Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Ireland Football Final Kerry -v- Dublin WARNING POST #110

• Registered Users Posts: 17 amurphysboy

the wheel turns for kerry regards penalty calls remember jod v cork never was ha and against tyrone.looking at their tactics very unusual to spring galvin when they neeeded a player who could score or set up scores also the gooch was he outscored from play by his marker -funny i taught it should be the other way round ah well they will have to send a bigger cheque from the states for next year -reckon few home truths for them today ,handy all ireland last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Borders no.2

Le Henry wrote: »
    Overall we can safely say Jim mcguieness has denied dublin 3 in a row :)

Possibly but this is the thing with sport, there will always be what ifs. Do we say that Liam Sheedy denied Kilkenny an 8 in a row?

If Dublin had got over Donegal in 2014 who's to say they wouldn't have been caught against Kerry. Playing the free-wheeling style of football Dublin played last year was always going to hit a brick wall at some stage over the course of the last 3 years and it wasn't going to be in Leinster.

What comes with defeat is the hard lessons have to be learned by both players and management and Dublin learned from their defeat and came back stronger this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Here are the ratings the Indo (I know, I know) gave each player
    http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/dublinkerry-player-ratings-what-hamstring-injury-cian-osullivan-shines-for-dublin-31543069.html

Some strange ones, i.e B.Brogan 8/10, Bastick 8/10, McCaffrey only 6/10
    Suggests MOTM between O'Sullivan and P.McMahon which seems about right

by the way, Dublin made 6 subs, one of them must have been a blood sub? Don't remember them getting a black card.

6 for Connolly seems awfully harsh imo. Thought he worked very hard, won some good frees and gave some great passes. I'd have given him an 8!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,104 ✭✭✭FourFourRED

Would Coldrick have allowed all the time wasting around free kicks and kick outs if Brendan Kealy was the culprit today? Hard to see him being allowed that much time without penalty.

• Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MonsterCookie

Peist2007 wrote: »
    Did he or did he not eye gouge Kieran Donaghy today? The answer to that question is yes. Ref missed it on the pitch so a ban should follow.

Sorry, but I've watched the footage time and time again and can't say for sure if he gouged him.his hand is on his face but aside from running up to the ref claiming he was gouged, Donaghy didn't seem to be affected by whatever contact took place I.e. He was still able to look up and grab the ball...sure if he had been gouged his instinct would have been to hold his eye?

Maybe he did, gouge him, but I'm not sure how you can be so damn sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 8 Flynner1313

Realbhoy wrote: »
    Did something similar happen with Jimmy Barry Murphy after cork were knocked out of the hurling? Must be policy to ask it. At that moment in time though it reveals a complete lack of awareness of what a defeated manager must be going through.

Agreed - Her interview with Jimmy Barry Murphy was the worst kind of tacky Sky style interview I had seen in a while. She should not have repeated it today but she did. Poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

corny wrote: »
    It was the same after the Mayo game. Always ****ers keen to pick out Dublin indiscretions. Even non existent Dublin indiscretions.

Not a peep about Cooper kicking James McCarthy in the air today. Cocked his leg and fully extended it. Knew exactly what he was doing. Had he been wearing a blue jersey you'd never hear the ****ing end of it.

Did you watch the incident at all?
    Cooper was being grabbed around the neck by McMahon (I think) & he put out his legs to break his fall.
    There was no intent from Cooper.
    He's not that kind of player, never has been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Disgraceful from McMahon. That is clear as day. Should be a huge ban.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

"someplace it shouldn't be" is the phrase of the night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Peist2007 wrote: »
    That's bollox because the incident was shown in slow motion less than 20 seconds after it happened. No need for x-ray vision. I also dont need Donaghy to confirm anything. I only think one of us has affected vision on this count. Go and enjoy the result, ye deserved to win. But McMahon's cowardice should be exposed.

Nope I was worng, you were right. the better angle on the sunday game shows a clear gouge in my book, he's fooked with the CCC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

McMahon should be gone for a minimum of 6 months.Frankly being banned for a year wouldn't be harsh in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭SeanJ09

Well it looks this Anti Dublin Brigade nonsense has rubbed off on the Sunday game panel. Whelan and Mcstay bottled it there with the Philly McMahon subject.

corny wrote: »
    Not a peep about Cooper kicking James McCarthy in the air today. Cocked his leg and fully extended it. Knew exactly what he was doing. Had he been wearing a blue jersey you'd never hear the ****ing end of it.

It was terrible of Cooper, when he was all but head locked by an opponent, not to give careful consideration to where his feet might end up. Yes, evidently he took up martial arts and watched Kickboxer non stop, and his acrobatics weren't in the least bit affected by the challenge on him.

