Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Billy Walsh quits ** SEE MOD WARNING #643 BEFORE POSTING

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,310 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

barney4001 wrote: »
    Eamon Dunphy in Mondays Irish Star hit the nail on the head walsh shafted by the blazer brigade of the I A B A,Walsh managed to keep his focus and managed and prepare these teams brilliantly while having to deal so much nonsence and disruption behind the scenes,he is an outstanding individual one of the greatest or irish sports people ,That he has been treated so badly is an utter disgrace

Don't be listening to Dunphy on any topic. Never mind boxing. A sport he hasn't spoken about at all in the past.

I'm not saying he's wrong, but Dunphy's opinion is no more valid than any other punter here (and in fact less valid than a lot of people here as they know the game better than him)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

Dodge wrote: »
    Don't be listening to Dunphy on any topic. Never mind boxing. A sport he hasn't spoken about at all in the past.

I'm not saying he's wrong, but Dunphy's opinion is no more valid than any other punter here (and in fact less valid than a lot of people here as they know the game better than him)

Also, what qualifies you to not be a blazer? Joe Christle and his two brothers were national champions. Fergal Carruth's brother is an Olympic champion, their dad,Austin, was his coach. Michael O'Reilly's coach is also on the board (which I think has only a half dozen members).

Who the hell would you have on the board? Dunphy is a broken record, a paid-up member of the elite inner circle that he pretends to despise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Deise Vu wrote: »
    Also, what qualifies you to not be a blazer? Joe Christle and his two brothers were national champions. Fergal Carruth's brother is an Olympic champion, their dad,Austin, was his coach. Michael O'Reilly's coach is also on the board (which I think has only a half dozen members).

Who the hell would you have on the board? Dunphy is a broken record, a paid-up member of the elite inner circle that he pretends to despise.

Nepotism is a legitimate qualifier???

What qualifications had Fergal???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,194 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

efb wrote: »

Good question. Carruth seemed to have virtually nothing of note on his CV before becoming CEO of the IABA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Strazdas wrote: »
    Good question. Carruth seemed to have virtually nothing of note on his CV before becoming CEO of the IABA.

The position of CEO in Irish boxing does not seem to be the same as iin other sporting organisations. Instead of being your own man with a plan and a vision, you are merely a puppet of the board, it's tail wagging the dog in there. I doubt that if they got a serious candidate with a proven track record and a truckload of new ideas, he'd last more than a year working under the prevailing conditions. Amateurs still run the show and that won't change despite the interventions of government or Sports Council or Kofi Annan himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,710 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I had intended asking about the position of HP sports director. This seems to be what Billy wanted. Out of interest, is there a certain qualification level as regards education/business that must be met before this title can be conferred on person wanting to be HP sports director?

BTW, do we have inside info on Fergal's CV or credentials?

walshb wrote: »
    I had intended asking about the position of HP sports director. This seems to be what Billy wanted. Out of interest, is there a certain qualification level as regards education/business that must be met before this title can be conferred on person wanting to be HP sports director?

I suppose they're going on his Linkedin page, doesn't seem to be a wealth of experience listed there which would be strange if he was leaving stuff off.

Billy wasn't aiming to be the HP director. He WAS the de facto director, that's the job he was doing (brilliantly to unanimous consensus). Zaur was the de facto head coach. The issue was he was not being recognised or paid for the position he was doing by this own employers, where the issue of lack of respect comes in. If you can't understand that much, there's not much hope really.

Actually I don't think the IABA have ever publicly advertised for the HP director, so don't know what they're job requirements might be. But looking across the spectrum of the various sports, a HP director would desirably have a background or education in business or would tend to have worked their way up through a sporting organisation with a track record of success in their various guises.

I suppose they're going on his Linkedin page, doesn't seem to be a wealth of experience listed there which would be strange if he was leaving stuff off.

Billy wasn't aiming to be the HP director. He WAS the de facto director, that's the job he was doing (brilliantly to unanimous consensus). Zaur was the de facto head coach. The issue was he was not being recognised or paid for the position he was doing by this own employers, where the issue of lack of respect comes in. If you can't understand that much, there's not much hope really.

I know what he was. For all intents and purposes he seemed to be doing the HP director job, or acting as the HP director.

I was asking if maybe he was not being given the recognition/pay due to a technicality in the rules/regulations concerning the term HP director?

Were the IABA getting a guy to do a certain job without having to compenaste him or recognise him as such? It may well be a gray area here.

