Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin City Marathon 2015

• Closed Accounts Posts: 975 ✭✭✭uvox

Interesting story from the IT on the Marathon (and a thankful one too): Chance a fine thing as marathon runner saves woman’s life : http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/chance-a-fine-thing-as-marathon-runner-saves-woman-s-life-1.2408484#.VjDvCFM664g.twitter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

Those results are screwed up. All our (Tallaght's) 0-50's listed on 0-35 teams.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,405 ✭✭✭fletch

snailsong wrote: »
    Anybody run with the 3:10 pacers? I was trying to pace myself to 3:10 with negative splits. Missed it by a little, 3:10:47. Thought I might get sight of them near the finish.
    I ran with them right up until 24 miles. One of them lost their balloon on Kimmage Road (I think) but a look at a picture from the home stretch on Merrion Road shows 2 pacers with balloons still attached.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

fletch wrote: »
    I ran with them right up until 24 miles. One of them lost their balloon on Kimmage Road (I think) but a look at a picture from the home stretch on Merrion Road shows 2 pacers with balloons still attached.

Dublin Runner with the pink gloves :)

• Registered Users Posts: 434 ✭✭tomred1N

tomred1N wrote: »
    Can someone add me in. I'm on the way!

Pb 3:19:30

on a very good day 3:10:01

Runners: tbc
    Asics ds trainers or my last ever pair of 2170's

Actual 3:14:42
    runners Asics 2170 ( going back in storage !! )

Started with 3:10 pacers but readjusted after 3 miles as I felt pace was too hot for how I was feeling. Got back to within a minute of them at mile 19 but the hill and the wind up clonskeagh took its toll. Happy enough to have broken 3:15 and more confident about breaking 3:10 next time. Time to try a flat one maybe but I really enjoy the atmosphere in Dublin before during and after.

I can't add myself to that table but if someone knows how throw me up for the record.

