Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Commuting gear for the winter months

Options
  • 20-08-2015 4:39pm
    Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭

Hey guys,

I'm relatively new to cycling. I've been commuting by bike everyday for the last 4 months so there's been a few days where I've gotten pretty wet.

At work I don't have showers or a locker, just a garage that I can leave my gear on and its horrible at the end of work to put on wet gear to head back out.

So I'm looking to get ready for the wet and cold that's coming up. I'm pretty OK with my upper body. A light rain jacket and some under armor is what I usually have. I'm just not sure what to do with my lower body and feet.

Can anyone recommend a pair of shorts that are quick drying or will dry over the 8 hours of work if left hanging up? I personally prefer baggy shorts over skin tights, at the moment I wear compression shorts with cotton rugby shorts over which once they get wet never dry. So if I could find a pair of baggy ones, or pants that would be great.

For feet I'm really clueless, I don't want to go clipless as it's a bit overkill for what I need. So I'm looking for a pair of shoes that doesn't hold water. I was using a pair of lonsdales but once they got wet they retained the water in the fabric and began to stink. If I could get a pair of shoes that don't hold water and wore sealskin socks with them I should be laughing.

Has anyone any suggestions about the above or any other advice in general?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 3,122 ✭✭✭daragh_

Investing in a decent set of mudguards will leave you a lot dryer at the end of your commute.