Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Web Summit quits Dublin

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 40,673 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

smash wrote: »
    I'm still seeing posts on Facebook about how great the Web Summit is and how the government fcuked up and should do everything they can to bring it back. Some people still don't understand that it's not the governments fault that Web Summit are leaving Ireland.
    With respect, a lot of facebook postings on topical or political issues are made by gob****es!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Rattlehead_ie

kbannon wrote: »
    With respect, a lot of facebook postings on topical or political issues are made by gob****es!

and boards.ie is the height of high brow sophisticated repartee :p especially After Hours ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,370 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

kidneyfan wrote: »
    In a way we are all to blame.

We all partied.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭kidneyfan

Birneybau wrote: »
    We all partied.
    But not at the websummit unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Unshelved wrote: »
    Lisbon's ad for the Websummit - looks like they're pulling out all the stops!

https://www.facebook.com/Visitportugal/videos/10153778129346661/
    Choices 2.0.... I think I just puked up a bit.

But not at the websummit unfortunately.
    There was loads of partying done at the WS. The startups paid for it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Lol at the FB bigging it up, One of the biggest influential blahh blah. Sorry what was it 30k people ? Remind me again how many goto blizzcon for example delusional to say the least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Lol at the FB bigging it up, One of the biggest influential blahh blah. Sorry what was it 30k people ? Remind me again how many goto blizzcon for example delusional to say the least.

As much as I agree, what has a convention not in Ireland got to do with it

Synode wrote: »
    As much as I agree, what has a convention not in Ireland got to do with it
    The video states that the Web Summit is "one of the largest and most important technology and entrepreneurship events in the world" so conferences outside of Ireland do have something to do with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

The video states that the Web Summit is "one of the largest and most important technology and entrepreneurship events in the world" so conferences outside of Ireland do have something to do with it.

Fair enough, comparable conferences do. But BlizzCon and Web Summit are not comparable in my opinion. Two different animals altogether

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Ctrl Alt Delete

Thank fook today is last day and we will never hear of this gouging event again

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Fleawuss wrote: »
    So you have no problem with their business model, just their pr
    model?

Their business model was to move to Portugal so they could make more money there, so as a business decision it made sense for them. I have no issue with them moving there to maximise their profits, thats the nature of the game after all. I don't think anybody was blaming them for moving IIRC.

It was everything that came after that that people had the problem with. The diva tantrums, blaming the government for problems that he could fix himself etc. Basically he tried to control the narrative to make sure his brand still looked good in Ireland, and it backfired. It wasn't so much PR as it was kamikaze mission on his own brands reputation.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

We should get Paddy strapped into a chair and let Vinny B at him for an hour.

Ah c'mon now, in between Vinny muttering and ranting not to mention all the ad breaks we would have maybe five minutes of actual conversation! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Well what have you done for the web summit? I've done nothing at all.

What are you on about? Why would I ever have a reason to do anything for it? That makes no sense at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

http://www.newstalk.com/WebSummit-2015:-The-food-vendors-speak-out

"I was told to provide 400 to 500 meals for each day. I prepared 500 meals for Tuesday's event and I only sold 94. So I threw out 406 meals because we offer high end produce and I will not give my customers two-day old food. We have suffered a big loss. It's cost me €2,500 per day. So overall I've lost €5,000."

mzungu wrote: »
    Ah c'mon now, in between Vinny muttering and ranting not to mention all the ad breaks we would have maybe five minutes of actual conversation! :D
    Yea, the ad breaks are beginning to really annoy me. Turned him on last night and there was a break after 3 and a half minutes.

Red Kev wrote: »
    The question is will Tubridy use it as a stick to beat the government with and go easy on him or will he take Cosgrave apart.

I'm in favour of a 'blood substitution' for the LLS. For the Cosgrave interview, get Tubridy off and put Sharon ni Bheautifulann or Sean O'Rourke on, to totally screw him over.

Bring a burger as evidence.

I think a case this big needs some international star quality to take the reins...is Oprah Winfrey available this Friday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Basically he tried to control the narrative to make sure his brand still looked good in Ireland, and it backfired. It wasn't so much PR as it was kamikaze mission on his own brands reputation.

Absolutely. He must be getting PR advice from Volkswagen.

I can't think of a worse idea than going on the Late Late, if he gets shirty (as he does so easily) it could actually finish him altogether. Tubbers will have a ton of ammunition that even he cant miss with. Once #paddythebrat becomes the story abroad, rather than the event itself, he will start to lose all his patronage.

You'd have to imagine the people who work full time for web summit are dismayed at the job their Chief is doing to destroy a good thing. If they have any sense they would have been tapping up some of the attendees for a job.

Yea, the ad breaks are beginning to really annoy me. Turned him on last night and there was a break after 3 and a half minutes.

