Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Web Summit quits Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,307 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

WarZ wrote: »
    Because he had the audacity to move from Dublin! He was vilified the moment he announced the move.

Not by the government though.

The reason people are pissed now is cus he is trying to place the blame onto the government and absolutely everyone of his reasons has been debunked proving it really was just about the money and the fact dublin isnt big enough for it anymore.

Hes a desperate egomaniac who cant stand not being adored

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Because he had the audacity to move from Dublin! He was vilified the moment he announced the move.

No, he vilified himself when he started releasing confidential emails asking for the state to do his job for him and lying through his teeth as he did it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Quite wrong. Initially people rallied behind him and railed against the government ; until the facts came out.

As has been said over and over again, he could have left with a whimper from the general public but he decided to try laying blame and it all backfired.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

The problem for viewers of the LLS is that Tubs will feel that he can relate to Paddy Cosgrave , 'persecuted talent' 'victims of begrudgery' and so on

To those that claim RTE is a puppet for the government you are simply showing your ignorance of Irish politics, RTE is loaded with stickies and FF heads, not sure they'd do the governments bidding

• Subscribers Posts: 16,592 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Web summit has a great deal going for it from the speaker and interesting ideas point of view. However they are running it as what appears to be quite a successful business model to make money, PR seems to be massively a problem for them, considering they are so incredibly bad at it for a business.

Last year, the slow handclap led on stage by the Cosgrove against their main suppliers wifi difficulties was childish and just plain sad and rude. I'd imagine RDS were delighted to see a lot of the same problem happen without a whisper onstage, similarly with the food thing. They tried to use it to make money and messed it up, creating a PR mess were previously there was a PR win, to try and make more money per visitor.

They get volunteer staff to do most of the customer facing work, live tweeting etc, during the day's and leave them foundering dealing with complaints, they get journalists to do free comperes etc on stage etc. Stories abound like the surf summit one above.

It's not a bad business model, but when you are charging a premium you need to be much better at PR, you aren't Ryanair were people will always come anyway. Tweeting out how you can't arrange meetings cos your passport has run out, but it's all the governments fault is just plain nutball stuff.
    They have chased money so much, that everything is packed and nobody can't really network or meet investors anymore.

They need to work hard on improving service, improving mix of attendees and basically learn how to act properly and decently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

Her wages are paid by RTE which is state TV. I find it funny how many here have no problem having pops at Tubridy for being the governments mouth piece but when it comes to Sharon then she's definitely not doing the same?

She was particularly aggressive in her interview in a way uncharacteristic for her and at a time when the government was shifting a lot of blame. It was less of an interview and more of attempt to portray WS in the worst light possible. I've no love lost for WS but some criticisms have been OTT and it's amazing how much influence the government can discreetly exert over the people. A few days ago the consensus was the government had made a massive mistake, now it's that Coagrave is a swindler. The truth is probably somewhere in between

If your theory is true, Tubridy will eviscerate Paddy on Friday.

I wouldn't hold my breath!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,667 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Paddy showed his through self last year when he openly attacked the RDS over the WIFI, very unprofessional. It's been downhill from there.

Has anyone ever being to a wedding where the hotel were lambasted rather than thanked during the speeches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

Surely there's some amount cocaine being consumed in all of this? How can someone have such insane hubris?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

ted1 wrote: »
    Paddy showed his through self last year when he openly attacked the RDS over the WIFI, very unprofessional. It's been downhill from there.

Has anyone ever being to a wedding where the hotel were lambasted rather than thanked during the speeches
    Paddy is the drunk bride whose wedding didn't go quite to its fairytale plan sobbing down the mic she just grabbed off the dj.......only this time, the maid of honour wasn't there to take her off the stage and get her a coffee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Funny, journalists on Twitter saying they're asked to talk at the web summit for free. Some ask to pay for their own flights. When you're asked the phone call begins with "great news, you've been chosen to speak at the web summit".
    Sounds like a complete con

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭flouncer

RIL (rest in Lisbon) web summit. Goodbye and good riddance. Go set your hotel rates and prices for burgers over there (they do serve burgers don't they? don't they?). Crap, we forgot to check that Paddy :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

mzungu wrote: »
    I don't think i've have ever seen Shaz that aggro in an interview before!