There are many people in many organisations and business doing certain work that they are not getting recognised for or compensated for due to legal rules and policies in place.

I know what he was. For all intents and purposes he seemed to be doing the HP director job, or acting as the HP director.

I was asking if maybe he was not being given the recognition/pay due to a technicality in the rules/regulations concerning the term HP director?

Were the IABA getting a guy to do a certain job without having to compenaste him or recognise him as such? It may well be a gray area here.

There are many people in many organisations and business doing certain work that they are not getting recognised for or compensated for due to legal rules and policies in place.

That's the job he was doing. They gave Zaur some ridiculous title like Head Tactical Coach or somesuch nonsense, just acting silly bggers, no other reason.

But I can't claim any expertise in employment law, so maybe somebody else is better placed to adjudge on this. However, I will say that there didn't seem to be any bar to Dominic O'Rourke being awarded the Director title when they tried to parachute him in a few years back, maybe he had some higher qualifications Billy didn't? The only thing I could see stopping it would be some kind of Sports Council statutes or guidelines, but I think we can safely rule out any contentious issues there!

I don't know what you mean by nepotism. Do the Carruths have a veto on the appointment of IABA directors? I was talking about people being brought up in boxing and having it's best interests at heart. They listed the board members in the Irish Times last week. I was expecting something like the FAI circa 1990. 50 Old farts who all knew each other socially and hadn't a clue about the sport but liked getting free tickets.

Instead there was a barrister who holds national titles, a coach of a World Championship bronze medallist, a solicitor, a business consultant and Fergal Carruth (whose background they didn't elaborate on) but his family background is, literally, gold-plated in boxing circles

To me it looks like a tight, professional, well balanced, extremely well educated group. Nothing like the bunch of yahoos that they are being portrayed by the lynch mob.

As disappointed as I am that Billy Walsh is leaving at this late stage before Rio, that board looks like it more than deserves a respectful hearing. On the other side we have Kieran Mulvey, who looks, acts and behaves like a grade A tosser. I am definitely waiting for the full story on this one.

Out of curiosity, what sort of people would be doing work for organisations and businesses and not just not getting recognised for it, but not getting paid for it either? Is it fraudulent and are you trying to suggest that the IABA, in its relationship with Billy Walsh, might have been breaking the law?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,310 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Out of curiosity, what sort of people would be doing work for organisations and businesses and not just not getting recognised for it, but not getting paid for it either? Is it fraudulent and are you trying to suggest that the IABA, in its relationship with Billy Walsh, might have been breaking the law?

Pretty much every sporting body here relies on volunteers and for paid employees to be as flexible as possible.

Nothing fraudulent at all

On the other side we have Kieran Mulvey, who looks, acts and behaves like a grade A tosser. I am definitely waiting for the full story on this one.

Don't forget Michael Ring and his fake shock and disgust tactics!

I don't know what you mean by nepotism. Do the Carruths have a veto on the appointment of IABA directors? I was talking about people being brought up in boxing and having it's best interests at heart. They listed the board members in the Irish Times last week. I was expecting something like the FAI circa 1990. 50 Old farts who all knew each other socially and hadn't a clue about the sport but liked getting free tickets.

Instead there was a barrister who holds national titles, a coach of a World Championship bronze medallist, a solicitor, a business consultant and Fergal Carruth (whose background they didn't elaborate on) but his family background is, literally, gold-plated in boxing circles

To me it looks like a tight, professional, well balanced, extremely well educated group. Nothing like the bunch of yahoos that they are being portrayed by the lynch mob.

As disappointed as I am that Billy Walsh is leaving at this late stage before Rio, that board looks like it more than deserves a respectful hearing. On the other side we have Kieran Mulvey, who looks, acts and behaves like a grade A tosser. I am definitely waiting for the full story on this one.

You describe respected IR negotiator a tosser????

From the reports to that he IABA board behaved far from professionally

And Fergal is OK to be CEO cos he's from a "boxing family"???

This isn't Eastenders Peggy!

All I can find is that he has a business degree from an Institute of Technology. No mention of a wealth of experience in administration or management.

Dodge wrote: »
    Pretty much every sporting body here relies on volunteers and for paid employees to be as flexible as possible.

Nothing fraudulent at all

Ok it didn't strike me that he was talking about volunteers, because I can't for the life of me see what that might have to do with the actual issue of Billy Walsh's employment details. But anyway...

