Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day

• Registered Users Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭TigerTim

Red Kev wrote: »
    Audi 80 Quattro. This is very cheap (is it too cheap) . NCT 06/16, €1250

Great cars, the zinced body still holds up well, as does the shape. The design is 30 years old next year. Excellent daily driver for the winter.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/audi-80-quattro/10966789?offset=13

49384216.jpeg

Donegal - ah no !!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Maybe it's just me, but does anyone get turned off a car quickly if they see it has UK style plates? Just something about it, can't understand the appeal of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 930 ✭✭✭robertpatterson

TigerTim wrote: »
    Donegal - ah no !!

How did it pass the nct with the rear number plate I thought it had to be black on white background?

Just swap them for the original ones and that's it.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,177 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

joujoujou wrote: »
    FYP ;)...

Don't those VVTis have some sort of design flaw in the oil channels in the piston crowns that causes oil to absrob too much heat and burn? I wonder if a dear-ish 0W-30 HTHS full-synth would help at all?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,664 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

jimgoose wrote: »
    Don't those VVTis have some sort of design flaw in the oil channels in the piston crowns that causes oil to absrob too much heat and burn? I wonder if a dear-ish 0W-30 HTHS full-synth would help at all?
    That's exactly what they have.

And that's why in both Japan and USA those engines had 0W20 highly recommended. :)

joujoujou wrote: »
    That's exactly what they have.

And that's why in both Japan and USA those engines had 0W20 highly recommended. :)

A-ha! So a lighter full-synth flows better and draws the heat away, as I thought.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

A-ha! So a lighter full-synth flows better and draws the heat away, as I thought.

I found in mine that going from the main dealers 10w40 to the recommended In manual 5w30 caused mine to burn a half a liter every 3k miles.

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    I found in mine that going from the main dealers 10w40 to the recommended In manual 5w30 caused mine to burn a half a liter every 3k miles.

Mmm. My yoke burns about a litre of 5W-30 every 1,500 miles.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Mmm. My yoke burns about a litre of 5W-30 every 1,500 miles.

Mine had a full main dealer service history using 10/40 so I figured if it done 13 years on the stuff surely it will keep running fine on it so I switched back from the 5/30 and it didn't burn any oil after that.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭Alkers

49445051.jpeg

https://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/renault-laguna-ii-sport-tourer/10979163

My own car, will do a good few quid off for a boardsie, comments welcome!

Seems a fair enough ad, price is a bit on the high side but not too bad.
    How about the timing belt/pump/tensioners? Done?
    Is the ac fix a big one or unknown?
    Good ad though and glws.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/honda-accord-2-0-lsi-aero-back-new-nct/10979841?offset=2
    49448448.jpeg

Not a bad bus, looks pretty decent for 21 years. You probably wouldn't get if for 5, but at 550 it might be promising with brand new test

• Registered Users Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

• Registered Users Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

47940689.jpeg

Not bad for a grand with nct til 05/16

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-520/10667764

Love the MPG shot :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

racso1975 wrote: »

What's the deal with a 520 versus a 520i of that era? I thought they were all injected? No?

bear1 wrote: »
    Seems a fair enough ad, price is a bit on the high side but not too bad.
    How about the timing belt/pump/tensioners? Done?
    Is the ac fix a big one or unknown?
    Good ad though and glws.

