Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drink driving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

Why are you dragging the thread of topic PP?

Nate

because he was equally in the wrong as the drink driver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭Monkeysgomad

definitely not for serious ones like drink driving or driving without a licence

anything else, no Im pretty sure I havent.

What a ridiculous post trying to defend someone driving illegally

Sorry but I do have a license. A lot of learners drive alone. You can't have someone with you 24/7. My cousin has done it for 3 years and never been caught. Has she crashed ? No. Has she killed someone? No. Has she ran over someone? No.

thats illegal to be doing so. There is a reason why its illegal.

Drivers like you make me sick. Get a licence and drive legally. If not get off the road.

Hopefully someone driving legally will report BOTH you and the drink driver

I have my learners license, I pay my insurance, I pay for diesel in the car and road tax. Just like everyone else. So I will stay on the road thank you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

definitely not for serious ones like drink driving or driving without a licence

anything else, no Im pretty sure I havent.

What a ridiculous post trying to defend someone driving illegally

Didn't defend anyone.

I asked have you broken any driving laws. So you see fit to chose what laws to break, while telling another they sicken you for moving parents car in a car park. The reality is, you are looking for the mob appreciation often sought on boards.

good logic. Has the drink driver killed anyone? I presume not too

What you are doing is illegal and wrong. You dont have a full licence so you are not entitled to drive on your own.

I hope you get reported and if I had your details I would report you.

Well then why didn't you report it there and then? Why are you on your high horse with this poster when you admitted at the time the only thing that concerned you was that she didn't scratch the beemer. The bang of troll off this thread though. I doubt very much AGS send letters to drink drivers asking them to refrain from drinking and driving.

Well, if you were sitting in your car and a car started erratically driving towards you, would you just sit there ? No you would move your car. Don't be so foolish

How come you weren't at school OP

My year was gone on a religious retreat. I'm not a practicing Catholic, therefore had the day off.

Bruthal wrote: »
    Didn't defend anyone.

I asked have you broken any driving laws. So you see fit to chose what laws to break, while telling another they sicken you for moving parents car in a car park. The reality is, you are looking for the mob appreciation often sought on boards.

I said im pretty sure I havent. As in I dont believe I have broken any laws whilst driving. Not hard really to understand?

Im not looking for any appreciation , especially as I cant stick 99% of the forummers on here

No I wasn't. I had my accompanying driver with me. I have tax, insurance and my learners license. I broke no rules

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭hdowney

bear1 wrote: »
    Tbh **** the car at that stage, that's what insurance is for. The moment I would have seen her skull a 375ml of vodka and head for her car id be out like a shot to remove her keys and call the police.
    As you said it would have been full.of kids but the car not being damaged was more important? I can kind of understand that especially as a new driver but in the future that's what you need to do.
    A kids like is worth more than a piece of metal.

Um tis quite unlikely the drink driver managed to secure insurance after being banned/or even bothered. so who's insurance will pay out?

Why are you dragging the thread of topic PP?

Nate

I had my accompanying driver with me. I have tax, insurance and my learners license. I broke no rules

Observation isn't great there, not great for driving...... She.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

hdowney wrote: »
    Um tis quite unlikely the drink driver managed to secure insurance after being banned/or even bothered. so who's insurance will pay out?

MIBI.

good logic. Has the drink driver killed anyone? I presume not too

What you are doing is illegal and wrong. You dont have a full licence so you are not entitled to drive on your own.

I hope you get reported and if I had your details I would report you.

Well it's just as well you don't have them.
    I had my L signs up, had my accompanying driver so I did no wromg

I had my accompanying driver with me. I have tax, insurance and my learners license. I broke no rules

Still sounds like you were in charge of the car unaccompanied. Anyone trying to compare that with someone pissed on Vodka needs a bit of a reality check.

I bet you follow every law out there too. Never broke a speed limit or anything.

you admitted you did break the law :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Sorry but I do have a license. A lot of learners drive alone. You can't have someone with you 24/7. My cousin has done it for 3 years and never been caught. Has she crashed ? No. Has she killed someone? No. Has she ran over someone? No.

I learned to drive in 06 and they weren't strict at all about unaccompanied L drivers but they changed the law now and as far as I know, are pretty strict enforcing it.

