Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What bike related thing is in the post to you right now ...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

Arrived this morning, looks good, fits well - almost hoping for cold wet weather for the club Thursday spin ;)

Just wear an aldi/lidl/something long sleeve base layer. Don't be layering up.

If you feel a slight chill leaving your gaff... you're good to go.

Ponder on the witchcraft as you cycle :P

Not so much in the post for me now... my Galibier Énergie Thermo Bib Tights arrived this morning after being ordered on Friday. Can't wait to try them out in the morning. the Chamois pad seems the business but I'll reserve judgement on the warmth, till tested.
    The Aldi pro cycling bibs from two years ago have yet to be beaten...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Domane

My Galibier Energie bib rights are waiting for me in work and I'll pick them up tomorrow. One thing negative I have to say about Galibier is that luckily I ordered these bibs using the sterling prices on their website and it converted to €90 on my credit card. If you order these bibs fromGalibier in euro on their website, they work out at €109! That's some difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭brownian

Rivelo Langcliffe arrived from Sportpursuit.com today. So far, it's very nice. Haven't worn it outside yet tho.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,557 ✭✭✭The tax man

Bell Super 2 helmet.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Mercian Pro

Arrived this morning, looks good, fits well - almost hoping for cold wet weather for the club Thursday spin ;)

Got the cold (-1) but not the wet.

Was beginning to think Boards was a front for Galibier but now I see why. Not only did I not need the gilet or arm warmers I brought "just in case" but my feet and hands were warmer than they had been on a spin since November. Just a Canterbury base layer under the Mistral jacket and it was perfect. Was with a faster group than usual and there was little or no wind so that probably helped too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Rogue-Trooper

Was beginning to think Boards was a front for Galibier but now I see why.

Welcome, convert. We will now show you the secret handshake.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,762 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

9 speed Tiagra cassette (went for 11-25), KMC chain and Ultegra bottom bracket. All for just over €50 delivered overnight from Chain Reactions. Can't complain.

All for the commuter. Busy Saturday in the shed beckons.....:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Garmin Edge 520 from Evans. €249 delivered which is best price I could find anywhere on net.

Saris Bones 2 bike rack from EuroCycles. Cost €130 delivered which is only €5 more expensive than wiggle which has no stock at present and hasn't had for months.

That's it for this year, no more buying bike stuff till next year, I promise.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,052 ✭✭✭✭neris

2 pairs of sunglasses from chain reaction. I live in hope of a sunny summer

• Registered Users Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭jon1981

Castelli toe thingys because I expect many more cold days ahead!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

Ceramicspeed bearings and a Q ring. It's all gone a bit mad.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,987 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

8 pairs of brake pads and a pair of Schwalbe Durano Plus.

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

8 pairs of brake pads and a pair of Schwalbe Durano Plus.

They should last you a week or so :p

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭bbolger

S-Works Road Shoes (2015)
    Tried them on in store last week, like putting slippers on :-)

Said I'd never pay that much for shoes, then a moment of madness when I saw a 35% discount from https://www.cyclestore.co.uk

• Registered Users Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭Trekker09

Sone decent winter bib tights overshoes and winter gloves from Planet X. Will be starting my 30km again in a few weeks so thought I'd treat myself (well it was Valentines day yesterday)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

Nothing.

Not a thing.

Honest.

Ah here...

Stop judging me! I have issues :/

They were fairly cheap though and I do need them.

-=-=-=-=-=-=

Thank you for ordering with Canyon! Your order will be processed as soon as possible.

Please take note of your order reference number: xxxx

You have selected the following items:

Continental GP 4000s II 23mm
    Item no. 000000000000117118
    EUR33.95
    Quantity: 2
    Total: EUR67.90

Continental GP 4000S II 25mm
    Item no. 000000000000102616
    EUR33.95

Mavic Road Tube SV 60mm
    Item no. 000000000000117291
    EUR6.95
    Quantity: 3
    Total: EUR20.85

Shipping expenses : EUR7.90

This whole "Shure you could be dead tomorrow" isn't really working out too well tbh.

Unless I am dead by tomorrow.

I'd hedge my bets on being poorer rather than dead'r.

Still... I'm not really giving a fupp :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,762 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Nothing.

Not a thing.

Honest.

Ah here...

