Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Recruits TV show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,043 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Reggie. wrote: »
    All this fancy gortex aswell :D
    ....and duvets :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

All this fancy gortex aswell :D

Goretex! Pfft, I remember putting on a pair of socks, then a zip lock bag, then my wet boots.

Job done! Get the fcuk on parade!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Goretex! Pfft, I remember putting on a pair of socks, then a zip lock bag, then my wet boots.

Job done! Get the fcuk on parade!

Putting on wet uniforms in a billet is on thing but in the middle of a forest on a frosty morning is quite another :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Having no bed blocks, no olive greens, no lavender wax, no cutlery inspection, no proper #1 boots to bull.....cushy out nowadays! :)

It was starched overalls and staple belts back when I were a lad :D

Oh and talking of wax, remember the lead swingers?.. Swinging those bastards around for hours trying to get the floor polished for the platoon commanders inspection.. And being terrified of him :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Putting on wet uniforms in a billet is on thing but in the middle of a forest on a frosty morning is quite another :D

I find it way worse in the billet.

That definitely is one of the moments that you seriously ask yourself what the fcuk am I doing here?!

And you continue to do so years later :)

Look at all the war stories coming out now

Hey, anyone remember when you've just finished scratch and everyone is in a jock.. Then you're told "Right get inside, shower and change into dry gear and back on parade for 17:00hrs" ~ marched to the dining hall, then a rifle inspection at 18:00hrs.. And because some boll*x has a dirty rifle everyone is ran into the river and back up to the billets soaking wet.

And they say recruit training is the best time of your life.. Me, f*ck man I hated it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

A British version is on BBC 2 at the moment funnily enough, recruits seem much older.

case885 wrote: »
    A British version is on BBC 2 at the moment funnily enough, recruits seem much older.

Dad's Army repeats, the BBC are always at that :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

I haven't watched it yet (I'm in the US and need to install a VPN), but I'm getting the idea that an officer discarded an unsatisfactorily stored uniform onto the floor?

For the purposes of a foreign viewpoint, this is what we term a "Tornado" in US recruit training. (Forgive me, I can't seem to find one without the text). Think of it as a sort of temper tantrum by the instructors.

7c7c214ef5b59a3b556d091e88972b47.jpg
    41b841fdea44d7cdbd078e15c09dacc3.jpg

They are common if things are unsatisfactory. They are also commonly the result of a locker which is left unlocked (though usually only the transgressor's equipment is scattered in such a case). It's pretty much standard to reinforce standards and attention to detail. Obviously the recruits have to take time out to sort out the mess. Which they'd rather not do. So they take more care next time.

It is not exclusive to basic training either. This is a photo I took at Officer Candidate School. My rack is in there somewhere... Third on the right if memory serves. Note that some beds are left alone: They were to standard.
    mess1.jpg

For the curious, I put my 'tips to survive basic training' up on here. http://worldoftanks.com/en/news/pc-browser/21/The_Chieftains_Hatch_Suviving_Basic/?page=1
    The bottom line is that the NCOs and officers want you to pass. But they also want to make sure you're worthy enough to do it.

For comparison, I kept a written diary of Basic Training here: https://web.archive.org/web/20080915180427/http://www.clubi.ie/exalted/40th.htm

I do not actually recall very much profanity in US basic. I don't use it myself, I have NCOs to impart stress. But it's not uncommon, and I can't say it bothers me.

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭Alt J

• Registered Users Posts: 360 ✭✭georgewickstaff

I'm afraid I thought it was just a load of reality show try hards playing up to the gallery.

Imagine if you will some bloke or young one taking their cue from 'Full Metal Jacket' and trying to take on this role in real life. Cringe.

I'm afraid I thought it was just a load of reality show try hards playing up to the gallery.

Imagine if you will some bloke or young one taking their cue from 'Full Metal Jacket' and trying to take on this role in real life. Cringe.

Nah, it was actually very accurate.. If anything it was watered down a lot.

I thought last nights show was excellent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Nah, it was actually very accurate.. If anything it was watered down a lot.

I thought last nights show was excellent.

Im really enjoyed it. Shame they didn't match the 17 weeks of training with say 8 or 12 episodes. Following the group up to the passing out parade.

Agreed, it was fairly tame but I suppose it kind of had to be. Turns out civvies really, really didn't have any idea that the things they see in films actually happens for real.