• Registered Users Posts: 437 ✭✭dintbo

Bib No.| Username | PB | Predicted Time | Actual Time | Shoe
    6279|Abhainn|2:36:21|2:59:29|2:59:38|Mizuno Hitogami 2
    |TRR|2:34:28|2:59:28|
    |Conavitzky|N/A|2:59:59|2:54:32|Skechers Go Run Ride 3
    |Lex Luther|2:58:56|3:02:59|
    2032|vanderlyle|N/A|3:19:59|3:18:02|Saucony Omni 12
    5814|Mr Freeze|3:49:33|3:29:59|3:34:02|Brooks Ravenna 6
    1425|chavezychavez|3:13:14|3:09:59|3:08:08|Asics GT2000-3
    |robinph|2:49:44|3:19:43|3:02:38
    8704|diego_b|N/A|4:05:00|4:12:54|Saucony Ride 7
    |MacSwifty|3:20.23|3:28:59|3:31:24 |Saucony Echelon 5
    |eyeball kid|N/A|4:29:59|4:19:56|Mizuno Wave Inspire 10
    |Averagejoe123|3.27.20|3:09:59|
    6418|singer|N/A|3:33:33|3:32:03 - gun time 3:33:33!!!|Brooks Ravenna 6
    |netmann|3:50:01|3:45:00|3:50:57|Saucony Triumph 11
    |Kissy Lips|3:04:08|3:45:00|3:35:28
    |MrMacPhisto|3:06:01|2:54:59|3:00:56|
    |jahaco|3:07:22|2:59:59|
    |slow_runner|4:10:31|3:49:59|
    |Diablo Verde|3:22:37|3:05:59|3:10:23|
    |jake1970|N/A|3:19:59|3:18:30|Adidas Tempo 7
    4367|HibernianRunner|3:35:56|3:23:59|3:28:22 | Saucony Kinvara 5
    |hot buttered scones|3:49:27|3:29:59| |Adidas Boston Boost 5
    2119|davedanon|3:14:08|3:09:59|3:30:31|Saucony Kinvara 5
    8440|annapr|4:43:xx|4:14:59|4:08:30 :D|worn out green mizuno wave runners
    |wrstan| - |3:08:45|3:13:46|
    1359|Ed Mc|3:10|2:59:59|3:00:05|Asics Nimbus 17
    |overthebridge|4:21:xx|3:49:59|4:02:55|Kayano 21
    308|mattias_w|2:46:17|2:43:59|2:43:22|Salming Speed
    |DogSlySmile|2:59:59|2:59:58|2:57:15|Adidas Boost
    |Downtime|4:00:38|3:59:58|
    |beef|3:47:30|3:38:00|
    |frash|-|4:29:59|
    |Inthehole1|n/a|3:59:59|
    |innuendo141|3:26:15|3:29:59|3:31:16|Nike Free 5.0|
    |7mile|2.58.57|3:04:29|3:11:11|
    |Steroo|4.16.00|3:49:00|3:57:25|
    |chrislad|n/a|4:29:59|4:46:08|Asics GEL-Cumulus 16
    |paulers06|n/a|3:59:59|3:48:45
    |Rebelrunner|3:18|3:14:59|3:22:43|Asics GEL-Cumulus 16
    |Phoebas|n/a|3:59:57|
    |nop98|n/a|3:59:59|
    2093|Joey Joe-Joe Jr|4:11:17|3:59:57|3:57:30|Mizuno Wave Rider|
    5665|Johnners1878|3:30:30|3:29:00|3:29:04|Mizuno Wave Riders 18|
    |boodiebhoy|3.33.37|3:29:30|
    |Tipp man running|3:19:36|3:09:30| |Asics DS Trainers
    |BeepBeep67|2:57:50|3:19:30|3:19:07|Puma Faas 300 v4
    |Mr.Stew|3:14:xx|3:59:xx|
    |Marthastew|3:12xx|3:59:xx|
    |TheBazman|n/a|3:59:00|3:54:00|
    |RedB|3:43:30|3:59:xx|3:57:03|
    |Murph_D|3:29:16|4:29:3x|4:29:32|Saucony Omni 13
    |fletch|3:16:26|3:09:59|3:07:34|Asics Kayano 21
    |Neady83|n/a|3:59:xx|3:59:58
    |RuffleRuffle|4:10:21|3:59:xx|
    |snailsong|3:12:xx|3:09:59|3:10:47|
    |rockagusroll|3:30:48|3:24:59|
    |ultraman1|4:31:××|4:30:07|
    |Brennarr|3:42:44|3:29:59|3:26:55|Nike Lunarglide 5
    |kerrylad1|2:59:55|2:59:30|
    |Plodman|2:49:33|2:44:59|2:59:08 |Adidas Adizero Adios Boost
    |rovers_runner|3:54:02|3:59:59|4:10 |Asics DS Trainer
    |Phoole|xx|4:15:00| |New Balance 580v3
    |CherylLee|n/a|4:29:59
    |PJD|n/a|4:29:xx||Pretty Pink Ones
    |Mrs Mc|n/a|4:29:xx||Asics Kayano 21
    12757|Toulouse|n/a|4:29:xx|4:26:26|Asics GT-2000 3
    |Kennyg|n/a|3:50:00||Brooks Ghost 8
    |kevin7|n/a|3:50:00||New Balance 1080 v4
    |Kit3|4:29:35|4:29:34|4:48:39|Asics Kayano
    |Killian Byrne|4:30:26|4:19.xx|4:29:33|Nice red & black ones
    |PeterParker100|3:49:11|3:48:xx|3:48:08|Saucony Guide 7
    |Duffer247|N/A|4:30:59||Nike Air Zoom St19
    |Gillo|n/a|4:29:xx||Saucony Virrata 2
    |BIRDCAGE1|n/a|4:39:xx|5:01:28|Asics Gel Glorify
    |quinliven|3:51:02|3:49:xx||Brooks Adrenaline GTS 15
    |engol|n/a|4:29:xx||Xeroshoes
    |denisb|N/A|3:59:00||Adidas Boost Tech Fit
    4218|estariol|3:24:12|3:40:59|3:48:21|Zoot Tempo 6|
    |Coolhandspan|n/a|3:44:xx||Brooks gts
    |Peter D61| N/A|4:45:00||Brooks GTS15
    |Emsy 1|N/A|4:40:00||New Balance
    |Ratracer|N/A|4:29:30||Asics cumulus 13|
    |Smiley70||4:29:xx||Asics GT-2000|
    |Ginger Runner|3:39:27|3:34:59||Asics Gel Kayano 22|
    |Outside|2:57:42|2:44:59|2:49:49|
    1925|dintbo|3:32:48|3:27:59|3:30:20|Mizuno Wave Rider 17|
    |Animella|N/a|4:30:00||Mizuno Inspire|
    |JMSE|N/A|4:00:00||New balance|
    |smashiner|N/A|4:09:00||Asics Cumulus 15|
    |dekbhoy|N/A|3:20:00||Adidas Boost Ultra
    |unirunner2|3:26:00|3:24:00|3:25:03|nike free 5
    |Fiftyplus|0:00:00|3:29:00|3:29:45|Asics Nimbus
    |jonnner|3:36:24|2:58:59|2:58:30|Asics DS Racer
    |fieldsman|3:31:00|4:30:00||
    2796|tribaldisguise|3:27:xx|3:19:59|3:18:41|Brooks Adrenaline 15
    |psychosis|3:54:44|3:16:59|3:23:48|Saucony Triumph Iso
    |alan30|4:39:08|4:10:00||Brooks GTS14
    |mobfromcork|n/a|3:29:59|3:44:26|Saucony Guide 8
    |hawkwing|3:58:xx|4:19:59|4:03:xx|Brooks GTS14
    2474|Run and Jump|3:26:14|3:25:xx|3:36:07|Brooks Ghost 8
    |Pacing Mule|4:58:34|3:58:34||One Left and One Right
    |FeenaM|n/a|3:39:59|3:41:51|New Balance
    4324|Laois_Man|4:57:41|3:54:59|4:06:39| New Balance 780 V4
    |Chabsey|0:00:00|3:35:12| 3:38:38 |Brooks Vapor
    |donnacha|3:59:09|3:49:59|3:57:05| Kinvara 5
    533|andstillrickyvilla|3:09:56|2:59:59|3:28:09|Mizuno Wave Rider 17
    |Pink11|N/A|4:30:00|4:04:00|Asics Kayano 21
    |belcarra|3:21:xx|3:49:30|3:49:18|Mizuno Wave Inspires

