Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

And they wonder why it's difficult to recruit young members.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I love Golf, its a bloody great game, sadly last 4-5 years only play about dozen times each summer and not joined to club.

(Going be bit of rant so sorry in advance)
    I remember being in a great 9 hole course in Cork that had every Tom, Dick and Harry in it.98% of people were great, but you always get few, but thankfully they appreciated younger lads in general.

But about 2 years ago I played a game in Kanturk GC. Nice course and lot of friendly people when we played few games there. Was with my brother. Anyway on Par 3 16th we saw 2 young kids look at us and they thought "right let's play 17th". By time we finished 16 they were on fairway looking back at us seeing if they were holding up play. They held us up by no more then 30 seconds. I or my brother did not mind one bit. They were basically running to every shot. The 18th is going opposite of 17th and as the kids were going up 18th, the 2 ball behind us, coming down the 17th, started roaring and shouting at the 2 kids, saying it was after 5 O clock (it was 5.17 by my watch, in August) and they will be reported.

I was shocked as was my brother. They were only bloody kids!! Kids who just wanted to play 2 Holes of Golf before they went home. They were causing no harm to anybody, just enjoying the sun and the game they enjoy. I reported the grumpy men in Clubhouse. I got response from funny gentleman saying those grumpy ****ers were crap Golfers and think they own the club.

It's this type of stereotype that Golf has that the game needs to rid ASAP. Thankfully clubs are Very Green Fee friendly including Kanturk, but just left sour taste with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭galwaylad14

Genuinely, what a pathetic human being.

It's this sort of craic that I hate about this great game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

On reflection - and knowing what I know now - I probably should've just played and put it up to him to report me, then taken my chances.

The other thing I'm going to do is read the decisions book, rather than just the rules! I'd have loved to have come back with "Yes, well if you'd read decision 7-1b/1, you'd see the proper penalty is 2 strokes not disqualification" then reported myself for the penalty and his behaviour as serious breach of etiquette under 33-7! :D

I pinged off an email to the secretary and chair of the greens committee suggesting the area be better marked out and perhaps even enlarged to take in the dead ground I played from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Green Peter

I'm a vindictive bastard but I would do my homework on him and find out if he's whiter than white, you'll find he isn't and I would put myself on the timesheet with him and nail him at any opportunity, if nothing else you would ruin his game of golf like he ruined yours, the only way to deal with these people is to stoop to their level. You might not enjoy it but I would relish it!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 803 ✭✭✭jungleman

Jawgap wrote: »
    On reflection - and knowing what I know now - I probably should've just played and put it up to him to report me, then taken my chances.

The other thing I'm going to do is read the decisions book, rather than just the rules! I'd have loved to have come back with "Yes, well if you'd read decision 7-1b/1, you'd see the proper penalty is 2 strokes not disqualification" then reported myself for the penalty and his behaviour as serious breach of etiquette under 33-7! :D

I pinged off an email to the secretary and chair of the greens committee suggesting the area be better marked out and perhaps even enlarged to take in the dead ground I played from.

Did you include the behaviour of that member in the email? Please update when you get a reply from the club, I'd be interested to see if they back up that douche, or if they actually have any common sense themselves!

OK, I've had yet another read through Rule 7 and the more I read it the more I'm convinced even a 2 stroke penalty wouldn't apply......

.....the exception to rule 7 states
    Exception: Practice putting or chipping on or near the first teeing ground or any practice area before starting a round or play-off is permitted.

Given I was practice chipping and I was near the practice ground (despite being on the course) I'm feeling more aggrieved!

Somebody raised this earlier and I've read it a few times now and I'm 'not sure they're not wrong!' :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

It was me that raised it and I still think there is no penalty.
    Practice putting or chipping on or near the first teeing ground or any practice area before starting a round or play-off is permitted.

can be reasonably be read as:

Practice putting or chipping on or near the first teeing ground before starting a round or play-off is permitted.
    and/or
    Practice putting or chipping on or near any practice area before starting a round or play-off is permitted.

You were doing the latter of the above.

