Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day

• Registered Users Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

Would buy just for the reg... nct to 01/17, priced 2200, surely could be bargained to within range.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/07-alfa-romeo-159-2-2-jts-sportivo-n-c-t-1-17/12490018

ZmJmNGQwZWZmNjg4ZDIzNTkwMzMwM2U1NDQ3NjEyZDGowZSxK9ppOSKWCKxyHuW9aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b181NzI0NjkzNHx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Wouldn't mind that myself. That would be 2 '159' registered Alfas in the house!!

With the leather and wheels its a bargain.

• Registered Users Posts: 65,415 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

No mention of history or belts

It has a chain.

I posted this car a good few weeks ago and since then at least one other person posted it too before today. I wonder why it isn't yet sold.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Wouldn't mind that myself. That would be 2 '159' registered Alfas in the house!!

With the leather and wheels its a bargain.

Would want to budget for a timing chain replacement on that possibly. About €1000 I think from an independent.

If you got it for €1800ish and put a new chain into it then it's a very nice car for less than €3k....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭Mad_Mike

NCT to 12/2017 and taxed to 09/16. €1795.

No mention of history or belts, so that'd need to be investigated, also the garage plate surrounds would have me checking every damn thing on it before handing over any cash.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/alfa-romeo-159-sportivo-tax-amp-nct/12718584

Y2RhZTk1YmVlNmQ4Y2UzMTUyYzkxMjRkNjI5MzhmZjWyT7BMn1zj1fJnfxj-Ep5maHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b181ODM4MzMyMHx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

This one has been up a while and posted here twice
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=100418214&postcount=5205
    and
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=100462814&postcount=5245

Although I am interested in a diesel myself, I rang about this because I've owned about 5 Alfas in the past and once an Alfa fan, always an Alfa fan. Also, it's in Mullingar as I am too. Anyway, guy is a trader who is selling from his house. Wasn't keen on me coming to house to view and wanted to meet me at the lakes and if I was buying, would bring me back to the house then! Also he told me it had a light n for engine and they reset it, but he "thinks" it needs a sensor. Can't remember which one, but he thought there were 2 on this car and would be better replace both to be sure! Said the engine is running fine, but due to the sensor, it sounds slightly off, so I left it and kept my sensible diesel head on! :D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,885 ✭✭✭Soarer

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volvo-s60-2-0t-180bhp-2005-new-nct/13033229

ZDk4ODBkMzQyYzRmMmNiNGFlNmE1MmZlOTUxNDYyMGRZD2i9OfWWAWuOBm_wluKnaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b181OTk3NDY3NXx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Last one out of me..facelift '05 S60 with new NCT to 4/17 for €1150. I'd say you'd get this for a grand, and that is in my opinion a lot of car for the money

I keep coming back to this.

Always had it in my mind that I'd buy an S80, but this yoke is triffic value.

Somebody tell me what's wrong with it....

• Registered Users Posts: 11,586 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

unkel wrote: »
    It has a chain.

I posted this car a good few weeks ago and since then at least one other person posted it too before today. I wonder why it isn't yet sold.

Argh, brainfart on my part there. Edited accordingly. Seems to be a pup from the other posts here anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

It has a chain.

A colleague of mine tried to go and look at it. Your man selling it just sounded dodgy out on the phone and was very weird. Mt friend decided it wasn't even worth the trip to mulingar to be disappointed. Think that might be why.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭commited

I think this needs to be about €750 cheaper, but there is something very appealing about it!

Mjk5MWM2NDlkNTYzZThjYTI1NzExMzlmM2I3YTg2OTkFPRrnlq9O8ea2l8BrlD8QaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b181ODQ4MzUwNHx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-benz-e-class-e280-v6-auto-elegance-1-own/12739806

• Registered Users Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

That is an absolute beauty! Not even over priced I don't think. Bad ones are cheap but i think that's worth it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭Mad_Mike

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    A colleague of mine tried to go and look at it. Your man selling it just sounded dodgy out on the phone and was very weird. Mt friend decided it wasn't even worth the trip to mulingar to be disappointed. Think that might be why.