Stop judging me! I have issues :/

They were fairly cheap though and I do need them.

-=-=-=-=-=-=

Thank you for ordering with Canyon! Your order will be processed as soon as possible.

Please take note of your order reference number: xxxx

You have selected the following items:

Continental GP 4000s II 23mm
    Item no. 000000000000117118
    EUR33.95

Continental GP 4000S II 25mm
    Item no. 000000000000102616
    EUR33.95

Mavic Road Tube SV 60mm
    Item no. 000000000000117291
    EUR6.95
    Quantity: 3
    Total: EUR20.85

Shipping expenses : EUR7.90

This whole "Shure you could be dead tomorrow" isn't really working out too well tbh.

Unless I am dead by tomorrow.

I'd hedge my bets on being poorer rather than dead'r.

Still... I'm not really giving a fupp :)

Bagsy the tyres if you're dead tomorrow :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭dancrowley

Spring Classics-related purchases which arrived yesterday:

Dhb toe cover overshoe (It might be chilly...)
    Spare Vittoria Pave 25mm clincher
    Torque wrench set (everything to be tightened down ahead of the cobbles)
    Campagnolo Chorus 12-27 cassette (for them climbs)
    Campagnolo Record 11s chain
    Castelli Arenberg mitts (bit of extra padding)
    Several Conti tubes
    Topeak mini DX Master blaster pump with gauge (gauge will allow me to be at the required pressure)
    Elite Ciussi gel bottle cages (should keep my bottles from flying!)
    Lizard Skins DSP 3.2mm bar tape (won't be double-wrapping the bars. this stuff is cushy enough)

6 weeks tomorrow I'll be packing for the trip :)

• Registered Users Posts: 159 ✭✭Buchaill_Mor

Speedplay Frog's and an extra set of clips. I think the SPD's on my Commuter are causing me some knee pain, so I thought I would give them a go. Anyone use them? I am aware they need regualr maintenance by greasing up the bearings on a frequent basis.

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭dancrowley

Speedplay Frog's and an extra set of clips. I think the SPD's on my Commuter are causing me some knee pain, so I thought I would give them a go. Anyone use them? I am aware they need regualr maintenance by greasing up the bearings on a frequent basis.

I've got the Speedplay Zero pedals; it takes 5 mins to grease 'em up and I do this every 3-4000km. Marvelous yokes.

• Registered Users Posts: 620 ✭✭✭niallo32

ANT+ USB Dongle for use with Zwift

• Registered Users Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭stecleary

This arrived today

Pair of Zondas... I had a valid reason this time round! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭bbolger

Suunto Mini Move Stick (ANT+ USB) for Trainerroad/Zwift.
    Currently 33% off from Amazon :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Domane

Galibier mistral toe covers to keep my tootsies warm and Galibier Roubaix gloves to see if they will keep me as warm as my winter gloves but as they're not as bulky as winter gloves, will I have more "feel" of the controls?

Wonder if I'll get a little pressie from them this time? I got a mussette with my first order, a head scarf with my second order but nothing with my last order. Ah well, I got used to being spoilt.

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭bmcgill

jon1981 wrote: »
    Pair of Zondas... I had a valid reason this time round! :D

Where did you order the Zondas from if you don't mind me asking?

bike-discount.de 335euro delivered ... merlin cycles are doing them for 320 (few quid) cheaper but not in stock until end of Feb.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭triggermortis

My Galibier bundle of jacket, hat, socks and shoe covers arrived today! Well, yesterday but I picked it up from the post office today. Initial thoughts... fit is great and all looks great quality. Can't wait to get out on the road in it all now

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭sprite0

http://www.probikekit.co.uk/cycling-frames/kinesis-racelight-granfondo-ti-disc-frameset/11222093.html?widget_id=74637

Going for my first build. Just have to figure out how I tell my other half why I bought another bike. Can't see "but I don't have a titanium bike" cutting it.

• Registered Users Posts: 203 ✭✭pedro_colnago

A pair of sealskinz gloves for 22 euro and a pair of nalini bib tights for 38 euro from sportpursuits (waiting 3 weeks tho 😱)
    And a pair of Cannondale c2 handlebars from ebay for 33 euro
    Can't resist a bargain and I reckon il need the gloves and bibtights for another couple of months the way this winter has been!