Finally at a PC so I could fill in the table. full report for anyone interested here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Finglas Flier

No.
    The rum in was straight from Nutley....
    That caught me out a little as I was looking for a turn @ about 1.5K out, before realizing it was straight run in....

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Slow_Runner

|slow_runner|4:10:31|3:49:59|3:53:19|Mizuno Inspire 11

Delighted with 3:53:19 , took almost 30 mins off last years Dublin time.
    Went with the 3:50 pacers but knew from the fist couple of miles that my breathing was working too hard. Pacers seemed to ease off going up Chesterfield Av and I felt really comfortable until it picked up again. After Chapelizod decided that 3:50 was off the cards and onto plan B which was to run at a comfortable pace and pick it up at the end if I could. looking at my splits I was only 5-10 sec/mile slower than the 3:50 pace but it made the world of difference. Struggled a bit from 22-24 but knew I was going to do it then and picked it up for the last 2 miles.

On my 4th attempt I finally was able to run the entire thing and have figured out the whole pacing thing. Amazing support out there on a really crappy wet day.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

|slow_runner|4:10:31|3:49:59|3:53:19|Mizuno Inspire 11
    3350|hot buttered scones|3:49:27|3:29:59|3:38:39|Adidas Boston Boost 5

• Registered Users Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭PDCAT

tomred1N wrote: »
    Actual 3:14:42
    runners Asics 2170 ( going back in storage !! )

Started with 3:10 pacers but readjusted after 3 miles as I felt pace was too hot for how I was feeling. Got back to within a minute of them at mile 19 but the hill and the wind up clonskeagh took its toll. Happy enough to have broken 3:15 and more confident about breaking 3:10 next time. Time to try a flat one maybe but I really enjoy the atmosphere in Dublin before during and after.

I can't add myself to that table but if someone knows how throw me up for the record.

Great run tomred1N. Congrats on the sub 3.15.

• Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭Fiftyplus

Hi Slow_Runner,

'crappy, wet day' I wouldn't agree with, I thought conditions were damned good, much better than last year and wind mainly on our backs. Very light drizzle was much appreciated in these quarters!

Fiftyplus wrote: »
    Hi Slow_Runner,

'crappy, wet day' I wouldn't agree with, I thought conditions were damned good, much better than last year and wind mainly on our backs. Very light drizzle was much appreciated in these quarters!

He did say for the supporters though - not for himself, and I'd agree with both of ye. I liked having some rain as a runner, but fair play to the supporters for coming out and cheering in that weather. It wasn't ideal for them.

