Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,800 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

I don't think we need to know the details, although some will inevitably leak out.

It's been an unpleasant couple of weeks for all concerned, let's just move on and get ready for 2016...with the right man at the helm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

Lads they have stepped down.

Announced at tonight's County Board meeting. They issued a statement announcing they are resigning.

Thanks Pat and Noel for everything ye have done for Mayo football, you owe this county nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

I think they've done the right thing, the only thing they could do given the circumstances. I don't think we need all the details.

Onwards we go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Right decision. If only more of this ruthlessness was shown (H&C had no choice but to walk) we might have more success in the county other than 3 AIs in underage last 3 decades. This is the best bunch of players we've ever had, showed guts to stand up for what they (still) believe in. No denying it H&C weren't gonna guide Mayo to an AI Senior title. Pressure (plus added haters) on the squad now more so than ever but we'll back them all the way.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Right decision.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Always_Running

Maximum pressure on the next Mayo manager to win the All Ireland next year however a fantastic opportunity to prove the players were right and to prove they are as good as they believe they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,469 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

Whats this all about? :confused:

Kiltimagh GAA
    @KiltimaghGAA
    Sad sad day for Mayo football. Bad move by Mayo players We will continue to support them but with a heavy heart. @MayoGAA
    10:15 PM - 2 Oct 2015

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭delaad

That was a clinically well-organised coup by the Mayo panel. What may now be needed is an overturning of the County Board to get the best management team appointed. This will be the difficult bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Rob Thomas

There will be no winners in this. Mayo are as far away as ever from Sam and there will certainly be some very good candidates who will distance themselves from the role because of what has happened.

I don't think the players are fools and clearly they had frustrations that had lingered over the year. There is no other reason why they would have taken this course rather than engage in the agreed review process. They will have known how this will have looked at the outside and they must have taken that into account. However, I think their main issues are with the county board and the level of investment, which is not the same as previous years. Mayo are in a strict financial regime imposed by Croke Park so the money is not there for all kinds of shrinks and scientists.

I feel sorry for H&C. They delivered an all Ireland at u21, if I recall they won the league in their last time in charge in 2001 and they achieved more or less the same this year as Horan achieved in 4 years, and yet their reputations are savaged without giving any detail and this is considered ok by some. Horan brought a level of professionalism and order to the squad and he moved on their preparation levels, but his ineptitude on the line cost Mayo at least one All Ireland and he was found wanting on more than one occasion. And he was the best supported manager, from a financial and resources angle that Mayo ever had.

It's hard to see where the next manager comes from. An outsider is not an option due to money and the only internal option is Rochford who has never managed at county level and was passed over for the minors and u21s only a couple of years ago. He won an All Ireland with Corofin but, only for a once in a lifetime performance from Diarmuid Connolly, H&C would have done the same with Castlebar and they easily beat Rochford's Corofin on the way that year.

Long winter ahead methinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,465 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Maximum pressure on the next Mayo manager to win the All Ireland next year however a fantastic opportunity to prove the players were right and to prove they are as good as they believe they are.

I don't think k tjete will be as much pressure on the manager as on the players.

A new manager can come in and put in place a professional setup but can still say that he is working to an X year plan.
    No manager should be under a All Ireland or bust threat in the first year after what happened to the last guys.

The players on the other hand cannot put a foot wrong.
    Tney will have to go above and beyond each game to prove to us that it was last years management that was the problem, not them.

• Registered Users Posts: 388 ✭✭Gary Neville

That's great news for Mayo Football Supporters. It was the only possible solution. H & C put Mayo Football first and they are owed a big debt of gratitude.

The CB will surely consult with the player's now and make sure the best man is selected. The speed of resolution here is remarkable and is a credit to all concerned.

