Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2015 Rugby World Cup Superthread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Ah feck

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Poor bastard, that would have been a great try.

That would have been a amazing try.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,429 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Cruel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Mike Brown prevented that try.

Poor bastard, that would have been a great try.

Did the referee call the TMO after lookimg at the big screen? Didn't think the big screen cojld show replays to avoid influencing the ref.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Sorry, wrong forum. I clicked on After Hours and got the sports forum. Damned computer acting up again. I think it's the touch screen that's faulty.

lol nice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Shocking conversion but delighted for Fiji!

Use of TMO is runining this game, hopefully it does not become a regular thing in this tourament.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Number 11 for Fiji is some boyo.

England 18- Fiji 11 (just slotted over a penalty)

Fiji running out of steam now. An English try and conversion makes it 28-11

Last gasp try (just) for the bonus point. 35-11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I suppose to make it feel like a world cup the lesser lights have to be included. Although it's good to try and grow the game, it probably would make for a better tournament with just the 6 northern hem countries and Aus SA NZ Argentina and the 3 pacific island nations. It could be played over a much shorter timespan also, 6 weeks is a bit much.

Agree with this. Absolutely no need for any teams outside the top ten to be involved.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

ITV are coming in for a fair bit of stick for their coverage.

http://m.independent.ie/sport/rugby/world-cup/other-news/itv-commentator-slated-on-twitter-for-disrespectful-comment-about-fiji-31539760.html

Very jingoistic for a multinational broadcaster. They're the same with the soccer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Schmidt seems to have the team far more focused than I've seen them. I doubt this talk of semi finals will bother them at all.

It will be, as you say, concentrate on beating the next team and that's it.

I don't buy all this stuff about Schmidt. Yes, he is a lucky coach, winning tournaments on points differential.

This one will be his acid test. Minimum of semi final or it will be deemed a flop. I expect a Q/F exit, and shouts for a moral victory.

http://m.independent.ie/sport/rugby/world-cup/other-news/itv-commentator-slated-on-twitter-for-disrespectful-comment-about-fiji-31539760.html

Very jingoistic for a multinational broadcaster. They're the same with the soccer.

Are ITV a multinational broadcaster?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Why do people boo when the ref consults the TMO? What is their problem with ascertaining the unvarnished facts?
    Isn't it poor sportsmanship?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

feargale wrote: »
    Why do people boo when the ref consults the TMO? What is their problem with ascertaining the unvarnished facts?
    Isn't it poor sportsmanship?

The ref tonight didn't have the balls to make a decision for himself.

Overusing the TMO ruins the tempo of the game.

Nick Mullins said:
    "They will be back in Fiji around one television hoping the generator doesn't fail them."

What a twat. The people who buy advertising space during ITV's RWC coverage will not be happy about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

That's grand until the ref with "balls" makes the wrong decision that costs the team that's wronged.
    And I'm sure Thierry Henry would agree with you. Come to think of it that great champion of fair play Blatter opposed TMO in soccer tooth and nail.

I think the use of the TMO is very progressive and adds to the excitement and general justice of how the sport is refereed. Actually, I think soccer could badly do with a TMO to stop the ballerinas feigning injury and simulating tackles so then they could be sent off for it - it would improve soccer no end imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,487 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

imagine beating england with a last min try. there all singing that chariot song. the last day in the six nations this year was brillent. rememeber dancing around the staff room in my workplace when france kicked out that ball against them and we won the title

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

especially on the Fiji try, it was obvious from watching it first time that it was a try yet still the ref went upstairs. That was the most glaring mistake he made but also the TMO was really slow to make any decision and that held the game up. On one try we saw 6 replays from various angles before a decision was made, it tookhim 90 seconds to make a decision and that effected the players and the game.

Also the TMO wrecked my head when he finally allowed the obvious Fiji try by saying to the ref "I see no reason as to why you cannot award a try". Only **** explain things using a double negative

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Mike Brown prevented that try.

Brown did well for sure but I think May was the real hero in preventing that try.

Absolutely, it was dreadful last night. Especially on both Fiji tries.

Nick Mullins said:

What a twat. The people who buy advertising space during ITV's RWC coverage will not be happy about it.

