Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day

• Registered Users Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

That Alfa reg is ringing bells, was it on before or am I have a deja vu moment?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭bear1

That Alfa reg is ringing bells, was it on before or am I have a deja vu moment?

It was on a few days ago, don't believe the 60mpg part though unless he's driving down a hill constantly.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,586 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

In what parallel universe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

€2250 with a new NCT. Nice cars, parts are cheap, great handling. Anybody else remember when these were used on the Irish driving licence to represent a car?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/bmw-520-e28/10814836?offset=4

48682075.jpeg

I posted that blue 156 a couple of weeks ago. Strange that it hasn't been snapped up, I guess the Passat is king in that price class and category.

That beemer is some ugly yoke. If it was the saloon version then id say its a nice looking car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Long Time Lurker

In what parallel universe?

Do you not think? I would have said it was nailed on as a future classic given how much it was hated (and still is ) by BMW purists, how quirky it is and the fact that these factors are going to lead to its impending rarity in years to come. All said they're great craic to drive. Isn't that the point of a BMW. Nah I'm sticking to my guns here. Good compacts will make more money than good 320 saloons 20 yyears from now. You heard it here first.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,464 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Chancy .....

Why do you reckon that ? Looks decent -

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users Posts: 23,357 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I heard some unscrupulous owners might tax a machine like this for 3 months, chance it for 6 then give it a new owner. Repeat process. Now I certainly would t advocate such behavior but I've heard it happens.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/10824532

I'm actually looking out for an audi 100 of that vintage. We had one when I was young and I would like to get a good one now to keep. I'm looking for a silver 2.0L petrol.
    Nearly impossible to find though in good condition and not messed with.
    Even in uk, there are none for sale.

• Registered Users Posts: 527 ✭✭✭acronym Chilli

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Same car as this advert: https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/alfa-romeo-156-jtd-turbo-diesel-ncted/10731811
    Second advert has been updated more recently, but even that's over 2 weeks old so maybe not so current. Not sure why it's advertised twice with/without spoiler. I might be interested in the car, just a long way away to go and see it (I'll be there with work at end of month, if it's still around).

• Registered Users Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭selectamatic

https://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/1998-ford-mondeo-ghia-2-0-petrol/10821901

Very long NCT, what appears to be genuine sub 80k miles, fords very good 2.0 engine and the body appears to be tidy.
    I've always liked the look of the mk2 mondeo's ever since I seen a very clean one in England slightly lowered on 5 spoke cosworth alloys and it's not often ya see the 2.0 for sale in Ireland they're generally either 1.6i or 1.8td. That and the fact that it could probably be got for close to 500 makes me feel it'd be a sound buy for someone.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/alfa-romeo-145-1-4-ts-sport/10865752

cant see that hanging around.

full service history, looks tidy, 6 months test and 6 weeks tax.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,177 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/alfa-romeo-145-1-4-ts-sport/10865752

cant see that hanging around.

full service history, looks tidy, 6 months test and 6 weeks tax.

That engine bay is gorgeous. :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford/10865637

clearly he's hit a deer with it or something, but 5 months test, €250 quid. bit of duct tape over that crack in the bumper and drive on.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

You're finding some good bangernomics there days TFB...

And not just because you're posting Alfas lol!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/lancia-dedra-1-8l-new-nct/10870581?offset=27
    48924695.jpeg

Now heres a nice smoker for someone. Enough tax to see you through Christmas and a bit longer, years test, not the norm, comfy looking seats...all for under a grand. Bargain imo

• Registered Users Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

That is absolutely wonderful!!!!

Ah the lancia dedra. Fiat uno switch gear, 1960s engine, 1980s Italian build quality and delusions of being a BMW competitor. Funnier than Rover trying to be Merc. Unique? Yes. Fun? Probably. Ultimately shiote all the same. Think Fiat Tempra with a wood dash :-)

I've probably awoken some deep buried dragons with that comment. Fully expect the defenders of the realm to turn up shortly with more varsity than an Audi jacket wearing 99 felt spec Golf TDI owner being all protective of VAG products.