The opposite to last year when the supporters had a beautiful day but the runners did not!

• Registered Users Posts: 343 ✭✭MrMacPhisto

Hi Slow_Runner,

The weather was testing, to say the least IMO. Wind gusting 45kmph, headwind from mile 15-22. I think your definition of "damned good" is a bit skewed :D

In my book, "damned good" would be 10 degrees, overcast and winds less than 15kmph. mmmm Frankfurt :D

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭physiopad

Hi Slow_Runner,

The weather was testing, to say the least IMO. Wind gusting 45kmph, headwind from mile 15-22. I think your definition of "damned good" is a bit skewed :D

In my book, "damned good" would be 10 degrees, overcast and winds less than 15kmph. mmmm Frankfurt :D

Ya I think people are really underestimating how windy it was from Miles 12 to 18/19, which should be fast enough normally.

I salute anyone who got PBs in such conditions, and on that course.

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Slow_Runner

Hi Slow_Runner,

Yeah I was talking about the supporters - must have been miserable standing around in the wind and rain. For us I thought the wind direction was ideal (if you must have 40kph winds in a dublin marathon) - on our backs thru the park and Crumlin more than made up for the sections where it was in our faces (where btw way I was always seemed to be stuck behind a short arse :) ). I didn't even notice the rain!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭kerrylad1

dintbo wrote: »
    |kerrylad1|2:59:55|2:59:30|2:59:09|adidas boost 2

• Registered Users Posts: 167 ✭✭boodiebhoy

kerrylad1 wrote: »
    dintbo wrote: »
    |boodiebhoy|3.33.37|3:29:30|3:30:09

• Registered Users Posts: 307 ✭✭kevin7

|kevin7|n/a|3:50:00|3:54:42|New Balance 1080 v4

• Registered Users Posts: 259 ✭✭duffer247

|Duffer247|N/A|4:30:59|4:30:21|Nike Air Zoom St19

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭jahaco

Could someone add me back in again please? I seem to have fallen off.

3:07:03 and Asics DS trainers. PB and a couple of age cat. medals, despite missing my goal.

Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,405 ✭✭✭fletch

jahaco wrote: »

Could someone add me back in again please? I seem to have fallen off.

3:07:03 and Asics DS trainers. PB and a couple of age cat. medals, despite missing my goal.

Thanks.
    Done

|jahaco|3:07:22|2:59:59|3:07:03|Asics DS

Was my 8th year running the DCM and finally broke 3.50.
    Was so happy. Great thing about this sport...you can get better with age.... :-)
    My time was 3:47:47...so looking to push on now....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

3350|hot buttered scones|3:49:27|3:29:59|3:38:39 |Adidas Boston Boost 5

Adding myself back in again. Feeling very rough today, pretty exhausted really and a bit under the weather - anyone else in the same boat?

What's with all the tables been posted?

Well, it's really the same table, just being constantly updated. What it says on the tin, people's pb's, their stated targets, and their actual results from the marathon. Oh, and their, er, shoes.

davedanon wrote: »
    Well, it's really the same table, just being constantly updated. What it says on the tin, people's pb's, their stated targets, and their actual results from the marathon. Oh, and their, er, shoes.

DOH!!!
    Got it and thanks!

• Registered Users Posts: 902 ✭✭✭JMSE

3350|hot buttered scones|3:49:27|3:29:59|3:38:39 |Adidas Boston Boost 5
    |JMSE|N/A|4:00:00|4:49|NB870v4|

Adding myself back in again. Feeling very rough today, pretty exhausted really and a bit under the weather - anyone else in the same boat?[/quote]

I went to give blood today. All went well until just before the actual donation, when the nurse went "I see you've loads of donations, but you gave up for a while?" whereupon I had to explain that since taking up running I find it harder and harder to find a donation window. "ah right, but you didn't do the marathon. You did? Oh dear"

They won't take blood until two weeks after a marathon. Bah.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

did you tell them you can't give blood then, you'll e back in training? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

davedanon wrote: »
    I went to give blood today. All went well until just before the actual donation, when the nurse went "I see you've loads of donations, but you gave up for a while?" whereupon I had to explain that since taking up running I find it harder and harder to find a donation window. "ah right, but you didn't do the marathon. You did? Oh dear"

They won't take blood until two weeks after a marathon. Bah.
    Can you ask them to get some of your blood back, would be a handy feature to have prior to a marathon.