That's not actually what he said, I think he started with "there will be villages in Fiji where everyone is huddled around the only tv......"

Pretty cringy, but not as bad as quoted.

I thought the ITV coverage wasn't too bad, or maybe I was just expecting worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Muahahaha wrote: »

Also the TMO wrecked my head when he finally allowed the obvious Fiji try by saying to the ref "I see no reason as to why you cannot award a try". Only **** explain things using a double negative

That shows your lack of understanding of the rules of Rugby and English. The Ref specifically asked if there was any reason not to award the try. The correct response to that question is to see no reason why a try cannot be awarded. This is common in many rugby matches. Surely you have heard that response many times before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

multinational?? they're a british TV station, are RTE any better when Ireland play?

Not very convincing from Eng. They'll have to improve hugely.

Hopefully Ireland will abandon the conserative style.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

Sorry if this has already bin asked but what's the story with TV3 HD on sky, is it not free like RTE HD?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

fryup wrote: »
    multinational?? they're a british TV station, are RTE any better when Ireland play?

They would broadcast across the different nations in the UK. I honestly don't think Irish commentators would come out with some of the claptrap that the English do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

They would broadcast across the different nations in the UK. I honestly don't think Irish commentators would come out with some of the claptrap that the English do.

Really.

A few years ago I remember tuning in to RTE to watch Italy v Wales (I think) and instead of doing a what a decent broadcaster would do and preview the upcoming game they spent 25 minutes of the 30 minute build up talking about Ireland game which was on the next day rather than doing the correct thing and previewing the next game they were showing.Also you'd find it hard to get a more biased commentator than Ryle Nugent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Was in a pub watching the game with no sound on and wouldn't know the Fiji players. Who's the big Fijian winger? Caused some serious problems for England.

That's not actually what he said, I think he started with "there will be villages in Fiji where everyone is huddled around the only tv......"

It's true though. I wouldn't be offended if a British presenter described Ireland as a nation of drunks for example because it is true. The very people who would complain are the exact same people that actively promote the stereotype too.

But as regards these comments - it's just telling the truth. Can we not do that any more?

It's true though. I wouldn't be offended if a British presenter described Ireland as a nation of drunks for example because it is true. The very people who would complain are the exact same people that actively promote the stereotype too.

But as regards these comments - it's just telling the truth. Can we not do that any more?

Puerile nonsense. Stereotypes are never right.

Anyway, back to the matter at hand: this crucial Group C fixture between the 11th and 16th ranked teams, Tonga and Georgia. Two such highly ranked teams will surely have a major bearing on the tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

There's always a hint of truth to a stereotype, that's how they come about in the first place, but obviously it's wrong to generalise a group of 4+ million people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Matt Cooper - "the toin coss"
    He's a terrible presenter, the questions are all planned, he hasn't a clue.
    He's better suited to the radio, asking politicians questions that they won't answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Wish they'd dump that wishy washy nothin of a song.
    Doesn't inspire anything in anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭electrobanana

Anyone else think that Eir advert that's on during the breaks sounds like a crimp from the Mighty Boosh?

O Canada is one of my favourite anthems.

Here we are, #6 plays #18. Should be a close game.

Ireland to score 3 tries, Canada to score 1 and the TMO to score 4.

Canada are being shredded. It's a no-contest at the mo.

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Canada are being shredded. It's a no-contest at the mo.

Ireland do well in these type of games, France will be the test.

Why are they trying to score? It was 50-7 and time was up. It makes no sense. Why risk injuries to run up the score?

That should be the handicap, punters will be happy!

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    That should be the handicap, punters will be happy!

:o or not, bad day for the punters betting on the handicap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,514 ✭✭✭Melodeon

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Why are they trying to score? It was 50-7 and time was up. It makes no sense. Why risk injuries to run up the score?

Points difference could be very important at the end of the pool stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭electrobanana

Japan are dominating South Africa haha go team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

Melodeon wrote: »
    Points difference could be very important at the end of the pool stage.

Will almost certainly be irrelevant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Hon the Japanese!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,908 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

It was nice to see Nippon lead for all of forty seconds.