It made her more attractive tbh :)

Angry Sharon Rrraaaaaaarrrr!

Cienciano wrote: »
    Funny, journalists on Twitter saying they're asked to talk at the web summit for free. Some ask to pay for their own flights. When you're asked the phone call begins with "great news, you've been chosen to speak at the web summit".
    Sounds like a complete con

I don't think that many speakers are paid... Headliners perhaps, but most speakers I saw were plugging their own product/book/training or were trying to recruit. Barter most likely.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 40,367 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

mhge wrote: »
    I don't think that many speakers are paid... Headliners perhaps, but most speakers I saw were plugging their own product/book/training or were trying to recruit. Barter most likely.
    So the likes of Dan Brown only appeared to plug his book and isn't actually a tech wizard? :eek:

So what is Rio Ferdinand plugging then? Or is he an expert on Artificial Intelligence?

• Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭PolaroidPizza

disgusting attack my Ms Ni Bheolain of RTE on the summit organiser. Obviously told by the powers to be to make him sound like a baby throwing his toys out of the cot.
    No attempt to let him tell his story at all.

Good luck in Lisbon, there's no fear of the national media attacking you there for wanting to get the best deal for your customers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

mhge wrote: »

Well, ones on Twitter had nothing to plug and refused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,257 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

disgusting attack my Ms Ni Bheolain of RTE on the summit organiser. Obviously told by the powers to be to make him sound like a baby throwing his toys out of the cot.

Good luck in Lisbon, there's no fear of the national media attacking you there for wanting to get the best deal for your customers.

They needed no help sounding like spoilt children throwing a strop. And "best deal for their customers" - have you read this thread?

She went too easy on him. I can only imagine what a real interviewer like Jeremy Paxman would do to Daire and Paddy!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Haha, perfect end to it all really. The bould Paddy probably wanted to send Daire again! Don't think anyone would have predicted just how much of a show those two would make of themselves over the last week, but it's been great entertainment.

Once you create a news story and make it ultra political you are now in the proper journalism realm, where you will get torn a new one by any journalist worth their salt if you don't know what you are doing.

Tech journalists aren't generally real journos, just PR release and review people. It's a different ballgame dealing with any proper media, who are reasonably good at sniffing out absolute bull****. Which there was plenty of.

If they go to Portugal and start releasing emails complaining about everything because they can't run their own affairs properly they will be torn apart by local media also.

It's laughable to manage to massively lose a PR battle with a poor government who were already on back foot.
    The attempt to go for the throat pre the summit turned a very bad news story for government into almost a win.

If they had just acted normally and gone on with their business then the story all week would have been about failing to keep them and the woolly answers from government. No-one would have heard about the details of their crazy demands, or believed the behind the scenes leaks.

The government must have been laughing their heads of at the amateur hour ****e. The opposition must have been stunned.

LOL all they need to do now is tell Adrian Weckler that "its not us it's you" to finish burning their Irish bridges.

What a pack of absolute jokers!

Can't wait for the Movie version of this story with Seth Rogan as PC :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,660 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

gandalf wrote: »

A chair with a twenty euro burger on it ...

Absolutely spineless is the bould Paddy.

Oh ffs, agrees to two interviews, chickens out of both. Worse than Enda, at least he chickens out in advance of agreeing to them!

There was a reasonable chance of an easy ride and a way to rise above the bad PR and come across as not a total ahole. Although maybe he planned more random attacks on everyone and PR people convinced him not too. Who knows. Total amateur hour stuff.

You another one of paddys volunteers asked to do media stuff?

Ryan Tubridy must be delighted to be shown the finger after all the fawning over creative Paddy and his cojones he did earlier today!

copacetic wrote: »
    Oh ffs, agrees to two interviews, chickens out of both. Worse than Enda, at least he chickens out in advance of agreeing to them!

There was a reasonable chance of an easy ride and a way to rise above the bad PR and come across as not a total ahole. Although maybe he planned more random attacks on everyone and PR people convinced him not too. Who knows. Total amateur hour stuff.

The shenanigans of the past couple of weeks would lead me to believe that he doesn't have any pr people employed, or if he does, they should be sacked post haste.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭kidneyfan

The shenanigans of the past couple of weeks would lead me to believe that he doesn't have any pr people employed, or if he does, they should be sacked post haste.
    It isn't an employment based model. It is called volentrepreneurship. Unfortunately the begrudgers resent Paddy keeping all the money for himself and not paying staff.