We have our own fair share of people like the one you encountered in our club, but people regularly play pitch and chip shots behind the 9th and 18th greens, which is on the golf course, but also is close to the putting green. There has never been an issue with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

why can't we know which club this happened in ?

every club has one or two of these muppets so I can't see how it could be a problem disclosing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

I'm a vindictive bastard but I would do my homework on him and find out if he's whiter than white, you'll find he isn't and I would put myself on the timesheet with him and nail him at any opportunity, if nothing else you would ruin his game of golf like he ruined yours, the only way to deal with these people is to stoop to their level. You might not enjoy it but I would relish it!!!

Im not sure that is the best advice, but each to their own.

"An eye for an eye and the world would be blind"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

why can't we know which club this happened in ?

every club has one or two of these muppets so I can't see how it could be a problem disclosing it.

To be fair to the club it's not their fault that a member acted the bellend regardless of his position in the club hierarchy.

If I was the op I would go the guy and point out that he was wrong and ruined a day's golf for no good reason. At least give him the chance to apologize if he wants to take it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Montgolfier

Personally I have never heard of a decisions book only a rule book. I'd love to hear more on where to find this book it doesn't sound like a reality. I wouldn't be using that to make any claims.
    Saying that rule 7.1b says you can putt and chip on the first teeing ground no penalty.
    So if your ball was close to the first you had no case to answer but if it was closer to the 18th green that might be different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Personally I have never heard of a decisions book only a rule book. I'd love to hear more on where to find this book it doesn't sound like a reality. I wouldn't be using that to make any claims.

I suggest you do a quick internet search. There is most definitely a book on the decisions on the Rules of golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

Exception: Practice putting or chipping on or near the first teeing ground or any practice area before starting a round or play-off is permitted.

The use of the word "near" here gives you an out from what I can see. As there is no definition of the word near then that pretty much gives you carte blanche. Yes that is not the spirit of the rule but then neither is this bellends application of the rule.

And remember....you can always play again next week...whereas he will always be a bellend :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

You are disqualified for practising on the course."
    Who decides disqualifications?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭HighLine

Saying that rule 7.1b says you can putt and chip on the first teeing ground no penalty.
    So if your ball was close to the first you had no case to answer but if it was closer to the 18th green that might be different.

You should most certainly be using the decisions to back up or verify any rule ambiguities or uncertainties. Referees use them all the time.

You can find them here http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-decisions.html#!rule-01 (I personally prefer the USGA site but the rules and decisions are identical to the R&A)

for each rule, just click on the "decisions" section to view the decisions related to the said rule.

Jawgap reading through your original post really annoyed me as I too came across similar characters when I started golf many moons ago. Perhaps use it as extra motivation to get your lads out and show them that the majority of golf folk are a sound bunch and how much of an enjoyable game it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Montgolfier

HighLine wrote: »
    You should most certainly be using the decisions to back up or verify any rule ambiguities or uncertainties. Referees use them all the time.

You can find them here http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-decisions.html#!rule-01 (I personally prefer the USGA site but the rules and decisions are identical to the R&A)

for each rule, just click on the "decisions" section to view the decisions related to the said rule.

Jawgap reading through your original post really annoyed me as I too came across similar characters when I started golf many moons ago. Perhaps use it as extra motivation to get your lads out and show them that the majority of golf folk are a sound bunch and how much of an enjoyable game it is.

I stand corrected, so if your disqualified you can have the committee change it to 2 strokes.

diomed wrote: »
    Who decides disqualifications?

I assume in most cases it's the player himself or herself - or the committee.

HighLine wrote: »

I've been fighting a running battle with my kids to try and get them to play a bit more golf - admittedly for 'selfish' reasons, because I'll not be playing rugby with them:D

The view of the eldest lad, despite being a handy enough player, is that it's a bit of an old fart's sport - a view possibly and unfortunately reinforced by 'my friend' from yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

This thread further reinforces my opinion that golf is a good walk spoiled. :)

His good walk was spoiled by a w@nker, not by golf. This guy is probable a total douche in many aspects of life, all sports clubs have these types of people, it's not peculiar to golf.

Besides, "a good walk spoiled" is a very tired, overused bit of nonsense. If you don't enjoy it, go for a nice walk. Those who enjoy it regard it as a good sociable game where you get some exercise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Agreed, you'll find idiots in all walks of life. I don't think golf has any more than it's fair quota.