Bambi wrote: »
    Nope I was worng, you were right. the better angle on the sunday game shows a clear gouge in my book, he's fooked with the CCC

Yeah you don't want to ruin a guys night after a great year but no place for that in the game.

Top footballer but that's not nice to see at all.

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Disgraceful from McMahon. That is clear as day. Should be a huge ban.

Just looked at it again on a bigger screen and I agree it looks very much like he gouged alright. I'm guessing he'll be given a ban and rightly so.

Fair play to Kerry fans, players and manager alike...all very magnanimous as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,177 ✭✭✭zetecescort

when will the "justice for Philly" campaign start?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

Godge wrote: »
    There won't be any camera angle that shows eye-gouging.
    I think you might just be wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 364 ✭✭aveytare

Whelan is gas. Thought Tiernan McCann should've issued a public apology and called for a ban, but aye gouging's a bit of craic, Philly's not that kinda player blah blah.

Bambi wrote: »

Maximum respect for a poster who changes his mind.

And of course it didn't affect the outcome, and I say that as a Kerryman. We know well that if anything, Dublin should have won by more. It's a separate issue, it shouldn't overshadow the best team in the country deservedly winning the All Ireland.

aveytare wrote: »
    Whelan is gas. Thought Tiernan McCann should've been issued a public apology and called for a ban, but aye gouging's a bit of craic, Philly's not that kinda player blah blah.

Yeah when you consider the furore over a dive, they were very slow to have a go at McMahon after a potentially very serious incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,250 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Great win for Dublin. First convincing AI Final win since the 70s. No doubts about how good they were today. No amount of moaning from the dissenters will spoil it. Kerry were awful and shown up for what they really are. Dublin gave away last years AI to Donegal by being caught out on tactics.

• Registered Users Posts: 528 ✭✭✭corner back 2

There would be no question of Philly McMahon not being banned in Rugby. At least 12 weeks and up to a year. Disgraceful act and has no place in GAA.

• Registered Users Posts: 528 ✭✭✭corner back 2

There won't be any camera angle that shows eye-gouging.

The whole thing is an attempt to stop someone from Ballymun deservedly winning Footballer of the Year, he dominated everyone who faced up to him.

Anyone who indulges in clear eye gouging has no business being footballer of the year. Form is temporary class is permanent. Philly in great form this year but possesses no class and never will.

There would be no question of Philly McMahon not being banned in Rugby. At least 12 weeks and up to a year. Disgraceful act and has no place in GAA.

It should be perhaps split from this thread.

Because at this stage it detracts from the main issue, which is Dublins victory. It should be dealt with in time, tonight is for Dublin to enjoy...the feckers...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Don't worry he's from Dublin nothing will happen, nothing to see here folks, a brown envelope will change hands and it would be thrown out after the fifteenth appeal.

Stinicker wrote: »
    Don't worry he's from Dublin nothing will happen, nothing to see here folks, a brown envelope will change hands and it would be thrown out after the fifteenth appeal.

Knob comment of the night.

Looking more like a gouge and I bet he gets a ban.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Knob comment of the night.

Looking more like a gouge and I bet he gets a ban.

I would be willing to offer you very high odds that this incident today will have absolutely no effect on his championship for next year.

Ah Stinicker, I enjoy your die hard support and 99 times out of a 100 I agree with you when Cork, Tyrone, Mayo and Dublin fans are raining down on you. We'll still wake up in the finest county in Ireland tomorrow...but we gotta concede we were second best today, and the McMahon incident while nasty should be dealt with for what it was, an individual in a nasty incident.

I would be willing to offer you very high odds that this incident today will have absolutely no effect on his championship for next year.

Changing the goalposts now?

Considering the championship doesn't start until next summer...I'd say a 6 month ban would be harsh considering Donaghy wasn't hurt, by the looks of it, therefore I would be amazed if his championship was impacted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,177 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Changing the goalposts now?

Considering the championship doesn't start until next summer...I'd say a 6 month ban would be harsh considering Donaghy wasn't hurt, by the looks of it, therefore I would be amazed if his championship was impacted.

Are bans not game based instead of time and you serve it in the competition you got the ban in now?

• Registered Users Posts: 438 ✭✭Brian2011

McCauley is a very unsporting player too. I hate the way he claps up in to the face of opponents, Nasty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭RoryW

Taken in June but for the day thats in it I'll post it here

18810405644_730691d8fb_c.jpgDSC_2371 by rorywilliams, on Flickr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭RoryW

Priorities at Mark Josef Jewellers shop — at Omni Park Shopping Centre.