I believe that this could be key to Sam's long overdue return to Mayo and no one will begrudge this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,264 ✭✭✭✭km79

Mayo's odds on winning Sam next year have shortened from 6\1 to 5\1 with paddy power tonight ......... :D

mayo.mick wrote: »

Kiltimagh GAA
    @KiltimaghGAA
    Sad sad day for Mayo football. Bad move by Mayo players We will continue to support them but with a heavy heart. @MayoGAA

Maybe it's just an opinion that players ousting decent managers is not necessarily something to celebrate.

People still remember 92.
    Going from a team that should have beaten Donegal to get to the final to a team that lost by 15 pts the following year and not winning Connacht for another 3 years.

And as the other poster said Mayo are not flush with cash, so there are going to be restrictions on what the new man can spend and what sort of candidates are going to go for a job that could be a poisoned chalice

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Rawhead

Rob Thomas wrote: »
    There will be no winners in this. Mayo are as far away as ever from Sam and there will certainly be some very good candidates who will distance themselves from the role because of what has happened.

I don't think the players are fools and clearly they had frustrations that had lingered over the year. There is no other reason why they would have taken this course rather than engage in the agreed review process. They will have known how this will have looked at the outside and they must have taken that into account. However, I think their main issues are with the county board and the level of investment, which is not the same as previous years. Mayo are in a strict financial regime imposed by Croke Park so the money is not there for all kinds of shrinks and scientists.

I feel sorry for H&C. They delivered an all Ireland at u21, if I recall they won the league in their last time in charge in 2001 and they achieved more or less the same this year as Horan achieved in 4 years, and yet their reputations are savaged without giving any detail and this is considered ok by some. Horan brought a level of professionalism and order to the squad and he moved on their preparation levels, but his ineptitude on the line cost Mayo at least one All Ireland and he was found wanting on more than one occasion. And he was the best supported manager, from a financial and resources angle that Mayo ever had.

It's hard to see where the next manager comes from. An outsider is not an option due to money and the only internal option is Rochford who has never managed at county level and was passed over for the minors and u21s only a couple of years ago. He won an All Ireland with Corofin but, only for a once in a lifetime performance from Diarmuid Connolly, H&C would have done the same with Castlebar and they easily beat Rochford's Corofin on the way that year.

Long winter ahead methinks.

Aiden O'Shea has never lost any game at any grade to Galway.

Rawhead wrote: »

And the way it's going he will probably retire with the same boast... But that's more down to Galway than Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,469 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

Maybe it's just an opinion that players ousting decent managers is not necessarily something to celebrate.

People still remember 92.
    Going from a team that should have beaten Donegal to get to the final to a team that lost by 15 pts the following year and not winning Connacht for another 3 years.

And as the other poster said Mayo are not flush with cash, so there are going to be restrictions on what the new man can spend and what sort of candidates are going to go for a job that could be a poisoned chalice

That tweet has been deleted now from Kiltimagh GAA page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭manofwisdom

Kiltimagh GAA
    @KiltimaghGAA

Not everyone in Mayo thought this was the right move by the players and tweet since removed because they got abused for having a different opinion?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Xenophile

km79 wrote: »
    Mayo's odds on winning Sam next year have shortened from 6\1 to 5\1 with paddy power tonight ......... :D

Big Deal , Paddy Power knows he will find a few suckers to fall for this. Just watch the odds drift out as the year goes by.

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

That's great news for Mayo Football Supporters. It was the only possible solution. H & C put Mayo Football first and they are owed a big debt of gratitude.

The CB will surely consult with the player's now and make sure the best man is selected. The speed of resolution here is remarkable and is a credit to all concerned.

I believe that this could be key to Sam's long overdue return to Mayo and no one will begrudge this.

Plenty will begrudge the Mayo panel after this blood-letting. Indeed factions inside Mayo itself will begrudge the current panel success on the back of this.