That's not to say they should be welcomed, but at the same time they're at the bottom of the list of reasons young people/more people aren't playing imo. I escaped 4 years without meeting one. They are a rare enough breed thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

since it's just a rant...

he was obviously doing you a favour as you should be out on the bike in the hills on a Sunday morning :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭Gi joe!

PARlance wrote: »
    Agreed, you'll find idiots in all walks of life. I don't think golf has any more than it's fair quota.

That's not to say they should be welcomed, but at the same time they're at the bottom of the list of reasons young people/more people aren't playing imo. I escaped 4 years without meeting one. They are a rare enough breed thankfully.

I would have to disagree to be honest. The club I was a member of when I was a kid/teen had a sizable minority of knobs with a good few being in positions of authority. It's fair to say that it soured my view of the game. These were the sort of guys who would make smart comments when you shot a decent round on for your handicap or if you used a certain type of club.

I was nearly kicked out from the bar by one particular individual because of the shoes I was wearing (they were not white running shoes like Nike etc, just a pair of black converse). I was only ordering food at the time so I was hardly presenting something to the committee. :rolleyes:

Now a lot of the members were sound out and didn't take things too seriously; it was just this shower of self styled masters of the universe who loved throwing their weight around which ruined it for me. Seems that this guy would fit comfortably into this group!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,480 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Gi joe! wrote: »
    I would have to disagree to be honest. The club I was a member of when I was a kid/teen had a sizable minority of knobs with a good few being in positions of authority. It's fair to say that it soured my view of the game. These were the sort of guys who would make smart comments when you shot a decent round on for your handicap or if you used a certain type of club.

I was nearly kicked out from the bar by one particular individual because of the shoes I was wearing (they were not white running shoes like Nike etc, just a pair of black converse). I was only ordering food at the time so I was hardly presenting something to the committee. :rolleyes:

Now a lot of the members were sound out and didn't take things too seriously; it was just this shower of self styled masters of the universe who loved throwing their weight around which ruined it for me. Seems that this guy would fit comfortably into this group!

That's a sad sad element of this game that still exists, thankfully the game itself wins, not because of this element but despite it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Gi joe! wrote: »

I never played as a kid so that wasn't my experience but I can see where you're coming from.
    However, there were plenty of idiots in all the sports I did play so I'm not sure if golf is unique. They did come in different forms, but they were there...Be it the line of lunatic parents at kids games or the cruncher on the opposing team whose mission it was to "break" a young fella into the senior game in football & GAA. All forms of fools that would put youngsters off.
    My mate was big into tennis as a kid, perhaps that was more akin to the golfing experience. He spent his summers being told to get off the courts etc and generally pushed around the club.
    I think there's a good chunk of people in most sports that you could point towards in respect to putting young people off the game, but fair enough, maybe golfs etiquette helps to enhance the fool in a higher % than other sports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I would agree that plenty of assholes in other organisations.

I played a good chunk of Sports from Gaa, Rugby, Soccer, Tennis, Kayaking, BMX and Golf and been a few nobs in all.

Bit of Politics in everything, sadly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

ZeroThreat wrote: »
    This thread further reinforces my opinion that golf is a good walk spoiled. :)

Just in case you don't know this its also a really good read by John Feinstein.

"One week you've discovered the secret to the game; the next week you never want to play it again"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Kingswood Rover

Boskowski wrote: »
    Just in case you don't know this its also a really good read by John Feinstein.

"One week you've discovered the secret to the game; the next week you never want to play it again"
    One of the best books about life you could read, the bits about golf in it were not half bad either.

So an update.....

I wrote to the Hon Sec highlighting the 7b exception
    “Exception: Practice putting or chipping on or near the first teeing ground or any practice area before starting a round or play-off is permitted.”

I got a response back this morning saying the disqualification still stood as in the view of the Men's Committee the area I was practicing from was regarded as "integral part of the course and not deemed to be adjacent the first tee."

Personally, I would have thought that a reasonable reading of the exception creates two locations where one can practice chipping or putting - (1) near the first tee and (2) near any practice area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,939 ✭✭✭Russman

So an update.....