It doesn't matter if it's not possible to have someone with you all the time (I wouldn't have been able to drive as much if that was law when I was learning) but it is the law, and just because it suits you to decide it isn't an important law doesn't make you right.
    Apply for your test, and get your licence and its a weight off then, you can go where you like on your own schedule and you won't know yourself, great freling having so much freedom and independence

Still sounds like you were in charge of the car unaccompanied. Anyone trying to compare that with someone pissed on Vodka needs a bit of a reality check.

Well my mother was in the shop. I was sitting in a parked car. I had no other choice to move back. As stated above I doubt she would have insurance after being banned for so long.

I learned to drive in 06 and they weren't strict at all about unaccompanied L drivers but they changed the law now and as far as I know, are pretty strict enforcing it.

It doesn't matter if it's not possible to have someone with you all the time (I wouldn't have been able to drive as much if that was law when I was learning) but it is the law, and just because it suits you to decide it isn't an important law doesn't make you right.
    Apply for your test, and get your licence and its a weight off then, you can go where you like on your own schedule and you won't know yourself, great freling having so much freedom and independence

I only have my license three months cannot apply until r 6 months is up.

Well my mother was in the shop. I was sitting in a parked car. I had no other choice to move back. As stated above I doubt she would have insurance after being banned for so long.

You will have to get used to the holier than thou posters. No shortage of them. And fantasy land ones. They will do the same as anyone else in real life. But condemn it on boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭bmwguy

Don't you dare compare me to a drunk driver. I have control over the car and am aware of what's going on. She had no clue. I may not have 10 years of experience but I was not drunk so do not compare me to one.

Don't mind power pants. The internet brings out keyboard warriors that like to hide behind computers and say things they would be too afraid to say to your face. Muppetry of the highest order. Good on you for trying to make a difference and report her monkey

The law hasn't changed they just have the option of enforcing it now by Fixed Penalty. Previously, like cyclists, (Oh no he ditint :P) they had to go to court and spend half a day there to prosecute people.

Who the feck didn't drive unaccompanied on there permit/provisional? I know I did. I know barristers on circuit who did. It doesn't make it right of course. That said OP there does seem to be a massive bonus of passing your test you get a massive high horse to ride around on! (Not directed at you Lexir - I quoted you ref the law)

bmwguy wrote: »
    Don't mind power pants. The internet brings out keyboard warriors that like to hide behind computers and say things they would be too afraid to say to your face. Muppetry of the highest order. Good on you for trying to make a difference and report her monkey

Thank you. Seem to be getting a lot of hate today. I only put this up to try and see if it would be worth going in about and all this happens! No ones perfect

dont mind you,muppetry post yourself.

good on the op for breaking the law whilst reporting someone for similar

It was not similar. I had my accompanying driver I did not break the law.

You're still covered. MIBI is still there. The part I agree with is that metal v people - it's people every time. (Unless its the scumbag throwing stones at my shed - run them over!)

While I don't want to join the high horse brigade you've mentioned there were children around, it was an emergency situation and you've only just got your permit. This is exactly why you should not be left in charge of a car unaccompanied. What if you made a mistake and ploughed into someone?

As I say trying to equate that with a drunk driver is ridiculous but OP there are some differing points of view here on the subject that are all equally as valid.

Thank you. Seem to be getting a lot of hate today. I only put this up to try and see if it would be worth going in about and all this happens! No ones perfect

It's just the one person, don't worry about it. It's not reality in here the way people go on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Who the feck didn't drive unaccompanied on there permit/provisional? I know I did.

I didn't. And it was highly inconvenient. Haven't met a single other person who could say the same.

Kind of annoying when people try make it seem like they're entitled to break that rule though. Just admit that you're breaking the law instead of making it seem like its a god given right to drive illegally on a learner permit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Well, if you were sitting in your car and a car started erratically driving towards you, would you just sit there ? No you would move your car. Don't be so foolish

Look, any driver with driving experience has most likely had a narrow escape on the road. It's a horrible fright to get and the weird thing is it's like fight or flight, reflexes kick in. I remember going to work one morning, out in the suburbs , (speed limit was 100km on that stretch ) when AT THE VERY LAST SECOND some stupid bitch swung her car out of a side road front of me.

I'll admit, in that exact moment, the guards was the last thing from my mind. I swung the car out onto the other side of the road, into the path of an oncoming jeep. I think the driver knew I was going to do that before I did it (I had nowhere else to go) and he mounted the grass verge/ditch and I flew out between the car and the jeep. Then I braked, and stopped, and I was shaking like a leaf, I actually thought I was about to take a heart attack. The car that just caused the commotion overtook me and as they drove past me, the man in the passenger seat put his hand up as if to say sorry. I drove on behind them and saw that they had just pulled in at a playschool and she had two little kids out of the car at this stage.