20957237094_d5bb91a228_c.jpgAll Ireland Final Day by rorywilliams, on Flickr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

It was terrible of Cooper, when he was all but head locked by an opponent, not to give careful consideration to where his feet might end up. Yes, evidently he took up martial arts and watched Kickboxer non stop, and his acrobatics weren't in the least bit affected by the challenge on him.

Just like Diarmud Connolly when he was headlocked? Bet you were calling for Connolly to be let off when he lashed out in panic when headlocked.

:eek: You have got to be trolling with your posts at this stage...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

Sorry, but I've watched the footage time and time again and can't say for sure if he gouged him.his hand is on his face but aside from running up to the ref claiming he was gouged, Donaghy didn't seem to be affected by whatever contact took place I.e. He was still able to look up and grab the ball...sure if he had been gouged his instinct would have been to hold his eye?

Maybe he did, gouge him, but I'm not sure how you can be so damn sure.

I agree.

Donaghy is well known for that sort of stuff, whinging to the referee whenever he is touched. If he was truly gouged, he wouldn't have been up and running to the ref so quick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Waterboy.

Shows you how great the GAA is that a former world champion boxer is only considered good enough to pass drinks to the players.

Half of the players have probably knocked him out in training.

Sure you'd bait him with yer handbag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Half of the players have probably knocked him out in training.

Sure you'd bait him with yer handbag

You ever seen him in real life? He's a scarey looking sham. Looks a bit like a demented inner city leprechaun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

Just back and very disappointed with the outcome but can't really complain. Kerry were outplayed and lacked the sharpness and intensity that Dublin brought. The wretched conditions made for a really poor game with both teams (but particularly Kerry) making a lot of errors and giving away possession cheaply. We also had some poor wides, partiiclurly in the first half. I think the two Mayo games helped Dublin a lot, but in fairness this worked the other way for Kerry last year.

As bad as we were we only lost by three points and actually could have snatched a draw on another day. I'm loathe to criticise fitzmaurice, but I really couldn't understand some of the tactics and substitutions. What was galvin doing coming on when Tommy Walsh was on the bench for example. Anyway, sometimes you've gotta accept its not your day. Kerry can regroup over the winter and I think we will be there or thereabouts again next year. We were comprehensively beaten today but that's just how it goes sometimes. Dubs suffered a big defeat last year and came back to win it again, so no need for Kerry to be too downbeat.

Congrats to Dublin, thoroughly deserved victory and undoubtedly the best team in the country this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Possibly but this is the thing with sport, there will always be what ifs. Do we say that Liam Sheedy denied Kilkenny an 8 in a row?

Cork knocked them out in 2013 also. 2006-2009 (4) 2011-12 (2). Most it could be would be a 7 in a row.

Do I sense sour grapes or humble pie for that matter? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

I remember this time last year posters saying the future for Kerry football was very bright. Tommy Walsh and Gooch was to come back at the time to compete against the young players who had already won the AI.

Unfortunately it looks the opposite now. There was a serious difference in physicality today. Kerry seem to have a lot of light forwards and defenders in comparison to Dublin or Mayo. Paul Galvin, mighty player in his day, but wtf, you can't expect a 36 year old with limited match practice to come on and do something. Tommy Walsh, will he ever be even a fraction of the player he was or just destined to be injury prone from here on in? Gooch, very average year, invisible mostly today. Past his best in big AI games? As a neutral, I would say yes.

There's only so much you can squeeze out of auld timers like O'Mahoney , Gavin and O'Se. Kerry can persist with older players and see diminishing returns or they can start building a new team. Either way, I agree with some people who say last years AI was a handy one like you get every so often, such as Cork in 2010, Kerry in 04 and 06.

Well done Dublin, the best team usually wins the AI and the winning or losing of the AI really came against Mayo in the semi final where they stood up and were counted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Ah the real stinicker is back, and there I was thinking you were all gracious with an earlier comment congratulating the dubs...there are some boyos here who could feed the world with the chips on the shoulders when it comes to Dublin winning.

The best team won today by far and only short sighted begrudgely folks can't accept it,and all the ifs buts and onlys won't change it neither . Here's to the Dublin Double next year , come on the Dubs and fantastically well done today.

realies wrote: »
    Ah the real stinicker is back, and there I was thinking you were all gracious with an earlier comment congratulating the dubs...there are some boyos here who could feed the world with the chips on the shoulders when it comes to Dublin winning.

The best team won today by far and only short sighted begrudgely folks can't accept it,and all the ifs buts and onlys won't change it neither . Here's to the Dublin Double next year , come on the Dubs and fantastically well done today.
    Nice to see Sam going around. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

No it wasn't.

