Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Teaching German and English at second level??

Options
  • 19-09-2015 3:43pm
    Registered Users Posts: 19

Hi, im considering returning to uni to study German and English as i would love to teach these subjects at second level (I am already a private music teacher). But before investing a lot of tume and money I need to understand the job market better.I've been told by a few people that everyone can teach English and that although there are not a lot of students choosing German that there is a shortage of teachers. Ive been studying German for a few years now for fun (I love languages) but I want to be careful... not choosing to return to uni simply because I'll enjoy it, theres got to be a strong possibility of a job afterwards. Any German/English teachers out there who can help me make my decision?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭solerina

There is a massive surplus of English teachers so it won't be easy to get a job. Not everyone can teach English, your friend is mistaken, my colleagues who teach English seem to have the most corrections in the entire staff room. German is a minority subject so getting a job in it won't be easy. As a subject combination...I can't comment !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

have a think about how you're going to start off, I.e. sub work.