Aye, and then the end credits start rolling pretty much straight after ad breaks every night. It makes for frustrating viewing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Rattlehead_ie

and it gets worse for him
    http://www.independent.ie/business/technology/web-summit/web-summit-organisers-refused-competitive-hotel-prices-to-deal-with-attendees-directly-ihf-34173090.html

Id think at this stage, the government will be happy to pay for the VIP escorts....of Paddy and Co to the Airport out of the country :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,370 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Noted Tech-Bod Dan Brown appearing today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Wow it's turning into a Train wreak. Wonder if Lisbon will see sense.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,603 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

I'm not in the tech sector at all but I've a shop in the south city and get to meet a lot of the attendees either in my shop or in the pubs in the evening.
    I've never heard anything more than a lukewarm review of the WS by paid up international visitors.
    But all have really loved the social and fun aspect that they get at night in the city. That's a unique environment that these people wouldn't often find themselves in.
    From my experience over the last few years my straw poll of about 50 people a year would say that the WS is hit and miss but being in a pub in Dublin in November with like minded people from all over the world was priceless.

Paddy's kinda like Professor Moriarty with a twist of Steve Jobs.

http://www.independent.ie/business/technology/web-summit/web-summit-organisers-refused-competitive-hotel-prices-to-deal-with-attendees-directly-ihf-34173090.html

Id think at this stage, the government will be happy to pay for the VIP escorts....of Paddy and Co to the Airport out of the country :p

I guess when your going to piss in the Governments Cornflakes you better make sure you have all your ducks in a row lest you look like a whining, petulant child a.k.a Paddy Cosgrave

The pics used in the article though... "Ryan Tubridy tries out the Samsung Gear VR Oculus Glasses at the Web Summit at the RDS."

I guess that's what we'll hear about on Friday night and not the story of how Paddy seems to have screwed over and mislead a lot of people.

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭Tivoli1300

HEAR Hear. So they refused a great deal for their clients from the IHF and instead bought up huge numbers of rooms with specific hotels at a mark down price. Then sold these on to the Web Summit punters at a huge profit and AT THE SAME TIME railed at government for not price fixing the hotels when they were directly responsible for the gouging. :eek:

I truly hope these people never set foot in this country again - I hope they are shamed and called out fully by the media - they make the worst of the developers look like alter boys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

Tubs should ensure that he gets to ask the questions people want answered and if Paddy is unwilling to agree to this he should be dropped at last minute in favour of a panel of food providers and other stall holders so that the viewing public can get a feel for what it really is like.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭Colonialboy

all this talk of foodgate is detracting from the tech thats solving our problems and making our daily lives better.

I came cross this Irish startup thats developed a fantastic app to improve Dublin traffic congestion and simultaneously improve Dublin hotel prices and rids the country of egits and can de-stress the user..

find out more at #websummitlisbon :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭wowy

The pics used in the article though... "Ryan Tubridy tries out the Samsung Gear VR Oculus Glasses at the Web Summit at the RDS."

I guess that's what we'll hear about on Friday night and not the story of how Paddy seems to have screwed over and mislead a lot of people.
    Frynge wrote: »
    Tubs should ensure that he gets to ask the questions people want answered and if Paddy is unwilling to agree to this he should be dropped at last minute in favour of a panel of food providers and other stall holders so that the viewing public can get a feel for what it really is like.

http://www.independent.ie/business/technology/web-summit/tubridy-on-web-summit-wars-ireland-is-a-nation-of-wing-clippers-and-paddy-has-fallen-foul-34173107.html

It looks like Tubridy might not be too hard on him....

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,109 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

wowy wrote: »

I never watch the late late but I was going to hoping that Tubridy would ask him some hard questions. Not gonna bother with it now though.

wowy wrote: »

I don't like the spin he's putting on it that people who have objections are just begrudgers. It's not the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

I don't like the spin he's putting on it that people who have objections are just begrudgers. It's not the case.

Probably the same begrudgers who complain about Tub's exorbitant salary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Seems pretty obvious now that the move to Lisbon had very little to do with facilities or government assistance and instead it's because Dublin businesses were becoming wise to Paddy's antics and he was encountering more and more resistance to getting things his way.

When you're a small business starting out looking for help, people will help. When you've been running a successful conference for five years and you're still going to government and business with the begging bowl out, people start to realise they're being hustled.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

Delighted they're gone. Fuck them.

Talking about Richard Bruton:
    he suggested there were other promoters lining up to take the Web Summit's place.

Close by, Web Summit co-founder Daire Hickey was lingering.

Asked afterwards what he thought of what the minister had to say about a possible replacement organiser for a similar event, he shrugged.

