Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Champions League - PSV Eindhoven V Manchester United Match Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Was it a bad tackle or a lazy one. Didn't look any malice in it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,632 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Tackle itself looked good - the trailing leg seems to have pinned Shaws foot whilst the rest of his body was going over the tackle. Looks bad for Shaw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭AnimalRights

A shít

Best left back in the premier league gone for 2/3 months
    Ever hear of the words "IMHO" or "Arguably" ?

Ouch, that was nasty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Send him to that spiritual healer in Fiji. The all black winger was back from a broken leg after 3 weeks.

Shaw will be a huge loss. Was really playing well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,850 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

ceegee wrote: »
    Looks a clean break, leg was wobbling as he landed

Bóllocks.. if its a break i hope its a clean one and the poor lad will be back in reasonable time.. when i see **** like this i always think back to David Busst.. not nice.... shame also as Shaw started this season so well.. damn

• Registered Users Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭shano_88

niallo27 wrote: »

very strong tackle. No malice just unlucky.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Think the PSV guy just flung himself at the ball. Not malicious, just clumsy and rash.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Just awful.
    He has no luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

• Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭shane.

How bad are these commentators that they didn't realise that the guy broke his leg, tv3's coverage really is dreadful

Liam O wrote: »
    Actually makes me sad, soon as he puts the niggly injuries behind him that happens. Horrible luck.

After such great play too.

Ya he looks the real deal in fairness. Poor lad. Wouldn't wish it on anyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭Korat

I don't like that Utd jersey and I've just figured out why.

Ashley+Cole+Manchester+City+v+Chelsea+Premier+DtGIVQ52t6Ul.jpg

Looks way too similar to the Chelsea one a few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

Thats a year of his career gone. Thats why De Gea and any other player should be careful about being out of contract. It can all so easily happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

2/3 months? Much longer I would have thought??

Sometimes a clean break is better then a fracture in tems of healing but iits really bad it could be career threatening obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

GavRedKing wrote: »
    Ya could tell from the players reaction its a nasty one.

Probably shouldn't have lunged in recklessly then, if it bothers him that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,662 ✭✭✭Luckycharms_74

Horrible injury for Shaw.
    No football fan wants to see that no matter which opposing team is it.
    Hope all goes well for him :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Just rewound it there and his leg bent a bit like that guy David buust for Coventry! Looks really nasty!!! At the very least it was a clean break. You could see the physios knew immediately!

Memphis is so sad for his closest friend at United.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭statto25

Strumms wrote: »
    Bóllocks.. if its a break i hope its a clean one and the poor lad will be back in reasonable time.. when i see **** like this i always think back to David Busst.. not nice.... shame also as Shaw started this season so well.. damn

Looked like a bulge in his sock so it could be a compound break. Hopefully it was just his shinguard. Jaysus I'm fierce upset. Gutted for the lad.

Drumpot wrote: »
    Just rewound it there and his leg bent a bit like that guy David buust for Coventry! Looks really nasty!!! At the very least it was a clean break. You could see the physios knew immediately!

Why would you want to watch it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,068 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Damn that's horrible for the chap

Classy PSV crowd.

What a horrible evening it has become.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Only caught a glimpse of the tackle, seemed like the PSV lad came in very recklessly and not exactly in full control, was it a fair tackle?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

Lord TSC wrote: »
    Clumsy tackle :mad:

Disgraceful tackle, completely out of control with it (both feet off the ground), wrong angle to be tackling at, complete desperation stuff.

The shít refs call and yet its ok to clatter someone like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Probably shouldn't have lunged in recklessly then, if it bothers him that much.

Don't be facile.

• Fair play to the psv fans

• Registered Users Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭Chagan

Van Gaal's face told the story there. Horrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

LVG's look after he spoke to the doctor tells how bad it is, poor Luke.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,948 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I don't even want to watch this anymore

**** it anyway

To see if it's as bad as it looked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭AnimalRights

To judge for ones self exactly how bad it was?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

He's so quick you always worry someone is going to clatter into him when he hits full stride

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Very unlucky for Shaw. Was playing very well too. It looks terrible but an acl injury would be worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭statto25

Stay away from Twitter for a while. Caught a glimpse of it there.... Shudder....

Drumpot wrote: »
    To see if it's as bad as it looked.

I don't know I hate watching them things. Make me ill.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

It's obviously impossible to tell how severe it its but consider how strongly Aaron Ramsey has come back from a serious break at a young age I'd hope that Shaw would be able to recover in similar way

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Blind to LB and Rojo centre then?

• Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭shane.

Looked similar to the broken leg Anderson Silva had

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Never nice to see at all. Hope Shaw comes back as strong as wver was playing well from last year too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

Awful challenge. The ref should have taken action against moreno. He wrapped his leg around shaw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

Pretty sad now watching this game

Excitement gone out of this match for me.

Feels the same when it happened to Alan Smith

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,123 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Young is woeful on the right, much better down the left

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• It's a massive blow to utds season IMO

Breaking up the blind / Smalling partnership as a result and loosing out on one of the best lbs in Europe at the moment

I watched that tackle it should have been carded, pure wreckless coming in at full speed with that sliding tackle

I don't know I hate watching them things. Make me ill.

I didn't realise it was that nasty! I usually rewind injuries to try and gauge what they might be.. Not looking to see bones out of socks or anything like that!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

Christ just seen a picture of it on twitter, just awful.

Such a shame for Shaw, right when he was in great form and all. Let's hope he comes back just as strong next year but its looking like a lengthy lay off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

One can only hope its a clean break and not a compound fracture or anything.

Seriously deflated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭ician

United just need to make it to half time now and try and regroup

• Registered Users Posts: 8,500 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

NSFW

Its a nasty break, here's a link to a NSFW image from a replay angle they didn't show on tv for those interested

https://i.imgur.com/RON3rsx.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Don't be facile.

It was a really bad tackle so you shouldn't be surprised when you injure somebody with it. Desperate, lunging, from the side and out of control and a player will lose a season of his career, if he is lucky.

Buh he got de ball. Load of bollocks.