They've set themselves up for failure by bringing greater pressure on themselves at a time when Mayo's purse-strings are hamstrung such that the next man is never going to have the freedoms Horan enjoyed, no matter who he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,424 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Fair play. That's one for his mantle piece alright. I never lost to one of the worst Galway sides in the past 50 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

He's watched them win two All Ireland's however

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,550 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Syferus wrote: »
    Plenty will begrudge the Mayo panel after this blood-letting. Indeed factions inside Mayo itself will begrudge the current panel success on the back of this.

They've set themselves up for failure by bringing greater pressure on themselves at a time when Mayo's purse-strings are hamstrung such that the next man is never going to have the freedoms Horan enjoyed, no matter who he is.

How do you know its about the lack of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

Kiltimagh GAA
    @KiltimaghGAA

Not the first nonsense tweet from that account, they are very closely linked to the CB and were tweeting the same kind of rubbish when McNicholas stepped down last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    He's watched them win two All Ireland's however

Well given that he was 8 and 11 years old at the times we won't hold it against him.

irishgeo wrote: »
    How do you know its about the lack of money.

Without knowing the specifics its been flagged for a number of years that Mayo are not in great financial shape.

In the early years of Horan's (first) stint there was a bit of a stand off over resources.

I think it all stems from the cost of the McHale Park development.

Of course but didn't croke park pay back the bank loan and loan the mayo GAA the money at a better rate. They must have gone mental when they Castlebar didn't get a home at all last year.

Croke Park don't just bail you out and walk away. They impose strict conditions on future spending until your house is back in order. Galway are in a similar boat after Croke Park had to step in to cover their hurling board debt on the land they bought in Athenry.

What Mayo GAA HAVE going for them is a very committed support and their various fundraisers are well supported but it's unrealistic to expect the money spent in previous years to be available again.

Croke Park don't just bail you out and walk away. They impose strict conditions on future spending until your house is back in order. Galway are in a similar boat after Croke Park had to step in to cover their hurling board debt on the land they bought in Athenry.

What Mayo GAA HAVE going for them is a very committed support and their various fundraisers are well supported but it's unrealistic to expect the money spent in previous years to be available again.

I guess thats why dublin do so well.

If the county board didn't take such huge expenses maybe there might be more money to go around.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Rawhead

I wonder is it our neighbours to the east or the south that John Fogarty was referring to in his tweet last night when he mentioned that some people shouldn't be gloating about player revolts when they had one within their own camp last week????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Kiltimagh GAA
    @KiltimaghGAA

Seems to have been deleted i but dont see the big deal, why bring it up? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

I guess thats why dublin do so well.

If the county board didn't take such huge expenses maybe there might be more money to go around.

What exactly do you mean?

Without knowing the specifics its been flagged for a number of years that Mayo are not in great financial shape.

In the early years of Horan's (first) stint there was a bit of a stand off over resources.

I think it all stems from the cost of the McHale Park development.
    The debt is the same, it's just got a cheaper interest rate and is now owed to Croke Park.

It's another factor in reinforcing just how important Division One football is for Mayo, not just for competitive reasons alone, but for financial as well.

Mayo seniors currently enjoy fantastic support both home and away, but there's no doubt a season of Division Two football would impact on attendances and in turn on finances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

Galway hurlers taking inspiration from the Mayo footballers it seems

Player Power ?

Cork were one of the first counties to hit the headlines in this respect, just have a look at where they are now in both codes!

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

I know Rochford is one of the favourites but anyone doubt he's going to leave corofin now mid season and them going so well? To start preparing mayo for the league he'd have to take the job in a month or two.

I still think we missed out big time on mcstay. Messed that one up completely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Xenophile wrote: »
    Player Power ?

Cork were one of the first counties to hit the headlines in this respect, just have a look at where they are now in both codes!

Thats nonsense. Where cork are has nothing to do with the player coups. Did they not win all irelands after the coups?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,104 ✭✭✭Oldtree

Croke Park don't just bail you out and walk away. They impose strict conditions

Is that why we have those bloddy blue seats in mchale???? ;-)

Thats nonsense. Where cork are has nothing to do with the player coups. Did they not win all irelands after the coups?