You describe respected IR negotiator a tosser????

From the reports to that he IABA board behaved far from professionally

And Fergal is OK to be CEO cos he's from a "boxing family"???

This isn't Eastenders Peggy!

You seem fixated on Carruth. Do you have some information that Fergal Carruth grew up oblivious to boxing? What about about Joe Christle or Michael O'Reilly's coach? Do these people not know anything about boxing either?

Kieran Mulvey's profession is teacher. He made a name for himself by bringing ASTI out on strike whenever there was a non-FF Govt in power and got his reputation as a mediator by not rocking the boat when FF were in power. He has, to my knowledge, no experience whatsoever in sport. Not in Boxing certainly. If I was drawing a picture of a bearded, self-satisfied champagne socialist, sucking on the public teat his face would be the first to come to mind. But you go ahead and see if you can jump on to the back of his high horse behind him. Its a free country Peggy!

You seem fixated on Carruth. Do you have some information that Fergal Carruth grew up oblivious to boxing? What about about Joe Christle or Michael O'Reilly's coach? Do these people not know anything about boxing either?

Kieran Mulvey's profession is teacher. He made a name for himself by bringing ASTI out on strike whenever there was a non-FF Govt in power and got his reputation as a mediator by not rocking the boat when FF were in power. He has, to my knowledge, no experience whatsoever in sport. Not in Boxing certainly. If I was drawing a picture of a bearded, self-satisfied champagne socialist, sucking on the public teat his face would be the first to come to mind. But you go ahead and see if you can jump on to the back of his high horse behind him. Its a free country Peggy!

Having a familial knowledge of boxing does not a ceo make...

Mulvey's Resume looks for more impressive than Carruth's....

Bless your little 'thanker' too... He's marvellous

I will make one more attempt at getting you to answer the question I asked: What about the board as a whole versus a teacher?

He is more than a teacher he has years of IR negation behind him. He wasn't the only critical voice either.

I'll ask again, what makes Fergal Carrith qualified to be CEO of the IABA???

He is more than a teacher he has years of IR negation behind him. He wasn't the only critical voice either.

I'll ask again, what makes Fergal Carrith qualified to be CEO of the IABA???

Does Fergal Carruth make all the decisions of the IABA?

What about the bloody board as a whole???? A barrister with national boxing titles, a respected coach, a managing partner of a solicitor firm, a business consultant. Do you think these people know less about boxing and corporate governance than a teacher who has no background in neither but has a long history of getting cushy Government sinecures?

Mulvey has been CEO of the Labour Relations Commission for over 20 years and is a highly respected figure.

What about the bloody board as a whole???? A barrister with national boxing titles, a respected coach, a managing partner of a solicitor firm, a business consultant. Do you think these people know less about boxing and corporate governance than a teacher who has no background in neither but has a long history of getting cushy Government sinecures?

Do u think the board behaved correctly??? I don't. You are making very serious allegations against Mulvey btw- that could get boards in trouble...

I take it you have proof of your slurs on Mulvey though???

I don't think it's a bad thing to have a guy in that position who has no direct sporting background and so is less likely to be associated with any paritcular agenda or favour any one side. I do agree his handling of this situation hasn't been great and he has a bit to learn from it, but the persistent IABA agenda to attack Mulvey and the ISC as if they are the real villains of the piece here is a bit disingenuous and transparent. I don't think it's distracting anybody from where the real issues lie.

Des Fitzgerald, I assume, would fill a similar role on the IABA board, don't think he has any boxing background that I'm aware of, though I could be wrong.

I'm asking you is Fergal Carruth suitabily qualified as CEO of IABA - YES OR NO???

Said board don't appear to have covered themselves in glory. They have lost the services of a world class coach (a man who said he had no desire to leave his position and wanted to stay). That strikes me as a catastrophic failure on their part.

You've also touched on a point here that still utterly baffles me. Given that they are all such successful and sharp businessmen (no irony intended here), how is it those IABA men could have turned out to be such crap negotiators when trying to keep a coach they apparently didn't want to lose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

As per previous warning, personal attacks are not condoned here. Infractions issued.

It's a pity we can't just participate in discussion without it becoming an attack.

You've also touched on a point here that still utterly baffles me. Given that they are all such successful and sharp businessmen (no irony intended here), how is it those IABA men could have turned out to be such crap negotiators when trying to keep a coach they apparently didn't want to lose?

