Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United vs Newcastle Match Thread 22/8/15 k/o 12.45 BT1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Is Depay Valencia in disguise?

scsc.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭bmcc10

Hernandez for Rooney at ht please shocking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Newcastle have come back into this game well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

Also Herrera for Basti

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Mars Bar wrote: »
    Referees are awful!

This one get a solid 10/10 on the ****ness scale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

So wasteful again around the penalty area. Newcastle look dangerous on the break.

Decision making in final third is poor

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 68,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Grid.

Shoulda scored there.... 3 on 2.

I hope Memphis doesnt turn into Nani 2.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I sense this ref is a disaster waiting to happen.

Ah ffs

He's 21, he's not going to be perfect every game.

This is a game we could be winning 4 or 5 - 0 .

All our crosses are been driven on the ground cause we have no height to aim for.

Need to buy some height up front or just use Fellaini when he isnt suspended.

Johner wrote: »
    He's 21, he's not going to be perfect every game.

True but his indecision at the end was quite poor.

I sense this ref is a disaster waiting to happen.

Judging by his last performance, his strategy seems to be completley **** over 1 team and give the other team everything.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

they look exhausted after midweek. we will be doing well if we win this one by 1-0 now. should have been 2-0 up after twenty, but then our work rate dropped. they look tired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Yeah, ref has had a nightmare. Forget the offside, because it's a tough call to make, but letting one team come through the back of the other on every tackle, especially when it is the team under the cosh, is fecking infuriating to watch.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭Korat

Utd very unlucky not to be a couple of goals up. Could be one of them days.

There you go, it was offside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

We've been very fortunate to still be in this game. We've been showing signs of defensive improvements but there's still a lot of last ditch stuff going on which leaves me worried.

Mbemba is not a RB and is having a Jekyll and Hyde game. Wouldn't be surprised to see Steven Taylor moved out there

That Rooney goal was onside for me. A bizarre and fortunate decision for us anyway.

Our passing has been ok but nobody is showing for it. Too deep at times and nobody busting a gut to get down the wings for an overlap to at least give us a chance.

We've had a few half chances and I thought Mitrovic had scored. He looks to be the type of striker we've been missing for a while. For all the talk of him being a rash character, he's been very composed and has held the bell up very well thus far. Even more impressive since Smalling has been all over him when trying to win headers.

We're being exposed in midfield. Nobody closing the ball down. Anita and Colback are pretty lightweight and are allowing Mata to run into acres of space with no attempt to win the ball until it comes to the edge of the box.

Obertan is useless. On the counter attack and he just stops our progression up the pitch by dragging it back, stopping and allowing the opposition to get back into position. He's poison.

Wijnaldum has shown some deft touches. He's linking up well with Mitrovic and Perez.

I don't think it'll be too long before we bring Thauvin on but I'd go ahead and take Anita off and Tiote on. Bit more bite in midfield perhaps.

We're doing ok but we're making things difficult but we've kept Rooney quiet... for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Roquentin wrote: »
    they look exhausted after midweek. we will be doing well if we win this one by 1-0 now. should have been 2-0 up after twenty, but then our work rate dropped. they look tired.

Wouldn't agree with that. Newcastle were bound to come back in to it. Along with Schweisteigers injury it seemed to knock Uts momentum a bit.

Keep the same eleven second half and just go at it again.

Yeah, ref has had a nightmare. Forget the offside, because it's a tough call to make, but letting one team come through the back of the other on every tackle, especially when it is the team under the cosh, is fecking infuriating to watch.

Villa seemed to be doing the same to us and got away with it, i always thought that coming through the back of a playing was an auto foul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

There's a bang of Chicarito-off-the-bench-to-score-a-late-winner about this one.

United should really be 2 up at this stage and the longer it goes without a goal in the second half, the nervier it will become. Rooney is far too isloated and coming too deep - we lack a focus up front through the middle.

Still, a fairly entertaining game so far.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 68,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Grid.

Poor Scholes is a cringey pundit.

Grid. wrote: »

He's very much correct though with no runners from midfield its really hurting the team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Grid. wrote: »

Not a peep out of him for years and now you can't shut him up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭MythicalMadMan

Giggsy11 wrote: »
    lol. Poor try. 1/10.

Was going to reply 0 because it made no sense what so ever. What did you give the mark for spelling?

Like to see Rooney drop deeper with Chica up top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Rossi IRL wrote: »
    Villa seemed to be doing the same to us and got away with it, i always thought that coming through the back of a playing was an auto foul.

It generally is but in the 3 games so far this season it has felt like there has been a directive change it has been so prevalent. It is so effective for the defending team because the attacking team lose confidence when they are receiving the ball to feet after a while.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Newcastle are really starting to look comfortable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,363 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Herrera for Schweinsteiger seems a no brainer to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Wijnaldum is so good. Fantastic signing for Newcastle, it's hard to believe he didn't end up at one of the bigger clubs in Europe.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

Hernandez for Januzaj.
    Herrera for Bastien.

Carrick instead Herrera is baffling

• Registered Users Posts: 506 ✭✭✭D_turbo

Mitrovic is doing well to hold up pllay.

would like to see thuavin sooner rather then later

Jesus we got a free kick in their half, hallelujah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,948 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Carrick coming on. Would rather Herrera myself.

Ah come on Memphis.

I'd absolutely take a 1-0 win at this point.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

This games got a Hernandez goal written all over it in massive bold letters.

Newcastle are doing brilliantly at blocking crosses

Rooney hasnt done a thing since the 1st 20 mins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Very generous to only take the 3 points fair play.

Can we not at least try something different move januzaj out wide mata into middle

• Registered Users Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭Korat

Utd need a striker on pitch, just to have someone in the box to kick the balls towards. Get Chico on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Is there any point today that you wouldn't have?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

Januzaj *facepalm*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,745 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

Januzaj loves a dive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,850 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Lol... How was that not a booking for Januzaj?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

I'd take a shot on target at this stage.