Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Long Time Lurker

If you're from Florida, like golf and aspire to a Lexus this is probably the car for you.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/10483264

• Registered Users Posts: 9 Kiket2ride

• Registered Users Posts: 23,357 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Well spotted that's the one alright, looking for a nice profit.

Its not that easy make money in cars.
    He won't get anywhere near that price.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,882 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

watching too much wheeler dealers maybe

• Registered Users Posts: 65,402 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Like the rest of ye, I would have preferred if the W124 would have gone to a good home.

That said, I do not begrudge the current owner trying to make money / make a living, but there is no way he'll get anywhere near his asking price. He is not doing himself any favours here if he is stuck with the car.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Haven't done up an ad yet but The Famous Five will be going up for sale tomorrow. 520i Sport. 135k miles. Engine and box perfect. Few marks on body but no dents. Rear tyres (Michelin Pilot Sport) 80%, front Contis 40%. NCT until end Jan 16.

Very solid and tight car. Will be putting it up for €1800. Boardsie rate €1600. Need it moved quick as have limited parking and picking up a new car tomorrow.

PM if interested.

[URL=http://s306.photobucket.com/user/MCML
    XXVJC/media/My%202%20Little%20Mo-Mos/f55d68f1-cbd6-467c-a942-99deb481c54c_zpsc3eed906.jpg.html]f55d68f1-cbd6-467c-a942-99deb481c54c_zpsc3eed906.jpg[/URL]

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭commited

Any interior pics?

• Registered Users Posts: 65,402 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

No better driving saloon for the money. Hell, no better driving saloon period.

GLWS!

commited wrote: »
    Any interior pics?

I'll do a proper ad up tomorrow. Beige leather interior in good condition. Has A/C but no climate. Black headliner. It's auto if I didn't mention that.

The Gremlin will also be going up for sale tomorrow. 3.1td Grand Cherokee. Auto, leather, AWD, commercial. Electric everything. CVRT until end July 16. 110k miles. Engine and box good. Relatively tidy.

Will be putting it up for €1250, boardsie rate €1k.

20130915_153313_zpsb5d6e934.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

Big Nasty wrote: »
    The Gremlin will also be going up for sale tomorrow. 3.1td Grand Cherokee. Auto, leather, AWD, commercial. Electric everything. CVRT until end July 16. 110k miles. Engine and box good. Relatively tidy.

Will be putting it up for €1250, boardsie rate €1k.

20130915_153313_zpsb5d6e934.jpg

Only sold my one last year great jeep best of luck with sale

• Registered Users Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

unkel wrote: »
    No better driving saloon for the money. Hell, no better driving saloon period.

GLWS!

Ehhhhh:confused:

You didn't get a bang on the head today did you :p They drive fine to be fair but I really don't know if they're that special.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Ded_Zebra wrote: »

You didn't get a bang on the head today did you :p They drive fine to be fair but I really don't know if they're that special.

But, it's RWD don't you know. Like +100 enthusiast points.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Ded_Zebra wrote: »

I'm not sure you'll convince that chap otherwise. Being RWD it's obviously 100% better.

I only wish some people wouldn't make such ridiculous statements. Having owned one, and driven many miles in an E39 they're certainly not the best driving saloon of that size.

...The Famous Five.....
    The Gremlin

what's the new something interesting going to be called?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,254 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

• Registered Users Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Well it's not a UK import and it isn't taxed as a taxi but it did change hands on the 04/8.
    I'd wager there is either an issue with the box or it has intergalactic kms

Augeo wrote: »
    what's the new something interesting going to be called?

The Grey Gatsby ;)

bear1 wrote: »
    Well it's not a UK import and it isn't taxed as a taxi but it did change hands on the 04/8.

Thats what I was thinking, it is literally a 5 minute walk from me.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Thats what I was thinking, it is literally a 5 minute walk from me.

Would be quick easy to determine if there is an issue, those are the DSG boxes right? I could just be a genuinely cheap car but I seem to remember that that dealer isn't the best one out there.
    Take it for a spin (there is always the sale of goods act if it's a lemon) and give it a good thrashing to see how the box reacts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Nice youngtimer this, probably rust free anyway. Good handling and engine, nice colour too. It's something different anyway.

NCT 06/16, €1250 so whatever you get off it should cover the repairs.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/fiat-tipo-1-4-ie/10492806?offset=1
    47042974.jpeg

Even with haggling its probably over the €2000 limit, but with 7 months tax on it, it's worth a mention.. doesn't have dual climate as claimed though. Short NCT so be careful.

NCT 12/15. Tax 04/16. €2500. Nice reg.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mercedes-e230-automatic-7-seater/10636817?offset=24

47784738.jpeg

530i, NCT 11/16, claimed FSH and new service. €2150.

Nice colours, nice reg plate, big engine and an auto as God intended.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/bmw-530i-2001-3-0-l-touring-auto-leather-sat-nav/9975914?offset=30

44388683.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭W123-80's

unkel wrote: »
    Like the rest of ye, I would have preferred if the W124 would have gone to a good home.

That said, I do not begrudge the current owner trying to make money / make a living, but there is no way he'll get anywhere near his asking price. He is not doing himself any favours here if he is stuck with the car.

I am so sickened to see this back up for sale. I actually spoke to the owner and arranged a viewing as I was in Dublin, but I had to cancel as my work plans changed.
    I didn't get another opportunity to view it as we went on holidays.
    I come back from holidays, check this thread ans see it here... sick is not the word.!

I actually think he will get very close to the asking for this car as it is well worth it. They are rare in this condition.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,454 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

bear1 wrote: »

It was a taxi before though.
    John O Neill
    21/03/2012

E220 Coupe, NCT 03/16, €1950. Auto with a nice enough colour scheme.

The coupe came out around 1988, still a very elegant almost timeless design. No shame in having something like this in the drive and has more class and presence than a lot of cars costing 20 times this.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mercedes-benz-e-class-e220-coupe-auto-1/10210468?offset=1

45548866.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭tc20

Red Kev wrote: »
    Even with haggling its probably over the €2000 limit, but with 7 months tax on it, it's worth a mention.. doesn't have dual climate as claimed though. Short NCT so be careful.

NCT 12/15. Tax 04/16. €2500. Nice reg.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mercedes-e230-automatic-7-seater/10636817?offset=24

47784738.jpeg

I think that belonged to 'quenching' who is in the classics section now and again. If I recall he bought it from a Merc specialist in the UK a few years back, but then regretfully sold it for a Prius

Dropped to 900 now, definite lemon :D

the engine will not start, I do not know what the problem is, For detailed information, please call 0858257883, the car in Dublin-24