With Cork's population I would expect them to be represented in Croke Park by at least one of their teams every September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,248 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

I would see it as less a case of maximum pressure on the next Mayo manager than it being on the players after them having H&C removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,248 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

I wonder is it our neighbours to the east or the south that John Fogarty was referring to in his tweet last night when he mentioned that some people shouldn't be gloating about player revolts when they had one within their own camp last week????

From the news tonight, looks like he was pointing the finger at Galway hurlers.

• Registered Users Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

Xenophile wrote:
    With Cork's population I would expect them to be represented in Croke Park by at least one of their teams every September.

A little bit over simplistic don't you think. Applying that logic, Dublin should be handed Sam on the 1st Jan every year.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Fair dues to Connelly and Holmes for having the good sense and good grace to stand down.

There was absolutely no sense in dragging the situation on.

It will be difficult to sort out the management situation from here but C+H were in no position to carry on.

Big win for Knockmore in the final quarter final
    Knockmore 5-21
    Kiltane 3-7

seligehgit wrote: »
    Big win for Knockmore in the final quarter final
    Knockmore 5-21
    Kiltane 3-7

Big score right enough, but they're the weakest of whats left by some distance I feel.

Very close in terms of standard between the other three.

So it's Ballintubber v Breaffy
    Castlebar Mitchels v Knockmore

I didn't see yesterday's game but based on the other hand on the other quarter finals I did see I'd favour Ballintubber to beat Breaffy,a little bit more about them.I can't see Knockmore beating the Mitchels.Looking forward to two very decent games,I presume they'll put on a double header in McHale Park and not two separate games on the Saturday and Sunday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,869 ✭✭✭statto25

I didn't see yesterday's game but based on the other hand on the other quarter finals I did see I'd favour Ballintubber to beat Breaffy,a little bit more about them.I can't see Knockmore beating the Mitchels.Looking forward to two very decent games,I presume they'll put on a double header in McHale Park and not two separate games on the Saturday and Sunday?

Both games are next Sunday. Tubber v Breaffy at 1 and Mitchels v Knockmore at 2.30.
    Times moved for the rugby!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Best of luck to the 2 lads, both are genuine lads and it just hasn't worked out which is a shame for all sides. I'm not sure how many us would be as brave to step into the Mayo manager hotseat.

Will be an interesting few weeks/months.

statto25 wrote: »
    Both games are next Sunday. Tubber v Breaffy at 1 and Mitchels v Knockmore at 2.30.
    Times moved for the rugby!

That's great stuff,I'm really looking forward to that double header and the rugger afterwards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

jmayo wrote: »
    To me it ranks up there with one of the most puzzling things of the year - a hurling manager leaving a defender on a full forward who was getting the biggest roasting of the decade.
    BTW I wouldn't be surprised to expect some developments in that squad as well.
    Galway hurlers taking inspiration from the Mayo footballers it seems

See above...I did predict it last week.
    (now if only I could predict Lotto numbers :())

There were a lot of very peed off players after the All Ireland which happened to be the same weekend that Mayo were beaten by Dublin.

Back to Mayo ...
    I think H&C did the best thing for Mayo.
    They couldn't continue on, their position was untenable.
    It is sad for them that it had to end this way, but maybe a fair chunk of that blame lies with the CB.

As others have said this now places a huge amount of pressure on the players and the guys who haven't delivered in the past will have to step up.

Who ever comes in will have to look at a defensive structure and the players will have to buy into it with no cribbing or complaints.
    The players can't lay all the blame for not delivering an All Ireland at the door of these or even past managers.
    To use that old phrase, "they have talked the talk, not it is time to walk the walk".

I am not allowed discuss …

Anyone else finding it a little worrying that three of the four semi finalists come from a very small geographical area?