Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best surf in Ireland?

Options
  • 27-09-2015 5:54pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭

I was in lahinch this weekend and left disappointed due to the lack of waves, this is the third time its happened...I am a beginner but can still handle big size waves..Can anyone recommend anywhere else? I've given up on Lahinch.

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭fuerte1976

Lahinch can be really good in the right conditions. You need to understand the swell conditions, direction and tides to make the most of a trip to any beach or reef break.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

fuerte1976 wrote: »
    Lahinch can be really good in the right conditions. You need to understand the swell conditions, direction and tides to make the most of a trip to any beach or reef break.

i have probably been spoilt, having spent time on the gold coast in oz

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭Low Pockets

Opps.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Stealthfins

It all depends on if you're looking for slabs,point breaks or beach breaks...

Clare,Sligo and Donegal have the best of both worlds.

I think you're hitting Lahinch at the wrong times, Cornish has a great wave.

You need a westerly or south west swell of 4 foot plus, along with a 14 second plus period between each wave,combined with offshore or glassy conditions.

Magicseaweed or Surfforecast are usually ok 4 or 5 stars....

It all depends on if you're looking for slabs,point breaks or beach breaks...

Clare,Sligo and Donegal have the best of both worlds.