Both teams tried to play football today which wasn't the case last year.

Utter nonsense.

Kerry were a joke today, the carry on of them for the majority of it. So poor. Had that been any of the northern lot you'd never have heard the end of it.

One team played today, Dublin. They played all the football on show today, in absolutely atrocious conditions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Kerry did try to play football, the problem was they were so poor trying it. Their shooting was poor in last years AI final, they only scored I think 4 points from play. This year it was poor again. The one thing about Kerry teams in the past was their forwards were efficient and accurate and rarely missed. At the end of the day if you can't put the ball over the bar, you can complain and whinge all you like, but you aren't going to win AIs.

Having said that, much of the Dublin shooting was woeful too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

The magnamity from most Kerry poesters has been refreshing. As were Fitzmaurice's as were the Kerry lads around town today. It's a rare thing but a welcome thing.

Ye were gash today and were lucky to get away with a 3 point loss.

Great to see Fenton get MOTM today. Absolutely wonderful and himself and Bastick were immense against the "best midfield in the country".

---

The Jacks are back!

Roll on the O'Byrne Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭DubOnHoliday

Please keep Donaghy and Galvin for next year..... We need more comedy gold. Up the Dubs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

We were barely hanging in there and any time we got close to them, they pulled away,” he said.

"They missed a couple of goal chances but we didn't really threaten them at all. Our lads never gave up but it would have been daylight robbery had we got out of it with a draw.”

The swagger that one associates Kerry was clearly absent this year. Fitzmaurice couldn’t really put his finger on why that was the case but was full of praise for the way Jim Gavin’s charges played.

“You have to take your hats off to Dublin in how they played for each other and how hard they fought"“They simply outworked us and played the game on their terms. They really tackled us high up the pitch and slowed us down, while at the same time got bodies back.” - Éamonn Fitzmaurice

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2015/0920/729136-fitzmaurice-dublin-quite-simply-outworked-us/

Fair play to him telling it like it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

I remember this time last year posters saying the future for Kerry football was very bright. Tommy Walsh and Gooch was to come back at the time to compete against the young players who had already won the AI.

Unfortunately it looks the opposite now. There was a serious difference in physicality today. Kerry seem to have a lot of light forwards and defenders in comparison to Dublin or Mayo. Paul Galvin, mighty player in his day, but wtf, you can't expect a 36 year old with limited match practice to come on and do something. Tommy Walsh, will he ever be even a fraction of the player he was or just destined to be injury prone from here on in? Gooch, very average year, invisible mostly today. Past his best in big AI games? As a neutral, I would say yes.

There's only so much you can squeeze out of auld timers like O'Mahoney , Gavin and O'Se. Kerry can persist with older players and see diminishing returns or they can start building a new team. Either way, I agree with some people who say last years AI was a handy one like you get every so often, such as Cork in 2010, Kerry in 04 and 06.

Well done Dublin, the best team usually wins the AI and the winning or losing of the AI really came against Mayo in the semi final where they stood up and were counted.

A lot of truth here, I wouldn't expect to see galvin, Mahoney or Marc o se starting for Kerry next year and all three may well decide to call it a day altogether. Galvin won't be a loss as he hasn't played much and made very little impact when he did. The other two will be losses and it's time for others to step up and take their place. When Tomas o se left two years ago Paul Murphy came from nowhere to take his place and win an all star and motm in the AI final so it can be done.

Cooper and Walsh were returning after bad injuries this year and could well come back and have good years next year after a full pre season. Tommy is apparently flying in training so who knows what's ahead for him. Time will tell. I think from numbers 8-15 Kerry are as strong as anybody anyway. They had a bad day at the office today but I wouldn't write them off just yet. Bear in mind Kerry were playing a battle hardened Dublin team after having a month off. No amount of training can replicate two tough games against a good Mayo team. It was a big advantage for the dubs and they really seized upon it.

We have some really outstanding minors coming through so in the medium term I wouldn't be too worried. When you consider the ages of JOD, Geaney, enright, Moran, Murphy and some of the others we are in a decent place to build from here.

People have been saying for five or six years that Dublin will now start to completely dominate and it hasn't happened. They weren't even that good today. Even allowing for the conditions Kerry were shockingly bad, throwing up possession cheaply and shooting poor wides. Despite this, had Donaghy been correctly awarded a penalty late on when he was hauled down in the box they could have snatched a draw. It would have been robbery of course, but that's not the point. Dublin are the best team in the country but they are far from invincible. They will not win 5 in a row from here so there are titles up for grabs. Who, outside of Kerry would you back to win them at this stage?