That made me worse, I couldn't stop replaying what had just happened. Another few seconds, and I would have smashed straight into the side of her car and her with two little toddlers in the back seat. to this day I still feel sick thinking about it.

Of course I jumped out of the car, I could barely get the words out I was so upset and I'm like I could have killed your kids what the ****?? She was laughing, telling me to calm down. Said she was sorry about it but she was running late and was in a hurry and I was completely consumed with the fact I almost killed the two kids standing in front of me, she was laughing it off saying "but you didn't, it's fine. Your fine. Everyone's fine".

Still shaking, and late for work, I went straight down to the garda station with her reg number and reported her. I made a statement and signed it too. I don't know whatever happened, but I hope they threw the book at her.

I'd love for the OP to crash into you and knocks you off that high horse you rode in here on.

Seriously, leave the girl alone she is a 17 year old wondering about the right thing to do. I drove unaccompanied on my provisional, I break speed limits from time to time too. So do most others. You must go around disgusted all day every day so

I didn't. And it was highly inconvenient. Haven't met a single other person who could say the same.

Kind of annoying when people try make it seem like they're entitled to break that rule though. Just admit that you're breaking the law instead of making it seem like its a god given right to drive illegally on a learner permit.

Agreed, but to be fair it's a stupid law here.

Most people break it and there is bugger all enforcement. We'd be better off admitting it happens, adjusting insurance of anyone with a named provisional on it and putting in conditions like they do in the US. If a 15 year old can drive over there with much busier roads I don't really see why a 17/18 year old can't here. That said, point taken the law is the law.

Well you pick and chose which laws are OK to break. Speeding is obviously not one of them on horseback.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

That's what I said, but they quickly replied that they don't have the resources for it.

FFS. And there chaffeuring bloody fine Gael politicians and there wife's to airports with no questions asked!

OP one last point before I go as I've had my entertainment quota from this thread and I really need to get on...

Cars/Driving changes people! I know being behind the wheel changes me, you just have to be aware of it. DO NOT STOP ASKING QUESTIONS!

When you do ask a question, especially here you are going to get 80% of very helpful replies, some right some wrong legally. There will be 10% bonkers people and about 10% of what I like to call the 'No one but me brigade'. These are the morons who suggest you hand you licence in because you asked a question or made a mistake. They are of course the perfect drivers, who (in their mind) never make a mistake AKA dangerous asshats.

If you keep asking questions, ignore the assholes and realise you'll always be learning you'll do fine and don't lets a small minority destroy your confidence. Lexie's post is an excellent one, that kind of thing is going to happen and that's the only reason drivers need experience. When the **** hits the fan it's going to be your monkey brain that takes over and that's why you need practice, practice, practice until it becomes instinct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

I'm a girl to start with. Also I don't want a child ran over and killed by a drunk driver. I had a friend killed by one and it is the worst thing anyone could go through, knowing it could be prevented if they didn't drive the car.
    This was the end of school time at 3pm in a local shop where children would go after school. The chnace of her hitting one is very high.
    Do you think she should not be reported ? How would you feel if a drunk diver killed your mother/father/brother or sister. Cop on with your remarks in future.

I had a friend killed by a learner driving by themselves. They had always been driving by themselves so never had anyone correct them in situations of dangerous driving practices that they were completely oblivious to. I'd be almost as concerned about that drunk lady behind the wheel as I would you, as a solo learner to be honest.

As in I dont believe I have broken any laws whilst driving.
    Not hard really to understand?

Fantasy land rubbish.

I had a friend killed by a learner driving by themselves. They had always been driving by themselves so never had anyone correct them in situations of dangerous driving practices that they were completely oblivious to. I'd be almost as concerned about that drunk lady behind the wheel as I would you, as a solo learner to be honest.

Most people are killed by licenced drivers.

Really bloody sorry to hear that and sorry if the following seems insensitive - but how many middle aged people who've been driving for years would now be suffering from the same issue? Granted I suppose they are dangerous with experience as opposed to dangerous and inexperienced.

The solution to both is enforcement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Jesus. wrote: »
    bought a bottle of vodka and necked the whole of it there and then, she's clearly a lunatic.

Not a lunatic, just someone with a bad drink problem. OP if your every unlucky enough to be in that situation again, ring the Gardai straight away, they will act.