I got a response back this morning saying the disqualification still stood as in the view of the Men's Committee the area I was practicing from was regarded as "integral part of the course and not deemed to be adjacent the first tee."

Personally, I would have thought that a reasonable reading of the exception creates two locations where one can practice chipping or putting - (1) near the first tee and (2) near any practice area.

The "integral part of the course" thing is a red herring IMO, anywhere that's adjacent to a tee is surely within this description.

Tell them you'll forward the details of the DQ off to the R&A for clarification and will cc the GUI on the correspondence.

That's a good idea, or send an email to Barry Rhodes for his opinion on the interpretation, you can rely on his response, and if he's not sure, he'll certainly have a direct line to the rules guardians.

I like the Barry Rhodes idea - depending on his reply I may then take the more formal R&A / GUI route.

Did the committee make any comment on the guy's approach, or his entitlement to tell you that you are disqualified?

Nope. However, el Presidente and the Vice Captain have, apparently been made aware of my 'predicament.'

I'm not 100% sure - I'm about 75% :D - that it was a committee member.

Anyway, would you have an email for Barry (aside from what's on the blog). If you have and you could PM it to me, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Nope. However, el Presidente and the Vice Captain have, apparently been made aware of my 'predicament.'

I'm not 100% sure - I'm about 75% :D - that it was a committee member.

Anyway, would you have an email for Barry (aside from what's on the blog). If you have and you could PM it to me, I'd greatly appreciate it.

I'll PM the one I have for him, I'm not sure what's on his blog, it's probably the same one.

If the fella is a committee member then his actions and approach were even more unacceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,939 ✭✭✭Russman

This "committee member" thing really irks me ! Why do some guys feel that gives them some sort of power or authority ? They're just regular members who happen to have volunteered to serve the members in some capacity.

Hope he's feeling at least a little bit awkward about what he did !

Russman wrote: »
    This "committee member" thing really irks me ! Why do some guys feel that gives them some sort of power or authority ? They're just regular members who happen to have volunteered to serve the members in some capacity.

Hope he's feeling at least a little bit awkward about what he did !

In the interests of fairness I should point out that he never said he was on the committee or use that as the basis from the DQ - I did find out later who he was (or who he is most likely to be) and the individual in question seems to be on the committee.

Anyway, despite his demeanour I'm not looking to turn it into a personality driven complaint and I also doubt he feels the least bit embarrassed or awkward about what he did. He struck me as the type of person who feels he struck a blow for the sport :)

That's a good idea, or send an email to Barry Rhodes for his opinion on the interpretation, you can rely on his response, and if he's not sure, he'll certainly have a direct line to the rules guardians.

Well I followed up with Barry and he was good enough to provide a prompt reply this afternoon. They key part of which......
    I understand the ambiguity that is the basis of your argument, but in my opinion your Committee's ruling is accurate. My understanding of the part of Rule 7-1b that you quote is that there is an implied 'within' in the sentence;

"Practice putting or chipping on or near the first teeing ground or [within] any practice area before starting a round or play-off is permitted."

It seems logical to me that a practice area is restricted to its boundaries and does not include any part of the competition course outside those boundaries, unless defined separately, as permitted by the Note to Rule 7-1.

So I think that really draws a line under it.

That clarifies it alright, he's some buachaill for the rules!!

Yeah and it actually makes sense!

Still feeling a bit shellshocked that someone would have called me out like that - I know he was right and has been proven to be right, but I'd like to think if next time I roll into the club and someone was doing the same as I was no one would bat an eyelid. I know I certainly wouldn't.

Yeah and it actually makes sense!

Still feeling a bit shellshocked that someone would have called me out like that - I know he was right and has been proven to be right, but I'd like to think if next time I roll into the club and someone was doing the same as I was no one would bat an eyelid. I know I certainly wouldn't.

I think we have established, beyond any reasonable doubt, that this guy is a pr1ck. I'd hope any nice, decent, normal person would deal with the situation in an entirely different way. A quiet word would have sufficed. You weren't gaining any advantage, you were doing it in good faith, and it is not like when you are on te golf course where you do not have the option of waiving a rule that you know has been broken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭NFH

That's insane behavior by your man.

