Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Training in C++ / Java

Options
  • 09-09-2015 9:38pm
    Registered Users Posts: 8,198 ✭✭✭

Guys,

I'm a software engineer with over 10 years experience - exclusively in safety critical systems using propietary languages.

I've been made redundant and am now looking for a new job. Coming from such a niche area I'm finding that the required experience includes C++, Java, Python etc - languages that I've no experience in.

I'm not sure where I'll end up - in my mind I see embedded s/w as the natural fit, but I'm not sure if this is short sighted and I should open up to new areas inside and outside of software.

I've team lead work as well, but didn't really like it - although this might have been tainted by the company I was working within.

I'm wondering if there are training courses that I can go on to pick up either C++ or Java that would have some form of accreditation. I think my preference would be for C++ as it is used moreso in engineering and as it is a superset of C, if you can write in C++ you are most of the way there with C (is this a generally correct statement?).

Anyhow, what courses are out there (trainer based, non online) whereby I could book out 2 -5 days and get taught up on C++? I've been going through the CPP Institute online course for CPA, but it is very dry reading and not much interaction.

Any advise on this or possible paths to take in my career would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 10 MaxDecMer