This country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

On his radio show this am, Ryan Tubridy said Paddy Cosgrove would be on the LLS.

What happened that he is not going on now???!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Gareth Keenan

just back in from my first time at WS. Overall I enjoyed it, a couple of observations

- I like the 20 minute slots, most speakers really don't have that much to say that can't be covered in 20 minutes, ideal attention span for the techie audience as well, most of whom had screens on during the talks.
    - Some great content, some so-so, mix of genuine enthusiasts for their field, and poorly disguised product shills.
    - i did 18000 steps on the first day (8.8 miles), got blisters and wore trainers for the next 2 days, similar distances covered between Simmonscourt, the main hall, and Herbert Park.
    - you are all millenials
    - food - bought the €50 tickets for myself and a colleague on Monday. Was told at the time it was for a meal. Had in my my mind that it would be a sit down/buffet yoke as per every other tech conference I've been as. Completely underwhelmed on Tuesday. Weds things picked up a bit as some vendors were doling out double portions for a ticket, and taking cash (against the regulations). Today I got talking to one vendor who told me that they were getting 7 euro a meal (not 8), and were charged €2,000 for the pitch as well. From a customer POV the €20 (or €16.67 really) was good value today, main portion, side, water, crisps and dessert with a coffee and muffin (the muffin was refused, all this walking won't shift that).
    - wifi was largely OK. Lost signal a couple of times but it came back when I tried again. LTE was available everywhere. WS were tweeting people asking to turn of their hotspots as this may have been causing connectivity problems.
    - what was with all the Norn iron bouncers?
    - hotels - my colleague booked a hotel through the WS site a few months ago - £99 per night for the Royal Marine in Dun Laoghaire, which to my mind is an excellent deal. Not sure why all the moaning about hotel prices (from WS initially, and also following the emergence of today's from the IHF).
    - free buses - got one from the WS into town on Tuesday, thanks for that
    - traffic mgt - Merrion Road was awful most afternoons, particularly today. But during the days the traffic seemed to move easily enough around the RDS including Simmonscourt and Anglesea Roads.
    - Night summit - went through Fade St on Monday, was rammed, but nothing worse than a summer's night. Declined Coppers on Tuesday, had a prior yesterday and feet up tonight
    - Surf - nope
    - VIP escorts - nice German reg Audis with WS logos abounded, much better than sitting on the back of a Garda bike

I'd go to it again if it was in Dublin but won't travel to Lisbon - I don't think the content is special enough to warrant the trip, especially if the content appears on youtube (2015's is supposed to).

Anyway, as you were.

kidneyfan wrote: »
    It isn't an employment based model. It is called volentrepreneurship. Unfortunately the begrudgers resent Paddy keeping all the money for himself and not paying staff.

This country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Well he's made at least one good PR move by turning down the invitation to appear on the LLS. Clearly somebody isn't afraid to give Paddy some home truths and advised him that an appearance on the LLS would be a disaster for him.

Well, Irish begrudgery wins again.
    We had someone who was doing something that would benefit the people of Ireland and we do our best to ridicule him to the point that he declines the opportunity to have it discussed and fleshed out on national TV as if he had some ulterior motive.

Paddy is a hero for highlighting the issue of Catholic schools!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

seamus wrote: »
    Well he's made at least one good PR move by turning down the invitation to appear on the LLS. Clearly somebody isn't afraid to give Paddy some home truths and advised him that an appearance on the LLS would be a disaster for him.

Which is a shame :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

kbannon wrote: »
    We had someone who was doing something that would benefit the people of Ireland and we do our best to ridicule him to the point that he declines the opportunity to have it discussed and fleshed out on national TV as if he had some ulterior motive.

Whut?

seamus wrote: »

I'd say it was more likely that the LLS refused to allow scripted questions.

Ush1 wrote: »
    Whut?
    Forgot my sarcasm smiley

Ush1 wrote: »
    Whut?

I detect sarcasm from his post ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭redman85

just back in from my first time at WS. Overall I enjoyed it, a couple of observations

- I like the 20 minute slots, most speakers really don't have that much to say that can't be covered in 20 minutes, ideal attention span for the techie audience as well, most of whom had screens on during the talks.

