Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car insurance - tell us your quotes/renewals

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

smash wrote: »
    I'm driving a 645ci. I don't want a 335, I'm just pointing out that the young lad with the 335 is lucky to even get a quote let alone insurance for €1200.

Is your job high risk maybe? They'll quote me online on a 335i/d.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Is your job high risk maybe? They'll quote me online on a 335i/d.

No, although I don't know what they'd even consider high risk. Not like I'm a stunt man or rally driver.

• Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭helen87

Years Driving:10
    Car: focus zetec s 1.6 diesel 120 bhp
    NCB:10
    Claims: 0
    Cover :fully comp
    Provider:allianz
    Price: 480

Just ordered the new focus zetec-s model which is a 2.0 Diesel 150bhp!
    trying not to wonder what the quote will be for that!

• Registered Users Posts: 888 ✭✭✭morritty

helen87 wrote: »
    Years Driving:10
    Car: focus zetec s 1.6 diesel 120 bhp
    NCB:10
    Cover :fully comp
    Provider:allianz
    Price: 480

Just ordered the new focus zetec-s model which is a 2.0 Diesel 150bhp!
    trying not to wonder what the quote will be for that!

Mate of mine got a brand new one in may, he got a quote for 1000 on his, roughly the same details as you.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭AMGer

Your Age: 36
    Car type and engine: Merc CLA45, 2.0 turbo petrol
    years driving: full licence - 16 years
    any claims: no
    Price and provider: 507 p/a 123.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭cruhoortwunk

Recurve360 wrote: »
    Car Type: Passat B6 1.9 TDI 105BHP
    Years Driving: 9 years in my own name
    Claims: None
    Price and Provider. 430 with Liberty fully comp including windscreen and step back
    Car: 03 Vw Bora 1.9 tdi 110bhp
    Years: 10
    Claims: no and no points
    Price: 950e :(

Interesting how similar you 2 are in profile, and what a difference there is in premium

• Registered Users Posts: 888 ✭✭✭morritty

Interesting how similar you 2 are in profile, and what a difference there is in premium

Plenty more young lads going around in tdi Bora's over a B6 Passat, so the Bora's in a higher risk group

• Registered Users Posts: 5,623 ✭✭✭TheBody

Your Age: 34
    Car type and engine: Ford Focus 1.4 Petrol
    years driving: 14
    any claims: 0
    Price and provider: €431 with Aviva

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,404 ✭✭✭✭sKeith

Years Driving:15+
    Car: 96 golf 1.4
    NCB: max
    Cover : 3rd party F&T
    Provider: liberty
    Price: 350

290 last year. 20% increase. no windscreen insurance, no ncb protection. bare policy.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭cruhoortwunk

morritty wrote: »
    Plenty more young lads going around in tdi Bora's over a B6 Passat, so the Bora's in a higher risk group
    That and the insurers pull numbers from their arses

• Registered Users Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Ron Burgundy II

Your Age: 28
    Car type and engine: 2011 VW Passat 2.0TDi (140BHP)
    years driving: full licence - 11 years
    any claims: no
    Price and provider: 550ish Zurich

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

sKeith wrote: »
    Years Driving:15+
    Car: 96 golf 1.4
    NCB: max
    Cover : 3rd party F&T
    Price: 350

290 last year. 20% increase. no windscreen insurance, no ncb protection. bare policy.

You should price getting some level of bonus protection mate, last thing you want is some minor prang wiping out the entire thing. Even step back is better than none.

• Registered Users Posts: 718 ✭✭✭calnand

Mine might top all of these, but this was the cheapest offered to me.

Years driving: 7
    Car: '00 ford fiesta 1.3
    NCB: 1 years own name. (6 year named)
    Cover: TPFT
    Price: 1914

Main thing is 19 year old brother who just passed his test.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭billy few mates

Car: 2013 VW Golf
    NCB: 10+
    Licence: full 10+
    Cover: Fully comp, protected NCB
    Last year: €340
    Renewal with existing: €440 with broker.
    Best new price: €340 with AA

I seem to go from AA to broker every other year.
    As a side note I also rang around looking to add my 17 year old daughter to the policy, she has a learners permit (five months) and almost every insurance company I rang either wouldn't quote or wanted between €2000 to €3000 to have her on the policy, and some insisted she would only be third party covered.
    In the end I got it with AA for €1100 total which I thought was pretty reasonable....

Edit: Actually Footprint were quite reasonable with their original quote until I tried to add my daughter....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Nforce

Almost persuaded my missus to finally get a luxobarge...until..

Car: 2008 BMW 730D SE
    NCB: 17+
    Licence: full 17+
    Cover: Fully comp, protected NCB

Best price: €1230 with AA

• Registered Users Posts: 9,660 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Just to add to the above ^^.

My renewal is up this month.

