Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day

• Registered Users Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Yeah eh .... There's none yet.

I'd likely be interested in it. Let me know if there's an ad, where you're based etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Really! That's what I thought too but I gave the reg number to my mate in the (same) Ford dealer where it had the history and he tells me "the computer says no"

Do you mean that there is no DPF? Those Mondeos do have a DMF..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Long Time Lurker

bear1 wrote: »
    Do you mean that there is no DPF? Those Mondeos do have a DMF..

Yeah that's what I thought alright but as I said earlier my Ford man tells me it doesn't. I did question him on it but he said they didn't have a dual mass flywheel. I must check again. Apologies to anyone who I might be confusing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

jharr100 wrote: »
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bargain-406-sldt-diesel-new-nct-and-taxed/11290834

These are getting rare...
    Had a Xsara with the 2.0 HDi engine a decade ago... Very frugal...

My banger 03 Xsara which I picked up via here is going strong, might not be the fairest of them all, but its miserable at drinking diesel, hates the stuff.

racso1975 wrote: »
    Excellent.....Now we all get to low ball you with offers 😁

I wonder if he'll take 1000 for it ha

• Registered Users Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Yeah that's what I thought alright but as I said earlier my Ford man tells me it doesn't. I did question him on it but he said they didn't have a dual mass flywheel. I must check again. Apologies to anyone who I might be confusing.

Very strange. Even a quick search on a ford forum is showing all diesels as having a dmf. Ring up ford and ask them to confirm with the vin.

Was it just me or did boards disappear for the last two days?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

Was it just me or did boards disappear for the last two days?

Site was down said it was DOS attack
    I think someone plugged in a toaster and popped a fuse.

It's not fully back as site is slow but at least it's up now

• Registered Users Posts: 4,095 ✭✭✭johndaman66

New car is in the body shop so I said I'd pop the old one up here first before I stick it on done deal during the week. Offers around 1500 would seem fair I think.

Ah ok, so I'm sure my offer of €650 will buy the car sowink.png hehe

Maybe I'll pop it on adverts for a laugh and you'd never know, I night just get an offer of 230 quid plus an Xbox plus a Moro :-)

bear1 wrote: »
    Very strange. Even a quick search on a ford forum is showing all diesels as having a dmf. Ring up ford and ask them to confirm with the vin.

Yeah I checked again. I dies indeed have a DMF .... which is fine I might add

Anyway ive had a lot of replies so I'm gonna send those folks pics of the car and go from there.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,000 ✭✭✭Barr

Yeah I checked again. I dies indeed have a DMF .... which is fine I might add

Anyway ive had a lot of replies so I'm gonna send those folks pics of the car and go from there.

Sounds a decent car for the money.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭W123-80's

Well lads, just thought I'd let you know I have just rejoined the bangernomics brigade.

In what has been a flurry of car viewings, adverts and purchases myself and my good wife have replaced the entire fleet!

I bought this last Monday...
    http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/mercedes-benz/200/used-1996-mercedes-benz-200-class-mayo-fpa-201550239304462

...and sold this on Tuesday...to the first chap who viewed it..
    https://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2007-subaru-legacy/11282283#xtor=ES-45-%5BnewMessage%5D--%5BviewAd%5D

The Merc is a genuine 1 owner car. It spent the first 4 years of its life in Australie, hence the KM clock. Mileage totally genuine.
    It is absolutely immaculate, has been garaged all its life and has only the tiniest bit of surface rust on the driver passenger door. About the size of my little finger nail. The arches and other usual troublesome spots are perfect. To be fair I viewed it in a garage that was cleaner than my bedroom..!
    It drives like a dream. Has a full service history from Australia and Ireland, even comes with the original purchase invoice ($71,000..:eek:)
    MB Tex interior which is spotless.
    Tax and test until end of May. Picked it up for €1,100.
    I will post proper pics when I collect it Sat morning.

I'm sorry to see the Legacy go but I'm delighted with the Merc and its pretty much depreciation free at this stage so can't go wrong. I love finding genuinely well minded cars like this.

Separate to this purchase, I also picked up a '09 Kia C'eed Estate handy so I will be putting up our '04 Panda tomorrow. Bangernomic territory!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

W123-80's wrote: »
    Well lads, just thought I'd let you know I have just rejoined the bangernomics brigade.

