowd and at least they are 'liking' posts on their page defending their event so it's good to see they are still alive I guess ;)
    Plenty of miles and smiles:)...,a fair few with no miles,no smiles and no refund...

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭trailrunner

Two of my team mates travelled 3.5 hours drive to this to be told while getting out of the car that it was cancelled, that's a 7 hour round trip in a code red storm.!!! These people should never be let hold a race ever again !!!

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

I went out and ran a good bit of the course yesterday, and for what its worth, it was the right call. Very tough going and you couldn't have marshals out in that. People would have got it done, but noone would have had a good day.

The issue I have is with communication. The decision was made far too late, and cost people money in hotel stays and travel. All facebook queries went unanswered. Thats not good enough. Since the cancellation Ive had one text from them that told me nothing. Again not good enough.

I wont be going back for a rescheduled run.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭ger664

Two of my team mates travelled 3.5 hours drive to this to be told while getting out of the car that it was cancelled, that's a 7 hour round trip in a code red storm.!!! These people should never be let hold a race ever again !!!

Anyone who makes a 7 hour round trip in a code red storm needs their head examined.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,365 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

They've put this up on their Facebook page now. No mention of refund. I'm shocked....

https://www.facebook.com/runclon/posts/919199554783427?fref=nf
    OFFICIAL STATEMENT REGARDING CANCELLATION OF CLONAKILTY WATERFRONT MARATHON VI
    The organisers of the Clonakility Waterfront Marathon would like to express our sincere disappointment at the cancellation of the Clonakilty Waterfront Marathon VI which was scheduled to take place on 5th December 2015.
    Every conceivable attempt was made in order to stage the event as planned. After course inspection and consultation with An Garda Siochana throughout Friday night 4th/5th December, the event was set to commence as planned at 9am on Saturday 5th December.
    Unfortunately, during the final course inspection with An Garda Siochana at 6:45am on race morning, the decision to cancel the event was regrettably taken on health & safety grounds due to flooding on several parts of the race course. In these instances, the well-being of all participants taking part and our support crew must be our first priority.
    Several dates are currently under consideration regarding the rescheduling of the event and a final decision will be taken shortly. Every entrant will then be contacted regarding that course of action. We acknowledge and appreciate all messages of frustration and support after the cancellation of the event and assure you that the organisation crew are as frustrated, after months of preparation.
    The Clonakilty Waterfront Marathon crew wish to thank our race headquarters the Quality Hotel, for their support in event preparation and welcome shown to everyone on race weekend. We also thank An Garda Siochana, the Irish Red Cross, Clonakilty Town and County Council, the people of Clonakilty and surrounding area, the Clonakilty Rugby Club for offer of the use of their facilities, all our marshals & Clon Crew and above all our runners, walkers and wheelchair participants for your support and dedication shown towards our event.
    PLEASE KEEP YOUR RACE NUMBER FOR THE RESCHEDULED EVENT.
    Yours Sincerely,
    Bob Hilliard and all the Clon Crew.

ger664 wrote: »
    Anyone who makes a 7 hour round trip in a code red storm needs their head examined.

Which is surely why the race should have been cancelled on Friday or at the very least a refund should have been publicly promised to people who were not willing to travel in those conditions.

Speaking of refunds, the Clon Crew have released a new statement just now and not one reference is made to anyone getting their money back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Rick Ford

They've put this up on their Facebook page now. No mention of refund. I'm shocked....

https://www.facebook.com/runclon/posts/919199554783427?fref=nf
    No refund? Holy Jebus...though love all "if u were a true runner u understand ","nobody died"posts .....just recalled a race a couple of years ago that was cancelled,think it may of been a r.n.l.i. 10k in marley .They actually rang every entrant on the friday/sat to tell them it was cancelled.

They had the ability to text everyone but didnt use it to advise of the cancellation.

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭SeanPuddin_

It seems they rallied the troops before making the "rescheduling" announcement. One person made a well argued complaint and was told to take up table tennis instead by a guy who lives in Cork.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭ger664

Which is surely why the race should have been cancelled on Friday or at the very least a refund should have been publicly promised to people who were not willing to travel in those conditions.

I 100% agree that the race should have been called off early on Friday.

We are talking about €60, is not worth risking life and limp for. Even if the race went ahead, and I was entered, I would not have traveled on the morning of the race.

Speaking of refunds, the Clon Crew have released a new statement just now and not one reference is made to anyone getting their money back.

I will hold judgement until there is an official statement on whether or not they will allow refunds.

Maybe some legal head could answer this.
    If the Race is rescheduled under sales of goods and services are they obliged to offer a refund ?