Isn't that what this Oirechteas hearing is going to try and figure out? Maybe it's not needed for many here, as they have made their minds up; minds made up even before the IABA had a chance to have their say!

That is the $64K question I am waiting to find out while the rest of the country apparently believes one side. There will be emails, draft contracts, minutes of meetings, telephone conversations. Why do so many people have a problem with evidence? I keep hearing the Sports Council side of things that 'they thought everything was sorted and they were going to back Billy all the way'. Give us the paperwork!

I don't think it works like that. These were confidential documents, memorandums of agreement etc, don't think they can just be released for public consumption. But they've obviously been leaked to the papers, as is the way of these things, so it's not as if the information, as incomplete as it is, isn't out there for people to make reasonably informed judgments at this stage.

We've had ISC appearance in Leinster House, Billy Walsh interviews, ISC statement, IABA statement, IABA interviews, Billy counter statement, more ISC statements, in depth newspaper articles etc etc By far the worst, most incomplete version given was the IABA's despite the fact they withdrew to their bunker and spent the guts of a week figuring out their strategy. Maybe they'll surprise us today by producing some magic document out of a hat to show Billy and the ISC were acting the maggot all along but, you know what, the tiniest little hunch tells me that just won't happen.

I don't believe for one moment it was incompetence that allowed them lose Walsh. They had a whole eight months of negotiations and *still* lost him. If they were in any way serious about keeping him, it would have happened.

This business of to-ing and fro-ing and altering and re-altering his contract and adding new demands and clauses was madness (some would suggest it was all done to force Walsh out).

"Senator Paschal Mooney accused the IABA of failing to act in the national interest in relation to the debacle surrounding Walsh’s departure and likened the affair to an act of “national sabotage”.
    Addressing the IABA’s chief executive and chairman, Senator Mooney said: “People have called outside that you might consider your position."

Groan. That's just precisely the kind of stuff the IABA wants to hear.

So a new and interesting tactic introduced today. Let's just all think of a big figure, roll it out and see how everyone gasps. 1.6 million. Wow, that's a big number. Was Billy Walsh looking for 1.6 million a year or something? Don't know but 1.6 million is still a very big number indeed.

I've no idea where they got that figure from. It sounds like it must be his entire salary plus all bonuses for the next few years or something.

Were they finally conceding they had an issue with the terms of his contract by the way? John Treacy claims the issue of finance is just a smokescreen on their part and the main sticking points were things like power and autonomy.

I've no idea where they got that figure from. It sounds like it must be his entire salary plus all bonuses for the next few years or something.

Late evening, a smoke-filled room somwhere in Dublin 8.

Joe: Ok lads, we’ve got a big day ahead of us tomorrow, we can’t let these government gobdaws get the better of us again. I still think we’re missing something lads, an ace up our sleeve. This is our last chance. We have to nail it.

Board member: But it’s all about the money, isn’t it Joe? That’s always been our line. We’re not changing it now are we boss?

Joe: We’re not changing anything boys. We just need something with a bit more….you know, punch. Like a big figure or something. Something that would soften their cough. Put that ignorant poltroon Treacy down on his knees again.

Board man 1: How about 3 million, Joe? Now that’d make their eyes water.

Joe: [whackes him over head with newspaper] Arra give over you amadawn. Where would the likes of us ever get 3million. Who do you think we are? Horse Sport Ireland or something?

Board Man 2: What about 2 million Joe, or a million and a half Joe?

Joe: [mimicking in a sarcastic high-pitched voice] ‘What about 2 million Joe, or a million and a half Joe?’ Listen my good man, there’s a reason I’m sitting in the top chair and you’ll be buying the first round in the Sunset Inn afterwards. We don’t say 2m and we don’t say a million and a half. We say 1.6 million. You see that way, it’ll make em think it’s not made up and they’ll be ducking for cover, won’t know what hit them. When you see Treacy’s glasses all fogged up, you’ll know they’re in trouble. Make no mistake boys. Tomorrow the fox becomes the hound. We’ll eat them without salt. No prisoners.

Board Men 1, 2 and 3: Hon Joe!

Hup ya boyo Joe, total genius.

Brilliant, Joe, totally brilliant.

[ Exit stage left humming the tune to Rocky as they head for the pub]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Were they finally conceding they had an issue with the terms of his contract by the way? John Treacy claims the issue of finance is just a smokescreen on their part and the main sticking points were things like power and autonomy.

