Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will you go to the ploughing championship?2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,582 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Mullingar, tullamore, m-mellick, portlaoise out the Carlow/stradbally road

Nope. Follow the route signposted as it got piority at every junction. Coming back I skipped over to Portarlington and to tullamore as mountmellick was at a standstill

go early :rolleyes:

reggie will milk for you

Could have came with me today. Lakill wanted to go for coffee instead. I reckon he just couldn't get out of the bed :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Reggie. wrote: »
    Could have came with me today. Lakill wanted to go for coffee instead. I reckon he just couldn't get out of the bed :D

I had a meeting. grand coffee and scone in the hotel

then down the road for the roll for lunch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Wasn't going this year but the bigger little farmers want to go.

I had a meeting. grand coffee and scone in the hotel

then down the road for the roll for lunch

I'll remember that :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

I'll remember that :mad:

they do a savage breakfast for €4.50

Well myself and Limofarmer had one today aswell ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Nope. Follow the route signposted as it got piority at every junction. Coming back I skipped over to Portarlington and to tullamore as mountmellick was at a standstill

We did Edenderry- Portarlington on way yesterday with no delay till close to site (on Longford bypass at 630), as Tullamore exit was closed, home via Tullamore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭bt12

might go tomorrow, have john deere a stand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,482 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

where is it next year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Limofarmer

Well myself and Limofarmer had one today aswell ;)

Great to have seen ya .no wind today 👀 very calm . 😎 Got home 8.30 ish . Had a good day . was on the ground at 7.30 this am . Traffic was relativey stress free . Stopped for the dinner on way home . Bed early me thinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

whelan2 wrote: »
    where is it next year?

Tullamore

Limofarmer wrote: »
    Great to have seen ya .no wind today 👀 very calm . 😎 Got home 8.30 ish . Had a good day . was on the ground at 7.30 this am . Traffic was relativey stress free . Stopped for the dinner on way home . Bed early me thinks.

Same as. Nice to catch up. Traffic good when I left at 1600hrs.

bt12 wrote: »
    might go tomorrow, have john deere a stand

I didn't see one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

What time do the gates open?. Heard a neighbour landed at 700 this morning and had to wait till nearly 8 for gates to open. Some stands not opened till 9.00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,271 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Over 206,000 attended the first 2 days. Mad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,823 ✭✭✭White Clover

Over 206,000 attended the first 2 days. Mad!

I'd say they are massaging the numbers !
    No way in hell was there 127000 there yesterday. I would say closer to half of that going by last year's throngs on day 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,831 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

No way in hell was there 127000 there yesterday. I would say closer to half of that going by last year's throngs on day 2.

Was there yesterday and would say the very same.. Much easier to move about and stands less crowded.. guy in the office here says the same, he hasn't missed a ploughing event in over 10 years and ran stands there for years, says it was the smallest day's crowd he saw in maybe 5 years, more like 70-80,000..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭MfMan

Wouldn't entirely agree. Very noticeable from 12pm onwards yesterday how crowded it was, how difficult it was to move along the tracks and alleys. Doubt they'd have a reason to fib. I left at 3.30pm and there was a steady stream leaving then also, but still a few more entering. This probably padded it a bit.

Def agree

If they inflate numbers, they would have to show the gate receipts on their accounts.:)

Would they be including the exhibitors and work people in their figures

If they inflate numbers, they would have to show the gate receipts on their accounts.:)

Why ??
    I could claim on FB that my business was doing 127,000 transactions a day, but there is no responsibility for me to show this in my accounts !

Maybe the walk ways were wider (I didn't think so), but there was no stage that I felt them as busy as last year.. even on the stands there was more space to get served and talking to reps..

Leaving at 3:30 I didn't think the carparks were as full..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,100 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Was going to go today But looking out the window I'm glad I didnt now

Bone dry here

I went into the "innovation" tent yesterday.. Came out a bit disappointed, there was a guy there selling feeds that he has been selling for more than 15years..

