Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When to do my taxes as a landlord?

Options
  • 04-09-2015 4:56pm
    Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭

Hi all, I rented out my house in May 2015. This is my first time being a landlord. Do I need to do my taxes in October 2015 or October 2016? Thanks guys.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 25,967 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

If you do it by August 2016, then Revenue will do the calculations for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭beatlesfan3333

Oh thanks, I thought I'd have to get an accountant to do my landlord taxes and that you're supposed to do them every October? I know you can do your taxes yourself but I wouldn't feel confident doing them myself.

• Registered Users Posts: 621 ✭✭✭detoxkid

Following this because I've just paid an accountant to do mine! Do they do it for u if u get the details in by a certain date?!

• Registered Users Posts: 23,536 ✭✭✭✭ted1

detoxkid wrote: »
    Following this because I've just paid an accountant to do mine! Do they do it for u if u get the details in by a certain date?!

No need for an accountant , it's a basic enough form. Just be sure to deduct every cent spent and 12.5% depreciation on white goods etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

I'd be inclined to get an accountant to do it first time (it's also an allowable expense) and keep a copy of everything so you are confident when you're doing it next time.

• Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 437 ✭✭Robert McGrath

ted1 wrote: »