It is definitely not the case of an NCO acting up for the camera or because they have seen too many films.

That's the way it is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 210 ✭✭Tompatrick

liam7831 wrote: »
    I thought it was hilarious, would be a lot better with a few more guards on the streets than paying the boyscouts to run around the Curragh

Yeah. The lad doing the thee fingered scout salute ! Dib dib dib !

I thought it was hilarious, would be a lot better with a few more guards on the streets than paying the boyscouts to run around the Curragh

Ffs! It's not boyscouts! It's Rambo, get it right will ya!

Now if you are strong enough to type you are strong enough to drop and give me 50 press ups.

If your arms fail to lift ya, place your chin on the deck and flap your mouth a bit more to at least make it look like you are trying.

Yea because the guards can do our job in Syria, Lebanon, Liberia, Chad etc.. Oh, and lets put some more Explosive Ordnance Disposal cops on the streets too ~ except they can't defuse sh*t either.

Shur there is only a few hundred deployed on missions, what do the other 6 or 7 thousand do every week? Its not exactly Baghdad around here so not too many explosive Ordnance Disposal personnell required I would suggest ?

I play with the crayon's before lunch, Senor Fancy Pants licks the windows. Then after lunch we swap around.. I don't know who Reggie is, but I suspect he's the one who makes and flies the paper 'planes (this carries a technical allowance to pay for the paper cut plasters).

You?.

Shur there is only a few hundred deployed on missions, what do the other 6 or 7 thousand do every week? Its not exactly Baghdad around here so not too many explosive Ordnance Disposal personnell required I would suggest ?

Real original argument there.

I play with the crayon's before lunch, Senor Fancy Pants licks the windows. Then after lunch we swap around.. I don't know who Reggie is, but I suspect he's the one who makes and flies the paper 'planes (this carries a technical allowance to pay for the paper cut plasters).

You?.

Whoa whoa whoa! Tuesday's and Thursday's we get to play with mala after lunch. Then go home early incase it starts to rain.

Reggie is in charge of the fluffy pillows. He does a great job. Needs more softener though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

Great show.

A lot of young people are interested in joining the Army and it gives a good insight into Military life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭kieranfitz

syklops wrote: »
    Im really enjoyed it. Shame they didn't match the 17 weeks of training with say 8 or 12 episodes. Following the group up to the passing out parade.

8-12 episodes? Are you mad? they need that air time for a show about Guards who ****ed off to oz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,515 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Oh, and lets put some more Explosive Ordnance Disposal cops on the streets too ~ except they can't defuse sh*t either.

Out of interest would the bomb disposal people have necessarily gone through the 17 week training that we saw on the programme?
    Whilst I enjoyed it it did occur to me that if you make such training a requirement then you potentially might miss out some really useful recruits (I was thinking of people who might excel at military tactics and academic war theory, military resource management, I.T. staff etc).

Whoa whoa whoa! Tuesday's and Thursday's we get to play with mala after lunch. Then go home early incase it starts to rain.

Reggie is in charge of the fluffy pillows. He does a great job. Needs more softener though.

Your always bitching about the softener

Out of interest would the bomb disposal people have necessarily gone through the 17 week training that we saw on the programme?
    Whilst I enjoyed it it did occur to me that if you make such training a requirement then you potentially might miss out some really useful recruits (I was thinking of people who might excel at military tactics and academic war theory, military resource management, I.T. staff etc).

And what hood would they be to you in a battle situation if they didn't go through that training

• Registered Users Posts: 318 ✭✭zzfh

Should of done it over 6 eps or so imo.
    BBC done one about 6 months ago and done it as a 4 week run.It was better getting to know the group and such.

So I got about to watching the show, and my immediate reaction was "That was what people were up in arms over!?"

I would hope so. There's a reason it's called "Basic" training in some countries. Plenty of bombs to dispose when overseas in places like the Lebanon. Would be handy if the EOD team knew how to react if they found themselves under fire mid-call-out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Can't believe I actually just read this.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

[MOD]I'm going back through the entire thread, Ive already applied infractions for trolling on someone, anyone else wants to disrespect the defence forces can find a new forum for good.[/MOD]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,515 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

And what hood would they be to you in a battle situation if they didn't go through that training

I think on balance that I'd like my bomb guy to have a nerdishly encyclopedic knowledge of devices and the technical ability to deal with them, and if they also have long hair, scruffy boots and are poor at pressups then I don't think I'd be too bothered.
    I would hope so. There's a reason it's called "Basic" training in some countries. Plenty of bombs to dispose when overseas in places like the Lebanon. Would be handy if the EOD team knew how to react if they found themselves under fire mid-call-out.