Saw a few new interesting products on stands and demonstrations, the swivel attachment for track machines looked good, very versatile.. Saw the Huskavarna lads demonstrating the processor on the front of the teleporter, looked handy enough..

LELY robotic milking didn't pull the crowds it pulled for the last two years.. wonder is it worth that level of investment for next year..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,823 ✭✭✭White Clover

_Brian wrote: »
    I went into the "innovation" tent yesterday.. Came out a bit disappointed, there was a guy there selling feeds that he has been selling for more than 15years..

Saw a few new interesting products on stands and demonstrations, the swivel attachment for track machines looked good, very versatile.. Saw the Huskavarna lads demonstrating the processor on the front of the teleporter, looked handy enough..

LELY robotic milking didn't pull the crowds it pulled for the last two years.. wonder is it worth that level of investment for next year..

The Fullwood robot is a good way ahead of the LELY imo. Was awfully disappointed when I saw the Delaval one. The cluster removal method is just awful on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

I went yesterday with my 4 year old. He loves tractors and esp Tractor Ted, so when he goes in the gate the first thing he sees is........you-know-who :)
    /no, not Enda Kenny :pac:

I thought it was busy yesterday, all pathways, tents were busy, also a fair amount of students just sitting around.

Q. How do they count the number that go in, ie. ticket receipts or a rough count at the gates. Do they count the children under 12 for example ?

As regards traffic, it would have been perfect only for the Abbeyleix bit !!!

The amount of free food was a plus :D

Saw a few adults slip in without paying. Timed it so that when the lads checking the wristbands were busy they then sidestepped them. Saw 2 women getting caught and being sent back to the ticket huts.

got charged Student rate :D:D ... or could have been OAP :eek::eek:

Not quite sure..

_Brian wrote: »
    got charged Student rate :D:D ... or could have been OAP :eek::eek:

Not quite sure..

Mature student maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Anyone see Marty up the pole? :D they should have tied down the rope when they had him up there and leave him there for a while.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Anyone see Marty up the pole? :D they should have tied down the rope when they had him up there and leave him there for a while.
    just saw him there on the amusement ride, fair play.

Jaysus, he'll frighten the children.

Went on a similar ride on my holidays with my daughter, was terrible. When it was over eldest lad said he wanted to go so I had to go again:eek:
    closed my eyes the second time

Went on a similar ride on my holidays with my daughter, was terrible. When it was over eldest lad said he wanted to go so I had to go again:eek:
    closed my eyes the second time

Was it on rte that you saw Marty on that ride? I'll be looking at the recording of it later on.

ye at the end of live at the ploughing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,572 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Just home now after grub and a few drinks on the way. We left at 5.30 this morning. Had a pleasant day although my feet don't agree.
    Got to see the Loy digging and bought myself a piggie umbrella :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Base price wrote: »
    Just home now after grub and a few drinks on the way. We left at 5.30 this morning. Had a pleasant day although my feet don't agree.
    Got to see the Loy digging and bought myself a piggie umbrella :)

Fredericks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,572 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Farrell wrote: »
    Fredericks?
    Pikers Lodge

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Went yesterday, I think the roadways were wider and they didn't have the names of the stands at the intersections. This meant people weren't stopping at the intersections to read the 'sign posts'. The combination of wider roads and ppl moving freely made it a better experience IMO. Saw one lad in a wheel chair and TBH he looked frustrated, something to bear in mind if anyone has a family member in a wheelchair.

Young lad got a few treats at mad for models, and a couple of hats, apart from some food that's all we bought. Priced a few bits here and there, picked up a good few business cards, and spent a good bit of time chatting in the livestock area.

I heard stands were expensive, 5k for a small outdoor one, water and electric extra. 500 for an indoor booth in the enterprise village. No wonder there wasn't as many freebies as other years, very disappointed to see irish independent charging for a paper and a bag, denis 0'ligarth must be feeling the heat as we all get our news off the net instead of getting yesterday's news off the paper!