Ah the lancia dedra. Fiat uno switch gear, 1960s engine, 1980s Italian build quality and delusions of being a BMW competitor. Funnier than Rover trying to be Merc. Unique? Yes. Fun? Probably. Ultimately shiote all the same. Think Fiat Tempra with a wood dash :-)

I've probably awoken some deep buried dragons with that comment. Fully expect the defenders of the realm to turn up shortly with more varsity than an Audi jacket wearing 99 felt spec Golf TDI owner being all protective of VAG products.

Jesus...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

What is "varsity"?

Brian Scan wrote: »
    What is "varsity"?

Its a new word my phone invented. Do with it what you will :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

Its a new word my phone invented. Do with it what you will :-)

Unpredictable text. Don't you just love it?

Someone posted a Lancia Dedra in here. Christ if you're not necessarily in Bangernomics territory before you buy it you most certainly will once you've owned it for a while.

There was actually genuine good will towards the the brand and despite many a previous flop and many a so called revolutionary car to rescue the brand over the years people still remained patient. The Dedra in my opinion was the straw that broke the camels back.

So utterly underwhelming it was positively nauseous. That and the plastics were (and I'm not saying this for effect) fooking horrific and the fit and finish wasn't what you'd call Suzuki troubling never mind ze Germans. It was based on a Tipo, not a bad car but not a paragon of reliability either. The idea that they marketed it as a 3 series rival is pure comedy in todays terms. It would have been like Ford making a car called a Ghia in 1992, challenging the Audi 80 and basing it on the Escort. That pretty much sums up what a Dedra was. Not a single redeemable feature. The modern day Morris Marina.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

I think the above example is probably aimed more towards the enthusiast now as with most Lancias. Its retro cool and from a defunct marque and I only posted it because I know there are a few of us here (Ded_Zebra etc) that are partial to a Lancia! Its a bit of fun tbh

I have no experience of a Dedra but I had a Y10 last year and it was one of the coolest and well able little city cars I've ever had. It could take Dublin > Rosslare daily in it's stride comfortably and faultlessly. It was a great car, it had electric rear quarter windows and everything

• Registered Users Posts: 65,405 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

That pretty much sums up what a Dedra was. Not a single redeemable feature. The modern day Morris Marina.

I'm trying but I find it hard to disagree with a good bit of what you said there :D

I still do have time for Lancia, not so much for the Dedra but on a bangernomics budget I'd go this if I could find one:

5642462201_5262f755ee.jpg

Old skool looks too, but there is elegance and style there. Amazingly luxurious interior. Relatively modern new legendary 5-pot or my choice, an auto 3l 24V Busso.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I'm thinking of picking up a DC1 as a daily/ long term project once my Mazda is on the road.
    Won't be for a long time yet but they seem like a good deal, much better than a Micra anyway...

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/10754032

• Registered Users Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

CianRyan wrote: »
    I'm thinking of picking up a DC1 as a daily/ long term project once my Mazda is on the road.
    Won't be for a long time yet but they seem like a good deal, much better than a Micra anyway...

What are the 1.6 units like? Not too weedy compared with the 1.8?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I think it's a D16, not the B16 in the Civic's. If I'm right it'll have 130bhp and they only weight about 1000kg or a little more so while no Type R it won't be a bore either.

I'll do some googling. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭selectamatic

CianRyan wrote: »

They're not a bad car alright decent ish performance from the sohc engine it's the gearbox that kills them (most of Hondas sohc powered cars have gears that are too long) they were designed this way for economy. From what I hear the box outta Irish 1.4ek's livens them up a good bit and a lightened flywheel always helps. Compared to a 1.6ils civic coupe they're a much nicer car but insurance is the drawback for younger drivers.

Edit: the d16 engines are the best for turbo ing too some interesting builds stateside with good power figures. A well built turbo teg dc1 would certainly have a unique appeal. And the longer gears in the box are well suited to turbo applications.
    Edit 2: forgot to mention not all dc1's are vtec. The vtec ones are more powerful than the non vtec ones.

Lots of life left in this one.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/10747355

• Registered Users Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

He (Volvo owner) needs to set the clock on his camera. I thought they were 6 year old photos but the last one with tax/NCT discs is a new photo but shows 01/05/2009.