Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Web Summit quits Dublin

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Whoever represented them on Q102 also contradicted themselves on some point or another that I cant remember now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

What the actual hell. Was your man being interviewed about to burst into tears ? Sounded exactly like a spoilt kid not getting what they wanted no hand in the pocket from them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Is that paddy web summits gobsh1te still here? If he thinks so little of the place why doesn't he just get out asap and give us a a bit of peace from his whinging and whining about all the things he can get somewhere else!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,345 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Just seen Sharon rip him apart. Paddy threw him to the lioness.

Some balls on them bemoaning hotels taking the piss when they go and charge €20 for water and burger. Think I'll email Enda and see if he can get them to throw in a bag of chips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,548 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

brooke 2 wrote: »
    And it appears the vendors only got €8.00 out of that €20!:mad:

Where did the rest of the money go?

brooke 2 wrote: »
    And it appears the vendors only got €8.00 out of that €20!:mad:

Even worse I would say. They were asked to prepare a package for €8. I.e Retail for €8. I doubt the vendor is getting €5 for that, probably closer to €3 or €4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Price gouging and taking advantage of tourists during events should be illegal, end of story. Not just for the web summit. And the state of public transport in Dublin and the costs thereof (which have increased again this year after at least three years of consecutive fare hikes) is a disgrace.

I find it hard to fault him on anything other than the wifi issue which really isn't an issue for government. Everything else he raised - traffic management (hah! Dublin corpo couldn't manage traffic in a f*ckin' kid's remote controlled highway game), public transport (an absolute disgrace, both in quality of service and in fare costs) and price gouging (shouldn't be allowed, blatantly taking advantage of tourists) - are issues which affect more than the web summit and should be dealt with anyway by the government for other reasons. That's what makes this so infuriating. Other cities have decent public transport, laws about price gouging and proper traffic management. It is the height of learned helplessness for everyone to be assuming that Ireland couldn't do this "just because".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Sports organisations pay for traffic management after matches etc, why shouldn't they??? He looked like a petulant spoilt child, Dobbo would have lacerated him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,667 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Price gouging and taking advantage of tourists during events should be illegal, end of story. Not just for the web summit. And the state of public transport in Dublin and the costs thereof (which have increased again this year after at least three years of consecutive fare hikes) is a disgrace.

I find it hard to fault him on anything other than the wifi issue which really isn't an issue for government. Everything else he raised - traffic management (hah! Dublin corpo couldn't manage traffic in a f*ckin' kid's remote controlled highway game), public transport (an absolute disgrace, both in quality of service and in fare costs) and price gouging (shouldn't be allowed, blatantly taking advantage of tourists) - are issues which affect more than the web summit and should be dealt with anyway by the government for other reasons. That's what makes this so infuriating. Other cities have decent public transport, laws about price gouging and proper traffic management. It is the height of learned helplessness for everyone to be assuming that Ireland couldn't do this "just because".
    What price gouging went on ? Hotels do have a max rack rate. It's supply and demand. From the interview it's clear that rather than go to the hotels they were trying to get the government to do it, they should have approached them themselves. They also tried to get the government to provide free leap cards.

Can you imagine what would happen then
    The ploughing championship , Horse show, funderland, FAI, IRFU, etc would all expect the same treatment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭blue4ever

"The lady doth protest too much, methinks"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

So you think it's fine to request garda escorts for some guests, asking the government to fix the prices of hotels, close off streets one of which for a private party, provide private transport, and more, out of tax payers money?

ThisRegard wrote: »
    So you think it's fine to request garda escorts for some guests, asking the government to fix the prices of hotels, close off streets one of which for a private party, provide public transport, and more, out of tax payers money?

If you think as ones self as the Irish Bill gates yes This guy is right up there with steve jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

The Dublin bus services to the RDS are pretty good generally. The 4 and the 7 run every 10 minutes or so at peak time.
    Yesterday, once I got on a bus, there weren't any major traffic problems getting down to the RDS. I actually managed to get on an additional Dublin Bus special service put on by Dublin Bus.

The transport problems yesterday were down to the summit organisers themselves, not the government.
    1. The shuttle service only went from Merrion Sq, but there were hoards of people trying to (and giving up on) getting a bus from O'Connell St. The summit should have added their additional capacity from where it was needed, or at least put some volunteers in the city centre to tell people where they could get a bus.
    2. Most of the attendees were paying bus fares by cash, slowing up the whole operation for everyone. Dublin Bus had a stand at the summit itself selling bus tokens (€2), but the summit themselves really needed to get these into the hands of people before they got there.

