Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

EPA says Volkswagen cheated on emissions with 482,000 diesel cars

• Registered Users Posts: 10,319 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

166man wrote: »
    You don't have to be under the bonnet regularly because you're provided with a new car every two years. Not all of us have that privilege. ;)

New Ford Mondeo is miles ahead of the Passat. One I drove admittedly was a 2015 US Spec rental but it was a dire place to be. Wasn't a nice drive, TSI engine was gutless and really it was the interior that was the biggest let down.

New Mondeo looks better, drives better and I actually think the interior is much better, on this side of the Atlantic.

Your Passat is a grand car (I'm not slating it) but I think you need to not think of it as a Bentley look alike and more of a better insulated Skoda. :)

Is it not the case that the US Passat is a vastly different car from the European model sharing the platform (stretched in the US) and little else, is not the interior, running gear or, for the most part, engine line up?

• Registered Users Posts: 73,454 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

The current one in the USA looks like a tweaked b6

• Registered Users Posts: 23,352 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

vectra wrote: »
    Err.
    No.
    Sorry to burst your bubble. But did you ever get to a stage in your life when multiple bills come along at once and some unexpected expense comes along?
    Well. A hose are the times I am talking about.
    Do you think for one minute that at the prime of my life I was told I can never again work.?
    Well go on. Laugh at that. As I know for certain I would much prefer to be working.
    And oh. By the way. I am really sorry if this spoils your day, but I have only a few repayments on this one and I will be debt free then. Woo hop.
    Roll on next year and I can have a new car for pocket money with my own.

You are hardly doing yourself any favours here.
    You get vrt and vat free car every 2 years so it's hard to argue out of both sides of your mouth. Will you have it for pocket one along with your own or will you have serious monthly payments. I'd be thinking pocket money.
    Ive said it before and I will say it again. That scheme is a joke. It is quite frankly frightening the amount of cars bought via that scheme. Local car dealer said it kept him going in 2009 when nobody was buying anything.
    I know the requirements for a primary medical cert are quite strict but it is also clear the rules are being broken in how they are being awarded.
    No doubt it would be a serious setback to be told you could never work again. I find it hard to believe that such a medical condition exists that will stop one working where one is capable of using this forum. They are arguably capable of some form of data entry job etc. If medically unfit to carry out any work, one would expect their finances to suffer to some degree, not be improved to the extent of buying new cars every 2 years.
    Primary medical cert requirements:
    A Primary Medical Certificate confirms you are severely and permanently disabled and:

Are completely or almost completely without the use of both legs or

Are completely without the use of one of your legs and almost completely without the use of the other leg to the extent that you are severely restricted as regards movement in your legs or

Are without both hands or both arms or

Are without one or both legs or

Are completely or almost completely without the use of both hands or arms and completely or almost completely without the use of one leg or

Have the medical condition of dwarfism and serious difficulties of movement of the legs

I only know one person out of all that have cars under this scheme locally who visually meets those rules.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,714 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Now that we're talking about the trim levels between different cars, are people over the (more important) issue of VW being cheating feckers?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,543 ✭✭✭✭vectra

mickdw wrote: »
    You are hardly doing yourself any favours here.
    You get vrt and vat free car every 2 years so it's hard to argue out of both sides of your mouth. Will you have it for pocket one along with your own or will you have serious monthly payments. I'd be thinking pocket money.
    Ive said it before and I will say it again. That scheme is a joke. It is quite frankly frightening the amount of cars bought via that scheme. Local car dealer said it kept him going in 2009 when nobody was buying anything.
    I know the requirements for a primary medical cert are quite strict but it is also clear the rules are being broken in how they are being awarded.
    No doubt it would be a serious setback to be told you could never work again. I find it hard to believe that such a medical condition exists that will stop one working where one is capable of using this forum. They are arguably capable of some form of data entry job etc. If medically unfit to carry out any work, one would expect their finances to suffer to some degree, not be improved to the extent of buying new cars every 2 years.

Ah, But you see there are differing lifestyles that all of this should be based on.

I would dearly love to be able to work so as I could enjoy annualy foreign holidays.... Nights out with friends that cost a hell of a lot of money to sustain.. Smoling..Drinking... Expensive cloths... etc. Need I go on?
    I ( sorry WE ) chose to not waste money of material items but to stter our money towards having something decent in life. like a decent comfortable car.

How many members here can say they live a same lifestyle?

I also have bills you know. I don't have a free house. Free electricity
    Free phone. free food etc. etc.

Life goes on you know. And this is the path we chose to take.
    Maybe next year once I change my car we could start having a life.