Fair enough, I thought there might be a concept that you could be a 'fail' in some areas of this training but if you were going to excel in a useful specialist field then you could get a fastrack pass to that field. I can see how it would be problematic.
    discus wrote: »
    Can't believe I actually just read this.

You know what, I think it was a valid question. But if I've asked something that is so utterly unbelievable then I can only apologise for offending anyones sensibilities. I'll back away from the forum now.

Its a simple answer,
    In the defence forces, everyone is a soldier first and a corps, specialist, etc second, everyone is tested on and must pass the same fitness test, medical analysis, annual range practice, is subject to random drug tests etc each year besides their main tasking, that includes the reserve defence forces as and from this year.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,519 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Enjoyed the show. The recruits in their 20s (generally) had more cop on.

Some of the comments here are absurd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

From what I remember, the only people exempt from basic training is the Chaplain and maybe some of the Army doctors. In saying that though, there would have to be some form of training given to them as they do also end up overseas, so would need some form of cop on should the proverbial hit the fan.

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭Alt J

Baffles me how they were our top forty recruits. It would leave me with no faith in the recruitment process. I have to say I enjoyed the second episode do. I think its far past the time to update the fitness test, atleast this would maybe stop the high attrition rate. I Wondered how some of the recruits got past the interview stage with their attitudes. With massive high demand I think its time to update the whole recruitment process maybe, from the series it looked like well deserved recruits got a place but it looked like alot didn't deserve to be there

Ok, from what I understand....If you pass the interviews, psychometric test (done externally), basic recruit applicants fitness test, army medical test and garda background check, you go onto a "panel".

That panel is a list of applicants names who satisfied all of the above, potentially numbering in the hundreds.

Out of that panel the first 40 recruits are chosen, not the highest scoring/best/Mensa candidates etc, just the FIRST forty names on the panel.

You just need to be one of the first ones to get through the process and make it onto a panel.

This panel remains active for a number of months and as current recruit platoons pass out and rotate onto their 3 star training, next 40 names will now be pulled from the existing panel. Any drop outs are replaced with panellists - up to a point - if someone drops out on week ten for example, it wouldnt make sense to replace them as this recruit would be so far behind.

Im open to correction, but thats what I was told about the process.

Alt J wrote: »
    Baffles me how they were our top forty recruits. It would leave me with no faith in the recruitment process. I have to say I enjoyed the second episode do. I think its far past the time to update the fitness test, atleast this would maybe stop the high attrition rate. I Wondered how some of the recruits got past the interview stage with their attitudes. With massive high demand I think its time to update the whole recruitment process maybe, from the series it looked like well deserved recruits got a place but it looked like alot didn't deserve to be there

The problem is that there is, to my knowledge, no interview/selection process which can properly determine if an individual has the intestinal fortitude to get through recruit training. The back-talk, mistakes, etc, that you saw on the show are catalysed by the repeated stress over time. Ultimately, you can't just look at someone, give them a test and an interview, and say "He/she has got what it takes, and will have the right resilience" You have to put them through the meat grinder and see what they're made of that way.

I don't think the show indicated how many people were discharged because of an inability to meet fitness standards.

Enjoyed the show. The recruits in their 20s (generally) had more cop on.

Some of the comments here are absurd.

This is an observation I had. I went through US Army basic at 25. The difference is night and day, for only seven years' difference in maturity. (Nearly 40% more time on this Earth). Others I have spoken to who have gone through older than most have had similar observations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,847 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

This show was complete cannon fodder for Joe Duffy.

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭compo1

As a civvie, I thought it was interesting, but it could have been six or eight episodes. We really only got glimpses of each stage of the training. The recruits looked a right sorry bunch at the start alright, but the survivors looked to be of an entirely different calibre by the end.
    One thing I noticed in the first episode when they were being told what to expect, the guy said they were being toughened up "so that when you go to Syria..." "When"? Does he know something we don't know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭davetherave

compo1 wrote: »
    One thing I noticed in the first episode when they were being told what to expect, the guy said they were being toughened up "so that when you go to Syria..." "When"? Does he know something we don't know?

http://www.military.ie/overseas/current-missions/undof/

As a civvie, I thought it was interesting, but it could have been six or eight episodes. We really only got glimpses of each stage of the training. The recruits looked a right sorry bunch at the start alright, but the survivors looked to be of an entirely different calibre by the end.