In what has been a flurry of car viewings, adverts and purchases myself and my good wife have replaced the entire fleet!

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/mercedes-benz/200/used-1996-mercedes-benz-200-class-mayo-fpa-201550239304462

https://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2007-subaru-legacy/11282283#xtor=ES-45-%5BnewMessage%5D--%5BviewAd%5D

The Merc is a genuine 1 owner car. It spent the first 4 years of its life in Australie, hence the KM clock. Mileage totally genuine.
    It is absolutely immaculate, has been garaged all its life and has only the tiniest bit of surface rust on the driver passenger door. About the size of my little finger nail. The arches and other usual troublesome spots are perfect. To be fair I viewed it in a garage that was cleaner than my bedroom..!
    It drives like a dream. Has a full service history from Australia and Ireland, even comes with the original purchase invoice ($71,000..:eek:)

I'm sorry to see the Legacy go but I'm delighted with the Merc and its pretty much depreciation free at this stage so can't go wrong. I love finding genuinely well minded cars like this.

Separate to this purchase, I also picked up a '09 Kia C'eed Estate handy so I will be putting up our '04 Panda tomorrow. Bangernomic territory!

Best of luck with both cars :)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-e220-w124-7-seat-estate-nct-9-16/11234815

A rather nice looking seven seater W124 Merc with 9 months test for well under a grand. Bargain imo

• Registered Users Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-e220-w124-7-seat-estate-nct-9-16/11234815

A rather nice looking seven seater W124 Merc with 9 months test for well under a grand. Bargain imo

"Hello I'm calling about the car on done deal. I'm broke with lots of kids, two dogs, do some part time carpet laying and use the fathers diesel tank on the farm"

Well sir we have the car for you .....

http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/11340329

Agricultural GM 2.2 diesel is no HDi for refinement or TDI for poke but its a dependable aul unit all the same.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/10641973

"Hello I'm calling about the car own done deal. I'm broke with lots of kids, two dogs, do some part time carpet laying and use the fathers diesel tank on the farm"

Well sir we have the car for you .....

http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/11340329

So much better looking than the Garda car that followed this model.. bargain.!
    Not many on the roads these days. I think they are a pretty nice looking car.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

W123 that C Class looks absolutely.......class!

Love the history behind it and it's always nice to see a car that old taxed for a full year.

Best of luck with it!

166man wrote: »
    W123 that C Class looks absolutely.......class!

Love the history behind it and it's always nice to see a car that old taxed for a full year.

Best of luck with it!

Thanks 166, its got a very interesting history..
    I don't want to say too much about the gentleman I bought it off, but fair to say he is an interesting character with an appreciation for minding his equipment. This was evident from the moment I met him.:)

I don't mind admitting I am delighted I found this car, I sincerely doubt there is a better W202 in the country.. and I don't say that lightly or to try to boast.
    Obviously the 'poverty' Classic spec lets it down a little. No alloy wheels etc, but the condition is a testament to the previous owner.

Incorrect post

Duplicate of incorrect post

• Registered Users Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Congrats W123, that's a hell of a find :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

What are 1.9 diesel passats like?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭tinofapples

W123-80's wrote: »

Nice Subaru, best of luck with new wheels !!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,583 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I'm probably changing my banger for another in the next month or so.
    I'm currently driving a 1.6 01 Ford Focus, issues with the speedo and a few other things, no test either.
    I'm looking at going to an 05 Octavia, same year 407 estate or, in my dreams, a Saab.
    So, what sort of advice can you offer?
    The Octavia's are out there but they seem to be ex-taxis, so galactic miles but they have been well looked after.
    The Saab and 407 reliability frightens me, having been a Citroen owner three times, and a Scenic owner, I know all about expensive repairs!

Disclaimer - It's mine!
    I know it's a poor advert. Literally took pics on my phone and stuck it up.
    Will come fully washed, hoovered with a tank of juice.!
    Special deal if you mention bangernomics. .😀

https://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/fiat-panda/11348526

• Registered Users Posts: 689 ✭✭✭sept09baby

Might go take a look at this http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/11335712

• Registered Users Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

sept09baby wrote: »
    Might go take a look at this http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/11335712

It's based on a Mitsubishi charisma and has a Renault diesel engine. If you want a true Volvo go for the s60 or s80.