As for my medical issue.
    Could I ask what qualifications you have in this area and also how you think the rules are being broken?

I would like to know this as I personally know numerous friends and friends of friends who applied for the Primary certificate and were turned dwon even though they had severe difficulties.

My personal dilemna was verified be 3 of the countries top speciliasts in this field.
    All 3 of them had similar conclusions with me.
    Not one person in this country was experienced enough nor had the provision to operate on me. Only in America were there 2 specialists that claimed they could operate. But
    All 3 speciliasts that I attended gave me the same advice.
    Under no circumstances would they advise me to go through it as there was only a 30% success rate. Meaining failure would absolutely mean I come home in a wheelchair.

May I ask which decision you would have chosen?

** Rant over.**

** EDIT **

And by the way, I did and do still fall into the criteria of qualifying for the PMC under the first line of rules.
    I also have attended multiple department check ups to assess if I still qualify under the scheme and strangely enough they all pass me with flying colors.
    Maybe you lot should keep yuor discussions to the areas you are all familiar with.
    MOTORS,

• Registered Users Posts: 9,616 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

kbannon wrote: »
    Now that we're talking about the trim levels between different cars, are people over the (more important) issue of VW being cheating feckers?

Errrr back on topic I think before someone puts a brick in their handbag.

Has anyone actually had recall work done on the TDI? I'm still interested to find out if it affects their performance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭John T Carroll

Has anyone got their recall letter yet? Herselfs parents got theirs for the superb last week. Miles away into the future mind.

Son in law got his for a 2010 Golf TDI, they say the fix is to put a mesh in the MAF meter and some software change which should take less than 2 hours, can't remember when they plan to do it but maybe August??.

Completely or almost completely without the use of both legs.
    So how does this prevent someone from ever again working?
    This state makes excellent provision for employing disabled persons in widely varying roles.

• Registered Users Posts: 251 ✭✭Ogogo

Son in law got his for a 2010 Golf TDI, they say the fix is to put a mesh in the MAF meter and some software change which should take less than 2 hours, can't remember when they plan to do it but maybe August??.

Does the modification done at the recall have any impact on performance, fuel economy or longevity?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Completely or almost completely without the use of both legs.
    So how does this prevent someone from ever again working?
    This state makes excellent provision for employing disabled persons in widely varying roles.

Much as i'm one to jump down Vectras throat for his often thoughtless comments.

If my choices were;

an operation that had a 70% likelyhood of putting me in a wheelchair, for the opportunity to have a career again

or go on disability benefit or equivelant and keep my legs

I'm pretty sure i'd be doing the same as himself. Money is nice but it's not everything. Absolutely you could work a 39 hour week from a wheelchair, but for the ther 129 hours a week you simply couldn't put a price on having the use of your legs. I mean no offence to anyone with a disability btw.

As for VW emissions, seems the whole thing has died right down...

Have a nice afternoon lads :)

Much as i'm one to jump down Vectras throat for his often thoughtless comments.

If my choices were;

an operation that had a 70% likelyhood of putting me in a wheelchair, for the opportunity to have a career again

or go on disability benefit or equivelant and keep my legs

I'm pretty sure i'd be doing the same as himself. Money is nice but it's not everything. Absolutely you could work a 39 hour week from a wheelchair, but for the ther 129 hours a week you simply couldn't put a price on having the use of your legs. I mean no offence to anyone with a disability btw.

As for VW emissions, seems the whole thing has died right down...

Have a nice afternoon lads :)

Perhaps a job that suits current disability?
    I just don't buy the can't work ever again bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Perhaps a job that suits current disability?
    I just don't buy the can't work ever again bit.

My auld lad can't work, and hasn't for the last 30 odd years. (head injury).

I wonder would he qualify for that scheme. I must look into it.

• Registered Users Posts: 544 ✭✭✭SBPhoto

kbannon wrote: »

Remind me, when did that happen !!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

Has this gone off the radar or what? I'm not reading the whole thread, it just came up when I logged in, and I saw a few VW blue motion cars around today, what's the story with Volkswagen and their cheating program? It seems to be kept out of the media from what I can see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Has this gone off the radar or what? I'm not reading the whole thread, it just came up when I logged in, and I saw a few VW blue motion cars around today, what's the story with Volkswagen and their cheating program? It seems to be kept out of the media from what I can see.

Short version
    EU agrees with VW, "nothing to see here, diesel, diesel, diesel uber alles"
    20110312_ldp001.jpg
    EU Sales grow.