Dodgy is right! When he started to try to explain to me that I'd never find his house, and we would be better off meet at the lake carpark I lost interest!

• Registered Users Posts: 168 ✭✭FirefighterT7

Trojan wrote: »
    cadaliac wrote: »
    Depends on your budget. How much are you willing to spend?
    You won't get much for the BMW without an nct
    Yeah I figure I'd be lucky to get 500 for it if that.

How much am I willing to spend? Bangernomics budget.

Currently looking at 200-320 for the ball joints (actual quotes), and anything up to 800 for new rubber. Let's call it 800 total for mid range tyres and the cheaper ball joint quote. I'm willing to spend around twice that for replacement.
    Two ball joints and four tires aren't much hassle for an NCT, fairly good going for a banernomics car IMO! Tires I should imagine won't be overly cheap on an E39 but that depends on brand etc too of course.

I reckon I can get something like Nankang NS20s for 650, but the suggestion below is interesting.
    32 MPG to my mind is good going for a big 6 cylinder BMW too! A diesel will probably do a bit better but certainly it won't be as nice to drive.

I know this logic is loved on here, but if you consider a diesel car is going to be 2.0 / 2.2 litre anyway there isn't going to be a huge saving in tax money.

Personally, I'd hang onto it :P

Very true. Thanks for the input, much appreciated.
    You've spend a lot of money keeping your car right. More than I would have. That said, here you are now with a car that needs almost nothing, it would be silly to sell it (worth almost nothing) and spend serious money on a replacement

Yeah I think getting it at such a bargain originally allowed me to budget nearly a grand for initial repairs, so when it came time to go further I was ok with that. I think that's the trap with buying a nice bangernomics. When it's cleaned up it looks fantastic.
    Get premium brand part worns @ 40 a corner from a reputable place like Tyreland, get the ball joints done, put your car through the NCT and stop thinking about your issue until this time next year.

I was looking to buy new tyres... but you might be right, it's not very economical at this stage if they outlast the rest of it. I've asked Tyreland for a quote, anywhere else you recommend?
    How the hell do you get 32MPG from your car though? Do you realise your E39 car and its lovely 6 pot engine both hate you? :p

Hah! Well getting 3 points has helped on the MPG front. I also do almost no short trips or city driving (I still do some, but not much).

Don't get me wrong, I still get it up the rev range, that 6 cyclinder just sounds so good, but I am quite happy to plod along at 1500 RPM when I'm in no rush.

Appreciate the feedback from everyone.

Hi Trojan if you are selling send me a pm and I may be interested in it thanks..

Mad_Mike wrote: »
    Dodgy is right! When he started to try to explain to me that I'd never find his house, and we would be better off meet at the lake carpark I lost interest!

Ring him up for the crack and tell him you are mike from Revenue and you heard that he is selling cars....

• Registered Users Posts: 8,615 ✭✭✭grogi

Ring him up for the crack and tell him you are mike from Revenue and you heard that he is selling cars....

Why not call Mike from Revenue himself?

grogi wrote: »
    Why not call Mike from Revenue himself?

indeed, but that would be the less funny option. TBH, that wouldn't be my style.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭donegaldude

Forgot to mention I live in Cork, I might be mad but not that far gone!

With the kids, I do well to get away for an hour or 2 so the search area is limited to Cork.

Picked up the Saab last night, years test, 1 months tax, next service due in 20000km, got her for €1400. Insurance dropped €105. Everything works, which is unusual for me. Happy man this morning!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mitsubishi-lancer-tax-ampnct/13051967
    MGQ2NWQxZjliYWU2Y2UxMjcxYTIyNjA0NzhiODBkMjGPntdultSyKSKJn9EWbcOhaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b182MDA2Mzg0M3x8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg
    2004 Lancer for €900
    tax and NCT till January

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Picked up the Saab last night, years test, 1 months tax, next service due in 20000km, got her for €1400. Insurance dropped €105. Everything works, which is unusual for me. Happy man this morning!

