Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

How many times do you wear your clothes before washing them

• 30-08-2015 8:33am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Just looking at my shirt I had in last night, will I wear it again today ? it looks and smells fine, Will anyone notice I have it on again today ? What about tshirt said or other tops how many wears do you get out of them ? So AH how many times you wearing same clothes before washing them .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

If it looks and smells alright, then maybe twice. Any more than that and you're kidding yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Washing my clothes before I wash them? Thats 'pre-wash' right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

As a motorcycle rider I never wash my Levi's, forms a waterproof coating and makes me look the part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Menas wrote: »
    Washing my clothes before I wash them? Thats 'pre-wash' right?

Just seen that :-) should have been wearing , maybe mods can change it, it's to early to be starting threads anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭Dymo

4 times, 4 times is the magic number fs you don't do it that many number of times you're doing it wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 291 ✭✭via4

With a t-shirt I would change everyday along with pjs but would get two or three days out of my work trousers :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,806 ✭✭✭CFlat

If it looks clean and there isnt a smell of sweat in the armpit area, drive on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,631 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

I throw my socks at the wall and if they don't stick to it, then they're clean enough to wear again. Likewise if my boxers don't stand up by themselves, they're going back on me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

Socks, jocks, t-shirts, shirts: one wear.
    Jeans: maybe two wears.
    Outer clothes like hooddies, geansais, depends on wear, condition etc.
    Jackets: periodically, according to needs.
    Runners, slippers: nose test.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Right Turn Clyde

Anything that touches the skin gets only one wear. In fairness though, I'm a big fat smelly bastard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I always wash them before washing them. Or, I never do so. Take your pick.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

sweatpants 2-3 wears, maybe 4 if I know I'm not leaving the house on the fourth
    jeans only if they get smelly. apparently you're not supposed to wash jeans terribly often
    jumper 2-4 days unless i get them obviously dirty I'm not that fussy about jumpers.
    tshirt every day, even if I shower twice in a day I have to change tshirts. I hate putting on tshirts i've already worn for longer than a couple of hours. it just feels ick
    socks same as tshirts. i feel like crying if i have to put yesterdays pair of socks on in the morning
    underpants every day. every god damn day [snipped]

strelok wrote: »
    sweatpants 2-3 wears, maybe 4 if I know I'm not leaving the house on the fourth
    jeans only if they get smelly. apparently you're not supposed to wash jeans terribly often
    jumper 2-4 days unless i get them obviously dirty I'm not that fussy about jumpers.
    tshirt every day, even if I shower twice in a day I have to change tshirts. I hate putting on tshirts i've already worn for longer than a couple of hours. it just feels ick
    socks same as tshirts. i feel like crying if i have to put yesterdays pair of socks on in the morning
    underpants every day. every god damn day [snipped]

I like that. Awaiting response from [snipped]. He's probably in the shower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Is this a follow on of the how often do you shower change your underpants thread?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,806 ✭✭✭CFlat

As for jeans.

You take off the label when you buy them.You wear them for 5 years until someone asks have you joined a Bon Jovi tribute band, then you bin them.

Washing not required.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

realies wrote: »
    Just seen that :-) should have been wearing , maybe mods can change it, it's to early to be starting threads anyway.

Double click on the thread title in AH main page to edit it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

Anybody else find these threads just utterly pointless and coma inducingly boring?

And the scores of people replying: I have to ask WHY?

Sleep time; showers per day; pizza toppings; washing clothes.

The banality is astonishing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Anybody else find these threads just utterly pointless and coma inducingly boring?

Three options chief.
    1) Ignore these thread if you dont like them
    2) Start some exciting threads yourself
    3) Stay out of AH if it is not your cup of tea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Amigo it's Sunday morning what else is there possibly to do before the pubs open...

Plus it's after hours and no one gives a feck, ,don't like them don't post in them.

You are one of the scores of people replying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭fineso.mom

Your username suggests you have the ability to wait for better.

Irish people are actually quite funny. You don't see it in every thread, but even the worst topics can throw up some good lines.

That's why I'm here. What your excuse? Still waiting on the Sunday Business Post to be delivered?

Alright 'chief'. Nothing like some chest thumping on a Sunday morning.

I been reading and contributing here for a decade. I'm entitled to bemoan the ' How often you clip your toenails 'chief'?' shlt that's become all pervasive.

Put your advice in your ass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Xaracatz

Come on. Someone made a mistake in their thread title. That's AH comedy gold on a hungover Sunday!

Anyway, I'd wash everything other than skirts / jeans after one wear. I love the smell of fabric softener on freshly washed clothes.

realies wrote: »
    Amigo it's Sunday morning what else is there possibly to do before the pubs open...

Plus it's after hours and no one gives a feck, ,don't like them don't post in them.

This is my first time, honest. I just couldn't let it go. On reflection I see I need to lighten up and not offend all those who are offended by my being bored.

I wash my clothes when they need washing.

Feel liberated.

• Registered Users Posts: 235 ✭✭CliCliW

T shirts are generally 2 or 3 wears, depending on what I've been up to. If they smell then it's the wash for them.