Its a bit rich for the summit organisers to be giving out about the government when they failed to do some simple stuff themselves.
    The web summit has a couple of thousand start ups busy building solutions (many solving problems that don't actually exist :-) ). The summit organisers themselves need to tap into that spirit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,104 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

The irony of all this is Paddy is the one doing the price gouging - standard tickets going from 700 euro to 1400 for a late ticket and 20 euro for a plate of food that the vendors agreed would cost 8

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

The irony of all this is Paddy is the one doing the price gouging - standard tickets going from 700 euro to 1400 for a late ticket and 20 euro for a plate of food that the vendors agreed would cost 8

Does the 700 euro cover one or three days?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 40,367 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Stheno wrote: »

What does it matter? Either way, it's extremely expensive for a wander around the RDS or listening to a few different people speaking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,307 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Depends when you bought it by all accounts. If it was last year then probably its for the 3 days, but if it was last week then chances are thats what paddy was charging for single day tickets with his incredibly "innovative" price system that increases the closer the event gets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,558 ✭✭✭Heroditas

The tickets cost how much?! :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Is the web summit all that or for event junkies?

kbannon wrote: »
    What does it matter? Either way, it's extremely expensive for a wander around the RDS or listening to a few different people speaking!

Most conferences I would go to are in the 100-250 for a day ticket, so I was trying to compare it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭mikep

Out of curiosity this morning I trivago'd Dublin to see how bad the price gouging of hotels was..interestingly the 2 hotels I looked at, Clarion and Gibson both had rooms available for around €50 more than this day next week...doesn't seem excessive to me considering that you rarely get good prices booking on the day of arrival especially when there is an event on in the city.

I'm getting dizzy from all the spinning...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,307 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

mikep wrote: »
    Out of curiosity this morning I trivago'd Dublin to see how bad the price gouging of hotels was..interestingly the 2 hotels I looked at, Clarion and Gibson both had rooms available for around €50 more than this day next week...doesn't seem excessive to me considering that you rarely get good prices booking on the day of arrival especially when there is an event on in the city.

I'm getting dizzy from all the spinning...

The real secret Paddy never talks about is the web summit book quite a lot of hotel rooms themselves and then pass them onto attendees, going off the food shenanigans from yesterday im guessing they also slip in a bit of a price hike themselves for their trouble of simply booking rooms for people

Sorry it was 739 for a standard ticket rising to 1245 if it was booked late

https://mobile.twitter.com/VCurrentAffairs/status/654737784297525248/photo/1

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

The €700ish was for 3 days for the standard ticket. Its pretty expensive but people knew the price before they clicked the Buy button.
    What they didn't know is that the food would cost an additional €50 when it was included in the ticket price before.

Phoebas wrote: »
    The €700ish was for 3 days for the standard ticket. Its pretty expensive but people knew the price before they clicked the Buy button.
    What they didn't know is that the food would cost an additional €50 when it was included in the ticket price before.

Tbh that's pretty standard for three days at a conference imo.

Could you buy a ticket for just one day?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

Following their hilarious exposure I can't see Paddy Cosgrave or Daire Hickey doing any more interviews where any competent interviewer will merely fillet and flip them, they are on a hiding to nowhere and the public has now seen the behaviour that the Taoiseachs department politely decided to disengage with.
    Turns out Paddy and Daire are the only ones ripping punters off at this years summit, €20 for a burger and water that cost about €2
    Hypocrites

Adrian Weckler will be thrown to the Lions by them now that they no longer have use for him

I'm not sure but I don't think you could.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

There was a limited early bird offer of two for the price of one. The company here availed of it.

Last year we had four tickets and from my perspective while it was interesting it had absolutely no business value to us at all. I met a couple of customers who I'd meet with anyway, tried to talk to the startups who were pitching but once they realised I wasn't an investor they weren't interested.

Thankfully this year I wasn't compelled to go so we gave the two tickets to two of our techies. They might get more out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭mikep

I would have expected Web summit to book hotels for attendees at preferential rates so prehaps VinLieger you are correct...
    As far as I know Croke Park hotel does rates for attendees of conferences there..

