Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weds 2nd Sept: Vuelta 2015 stage 11: Andorra la Vella – Cortals d’Encamp 138km

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

pelevin wrote: »
    Was Froome's crash caught on camera?

No, seems he just hit a wooden barrier at the side of the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,357 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    They have to do 4 more of these climbs, holy **** this is sadistic.

5 if you count the cat2 before the final climb.
    I wonder if the Andorran tourist board would ever consider running a sportive on the course?
    Maybe Purrito could put his name to it.... Anyone on here be up for it?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

Hardest GT stage ever? Really? How about the crazy early Tour de France stages? All of them 300kms+, riders had to be self supporting, no gears allowed, all the mountain roads were banjaxed, and if they broke their bike it meant a trip to the nearest blacksmith to hammer it back into shape yourself.

Of course, if the route permitted they would occasionally get a stickybottle in the form of a sneaky trip on the train, but still they were tough stages.

The lads these days? They don't know they're born!

• Registered Users Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Subpopulus

godtabh wrote: »
    He also designed the route

Really? Is it not grossly unfair that an active rider gets to design a route that they themselves will get to ride on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,071 ✭✭✭✭neris

Daroxtar wrote: »
    I wonder if the Andorran tourist board would ever consider running a sportive on the course?

yeah defo i would.....

I,ll drive the broom wagon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Looks like Froome was headset gazing and may not have noticed the fencing starting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭topcat77

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,799 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

It is based on a sportive that Purito runs as far as I know.

topcat77 wrote: »

Jesus even the 22km one looks rough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,558 ✭✭✭The tax man

Boards Evil goes on tour.:)

Goncalves bridges to the break. He's been up there on practically every stage so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭pelevin

RobFowl wrote: »
    No, seems he just hit a wooden barrier at the side of the road

Always a dangerous tactic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

TG4's pronunciation of names is such a mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,357 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

OK, I'm going to forget about doing the Marmotte or Maratona and concentrate on training for the Purito for my 50th birthday.

I'm 39

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭SuperSean

pelevin wrote: »
    Was Froome's crash caught on camera?

Crash

Him telling the moto to **** off

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

TG4's pronunciation of names is such a mess.

It's as if they can't speak plain English ;)

RobFowl wrote: »
    It's as if they can't speak plain English ;)

I wouldn't mind if they stuck to Irish pronunciation, but when you mix English and the native language into the same word, it's a PITA.

In AG2R, they use the french pronunciation of G and 2, and Irish for A and R :confused:

That sounds brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,558 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Landa in the break...seems to be all about support for aru and no hope of GC for himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭D3PO

retalivity wrote: »
    Landa in the break...seems to be all about support for aru and no hope of GC for himself

well he lost 15 mins the other day so his GC hopes are well gone.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Kelly's 'care full' comment was spot on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,478 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Sky have 8 riders at the front of the main peloton with Boswell in the break. The stage hasn't been too hard so far.

With Sky pushing it, it might be the day they sacrifice all their riders to the mountain gods in aid of Froome which would not be good for Roche.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    With Sky pushing it, it might be the day they sacrifice all their riders to the mountain gods in aid of Froome which would not be good for Roche.

looks to me they are riding tempo rather than pushing it right now and Knees has been at the head for the last 6km so its not like they are using too many guys either

Knees hasn't left the front all climb. Defo just tempo being ridden by Sky and peloton is still pretty big it would seem the favourites will hit the last climb pretty fresh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,929 ✭✭✭letape

retalivity wrote: »

He's 36 mins or so down already so he has no personal GC hopes

Edit: 26 mins

mmmm ... I'd like an ice-cold can of Coca-Cola myself now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,459 ✭✭✭lennymc

Lol at the intermediate sprint 10k from home. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

lennymc wrote: »
    Lol at the intermediate sprint 10k from home. :)

Probably a grand to the winner.

think it's 135 for an intermediate sprint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Solobally8

€135 for the intermediate sprint afaik!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Solobally8

lennymc wrote: »
    think it's 135 for an intermediate sprint.

Beat me to it :D

• Registered Users Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Subpopulus

This has actually been a fairly dreary stage so far...

Subpopulus wrote: »
    This has actually been a fairly dreary stage so far...

Everybody is taking it very easy so far. The peloton is still pretty big.
    It's been boring.

Solobally8 wrote: »
    Beat me to it :D

do I get 135 quid? :)

Good on ya Landa :D

lot of people falling off the peleton now pace has been upped considerably iseems plus tht e rain is here. Now the action begins !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Is Froome in a bit of bother there?

edit. Yep.... is it from the crash or is he paying for the Tour effort?

froome gone pop !!

Froome is gone

froome boom

WHAT

THE

FCUK!

only 1 sky rider at the business end now. Roche seems hes waiting for Froome :(

Everybody is taking it very easy so far. The peloton is still pretty big.
    It's been boring.

Yes, we've had ourselves over excited again, for nothing. Nothing I heard in the background drew me away from my SQL.

Roche dropping back also. I wonder if someone will attack now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

If it looks like he'll lose massive time, I think he'll drop out of the race.

wtf would sky make roche go back ffs they have enough guys there to pace Froome back on joke

Guess Froome wasn't messing when he said he wasn't in the form for this. That's surely the end of that for him, 45km to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

Froome is almost 1 minute behind peloton.

Who is the Sky rider up near the front of the peloton?

If the send Roche back I'll be seriously pissed. Froome is ****ed and he ain't coming back!