Car: 2005 BMW 740Li
    NCB: 7+
    Licence: full 7+
    Cover: Fully comp, no protected NCB

Louth, garaged car, 9k miles a year, owned 2 years.

Cover in a click: €1995
    Sullivan: Won't quote
    Top Quote: €1902
    Quote Me: €1900
    Britton: €1658
    AIG: Issued referral form, didn't bother
    Arachas: €2750
    Allianz: Won't quote
    Axa: €1733, revised to €1500 after second call
    Kellagher: €1525
    ARB: €1962

I've rung a few since and haven't even bothered to write down the quotes if they're over €1900.

Absolutely sickening the state of things. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

I've rung a few since and haven't even bothered to write down the quotes if they're over €1900.

Louth is an insurance blackspot for a number of insurers. You should try and see what prices you can get of you were in somewhere like Offaly or Westmeath with the same details, be interesting to compare to see if that's a factor.

Is it up much on last year?

Was €800 first year, then €1180 the next, now looking like €1500 minimum. I changed the address on the Axa quote to a Dublin address and it only came down €180 on their website to €1550ish, still off the wall.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Nforce

My wife's quote was for Westmeath, 10k mileage, garaged, tracking device fitted etc. I was shocked tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭billy few mates

Have you tried the AA...?
    They always seem open to haggling...

Just quoted with them online, €1809 with their "value" package. Ridiculous.

EDIT:

Just did a quick quote with FBD, came out around the €800 mark. However that was selecting the max engine size the drop down list allowed of 3.0L.
    Once I went into specifics of the car at 4.0L, they won't quote. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I recently picked up a 2L diesel Freelander. I've had no trouble with my annual premiums over the last couple of years so it never occured to me that there might be an issue with insuring it. Was absolutely shocked to see third party bare bones cover coming in at around the 700 mark and anything with NCB protection 800 plus. A couple of quotes from the old reliable pranksters like Axa and Aviva were €1200!! After my first evening of quote hunting I actually resigned myself to offloading the car on donedeal as there was no way I was going to return to insurance prices like that.

Anyway, at the 11th hour there was salvation from an unlikely source. I got a leaflet in the post from Bank Of Ireland (RSA underwritten) about home/car/travel insurance. I was certain I'd be wasting my time but I went on the site and filled in the form one last time.

Third Party F&T with stepback NCB and a few other essentials - €380
    Could not believe the disparity. The nearest I came to that was the AA Insurance at €680
    I discovered the quotations dont last a week or 30 days, only 24 hours, so I snapped their hand off.

Agricola I could kiss you! €1042! Can't believe my eyes after all the madness i've been through, thank you!

• Registered Users Posts: 392 ✭✭NickDunne

Car: 04 Mondeo Zetec TDCi

NCB: 4 yrs

Licence: 6 years, no points

Cover: TPFT, NCB protection, Windscreen, driving other cars.

Last years ploicy: €510 on a 03 Fiesta 1.25

Renewal quote : Havn't received yet

Best quote: TPFT on a 04 mondy with 200k miles on the clock worth €500

1raeea.png

Anyone who tries to argue that thess quotes aren't taking the f*cking piss is a fool imo. But but... it's a BIG engine :O WITH a TURBO??? Jaysus this isn't the mondello carlo raaaace track in monaco ye'know!!! Jaysus 115bhp is off the chart lad :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 980 ✭✭✭macroman

Car: 2014 VW Golf 1.6 TDI
    NCB: 6 years
    License: Full 7 years
    Cover: Fully Comp.
    Last Year: €660 - AA via Broker
    This Year: €940 renewal with additional €150 excess

Quotes this year varying between €900-€2100. I'm even registered with IAM and getting those quotes!

• Registered Users Posts: 645 ✭✭✭s14driftking

Car: tradepolicy

NCD: Full

Licence: Full 10+ years, 3 points

Cover: Fully comp,

Best quote: 850 trade wise

• Registered Users Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Agricola I could kiss you! €1042! Can't believe my eyes after all the madness i've been through, thank you!

I imagine you felt as I did. A bit like a kid on Xmas morning again! :D

First good word I've had to say about Bank of Ireland in a long while!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

Agricola wrote: »
    I imagine you felt as I did. A bit like a kid on Xmas morning again! :D

First good word I've had to say about Bank of Ireland in a long while!

BOI seem to be making a name for themselves in the car insurance market. (older cars, good premiums, non-standard risks). Fair play to them, but I don't understand the fact they are underwritten by RSA, who are currently trying to recoup losses elsewhere by huge price increases for similar risks

Well if you look at the premium breakdown, there's a €250 odd discount for being a BOI customer which presumably they're subsidising.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,866 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Car: 2015 Octavia RS
    NCB: 10 years
    License: Full 14 years
    Cover: Fully Comp.
    Last Year: €650 (on a 2014 Leon FR with the same engine), fully protected NC
    This Year: €1356

Bahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha.

AA will do it for €714 with a years membership and full no claims protection.