Price is ono, will see how it goes.
    Timing belt was done before I bought it, I have the mileage it was done at recorded, will update the add tomorrow.
    I was hoping the A/c would be a quick fix so I brought it out to a fella who was recommended on here for re-gassing etc. He said there's a hose missing and that it would be a simple job for a mechanic but it wasn't worth pursuing for me, have only wanted for it once.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,010 ✭✭✭Barr

With that auto box just make sure you bring it on a long test drive before you buy and I mean a long test drive. They drive perfect all day long until you bring them on to a motorway and drive it in a straight line for 10-15 miles. Then, without warning, as you lift off the accelerator the car will hunt for a gear with no luck then simply bang it into the wrong gear and try and fling you through the windscreen in doing so. This will continue till you turn it off and leave it sitting for an hour at which point it'll happily tootle on down to the shops hassle free. Be warned ;) (Repairs are nasty)

What causes this issue , is it the gearbox or some other component ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

racso1975 wrote: »
    47940689.jpeg

It's only done 3 miles since the 18th of October,small mileage indeed. It looks to be a nice straight car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Simona1986 wrote: »
    49445051.jpeg

https://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/renault-laguna-ii-sport-tourer/10979163

My own car, will do a good few quid off for a boardsie, comments welcome!

That house was up for sale a couple of years ago. Do you know how much it went for?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭80s Child

On the phone so I can't link through the app, but I'm just wondering what ye reckon of the 03+ 2.2 ltr diesel Honda Accords coming into banger nomic? I've been a big admirer of them for a while and when my own gives up the ghost I'd be very interested in purchasing one. Is there anything I should know??

Just to say, I'm not due to upgrade for another 6 maths, touch wood, but I am intrigued! Some lovely examples on DD and I'm assuming it's the tax that has brought them to this level so soon?!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,958 ✭✭✭circadian

Love the MPG shot :D

At 60mph no less....

80s Child wrote: »
    On the phone so I can't link through the app, but I'm just wondering what ye reckon of the 03+ 2.2 ltr diesel Honda Accords coming into banger nomic? I've been a big admirer of them for a while and when my own gives up the ghost I'd be very interested in purchasing one. Is there anything I should know??

Just to say, I'm not due to upgrade for another 6 maths, touch wood, but I am intrigued! Some lovely examples on DD and I'm assuming it's the tax that has brought them to this level so soon?!

No comment. I'll let others comment on my behalf as I get twitches when I think of a cdti accord.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭80s Child

No comment. I'll let others comment on my behalf as I get twitches when I think of a cdti accord.

Thought it was too good to be true.

How about the 2ltr petrol??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Long Time Lurker

Ad says there's gunk on the oil filler cap. Gotta be worth an inspection. The owner seems to be a novice so potential here for big money off. Either they've been scared by a mechanic who's told them its shot so he gets the work or it is actually knackered and worthless. Still worth going to see it. If all it needs is a good service then that's a big NCT't bargain.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/10976342

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Those 1.8 petrols were infamously **** though weren't they?

Nice spec, well maintained Eventless here, bonus points for being a hatchback!
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/10625862

This is a bit over budget but worth a mention as I don't think there's been one here before; Focus C-Max diesel with tax and test, not the most practical being just a 5 seater, but 3 full size child seats should in the rear etc. Zetec spec too.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/9943198

Red Kev wrote: »
    That house was up for sale a couple of years ago. Do you know how much it went for?

Lol, no idea, beautiful house though :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,597 ✭✭✭emeldc

Ad says there's gunk on the oil filler cap. Gotta be worth an inspection. The owner seems to be a novice so potential here for big money off. Either they've been scared by a mechanic who's told them its shot so he gets the work or it is actually knackered and worthless. Still worth going to see it. If all it needs is a good service then that's a big NCT't bargain.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/10976342

Gone

80s Child wrote: »
    Thought it was too good to be true.

How about the 2ltr petrol??

I mean you might get a good one but I wouldn't touch a pre 2005 one. They suffered a lot from the timing chain rattle which is very expensive to repair as more than likely the injectors will snap upon removal.
    It had issues with the exhaust manifold cracking causing toxic fumes to enter the cabin.
    The fuel filter needs to be bought from Honda directly as it hates anything else and can cause a few problems otherwise.
    If the car you are looking at has had these issues solved then fire ahead as they are a lovely car when working great.
    But I'd go for a 05 onwards one.
    The petrols on the other hand are supposed to be fairly good.