Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Smart Watch/Sports Watch

Options
  • 28-09-2015 2:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭

Hi

I have started running and actually really liking it. At the moment I am just using Map my Run/May my Walk on iphone and have Mi Fit but not very accurate so looking for something better. As I am just new to this I don't want to end up spending a fortune. My friend showed me a garmin, no idea what make/etc but just he can track running etc but I think he paid well over 100 for it.....

I bought the Mi Fit via Geekbuying and they have some options which are no name Chinese type brands. Something like the below: http://www.geekbuying.com/item/U80-Bluetooth-Smart-Wrist-Watch-Notification-Sedentary-Remind-for-Android-iPhone-4-4S-5-5S-Samsung-S4-Note-3---Black-341827.html

Are these any good or just a waste of money?

Where is best to start? Do any of these track you cycling as well? I do a good bit of cycling but running now most of the time.....

Thanks

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

There are plenty of free apps that you can use until you figure out what you actually need.

The big benefit of a purpose built watch is that it saves phone battery life primarily but also that the GPS accuracy is generally better with the watches. Try out Strava, Polar Beat or stick with Map My Run. Some of the apps like Polar Beat will integrate with a future watch purchase. Strava and the like will accept data from most of the watches too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Redgirl82

AKW wrote: »