Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jan and Klodi's Party Bus - part II **off topic discussion**

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,511 Mod ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

Hate putting something like this up, but if I wanted to suggest to put Gardaí on a particular junction Ballymun/Glasnevin area, would I write to the Gardaí or the council?

I'd contact Garda National Traffic Bureau

Contacting council too may also be an idea but I'd inform whomever else your contacting too. Do you mind me asking what junction? I cycle down the ballymun road towards Glasnevin/Phibsboro most days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Weepsie wrote: »
    I'd contact Garda National Traffic Bureau

Contacting council too may also be an idea but I'd inform whomever else your contacting too. Do you mind me asking what junction? I cycle down the ballymun road towards Glasnevin/Phibsboro most days

Thanks, this one. You probably already know what the issues are with it.

https://www.google.ie/maps/@53.3790173,-6.2653944,3a,75y,204.79h,86.02t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sE_ep656qBD9RYaE2KPuHdA!2e0!7i13312!8i6656

Ah yes, just off Griffith Road. It can be brutal alright no matter the direction you're turning. People crossing lanes is a problem, and if you're going right towards Griffith Road extension there's often someone not paying attention and cutting across. That and the inevitable amount of amber gamblers.

There's also a horrible dip,/pothole in the cycle lane a bit further back that looks like it just had tarmac put over it, retaining its danger, but making it even less obvious.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

Lacing wheels is more fun than I though, even if it gives you strange looks from everyone around... View of my desk today:

376131.JPG

....I love my job :D

To be honest, this is more a pedestrian issue. I've already reported someone there who went through the left turn and know they were warned by Gardaí. Lost my cool last week and kicked a car as it swerved around us at the same spot. THis morning, it was on the right hand turn, driver nearly took my kid out, and last year I was actually rammed by a Garda van in the same point... Though I didn't make a complaint. I've kinda had enough at this point. If anyone wonders why people won't let their kids walk or cycle to school, these are the reasons. Chicken and egg I know, but I understand it at this point. I have a total of maybe 11 incidences on that stretch in the last two years.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,769 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

To be honest, this is more a pedestrian issue.

It's not always possible, and I'm sure you've considered, but is a different route an option?

This is the safest route that I've managed to come up with. The other routes involve the left turn saps, or lights that are in the middle of a straight northbound on Ballymun Road on which he was almost killed (I'm not exaggerating, car broke red light at about 50km/h just as he was about to walk around all the cars which had actually stopped for the red). I notice that they've put extra lights in for the ped lights over to DCU. That may be our only option left, but we miss out on a nice walk through the park then. May be our last resort.

Yeah, I used to travel through the area around Whitehall and Grace Park Road a lot, and I always found a few junctions alarming, either as a pedestrian or a cyclist. Harder again with children.

As I've grown older, I've just become more intolerant I guess, but the feeling of satisfaction I got from reporting one driver and kicking the other's car (no damage, just frightening loud noise) has me tempted to just carry a rock around and f'ck it through car windows... Not advocating, won't do it, but the limit will come some day.

ronoc wrote: »
    While possibly satisfying in the short term You are probably just going to aggravate yourself more in the long run.

Take the Zen approach on the road ;)

Oh yeah? You want to explain to an 11-year old child who's now terrified to cycle to school and barely sure he wants to walk there because people in cars and trucks can't keep an eye on the road have almost knocked him down repeatedly to take a "Zen" approach to the road. Spare me your glib patronising.

Oh yeah?

Tried to PM you but your box was full. I didn't see your earlier messages so I can understand your reaction now.

I'll come back in a separate thread if I get any responses from the authorities. Thanks for the info Weepsie.

tumblr_o1ke6uM5PY1qa39umo1_1280.jpg

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

I'm not normally prudish but the Giro jerseys were launched to and this is the from the official press release

CZz_v8PWEAAlKSU.jpg:large

Bet she probably got paid more for the photo-shoot than the winner of the ladies Giro will get for 10 days hard slog.....

• Registered Users Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭buffalo

Hate putting something like this up, but if I wanted to suggest to put Gardaí on a particular junction Ballymun/Glasnevin area, would I write to the Gardaí or the council?

I've alerted the Gardai to a couple of junctions at which I witness repeated ignoring of the filter (including this morning), but I've still never seen anyone stationed there.

Maybe better to talk to your local councillor?

That's a good point. In saying that, I spoke to a Garda at the time of reporting the other driver, who I dealt with throughout the process and she herself said she'd ask superiors to consider putting someone there. But resources as they are I'm not sure how likely that move would be.

• Registered Users Posts: 890 ✭✭✭brocbrocach

Spoiler

• Registered Users Posts: 890 ✭✭✭brocbrocach

Spoiler

• Registered Users Posts: 3,477 ✭✭✭rollingscone

First time using a DHB Windslam baselayer today.

Pretty chuffed with it under a summer jersey with windstopper arm & leg warmers today.

#Wouldrecommend

• Registered Users Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭buffalo

Ye an ignore the article, but there is a ding dong of a slagging match underneath about rim v disc brakes if you're bored and want to see why internet forums have the silliest rows

http://www.cyclingweekly.co.uk/news/latest-news/this-is-why-we-dont-need-disc-brakes-208497

• Registered Users Posts: 864 ✭✭✭jack01986

That was a poxy headwind coming back from Howth today.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,995 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Terry Wogan RIP

• Registered Users Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭manafana

Terry Wogan RIP

hard few months for good men falling early

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

Club run leaves Donnybrook

376427.png

Hm. Putting an img tag around photos no longer works. Is there a new system?

If you right click the link you see after attaching an image, you can choose select "copy link location" or something like that. Then back where you edit the text click on the "insert image" button and paste the link.

There probably is an easier way.

tomasrojo wrote: »
    If you right click the link you see after attaching an image, you can choose select "copy link location" or something like that. Then back where you edit the text click on the "insert image" button and paste the link.

There probably is an easier way.

No, that just puts the IMG and /IMG tags around it. Same difference.

Here's another one; RIC man on his elderly bike. This is a jpeg rather than a .png - the other one was a screen shot of a photo from the same source.

Mm. That one's not uploading at all. I upload it, spinning ball appears, finally disappears, I click 'save' and the posting is saved, but no jpeg.

Yeah, the upload function seems to be acting up.

tomasrojo wrote: »
    Yeah, the upload function seems to be acting up.

And when I click on the image above (the 1913 club run from Donnybrook), I get an error: 500 Internal Service Error.

This is the safest route that I've managed to come up with. The other routes involve the left turn saps, or lights that are in the middle of a straight northbound on Ballymun Road on which he was almost killed (I'm not exaggerating, car broke red light at about 50km/h just as he was about to walk around all the cars which had actually stopped for the red). I notice that they've put extra lights in for the ped lights over to DCU. That may be our only option left, but we miss out on a nice walk through the park then. May be our last resort.

D'you know what I've found very effective in keeping away homicidal drivers? Those lollipop yokes that stick out at a 90 degree angle from your bike, with a reflector on them. Drivers avoid them, seemingly fearful of scraping their cars.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00PWNH4W2?keywords=lollipop%20bicycle&qid=1454240022&ref_=sr_1_1&sr=8-1

They look a bit stupid, but they work better than most things.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

Are GP 4000s ll any good for all year training, so wet roads. Exactly the crappy weather we have had the last few months.

The tyres that came with the bike (specialised) are in need of replacement.

Cheers.