Underwear, socks, daily.

Jeans, whenever I think they could do with it. I own two pairs of jeans currently so I need to be tactical with my rotation.

Hoodies, once in a blue moon, wait for obvious dirt/smell before washing.

PJs, I used to wash weekly but since I've moved out of home I forget to wash them as often..

Xaracatz wrote: »
    Come on. Someone made a mistake in their thread title. That's AH comedy gold on a hungover Sunday!

Anyway, I'd wash everything other than skirts / jeans after one wear. I love the smell of fabric softener on freshly washed clothes.
    You wear your clothes in bed and change them once a week :)

I been reading and contributing here for a decade. I'm entitled to bemoan the ' How often you clip your toenails 'chief'?' shlt that's become all pervasive.

So which is it?

1. It's taken you over ten years to notch up 137 posts.
    2. You're so embarrassed/ashamed of your previous opinions that you've had to create a new account.
    3. You're too stupid to remember passwords and got locked out of Boards/your email. You should start a 'how to remember simple words?' thread.

Incidentally, how often do you clip your toenails?

Sam Kade wrote: »
    You wear your clothes in bed and change them once a week :)

It's 30 degrees already where I live. I can promise you that I don't wear my clothes in bed.

Xaracatz wrote: »

It's 30 degrees already where I live. I can promise you that I don't wear my clothes in bed.
    It was a joke like ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

Underwear and socks - daily, sometimes twice a day (would change if I was going out in an evening).

Bras I get maybe 3 days out of, I rotate wear so it's hard to call.

Tops, dresses & t-shirts - usually daily, occasionally a second day.

Jeans, skirts and trousers - depends on the fabric but would usually get 2-3 wears out of them before a wash.

I feel like I should sit back and wait to be called a dirty knacker now.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    It was a joke like ;)

I get jokes. :D

Nah, sorry, I didn't get that one. That may be the fault of my brain this morning though. N'mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Bar skirts, which I'll wear two or three times, everything else is changed daily.

Always get two wears out of t-shirts, shirts etc, jeans/trousers would be much longer 7 days+ Of continuous wear. Underwear two days and socks everyday.

I don't wear my jumpers much once here and once there so could get months between washes and jackets probably get washed (dry cleaned usually) once a year if ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,810 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I throw my socks at the wall and if they don't stick to it, then they're clean enough to wear again. Likewise if my boxers don't stand up by themselves, they're going back on me.

Yeah, we see where you got your user name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Maybe twice, if it looks and smells fine; I'd still blast it with Febreeze though, so it smells fresh.

I'd never wear the same top two days running though. People will notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Two days out of trousers/jeans....everything else is changed daily! Washed after use too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Socks and jocks get worn once.
    T-shirts could be 2-3 days (in reality after the work clothes come off they're only getting worn for 4-5 hours max per day before sleepy time)
    Shirts once - could go a second day if I've been slacking on the wash loads, very rare though.
    Khakis/chinos get worn for the guts of a week - see T-shirts reasons above.
    Jeans/shorts/hoodies - when I spill something on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

How long is a 'wear'? I have to change anything up to a dozen times a day, between clean work and dirty work. So that's maybe six wears in one day right away.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 652 ✭✭✭DanielODonnell

I wear my work clothes for a week as i do factory work and i would wear the boxer shorts for 2 days as they are not dirty, men do not secrete liquids on their underwear like women would do unless you are viewing pornographic material

I would wear jeans for a month as i am not a pretty boy so i am not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,676 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I wear my work clothes for a week as i do factory work and i would wear the boxer shorts for 2 days as they are not dirty, men do not secrete liquids on their underwear like women would do unless you are viewing pornographic material

We do, even a few shakes after a piss won't stop all the dribble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

You know balls sweat and there are droplets of urine left on your penis after peeing?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 367 ✭✭justchecked

So which is it?

1. It's taken you over ten years to notch up 137 posts.
    2. You're so embarrassed/ashamed of your previous opinions that you've had to create a new account.
    3. You're too stupid to remember passwords and got locked out of Boards/your email. You should start a 'how to remember simple words?' thread.

There is a fourth option: he may be a re-reg.

.... but, no, come to think of it thats against the rules, so theres no re-regs here.

You know balls sweat and there are droplets of urine left on your penis after peeing?

Not if you wash your dick in the sink.
    Not that anybody does that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Tshirts, socks, jocks - one wear
    Shirts - one wear
    Jeans & trousers - 2 wears
    Jumpers, hoodies - 6 or 7 wears

Not if you wash your dick in the sink.
    Not that anybody does that.
    It's very embarrassing when you are in your local and somebody walks in.
    Try Peni pads. You might even be able to swim and ride horses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Oasis1974

Agreed I'm waiting for the "How long do you stare at your poop before you flush the toilet" thread next. The pits.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 652 ✭✭✭DanielODonnell

no as i dry my shaft well with toilet paper, my scrotum wouldn't sweat too much but the area between my scrotum and thigh would sweat and that area doesn't touch my boxer shorts anyway

fascinating, tell us more ...