Highlight for me was the icbf/farmers journal/bord bia livestock exhibition. Why? It was very sobering to see an 850kg U+ ch bullock, fit to kill, and see one steak from an equivalent animal in a plastic tray compared to two small steaks from a fr bullock, and being told that the two small steaks were better value. This is the sort of info that one needs when choosing a bull. Unless the housewife gets a sharp knife and cuts the big fcuking steak in half before she puts it on the pan:eek:

Overall a good experience, well worth the entrance money, Tullamore next yr so might go two days to try and see a bit more, I reckon I only saw half of what I wanted to see.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Hugh 2

blue5000 wrote: »
    , Tullamore next yr so might go two days to try and see a bit more, I reckon I only saw half of what I wanted to see.

Tullamore is a bit far for me to go more than once.
    I had heard that it was going to be in Limerick..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,827 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Hugh 2 wrote: »
    Tullamore is a bit far for me to go more than once.
    I had heard that it was going to be in Limerick..

Limerick really? I honestly don't think it'll ever go down that side again as it's become quite a Dublin influenced event plus they'd get more stands/business to attend in Leinster (just my opinion btw).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭MfMan

Highlight for me was the icbf/farmers journal/bord bia livestock exhibition. Why? It was very sobering to see an 850kg U+ ch bullock, fit to kill, and see one steak from an equivalent animal in a plastic tray compared to two small steaks from a fr bullock, and being told that the two small steaks were better value. This is the sort of info that one needs when choosing a bull. Unless the housewife gets a sharp knife and cuts the big fcuking steak in half before she puts it on the pan:eek:

Overall a good experience, well worth the entrance money, Tullamore next yr so might go two days to try and see a bit more, I reckon I only saw half of what I wanted to see.

Saw the Bord Bia display Wed. Seriously doubted the weight of that CHX, nowhere near big enough.

Like you, would nearly need 2 days next year to see all that I would have hoped for. Is it in the same venue in Tullamore as a few years ago? Very serious difficulties getting out of car park that time.

It was in Tullamore area in 2007 but it was more out the Portarlington side. I found that one prefect for getting in and out of too.

I think they're mad to change from that venue. Anywhere else and it's going to be a traffic nighmare. For a crowd that big they need roads to spiral out in all directions and be as close as possible to a large motorway.

I'd say it'll find its way back to this site

Id say it's not all that easy get a farmer and all their neighbours to agree and hold it every year in the same place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Went yesterday, I think the roadways were wider and they didn't have the names of the stands at the intersections. This meant people weren't stopping at the intersections to read the 'sign posts'. The combination of wider roads and ppl moving freely made it a better experience IMO. Saw one lad in a wheel chair and TBH he looked frustrated, something to bear in mind if anyone has a family member in a wheelchair.

Young lad got a few treats at mad for models, and a couple of hats, apart from some food that's all we bought. Priced a few bits here and there, picked up a good few business cards, and spent a good bit of time chatting in the livestock area.

I heard stands were expensive, 5k for a small outdoor one, water and electric extra. 500 for an indoor booth in the enterprise village. No wonder there wasn't as many freebies as other years, very disappointed to see irish independent charging for a paper and a bag, denis 0'ligarth must be feeling the heat as we all get our news off the net instead of getting yesterday's news off the paper!

Farmers would rather whinge about weight limits than learn what the customer wants....processors have to deal in the real world, farmer throw everything at them and then wonder why factories have to dump it on the market at a bad price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

Reggie. wrote:
    I'd say it'll find its way back to this site
    there was talks of it being back in the next couple of years.

blue5000 wrote:
    No wonder there wasn't as many freebies as other years

Only got a couple of pens and keyrings and a hat myself over the 3 days but then again and lot of places were closed when we got around to seeing them in the evenings.. but there seemed to be very few places handing out anything