America, in particular California, say "yes there is a serious issue here", VW appear be ignoring them or failing completely to resolve the issue, (missin deadlines, no actual acceptable solution found). No diesel models allowed to be sold. Overall US sales falling.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

colm_mcm wrote: »
    The insinuation made by 166man is that Vectra gets a car provided to him.
    I'm pretty certain that's not the case - I don't see why he should have to explain his finances here anyway.
    Not that the man can't speak for himself, but it annoys me when someone who was banned for trolling for years and was given one more chance by a mod who should have known better - is up to their old Shiite again.

With the greatest respect Colm, if that's considered trolling then each and everyone of the last posts for the last 5 pages must be considered the same. It's typical that a post I make gets called up whilst everyone else slips by unnoticed.

Maybe "provided" was the wrong choice of word. My point was that if you have a new car every two years that you obtain "benefit" from then of course you're not going to be under the bonnet every few weeks. I'm not interested in discussing his finances nor his ability to work.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

What the fuq is going on in here?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,714 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

SBPhoto wrote: »
    Remind me, when did that happen !!!!!!

Which? The thread derailing or VW being cheating feckers because surely both are obvious?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

cadaliac wrote: »

my thoughts exactly...... thought i had wandered in the medical forum or something........

• Registered Users Posts: 13,934 ✭✭✭✭josip

Winston Wolf to Aisle 6, Winston Wolf to Aisle 6

• Registered Users Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

cadaliac wrote: »

Yep.

I actually find it quite sad. This used to be a decent forum. It's amazing to me that grown (I assume) men are throwing their toys out of the pram to the extent that they are resorting to personal insults and insinuations over car brands.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    Indeed the car itself was decent but it was lacking in a few areas.

There's a 2005 1.8 Luna and a 2010 (current model) 2.0 diesel Strata in the family. The 05 is a far better car, better over the bumps, far nicer interior and better made without a shadow of a doubt. The 2010 car has needed new front doors due to a problem with the check straps (a well known fault with these cars) and the airbags have given more than their fair share of problems as well. Fortunately Toyota paid for the cost of fixing the problems, because it would have cost some amount of money to fix had they not done so. In fairness, the mechanical components have been bulletproof, the car is on about 152,000 miles now and is still on the original DMF and clutch. I bet the new car with the N47 BMW engine won't get that far without developing a serious engine fault (such as the timing chain), although at least Toyota insist on a 20k km service interval for the N47, unlike BMW who allowed up to 30k km between oil changes, so hopefully the Toyotas with this engine won't suffer as badly as BMWs fitted with this engine do.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭9935452

Ogogo wrote: »
    Does the modification done at the recall have any impact on performance, fuel economy or longevity?

They claim no negative impact on power and fuel economy.
    Which quite frankly i struggle to believe,
    Consider a company the size of vw , you would imagine if it was that simple they would have come up with it when the engines came out day one.
    Ill be waiting a long while to see what are the real results before i drop the audi in for the fix

• Registered Users Posts: 8,615 ✭✭✭grogi

9935452 wrote: »
    They claim no negative impact on power and fuel economy.
    Which quite frankly i struggle to believe,
    Consider a company the size of vw , you would imagine if it was that simple they would have come up with it when the engines came out day one.
    Ill be waiting a long while to see what are the real results before i drop the audi in for the fix

They can reduce NOx emissions by:
    - lowering the combustion temperature by tweaking EGR opening times; this reduces performance
    - burning reacher diesel/air mixture - this reduces efficiency.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,454 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

You'd be mad to get the fix done, I'd say I said this 120 pages ago too :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭9935452

grogi wrote: »
    They can reduce NOx emissions by:
    - lowering the combustion temperature by tweaking EGR opening times; this reduces performance
    - burning reacher diesel/air mixture - this reduces efficiency.

It makes you wonder how they can come up with the fix that affects nothing bar the NOx and they werent able to come up with it in 2008

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

9935452 wrote: »
    It makes you wonder how they can come up with the fix that affects nothing bar the NOx and they werent able to come up with it in 2008

And the critical part is a 10c plastic "flow transformer" in the intake before air sensor.

german-supporter-uefa-cup-bets-com.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 544 ✭✭✭SBPhoto

Anyone with a current A3 TDI get a recall? mine came up as not affected.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,543 ✭✭✭✭vectra

SBPhoto wrote: »
    Anyone with a current A3 TDI get a recall? mine came up as not affected.

Is your car an EU6 model?
    Mine is and is not affected, as far as I am aware the EU6 models are not affected.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,615 ✭✭✭grogi

colm_mcm wrote: »
    You'd be mad to get the fix done, I'd say I said this 120 pages ago too :)

IMHO cars that did not have it done should be banned from the roads...