I love golf but I 100% see why people who don't play it think it's an elitist sport only played by d**kheads. I'm 30 now but the amount of abuse I remember getting when starting out playing in my teens from random old farts on the course, like "did ye pay ye're green fees boys", "where'd ye get those driving range balls lads", "are those proper golf shoes". Older people should be encouraging the youth of tomorrow and beginners to get involved in golf, but no, the amount of people I've met at golf clubs that are clearly there for social status and exclusivity etc is ridiculous. I know a lot of courses and clubs that do great things to encourage kids and beginners to play the game but its sickening the amount of bad spirited crap like the OP had to put up with that I've experienced playing golf.

Could you just have said to him "no, I'm sorry you must be mistaken, I didn't hit any ball from there" and just walk off? Like would it not just be your word against his?

NFH wrote: »
    That's insane behavior by your man.

I love golf but I 100% see why people who don't play it think it's an elitist sport only played by d**kheads. I'm 30 now but the amount of abuse I remember getting when starting out playing in my teens from random old farts on the course, like "did ye pay ye're green fees boys", "where'd ye get those driving range balls lads", "are those proper golf shoes". Older people should be encouraging the youth of tomorrow and beginners to get involved in golf, but no, the amount of people I've met at golf clubs that are clearly there for social status and exclusivity etc is ridiculous. I know a lot of courses and clubs that do great things to encourage kids and beginners to play the game but its sickening the amount of bad spirited crap like the OP had to put up with that I've experienced playing golf.

Could you just have said to him "no, I'm sorry you must be mistaken, I didn't hit any ball from there" and just walk off? Like would it not just be your word against his?

The really irritating thing about the whole palaver was that my son was there. He's a handy enough player, but he formed the view that golf is a bit of an old fart's game so he really hasn't played anyway seriously for a few years (preferring to concentrate on rugby). I'd finally convinced him to play a bit more and was delighted to have got him to engage a bit more because I'd like to have something we can both do.....

......then along comes yer man and confirms everything my son thinks about golf :(

The guy also watched me and saw me hit a few shots from the course to the practice green before saying anything - when he could have said something as I was addressing the ball - so my 'deniability' window had closed!

Anyway, even if I could've denied it, I'd like to think I wouldn't as one of the key attractions of the game, for me anyway, is the emphasis it places on the player to police themselves and play with integrity.

finally, I happened to be back at my old club for a social game last week with some mates from there and told them the story. Immediately one of them said "Does that mean you're coming back?" - now that's a thought that's been rattling around for the last few days :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭Tiger Mcilroy

To be fair he was technically right on the rule but the way it was handled is obviously wrong and in the long run these people are detrimental to their own clubs.

As a result of his attitude 3 lads walked away from the course with a bad feeling and this impacts on future revenue, i would imagine you would have called in for a coffee/burger after the round and be thinking about the next time you could get out again but this guy has ensured that you will think long and hard about spending money or bring groups back.

I have seen first hand that the "committe member" mentality in clubs can cause rot from the inside out and guys like him should be prevented from dealing with issues as they just turn people and the money they spend away so he can be self righteous.

If the captain etc was worth their salt they would have a word with you to smooth things over but then its always the same and nobody wants to challenge the guys that are in reality the reason clubs struggle.

To be fair he was technically right on the rule but the way it was handled is obviously wrong and in the long run these people are detrimental to their own clubs.

As a result of his attitude 3 lads walked away from the course with a bad feeling and this impacts on future revenue, i would imagine you would have called in for a coffee/burger after the round and be thinking about the next time you could get out again but this guy has ensured that you will think long and hard about spending money or bring groups back.

I have seen first hand that the "committe member" mentality in clubs can cause rot from the inside out and guys like him should be prevented from dealing with issues as they just turn people and the money they spend away so he can be self righteous.

If the captain etc was worth their salt they would have a word with you to smooth things over but then its always the same and nobody wants to challenge the guys that are in reality the reason clubs struggle.

I'd agree that he was right - technically. And actually my first reaction ran to that, as I knew practicing on the course was a DQ, and when he pointed out where I was standing I realised I was on the course. My questioning really related to the applicability of the exception - but I'm not disputing that Barry's reading of it is correct, and is logically sound.

