Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jan and Klodi's Party Bus - part II **off topic discussion**

• Registered Users Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

koutoubia wrote: »
    I think Lusk Doyle has forgotten how to ride a bike.

Not anymore after my two HC climbs last week and interval session yesterday! Guess who's back?

Edit: rherorical question Lennymc!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CkcR5kRWkAEWVdP.jpg

Fair play to Wexford Bus for joining the initiative. Ten points for the first person who gets squeezed out of it by one of them though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭OldBean

Does anyone have recent experience with landing & cycling away from Dublin Airport?

I've two friends landing in on Friday, and our car will only fit their bike boxes and luggage and one passenger, so I'm looking at cycling back after helping assembling one of their bikes whilst my better half brings the heavier stuff. I've seen word of a bike assembly area, and I'll have all my own tools/pump, but just want to make it as convenient as possible for the jet lagged.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,317 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Alek wrote: »
    New tanwall tyres: would Raam approve? :pac:

SealOfApprovalJohnLeek.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

OldBean wrote: »
    Does anyone have recent experience with landing & cycling away from Dublin Airport?

I've two friends landing in on Friday, and our car will only fit their bike boxes and luggage and one passenger, so I'm looking at cycling back after helping assembling one of their bikes whilst my better half brings the heavier stuff. I've seen word of a bike assembly area, and I'll have all my own tools/pump, but just want to make it as convenient as possible for the jet lagged.

I just assembled mine in a corner of the baggage hall. Nobody asked what I was doing or arrested me or anything...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

Ah, the Seal of Approval itself!

Thank you, seal.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Fair play to Wexford Bus for joining the initiative. Ten points for the first person who gets squeezed out of it by one of them though.

Oh the irony. They are the worst of a bad bunch for cutting me off, squeezing me out, specialising in punishment passes on the n11.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

Are they part of initiative, though? Isn't it just paid advertising?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,995 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

OldBean wrote: »

There is an official bike assembly area in the centre mall of the short term car parks. It's on the ground floor and on the right hand side as you enter from the terminal end (Under the travelator which brings you up to the first floor).

• Registered Users Posts: 24,995 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

cjt156 wrote: »
    It does say "proudly supported by Wexford Bus" underneath but perhaps they say that for all advertising.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,530 Mod ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

Anyone here use the BodyGLide stuff? If so is there a difference between the Chamois and Anti-Chafe balms? I was sent the latter by mistake, having ordered the former which I've used before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I've used Bodyglide before and it's does what it's suppose to, for both cycling and running, and for both in the same event. I've never actually used chamois cream though.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

ThisRegard wrote: »
    I've used Bodyglide before and it's does what it's suppose to, for both cycling and running, and for both in the same event. I've never actually used chamois cream though.

But that's it right, you never tested it in water or anything like that, prior to the other two. It's not like we are going to have to put you on the ignore list or anything like that, not like that other poster.

In my full defence, I used it for the likes of Gael Force, the Achill and Wicklow adventure races, that type of stuff, where you get yourself dirty so aren't too concerned about fancy suits and stuff.

I've never gone full tri {spit}.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭OleRodrigo

Weepsie wrote: »
    Anyone here use the BodyGLide stuff? If so is there a difference between the Chamois and Anti-Chafe balms? I was sent the latter by mistake, having ordered the former which I've used before.

Jaysus, Weepsie. Are you getting dolled up for a night out or going for a spin? ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭OldBean

There is an official bike assembly area in the centre mall of the short term car parks. It's on the ground floor and on the right hand side as you enter from the terminal end (Under the travelator which brings you up to the first floor).

Thanks WA!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

cjt156 wrote: »

Paid advertising by who? Staying alive? No, pretty sure they don't pay for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,769 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Cyclist.ie and Cycling Ireland have a strategic partnership now. Good idea, I think.

http://www.cyclingireland.ie/cycling-news-item/cycling-ireland-and-cyclistie-align-to-strengthen-cycling-advocacy-in-ireland/2065

• Registered Users Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Fian

US driver charged with murder of five cyclists. Pick-up truck plowed through a group of them.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2016/jun/10/man-charged-with-murdering-five-cyclists-after-pickup-hit-riding-group

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Looks like a certain Man U player won't be playing at the Euros (could post more but waiting for it to appear in print first so can quote it !!)
    https://www.thesun.co.uk/sport/football/1262770/david-de-gea-sent-home-from-spains-squad-for-euro-2016-say-reports/?CMP=spklr-_-Editorial-_-TWITTER-_-TheSunFootball-_-20160610-_-Football-_-490153307-_-Imageandlink

• Registered Users Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Madness. Apparently he's been sent home

• Registered Users Posts: 31,084 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Football gossip/trivia? Come on lads.

Lumen wrote: »
    Football gossip/trivia? Come on lads.

It's "Come on, Ingurlund", not "Come on lads". Freak.

Raam wrote: »
    It's "Come on, Ingurlund", not "Come on lads". Freak.

Surprised he's not already out throwing chairs at the police.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,458 ✭✭✭lennymc

got the turbo and the bike ready, hopped on, tried to clip in, couldn't, realised i was wearing my slippers....

Is this what it is like getting old?

lennymc wrote: »
    got the turbo and the bike ready, hopped on, tried to clip in, couldn't, realised i was wearing my slippers....

I liked it better the way you said it the first time.

Owning and wearing slippers in this weather is certainly a sign of being an oul lad anyway, are they those tartan type?

Baby brain.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,402 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Normal summer has resumed. Desperate search for waterproofs and mudguards