Congrats dude, I'm a bit jel.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/jaguar-2-0d-xtype-trade-in-to-clear/13137731

Y2ZmZTU0MzY0OGEwZjUwNDZlMTgwYjBjMDIwMGI5ZWOaw2C_J18En_ZerrQOsPhDaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b182MDUyMDIyOHx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Nice looking '05 X type diesel with leather & sat nav. NCT till 2/17 €1675, nice place to be if you're putting up big miles

• Registered Users Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Heated seats too so nice on a cold morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭neacy69

wrong thread...too many windows

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/brand-new-nct-9-16-very-clean/12113026

NjMwZGI2NjUwMzQ1NjUyZmEzYjIxZTI4YzhiMjlmZWHv5qa2tlCESvneNc3V6jV2aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b181NTMxODU2Nnx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

12 months NCT - low miles too

Not a fan of the Mark GTI's look very boring to me but this one seems to be in good condition
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/perfect-low-mileage-golf-gti/13142707

Y2M5YmZhNmQxYWYzMzMwMDRiYmRjZTQ4ZTlmMWNlZDIiBFCel4zTX5s2b4JMME9KaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b182MDU0NTg0Nnx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Low Mileage Golf GTI €1600
    NCT Jan 2017

looks tidy. longish test, 800e.

YWI2ZGEwYWVkMGQzODc3ODY3OTc4YWZhOTVjODA0Zjf5KCih206VRE26qGFkCdr0aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b182MDYwNDc1MHx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Soarer wrote: »
    I keep coming back to this.

Somebody tell me what's wrong with it....

Its sold.......

• Registered Users Posts: 8,885 ✭✭✭Soarer

racso1975 wrote: »
    Its sold.......

Probably very little wrong with it so!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

Probably very little wrong with it so!

What was it?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Daniel S

cadaliac wrote: »
    What was it?

Really nice volvo S60.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Buffman

Here's a few S80s for ya.:)

Tax and Test asking €1250:
    OGY1MTViMThiODI1MzFkNTBmZWE5OThmOGIyNmYxMWWSOKZtIZoExOYnrq8ESfupaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b182MDU5Njg3NXx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Or if you don't mind an older one, asking €350, you'd probably get it for 150, pick up a scrap wheel on the way home and you've a very cheap car.
    NzI0NjQwMGU0ZWNjODA5ZmM1ZmM1YjIzZDk3NDIxODcOVr9REDDRUbbq6TgPQ-_BaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b182MDIwODc2NXx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/jaguar-2-0d-xtype-trade-in-to-clear/13137731

Nice looking '05 X type diesel with leather & sat nav. NCT till 2/17 €1675, nice place to be if you're putting up big miles

Another nice 2.0d 06 for €1500
    ZTkwOWI5MWUyNWY1NDgzMWEzMTBiOGFkYzY5NjdjMmO3t-MBzQzu27pEu-u-lESSaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b181NTgyOTc2M3x8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles to avoid the DRS fee.

Buffman wrote: »
    Or if you don't mind an older one, asking €350, you'd probably get it for 150, pick up a scrap wheel on the way home and you've a very cheap car.

It's not a wheel, just a plastic wheel trim. Looks like 15" steelies. Paddy spec and then some, that Volvo :p

Aldi & Lidl regularly do wheel trims for about €15 for a set of 4. That's a cheap €165 car! I would!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Buffman

It's not a wheel, just a plastic wheel trim.

I dunno, I think it's running a space saver on the back, seller isn't very clear. Either way, a very cheap 177bhp car and relatively low mileage for the year.

Zjg0YzkyYTU3YjU0MzY5NGRlM2EyOTZkZjk5ZmMzMjPwB70CtM-VDzO1y1ryy8KtaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b182MDIwODc2OXx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg
    27540935-0.jpg

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles to avoid the DRS fee.

Somebody pointed out to me there's a space saver spare wheel on the rear passenger side, I didn't spot that!

Still a very cheap car, if you can get a bit of money off.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,586 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Buffman wrote: »
    Here's a few S80s for ya.:)

Tax and Test asking €1250:
    OGY1MTViMThiODI1MzFkNTBmZWE5OThmOGIyNmYxMWWSOKZtIZoExOYnrq8ESfupaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b182MDU5Njg3NXx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Gone already.