Eh we've been in Syria for a while now

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭compo1

Eh we've been in Syria for a while now
    Other than the Golan? The way he was talking, it seemed to me he was talking about the general Syria situation. I suppose if there's ever a ceasefire there our troops will be sent out.

Does it make a difference where

Good question actually.

Yes all other ranks (enlisted) go through the same recruit/basic infantry training (yes the unit on TV was a Cav unit, but essentially the recruits were trained as infantry if that makes any sense).

So specialists like EOD, CIS (signals), Transport drivers, fitters, Medics, Engineers etc all receive the same basic training.

Then when you go to your various units you receive further training specific to your job.

Why?.. Well take oversea's for example.. Every member of that unit can do the job of an infantry man should the need arise.. Cooks, drivers, radio ops etc are all trained to the very same basic standard.

Like I said, good question. I hope that answer it.

We were in Syria proper for awhile, we'd a lot of contact (fire fights) with the various warring factions, we'd one MOWAG severely damaged in an IED ambush.

The group are on the Israeli side now, but have an operational OP inside Syria.

read this:
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/irish-troops-prove-their-mettle-on-hostile-syrian-front-line-1.1919554
    Irish troops prove their mettle on hostile Syrian front line
    One group of surrounded Filipinos fled under cover of darkness, but the second platoon was not so lucky and it was the Irish who were called in to save them.

The Irish military’s status as being among the best peacekeepers and peace-enforcers in the world might seem like a tired cliché. There was nothing tired though about the actions of the Irish men and women of the Defence Forces last weekend while serving with the United Nations mission in Syria.
    With 44 of their Fijian colleagues having been kidnapped by armed rebels, tensions in the Golan Heights were ratcheted up further when Filipino troops were targeted.

Last Saturday the UN positions at Breiqa and Rwihana operated by the Filipinos were surrounded by hundreds of armed Islamist insurgents. The danger posed by the rebels is put into context by the fact they had seized a Syrian border crossing at Quneitra, killing about 20 Syrian troops in a firefight, with the UN troops from Fiji disarmed and abducted in the same attack. The Fijians are still unaccounted for.

While one group of surrounded Filipinos managed to get free under cover of darkness, the second platoon at Breiqa were not so lucky, and it was the Irish who were called in to save them. They secured the area around their post and evacuated their colleagues despite the presence of an armed and hostile, battle-hardened reception party. The Irish exchanged fire a number of times with the rebels, but appeared too well drilled and well armed to be taken on.

Last week’s events have brought into focus the fact the UN mission, which includes about 130 Irish among a multinational force of more than 1,200, is being dragged away from its mandate to observe a separation zone between Israel and Syria dating back to a conflict between them in the 1970s.
    On the basis of the decisive actions of the Irish last weekend, if the UN withdraws, it will not be because the Irish cannot stand the heat but because the mandate they are there to execute is being displaced by the unrelated bloody civil war.

I got an update on my information, i missed out on one or two components though:

If you pass

the interview (SCORED),
    psychometric test (done externally) (PASS / FAIL),
    basic recruit applicants fitness test (PASS / FAIL),
    army medical test (PASS / FAIL)
    garda background check (PASS / FAIL)

you go onto a "panel"
    All stages are pass or fail EXCEPT the interview stage.
    An applicant is scored on his/her interview.
    Taking that an applicant passes all other stages, it is the interview score that determines an applicant's place on the panel.

That panel is a list of applicants names who satisfied all of the above, potentially numbering in the hundreds and the first platoon that is taken in from a panel will be the top 40 scorers from the interview stage who have successfully completed all stages.

This panel remains active for a number of months and as current recruit platoons pass out and rotate onto their 3 star training, next 40 names will now be pulled from the existing panel. Any drop outs are replaced with panellists - up to a point - if someone drops out on week ten for example, it wouldnt make sense to replace them as this recruit would be so far behind.

The panel is not DF wide, each Brigade (north and south) and the Naval Service run its own competition and has its own panel to select platoons of recruits from.

Hope that helps.