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭amcgee

It seems they rallied the troops before making the "rescheduling" announcement. One person made a well argued complaint and was told to take up table tennis instead by a guy who lives in Cork.

i think your right on that comment, some rather distastful comments made about people making legitimate comments. one person claimed it is the best organised marathon in Ireland which is laughable. another person claimed we are all adults and people should make up their own mind about driving. which is true, but this race is organised by cowboys, and have shown no respect or care for its entrents. thank god i didnt enter, was going to , wont ever now. ran the 10k a few times and it was a poorly organised event the last time.
    In fairness 60 euro is a good price for a marathon but you dont get value for money.

After last years race where the leaders of both half and full were sent down the wrong way..that should have been a clue as regards how they run this race. Pity though it could be a great race, hopefully a club will take over from this crowd.

• Registered Users Posts: 144 ✭✭netmann

amcgee wrote: »
    i think your right on that comment, some rather distastful comments made about people making legitimate comments. one person claimed it is the best organised marathon in Ireland which is laughable. another person claimed we are all adults and people should make up their own mind about driving. which is true, but this race is organised by cowboys, and have shown no respect or care for its entrents. thank god i didnt enter, was going to , wont ever now. ran the 10k a few times and it was a poorly organised event the last time.
    In fairness 60 euro is a good price for a marathon but you dont get value for money.

After last years race where the leaders of both half and full were sent down the wrong way..that should have been a clue as regards how they run this race. Pity though it could be a great race, hopefully a club will take over from this crowd.

They had updated FB to say it was definitely going ahead on the Fri evening and that's why so many people traveled in the terrible conditions. Don't think many minded it being called off but the timing of when it was called off (should have been called off on Fri) and the how it wasn't communicated (approx 8.30am) until some hours after the decision was made (6.45am) has really annoyed people. Also an expected automatic refund hasn't being offered yet which is pretty incredible.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,687 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

I just logged on to check some reports of the race, as I was amazed it was not cancelled on Friday.

Seems a bit of a shocking state of affairs, and maybe a case that by race morning much of the cash had been spent. Water had been bought, porta-loo's were in place etc etc - So I would think the money is simply not there to do refunds...

I just logged on to check some reports of the race, as I was amazed it was not cancelled on Friday.

Seems a bit of a shocking state of affairs, and maybe a case that by race morning much of the cash had been spent. Water had been bought, porta-loo's were in place etc etc - So I would think the money is simply not there to do refunds...
    Thing is, if they reschedule AND offer refunds, its a much fairer deal for competitors and creates a positive feeling. They can sell more places too. Teeshirts, medals and water can all be used for a rescheduled race. So not a total loss. To be honest the refund is not the issue to me, the bigger expense is time off, travel and accommodation. I can't do all that again in a few weeks. Tho I think the 'they made people travel in dangerous conditions' accusations Ive seen are quite frankly ridiculous. People made their own judgement calls on that. The storm wasnt that bad :)

Agreed.

I was going to do this race last year. If I had trekked down to west cork, only for the race to be cancelled at the last second I would be fuming.

I met a few of the lads from Clon AC last summer when I did their summer race [which was excellent]. So feel sorry for them a small bit. But fact remains plug should have been pulled Thurs / Friday; and it needs to be rescheduled early 2016, which is a HUGE pain for everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 548 ✭✭✭paulers06

Agree that the situation could have been handled better but people are being a bit ridiculous. I'm sure the refund will be announced at the same time as the rescheduled date.

Will be taking the refund myself, won't be able to afford another 2 nights hotel, meals out etc with Christmas. January is a tough enough month without having to budget a weekend away too!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭thomas anderson.

I want my money back. There's no way I'm going to give it to these showers again.

Plus there's no guarantee that the next scheduled date will fit into my training plan for Rotterdam

Agreed.

I was going to do this race last year. If I had trekked down to west cork, only for the race to be cancelled at the last second I would be fuming.

I met a few of the lads from Clon AC last summer when I did their summer race [which was excellent]. So feel sorry for them a small bit. But fact remains plug should have been pulled Thurs / Friday; and it needs to be rescheduled early 2016, which is a HUGE pain for everyone

Clon AC are not connected to this race and afaik they don't support it.

I always thought that these races were closely connected with the club down there. But your right, a google shows me it's one bloke doing it for profit.

Feck it so, refunds [and also the question of liability, for hotel and transfer costs etc]

I always thought that these races were closely connected with the club down there. But your right, a google shows me it's one bloke doing it for profit.

Feck it so, refunds [and also the question of liability, for hotel and transfer costs etc]

It's amazing the misconception/assumptions made around races and I am sure that the organisers do little to refute those. I saw one lady on FB say that refunds should not be offered as it was a charity race :confused: