Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 193 ✭✭MrRolex

bear1 wrote: »

Hasn't got a straight or clean panel on it.
    Way overpriced for the condition even with some NCT.

Agreed on this one. Clean, tax, NCT. For 500 it's a winner.
    I had one myself, and they are as good as a MK4 Golf. The 1.4 Focus is better than the 1.4 Golf. Unlike the Golf the Zetec doesn't burn half a litre of oil per 100KM!
    Only real weakness is the coil pack, but they are cheap enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,071 ✭✭✭skibum

Looks nice, but would need to get the fog light switch checked, could be broken, seems to be stuck on ...... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 73,455 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

High miles, and if it doesn't need the usual D-4D "consumables" it's nice enough for the money.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/corola-850-tax-and-nct/14641893

colm_mcm wrote: »
    High miles, and if it doesn't need the usual D-4D "consumables" it's nice enough for the money.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/corola-850-tax-and-nct/14641893

OK its a 2.0 litre, but with 250K on it, its end of life.
    Too risky at that price.
    Turbo, flywheel, clutch, cambelt. Too much potential for failure at those miles.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,455 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

MrRolex wrote: »
    OK its a 2.0 litre, but with 250K on it, its end of life.
    Too risky at that price.
    Turbo, flywheel, clutch, cambelt. Too much potential for failure at those miles.

Those are the D-4D consumables :)
    You could spot a bad one pretty easily from driving one though.

Another Toyota (sorta)
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/peugeot-107/14640899

• Closed Accounts Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Falcon L

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Those are the D-4D consumables :)
    You could spot a bad one pretty easily from driving one though.

Another Toyota (sorta)
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/peugeot-107/14640899
    Being sold by a Beatle? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Hasn't got a straight or clean panel on it.
    Way overpriced for the condition even with some NCT.

€450 isn't overpriced for a used kit Kat, never mind an ultra reliable Civic with 130hp.

I'd hardly call the above post insightful or helpful, unfortunately though you are entitled to your opinion. :)

CianRyan wrote: »
    €450 isn't overpriced for a used kit Kat, never mind an ultra reliable Civic with 130hp.

I'd hardly call the above post insightful or helpful, unfortunately though you are entitled to your opinion. :)

So in order to post, one has to make it insightful or helpful?
    Apologies for failing to meet your required standards.
    I am entitled to an opinion though.
    Well thanks for that boss.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

So in order to post, one has to make it insightful or helpful?
    Apologies for failing to meet your required standards.
    I am entitled to an opinion though.
    Well thanks for that boss.

One should always aim to be helpful, the ability to be insightful comes with time.
    Anyway, more bangers, especially cheap and reliable ones and let yabber from both of us. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭cerastes

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/skoda-octavia-1-9-turbo-desiel-in-good-condition-/14420060?campaign=8

Seems clean? 07 Skoda Octavia, 1600, 1.9tdi 166k miles €1600

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/open-vectra-1-6-95k/14500501?campaign=8

Engine looks clean and if there are receipts, 07 1.6 Petrol Opel Vectra 95k miles €1350

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/car/14559646?campaign=8

Maybe even this, despite use/mileage, might be able to push the price down
    07 Avensis, high mileage, ex taxi €1700

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/hyundai-trajet/14443521?campaign=8

Heavy on juice? but long NCT Hyundai Trajet 153k kms, clean, long NCT 2007 €1750

Might be able to push the price down on some of them

Im keeping my own, will drive it on till some large expense appears and probably have to scrap it then. Id probably consider some of the above, Toyota is probably a bit high mileage for my liking though

• Registered Users Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Soarer

Christ lads, can ye not tell us the type of car ye're linking to?

Saves a load of opening and closing of tabs on the tablet for things of no interest.

I would be nervous buying a diesel Octavia from someone that cannot spell it.
    OK, a typo in the title can be forgiven. We all make mistakes. But in the description as well? No.
    In my experience bad ads, mean bad cars, bad owners.

Ex-taxi Avensis with lunar mileage? I will pass on that one.

For 1750 the Hyundai isn't saying bangernomics to me. Better cars for that money.

Of the lot, the Vectra is the best. 4 new tyres, plus cambelt kit wins it for me. And ONO on the price means its 1200 really. Fair price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭cerastes

Soarer wrote: »
    Saves a load of opening and closing of tabs on the tablet for things of no interest.

fixed that, as much for looking back at them, its a pain when the advert is gone
    I would be nervous buying a diesel Octavia from someone that cannot spell it.
    OK, a typo in the title can be forgiven. We all make mistakes. But in the description as well? No.
    In my experience bad ads, mean bad cars, bad owners.

Ex-taxi Avensis with lunar mileage? I will pass on that one.

For 1750 the Hyundai isn't saying bangernomics to me. Better cars for that money.

Of the lot, the Vectra is the best. 4 new tyres, plus cambelt kit wins it for me. And ONO on the price means its 1200 really. Fair price.

Ex Taxi is a bit more like stellar miles alright.
    Vectra has a short NCT but it could be done now inside the 3 months ahead of due date.
    I think that Trajet is clean looking, got a long NCT, probably not good for mpg, but if not doing big miles? and need the space.

Ive given up on peoples spelling, proabably a sign alright, hasnt been taxed in a while, so maybe they got a replacement.
    Dont know what that era of Octavia diesel (PD?)are good for, Ive got an older model with less miles, but Id say the engine in mine could do many more miles if something else didnt give.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Hows about this;

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2006-v-w-passat-1-9-tdi-comfort-line-nct-10-17/14644021

2006 Passat 1.9 TDI,
    165K miles;
    NCT 10/17; Tax 03/17.
    Cruise control;
    looks in decent nick.
    Asking €1,750

• Registered Users Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Hows about this;

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2006-v-w-passat-1-9-tdi-comfort-line-nct-10-17/14644021

2006 Passat 1.9 TDI,
    165K miles;
    NCT 10/17; Tax 03/17.
    Cruise control;
    looks in decent nick.
    Asking €1,750

That "wood" though!!!!

Cheap car, as long as there are no funny noises from the flywheel/turbo it seems like good value

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

• Registered Users Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Everything is of interest in this thread ;)

I don't even post in here, but don't expect the posters to do all the legwork for you.

Bangers are bangers, it isn't the best of in 2k bracket in your choosen categories listing type of thing ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

zerks wrote: »

Wow, our friend in Prestige has gone into full meltdown with that description.

Its so funny. Renault electrics have finally burned a hole in his brain...:pac:

Nice looking car for the money, but complex enough. You;d want to know them fairly well.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

04 accord 2l petrol, full leather, nct to may, asking 1200 (not my add)

Yzk1ODIwODMyYWQyY2M2OWNlMGUwNjMxMWY2ZTY3ODl2tNnlGakBsvxLVNMvzIYtaHR0cDovL21lZGlhLmFkc2ltZy5jb20vOGY4YmU3MWYxYmMyY2QxMThlYTNiMWZiMjYyMjY2MDYwNjE0YjRjYTdmOGIxN2Y1YWUwZTg4YzlhMzNjMjUwZS5qcGd8fHx8fHw5ODB4NDU0fGh0dHA6Ly93d3cuYWR2ZXJ0cy5pZS9zdGF0aWMvaS93YXRlcm1hcmsucG5nfHx8.jpg
    http://www.adverts.ie/car/honda/accord/honda-accord-vtec-fresh-test/12272671

• Registered Users Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Wow, our friend in Prestige has gone into full meltdown with that description.

Its so funny. Renault electrics have finally burned a hole in his brain...:pac:

Nice looking car for the money, but complex enough. You;d want to know them fairly well.

"Like living in Monaco"

Thurles > Monaco

• Registered Users Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

• Registered Users Posts: 20,084 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

• Registered Users Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Soarer

wonski wrote: »
    Everything is of interest in this thread ;)

I don't even post in here, but don't expect the posters to do all the legwork for you.

Bangers are bangers, it isn't the best of in 2k bracket in your choosen categories listing type of thing ;)

I don't need the lecture, thanks. I'm around these parts longer than you and I'm well aware of how things work.
    And nobody is expecting anybody else to do the legwork for them.
    I just think it'd be common courtesy to tell people what car you're linking to. I personally think that's the most important piece of information as I'd drive an Avensis with 250k on the clock before I'd drive a Megane with 25k.

Like this post (not picking on pixels)

He went to the trouble of renaming the link, but didn't mention the car. All we know is it's automatic.

And cerastes' post above that again, before he edited it, looked like this.
    cerastes wrote: »
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/skoda-octavia-1-9-turbo-desiel-in-good-condition-/14420060?campaign=8

Seems clean?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/open-vectra-1-6-95k/14500501?campaign=8

Engine looks clean and if there are receipts

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/car/14559646?campaign=8

Maybe even this, despite use/mileage, might be able to push the price down

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/hyundai-trajet/14443521?campaign=8

Heavy on juice? but long NCT

Might be able to push the price down on some of them

Im keeping my own, will drive it on till some large expense appears and probably have to scrap it then. Id probably consider some of the above, Toyota is probably a bit high mileage for my liking though

I don't see the point in posting all that and not mention any of the cars.
    He went above and beyond with his edit, and fair play. But why would you type "Maybe even this, despite use/mileage, might be able to push the price down" and not mention the car?

Obviously it's not as big an issue to everyone else. Sorry for the rant.

Back to bangers.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

I don't need the lecture, thanks. I'm around these parts longer than you and I'm well aware of how things work.
    And nobody is expecting anybody else to do the legwork for them.
    I just think it'd be common courtesy to tell people what car you're linking to. I personally think that's the most important piece of information as I'd drive an Avensis with 250k on the clock before I'd drive a Megane with 25k.

Like this post (not picking on pixels)

He went to the trouble of renaming the link, but didn't mention the car. All we know is it's automatic.

And cerastes' post above that again, before he edited it, looked like this.

I don't see the point in posting all that and not mention any of the cars.
    He went above and beyond with his edit, and fair play. But why would you type "Maybe even this, despite use/mileage, might be able to push the price down" and not mention the car?

Obviously it's not as big an issue to everyone else. Sorry for the rant.

Back to bangers.

How dare you!! Jokes updated now :)

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Back on topic
    Type of car and location is great but of course not mandatory.
    I guess some people are just better at posting details than others...

• Registered Users Posts: 65,414 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

biko wrote: »
    I guess some people are just better at posting details less lazy than others...

FYP :)

• Registered Users Posts: 615 ✭✭✭donalh087

I just think it'd be common courtesy to tell people what car you're linking to..

I get your point Soarer. What I do is hover the cursor over the donedeal link and read the address bar on the link below. Mar shampla,

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2004-nissan-almera/14645164

Hover your mouse over the blue link and 2004 nissan almera will show up below.

Too much negativity in this thread. So I am unfollowing.
    Its sad when a thread is killed off by big ego's.
    Lads, don't take this so seriously. Under 2K cars, some will like your picks some won't.
    Not worth getting worked up over.

• Registered Users Posts: 65,414 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

'01 BMW 320Ci Convertible, manual, NCT end 04/17, 2.2l straight 6 engine. Low miles, looks very clean. Taxed. FSH. Asking €2,200 but very unlikely he'll refuse €2k cash. Summer is coming and you can drive a cabriolet in Ireland with the roof down all year round anyway. Well I do :cool:

M2M3ZGU4ZDY1ODgxYTUwMjI0ZTI2NDFkY2UzOTcwMTcfLlKY_zqmhH51URbDw7TOaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b182ODYzNjE1Mnx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Linky