It was my home course so I'll be back at some point - although at the moment I don't much feel like playing competitions there. My Dad was quite philosophical about it, but as you say you'd question if Mr Committee Man did the game any favours given all his actions did was encourage one young player to believe the game was not really for him.

I would certainly be reluctant to invite people to play at the club for fear something like that would happen to a guest of mine, and you can imagine what an impact such an approach might have on someone quiet new to the game.

I did entertain notions of 'returning' to my previous club, purely on the basis that nothing like this ever happened to me there, but I guess there's these sorts of personalities in all clubs, I just never ran in to them in full 'officiousness' mode. In that situation the club would be out a membership, but I doubt there'd be much problem recruiting new members.

It really knocked one or two spots off what was a good summer of golf for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 803 ✭✭✭jungleman

OP, did the club ever reply to that email you sent them? Did they mention anything about the guys behaviour?

Yes & No......

So an update.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

I'd agree that he was right - technically. And actually my first reaction ran to that, as I knew practicing on the course was a DQ, and when he pointed out where I was standing I realised I was on the course. My questioning really related to the applicability of the exception - but I'm not disputing that Barry's reading of it is correct, and is logically sound.

It was my home course so I'll be back at some point - although at the moment I don't much feel like playing competitions there. My Dad was quite philosophical about it, but as you say you'd question if Mr Committee Man did the game any favours given all his actions did was encourage one young player to believe the game was not really for him.

I would certainly be reluctant to invite people to play at the club for fear something like that would happen to a guest of mine, and you can imagine what an impact such an approach might have on someone quiet new to the game.

I did entertain notions of 'returning' to my previous club, purely on the basis that nothing like this ever happened to me there, but I guess there's these sorts of personalities in all clubs, I just never ran in to them in full 'officiousness' mode. In that situation the club would be out a membership, but I doubt there'd be much problem recruiting new members.

It really knocked one or two spots off what was a good summer of golf for me.

I do understand you grievance etc.

But - if you were to run away from a club for every little instance like this - some under , others out of your control - nobody would be in any club.

You sort of give in to them.

Being reluctant to inviting people to your club on the basis of this - is over the top.

Whilst your man was an arse, he has the reality of being technically right - so you take it on the chin and move on.

Not saying you have , but others have gone on as if it like a from of cold war now.

Is that not all a bit handbags.

Your man will get his comeuppance at some stage - or if a good club , just blanked.

Most of these guys are miserable in reality - this is their only existence.

I'd say , don't lower yourself.

I'd be thinking like your dad - there are honestly way better things to be getting on with.

I do understand you grievance etc.

But - if you were to run away from a club for every little instance like this - some under , others out of your control - nobody would be in any club.

You sort of give in to them.

Being reluctant to inviting people to your club on the basis of this - is over the top.

Whilst your man was an arse, he has the reality of being technically right - so you take it on the chin and move on.

Not saying you have , but others have gone on as if it like a from of cold war now.

Is that not all a bit handbags.

Your man will get his comeuppance at some stage - or if a good club , just blanked.

Most of these guys are miserable in reality - this is their only existence.

I'd say , don't lower yourself.

I'd be thinking like your dad - there are honestly way better things to be getting on with.

I'm not disagreeing with you but I reckon the reason I'm so irked at it is because in all the years I played rugby, football and golf, this is the first time I ever got a 'red' card in any sport. To my mind, throwing someone out of a game is done for one of two reasons - dangerous play / violent behaviour, or cheating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

I think one thing this incident does highlight is one of the downsides of the way golf rules are (and to be fair need to be) interpreted.

I can't for a second imagine that this rule was meant for someone doing what you did. It is to stop players from playing a course in advance of a competition to discover green speeds, tee positions, conditions etc etc and therefore getting an advantage on the field.

So while you broke the rule, I don't believe you broke the "spirit" of the rule. Akin to the letter of the law versus its spirit.
    Like in soccer a handball requires intent (in most cases). But then the presence of a referee means interpretation is possible whereby golf is mostly self-policing so I guess cannot have this quality.