Looks like a bit of gouging is taking place in Lisbon too, again from a quick trivago.

What isn't standard is conning 100's of start ups into thinking they've made some best in class shortlist, filling them with sh1te about the likihood of investment and then making them aware that they'll have to fork out 2-3 grand for a crap display stand.

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭futonic

Yep, I bought a one day ticket on adverts.ie for 50 Euro on Sunday.

Also see, someone bought a 3 day ticket for 150 Euro. Lot of sellers, not too many buyers. I'd say about a dozen tickets up there, unsold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Web Summit is in the business of exploitation, simple as that. Volunteers, start ups, food vendors and speakers have all been exploited. It's undeniable.

PARlance wrote: »
    What isn't standard is conning 100's of start ups into thinking they've made some best in class shortlist, filling them with sh1te about the likihood of investment and then making them aware that they'll have to fork out 2-3 grand for a crap display stand.
    I don't know what the deal with the startups was but I think there are something like 2000 of them, all vying for (investor) attention.
    They get a metre of display space and get to do a 4 minute pitch - its got to be incredibly difficult for any of them to get noticed.

I think it would have been better if there was a much smaller number of them with much more pre screening of them to try and separate the wheat from the chaff.
    They should be treated as an attraction, not a revenue stream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Mike Ripper on the six one knew the jig was up

I don't know what the deal with the startups was but I think there are something like 2000 of them, all vying for (investor) attention.
    They get a metre of display space and get to do a 4 minute pitch - its got to be incredibly difficult for any of them to get noticed.
    They don't all get to do a pitch. And they metre of space they get is only for one day. This has annoyed start-ups every year, but annoyed VC firms even more as they get a list of the start-ups and then when they go to find them, a third wont even be exhibiting on the day.

Mike Ripper on the six one knew the jig was up

Yeah but now they have the whole of Portugal to fleece. They have burnt their bridges here in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

That's actually a pretty decent price for a conference ticket. But any decent conference I've ever been to has included food. It may not always be great, I had one last week where I had to go and buy my own food because it was so bad, but it is something you expect to be included. That €50 just smacks of pure greed.

Doubling to 1425?

Terry Pratchet

jester77 wrote: »
    That's actually a pretty decent price for a conference ticket.

Don't be fooled, there's 3 levels of pricing and this lowest price ticket doesn't even get you access to a lot of the floor.

smash wrote: »
    Don't be fooled, there's 3 levels of pricing and this lowest price ticket doesn't even get you access to a lot of the floor.

As I said Web Summit are the price gougers here

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Ouch that didn't look good!

He was in a tough position though as he was having to answer stuff about what Cosgrave was saying.

That's why Paddy Cosgrave should have done the interview himself, the wuss.

Wonder that the million is going to be spent on ? Providing transport ? hotel rooms ? I think I have an idea.... Always love the "It's not about money" and then move to a place offering more money...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Who in the name of God pays €700 to attend a conference. Is it primarily employers paying for employees to go?

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    That's why Paddy Cosgrave should have done the interview himself, the wuss.

Well judging by the other guy nearly bursting into tears like a spoilt child May have been a reason he did not do the interview.

Synode wrote: »
    Who in the name of God pays €700 to attend a conference. Is it primarily employers paying for employees to go?
    Easy tax write off for companies. It's an excuse for a day off.

According to that rag the Indo Twitter users were up in arms at RTE for the "dreadful" interview. Personally I think Sharon went easy on them, Daire just got tripped up by the spin and ****e they had been feeding the media for the last few months since the Portugal announcement!.

gandalf wrote: »
    According to that rag the Indo Twitter users were up in arms at RTE for the "dreadful" interview.

Yesterday the Indo were slating WS over the food. They need to figure out what side of the fence they're on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

According to that rag the Indo Twitter users were up in arms at RTE for the "dreadful" interview. Personally I think Sharon went easy on them, Daire just got tripped up by the spin and ****e they had been feeding the media for the last few months since the Portugal announcement!.

Adrian 'ride me paddy Cosgrave' Weckler has his hand in that

What's Dreadful about asking why they want the Government to provide a company free stuff ? I mean who thinks Enda saying “how can I help” equates to some ridiculous wish list. Including stuff nothing to do with the Government, Like Wi-Fi, Hotels Free police outriders.

I think the hypocrisy of do as we say and not as we do is becoming very apparent from the organisers of this event.