"I think it's very difficult to create something like this and I don't think many people can do that. It may be possible," he said, rather doubtfully.

http://www.independent.ie/business/technology/web-summit/nicola-anderson-at-web-summit-virtual-life-jostles-with-real-life-34172291.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭vintagecosmos

I heard on the Radio yesterday someone from the web summit staff saying that selling food at 20 euro they were making a loss of 10 euro. How does that work?

It doesn't. That's a lie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

tubridy is a sycophant cnut sucking up to websummit instead of asking the hard questions. what a c0ck.

nobody begrudges Cosgrove success , it's his manner and the manner he tried to shaft the government in PR stunt that has backfired that has annoyed people.

now the truth about it not being as great as it was made out to be is coming to light. It's not the messiah. end of.
    that begrudgery accusation is the last throw of the dice of a gob****e.

It's simple maths!

Cost €8 + Expected Profit €22 = €30
    Sale Price = €20
    Difference = €-10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭vintagecosmos

It doesn't. That's a lie.

Found an article on it here

http://www.irishmirror.ie/lifestyle/technology/web-summit-punters-paid-20-6762206

“To add insult to injury the organisers are charging them €20 for a meal that really costs €8. It’s disgraceful.”

The event is using a system of tokens that can be handed in for food at various stalls. Called Food Summit, it offers everything from steak
    sandwiches to Indian meals.

When contacted by the Irish Mirror, founder Paddy Cosgrave insisted it was not making any profit on the vouchers.

He explained the price difference only covers the cost of staging the Food Summit stalls. In a statement, he added: “Web Summit pays vendors €8 per meal but Web Summit makes no profit from the food sold.

“In fact, when costs of the Food Summit is taken into consideration, including venue rental, insurance, marquee build, electrics, staffing, security and site services, Web Summit makes a loss of approximately €10 per meal sold.”

kbannon wrote: »
    It's simple maths!

Cost €8 + Expected Profit €22 = €30
    Sale Price = €20
    Difference = €-10

I bought a euromillions ticket today
    Cost €4 + expected profit €100,000,000 = €100,000,004

If I don't win I'm so screwed. I'll be over €100m in the red!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

Found an article on it here

http://www.irishmirror.ie/lifestyle/technology/web-summit-punters-paid-20-6762206

“To add insult to injury the organisers are charging them €20 for a meal that really costs €8. It’s disgraceful.”

The event is using a system of tokens that can be handed in for food at various stalls. Called Food Summit, it offers everything from steak
    sandwiches to Indian meals.

When contacted by the Irish Mirror, founder Paddy Cosgrave insisted it was not making any profit on the vouchers.

He explained the price difference only covers the cost of staging the Food Summit stalls. In a statement, he added: “Web Summit pays vendors €8 per meal but Web Summit makes no profit from the food sold.

“In fact, when costs of the Food Summit is taken into consideration, including venue rental, insurance, marquee build, electrics, staffing, security and site services, Web Summit makes a loss of approximately €10 per meal sold.”

Do they build all the costs of staging the Web Summit into the meals?:pac:

Red_Wake wrote: »
    Do they build all the costs of staging the Web Summit into the meals?:pac:
    I suppose the attendees should eat for free! I know what response I'd get from you if I broke into your kitchen and sat down to dinner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,400 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

I suppose the attendees should eat for free! I know what response I'd get from you if I broke into your kitchen and sat down to dinner!

Who said that? They should be paying the same price for the food as they would if similar stalls were at food markets. Your actually justifying €20 for food that would normally cost €8?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭dloob

They did last year.
    Or to be more accurate they weren't expect to pay more on top of the few grand they had already given Paddy to attend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Their business model was to move to Portugal so they could make more money there, so as a business decision it made sense for them. I have no issue with them moving there to maximise their profits, thats the nature of the game after all. I don't think anybody was blaming them for moving IIRC.

It was everything that came after that that people had the problem with. The diva tantrums, blaming the government for problems that he could fix himself etc. Basically he tried to control the narrative to make sure his brand still looked good in Ireland, and it backfired. It wasn't so much PR as it was kamikaze mission on his own brands reputation.

Their business model is very clear at this stage from startups, hoteliers, food providers: naked aggressive capitalism and monetizing anything and everything. The PR fiasco lies in not being upfront about that. I wonder though about all the outrage: WS are no different in many respects from VW or all the other hyped up blow hard rip off companies we meet everyday. If this sorry episode opens eyes to the bs that company after company spouts, great. I just don't see a whole lot of difference between the antics of WS and the rest of them. Except maybe that they haven't been caught out, yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

So Web Summit are paying €30 per head to supply a burger and a bottle of water?

They are in their ringpiece. Other conferences could supply a 3-course meal for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

They had already paid a grand to attend. So not really free. If you gave him a grand to sit in his kitchen then he might not mind giving you dinner.

They have been eating for free. This is the first year they have been charging for meals