One thing that annoyed me was the lack of a break between talks, the speakers were literally passing the mic to the next speaker. Meanwhile, half the room is on the move to the next talk or the toilet, must be very distracting for the speakers.

Heres the picture of the result of Paddy Cosgraves PR blitz this week!

http://benza.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/Burning-Bridge.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,345 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

humberklog wrote: »
    I'm not in the tech sector at all but I've a shop in the south city and get to meet a lot of the attendees either in my shop or in the pubs in the evening.
    I've never heard anything more than a lukewarm review of the WS by paid up international visitors.
    But all have really loved the social and fun aspect that they get at night in the city. That's a unique environment that these people wouldn't often find themselves in.
    From my experience over the last few years my straw poll of about 50 people a year would say that the WS is hit and miss but being in a pub in Dublin in November with like minded people from all over the world was priceless.

Paddy's kinda like Professor Moriarty with a twist of Steve Jobs.

Most of the "success" of the Summit was due to the piss ups. Getting hammered can help you forget that you (your boss) paid a grand to see a desperate housewife speak at a tech conference.

They don't have the same drinking culture in Lisbon, it'll be harder to avoid remembering the event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭delahuntv

kbannon wrote: »

I'd be a champion of calling out begrudery but not om this one.

For once its nothing to do with begrudery but someone with an utterly massive ego who got lucky with an event but then thinks he's god.

No, this is one hell of an ego trip and in the fashion of Sinn Fein he simply targets different issues to deflect from massive shortcomings of the event management.

Remember tickets cost €1245, a basic lunch in a wrapping cost €20 and his whining on hotels don't add up as just last week you could get Jury's inn for €159 for last night.

PARlance wrote: »
    Most of the "success" of the Summit was due to the piss ups. Getting hammered can help you forget that you (your boss) paid a grand to see a desperate housewife speak at a tech conference.

LOL my boss dragged us to that last year as well. It's crazy watching a 40 something year old behaving like a drooling teenager :P

(BTW he is younger than me)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Ah now, he did that all by himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭Rabo Karabekian

delahuntv wrote: »
    I'd be a champion of calling out begrudery but not om this one.

Agree, 100%. A lot of people throw around the word 'begrudgery' whenever there's any criticism of anybody successful. It's just a different way at shutting down debate without getting into any of all that difficult discussion process. The other argument (if you're getting sucked into the comments section on the journal) is that if you're not 100% behind Cosgrave, you are clearly a shill for the government.

The guy is clearly not used to dealing with this level of public scrutiny, his arguments about hotel prices show a worrying lack of knowledge about capitalism 101 (worrying because he's an apparently successful businessman) and issues about transport are not going to get solved before his next summit (unless he was to, oh, I don't know, hire some private buses to get people there and back). If the opening night was anything to go by, you're going to get a whole lot of muddled presentations by speakers who don't know how to speak in public, very little about the tech aspect of things, and when they do talk about tech, it's overladen with buzz words (if I never hear the phrase 'angel investor' again, it won't come soon enough).

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Heres the picture of the result of Paddy Cosgraves PR blitz this week!

http://benza.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/Burning-Bridge.jpg

For a week that should have been....

2014-10-24_bus_4145863_I1.JPG

ends up being like this.....
    hqdefault.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭delahuntv

Maybe check how many people / companies worked with WS in 2013 and not 2014 and then how many of those worked with WS this year.

His dissed the hotels, he dissed taxi's, he dissed restaurants (that's laughable with his €20 burger) he dissed the media, he dissed gov agencies, and now has decided not to do lls.

Btw - check hotel prices in lisbon for 9th nov 2016!!!!! Ouch!!!

Oh, yeah. Forgot, if you left booking WS tickets to the last month, he charged €1245!!!!!!

Not THAT'S price gouging.

PARlance wrote: »

They don't have the same drinking culture in Lisbon, it'll be harder to avoid remembering the event.

By all accounts the real business is done over a couple of pints well away from the night summits, lisbon is gonna have a very different culture that will find it hard to replicate that

• Registered Users Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭Crimsonforce

This cosgrove guy got too big for his boots.

He didn't invent facebook or something like Dropbox, he did an exhibition, an EXHIBITION.