I was crashed into by an opel corsa. Ban opel corsas immediately. I'd love to see the stats on licenced v unlicensed drivers involved in fatalities. Bet the vast majority were licenced.

I provided one instance above. It was in the media but the focus of learner driver driving alone was minimal in the reports. Popular local gaelic football player killed because somebody thought they were experienced enough to drive by themselves. But because of nobody in the car with them while still learning, there was nobody to correct bad habits which could lead to dangerous driving. In this case the driver was in the wrong lane on a large roundabout. Would have been fine a smaller 3 exit one. But due to lack of experience they went into the wrong one and when exiting they crossed a lane they shouldn't have. And in the process went straight into the side of the minivan. My friend died in the back seat while his mother was driving. I've a huge grievance with learner drivers thinking they are experienced enough to drive by themselves. Reality is they are not. The law is in place for a reason.

I was crashed into by an opel corsa. Ban opel corsas immediately. I'd love to see the stats on licenced v unlicensed drivers involved in fatalities. Bet the vast majority were licenced.

Was the opel corsa on the road when it shouldn't have been?

It's an Opel Corsa, like Micras they should never be on the roads.

This thread is just too good for me to stay away :(

Really bloody sorry to hear that and sorry if the following seems insensitive - but how many middle aged people who've been driving for years would now be suffering from the same issue? Granted I suppose they are dangerous with experience as opposed to dangerous and inexperienced.

The solution to both is enforcement.

I agree the solution to both is enforcement. I work in law enforcement. Not in Ireland but I've seen the effects of fatal road crashes in my previous position. Any instance of where somebody is behind the wheel when they shouldn't be really irks me. Young and only learning or middle aged or old and still have bad driving practices because they were never corrected.

From my times back in Ireland very few rules of the road seem to be enforced. I've rarely seen a police presence on the roads. The story I provided is one that I personally know of. And relevant to OP's comments in this thread. But it's not turned into an agenda or crusade about drivers that fit the description of the one the caused the fatal collision in my story. I'm against any driver driving in situations where they should not be.

I provided one instance above. It was in the media but the focus of learner driver driving alone was minimal in the reports. Popular local gaelic football player killed because somebody thought they were experienced enough to drive by themselves. But because of nobody in the car with them while still learning, there was nobody to correct bad habits which could lead to dangerous driving. In this case the driver was in the wrong lane on a large roundabout. Would have been fine a smaller 3 exit one. But due to lack of experience they went into the wrong one and when exiting they crossed a lane they shouldn't have. And in the process went straight into the side of the minivan. My friend died in the back seat while his mother was driving. I've a huge grievance with learner drivers thinking they are experienced enough to drive by themselves. Reality is they are not. The law is in place for a reason.

Wrong lanes on roundabouts is far from limited to the inexperienced.

Most people are killed by licenced drivers.

True. Some however are licenses that are not valid for certain uses of the road.

Wrong lanes on roundabouts is far from limited to the inexperienced.

Never said it wasn't. We don't really have them here in the US. So when I'm in Ireland they can be a learning experience for me. I've ended up in the wrong lane. But due to my experience I was aware of such and continued on around it rather than driving across another lane potentially cutting somebody up.

It's difficult to solely point to the learner or inexperienced driver as a contributing factor towards accidents when the same accident could be caused by some terrible driver that has been driving for 10+ years. You'd need to also look at why they are terrible drivers. Is it because they never learned correctly in the beginning? Or a once off lack of judgement? Tiredness? Etc. But one thing missing from that situation is most likely a learner permit. It's an extra layer that can be quantifiable as a contributing factor.

True. Some however are licenses that are not valid for certain uses of the road.

Most accidents are driver error. Most hold valid licences.

Posts posted suggested particular learner permit accidents were caused purely because they were inexperienced non licence holders.

Anyone who drives a car, no matter how great and qualified, poses risk to others. While learner drivers should be accompanied for sure, any driver accompanied might be a little safer when accompanied by another experienced driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭fineso.mom

"went to them about what happened yesterday and they said she has been sent letters warning her not to drive after receiving reports, however they need to catch her themselves. They need proff in other words."

"It's getting very out of hand and the guard did say there were multiple reports about her. So I think they will try and do something"

Is that normal practise? I mean that if you go to report someone the guards will tell you about their dealings with the alleged offender?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

the guards are well within their rights to tell you that your information matches up with other alleged claims i.e. that there were multiple reports of a similar nature in recent times.