Heard it on the radio this evening. IABA said they didn't want to be reckless with public money..
    http://m.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/boxing/iaba-claim-that-agreeing-to-16m-deal-to-keep-billy-walsh-would-have-been-irresponsible-34149717.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Ctrl Alt Delete

Sport Ireland say his salary was agreed at 125k a year but IABA say 1.6 but cannot provide a breakdown of this figure.

In otherwords was pulled from thin air, joke of an governing body

Sport Ireland say his salary was agreed at 125k a year but IABA say 1.6 but cannot provide a breakdown of this figure.

Wasn't his basic salary 95k, the rest topped up in bonuses etc? I think that's been pretty well established. In fact, I believe his salary was only being realigned in line with what high performance directors in all sports were entitled to, so the line about not wishing to be reckless with public money seems a bit of a joke.

Sporting organisations actually refusing government money - what kind of bizarro world are we living in here?

Interesting to read that Carruth as CEO of the IABA spoke very little at the meeting today, despite being nominally the supremo of the board.

Are they finally admitting they had a problem with giving Walsh a new contract? They seem to have been practically denying this outright for the last week.

An old Anglo trick? Pulling figures out of their arßes!

In fairness I can completely understand where they're coming from. I was once thinking of employing a part-time cleaner in my home but, upon reflection, I decided that €100,000 was a reckless use of my funds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,272 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Interesting to read that Carruth as CEO of the IABA spoke very little at the meeting today, despite being nominally the supremo of the board.

Are they finally admitting they had a problem with giving Walsh a new contract? They seem to have been practically denying this outright for the last week.

I get the impression that you don't really have any idea about how Boards or organisations work.

Some interesting revelations from today's Sunday Business Post :

http://www.businesspost.ie/billy-walsh-exit-boxing-chiefs-wanted-salary-hikes-in-return-for-new-contract/

It seems the IABA were demanding pay rises and new grants for the boxers, coaches and for themselves before they would agree any new contract for Billy Walsh (from what I can gather, this letter was sent very recently, not long before Walsh resigned).

It would be my understanding that the Board members do not receive remuneration due to being on the Board. There may be some staff there in an ex-officio capacity. I don't know the particular structure of the IABA board but I do have a general idea who boards and organisations work in general! Perhaps you are correct. Perhaps they were demanding pay rises "for themselves" from zero to the new total of zero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,272 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

I don't think it's a bad thing to have a guy in that position who has no direct sporting background and so is less likely to be associated with any paritcular agenda or favour any one side. I do agree his handling of this situation hasn't been great and he has a bit to learn from it, but the persistent IABA agenda to attack Mulvey and the ISC as if they are the real villains of the piece here is a bit disingenuous and transparent. I don't think it's distracting anybody from where the real issues lie.

Des Fitzgerald, I assume, would fill a similar role on the IABA board, don't think he has any boxing background that I'm aware of, though I could be wrong.

I get the impression that sides may have indeed been taken in this particular issue.

Are you sure that you are ok with the idea,in principal, of external bureaucrats and administrators actively trying to force decisions on democratically elected volunteer boards of national organizations?

Take a hypothetical scenario. The current situation never happened but the Sports Council say "Hey, you can't have a head coach who doesn't have a degree in Sports Science. You need to sack Billy Walsh and hire Mr. X. Mr X has 20 years experience as a coach and has a degree". Or how about "You can't appoint Zaur Antia as head coach because he hasn't completed our 6-week training course on how to be an effective coach"

Or do you just agree with it in this instance because you happen to support the same "side"

The ISC should be strongly told to keep their noses out. I hope that the IABA are strong enough to stand up to them!

I get the impression that sides may have indeed been taken in this particular issue.

Are you sure that you are ok with the idea,in principal, of external bureaucrats and administrators actively trying to force decisions on democratically elected volunteer boards of national organizations?

Take a hypothetical scenario. The current situation never happened but the Sports Council say "Hey, you can't have a head coach who doesn't have a degree in Sports Science. You need to sack Billy Walsh and hire Mr. X. Mr X has 20 years experience as a coach and has a degree". Or how about "You can't appoint Zaur Antia as head coach because he hasn't completed our 6-week training course on how to be an effective coach"

Or do you just agree with it in this instance because you happen to support the same "side"

The ISC should be strongly told to keep their noses out. I hope that the IABA are strong enough to stand up to them!

Why?

Oh, so it's back to money? Sure I always knew.

The IABA seem to want to everyone to believe that...