Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lenny, Alek and Rob's cyclo crossbromance

• Registered Users Posts: 3,656 ✭✭✭Enduro

fat bloke wrote: »
    Oh yeah, that was you? Fair play. Congrats. We were going around at one stage and was it some mate of yours shouted at us that we were 5th and 6th? Then I feckin punctured the next time around. Yeah, you'll have to work on the remounting. You kept flying past me coming on the approach to the boards only to disappear again the other side of em! :)

Wasn't a mate, was a randomer, but was good to hear (I was sceptical at the time though). Too right I've work to do :) Of course what would be really nice would be to hop the thinks like the fast boys do!

You did well to only loose a minute or so with the puncture. Nice one.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,862 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Enduro wrote: »
    You did well to only loose a minute or so with the puncture. Nice one.

Yeah, I actually did a bit more running through the foresty bits and 'twas nearly as "quick" as faltering around on the bike.
    Was wincing on the tarmac-y parts though. I'd say I made sh1t of the rim (and definitely the tyre). I'll have to have a closer look.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,852 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

okane1 wrote: »
    New CX race in Killarney 6th December

905689_461511367369252_1785463065700106318_o_zpsvmmj8cbh.jpg>

Cancelled due to to a tragic death: http://www.cyclingireland.ie/cycling-news-item/edward-duggan-killarney-cycling-club-obituary-notice/1804

May he RIP

• Registered Users Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

Tymon park, B race, 1st lap, FYP.

• Registered Users Posts: 31,084 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Fame! (not me, I'm too soft for this)

Video: Mud-covered cyclo-cross rider dives head-first into puddle
    http://road.cc/content/news/171350-video-mud-covered-cyclo-cross-rider-dives-head-first-puddle

Finally Irish CX races start to get the atmosphere that drawn me into this sport :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭Plastik

Alek wrote: »
    Anyone knows what happened to the poor chap taken by ambulance from the woods at the 1st lap of the B race? Is he ok?

Wasn't there but assume that might have been a Bray rider. All ok apart from needing 30 stitches to his upper lip after kissing a tree.

• Registered Users Posts: 963 ✭✭✭detones

Great vid Alex. Tell ya what, that chap in the hybrid was handy enough. What happened to you on drop there?

All ok apart from needing 30 stitches to his upper lip after kissing a tree.

OUCH. But still, could have been worse I guess. You can see him at 6:50 in the vid, behind the tape.
    Tell ya what, that chap in the hybrid was handy enough.

Facebook told me he's one of the top riders in http://www.imbrc.com/ ;)
    What happened to you on drop there?

I was super stressed about it, it was my first attempt - tried to find a cleaner line and failed ;) This actually stressed me even more so I've been running/sliding down it for the rest of the race.

Stupid, I know, I'll tackle it better next year. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 4,557 ✭✭✭The tax man

Running down that drop looks dangerous, far safer riding into it.:p

I know! I just couldn't break through the mental block.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,458 ✭✭✭lennymc

you looked like you had a mental block this morning as I beeped at you when you were heading out of Drumcondra.....

I think I remember a beep near the Dart station, had no idea who's beeping at whom :)

It was up near the college. You half turned around.

Ah, I was going 36kph up that hill, how dare you to interrupt my KOM attempt training!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭daragh_

Running down that drop looks dangerous, far safer riding into it.:p

I ran it a few times because there were lads stalled at the bottom. As I drifted towards the back of the field that became less of a problem :p

@Alek - Great video.

So when's the next one? :)

And. Any tips on making one's shoes grippier? I was like a newborn calf trying to gain purchase up the slippy muddy stuff

• Registered Users Posts: 4,557 ✭✭✭The tax man

Once you get down it on the bike, like me, you'll be thinking wtf was I afraid of. Don't leave it till next year.
    Get up to the park on one of your spins and conquer it.

@daragh_ Did the chain behave itself on Sunday?

And. Any tips on making one's shoes grippier? I was like a newborn calf trying to gain purchase up the slippy muddy stuff

Next race is this Sunday in Kilmuddery, run by the DCCX boys..

And you need these: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Shimano-stud-SHM225-Shoes-spares/dp/B004Q8O2WO

• Registered Users Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭daragh_

Once you get down it on the bike, like me, you'll be thinking wtf was I afraid of. Don't leave it till next year.
    Get up to the park on one of your spins and conquer it.

@daragh_ Did the chain behave itself on Sunday?

Yep - got a single ring up front and it was great. No issues at all despite me throwing the bike around the place. Sadly the engine that was pushing it wasn't in great nick after the night before. :rolleyes:

http://www.bike-discount.de/en/buy/gaerne-nails-4-pieces-65775

Ordered two pairs last night, I can give you one before the next race if they arrive in time.

http://www.bike-discount.de/en/buy/gaerne-nails-4-pieces-65775

Ordered two pairs last night, I can give you one before the next race if they arrive in time.

Nice one Alek, but are they Gaerne specific? I've Shimano ones.

Yerra, look I'll order up my own ones, I can't make this Sunday anyway, we've a club spin to Mullingar (the glamour!) :)

Brilliant video from Round 3: https://vimeo.com/145922606

• Registered Users Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭nak

I have these http://shop.horstengineering.com/ made to last, the Shimano ones wear out fairly quickly.

Nice one Alek, but are they Gaerne specific? I've Shimano ones.

I read in one of the reviews that they fit Shimano shoes.
    these shoe spikes are Long!! Great fir grip though, really dig in when you need them too, wear quite quick if you use them on concrete etc, and do tend to leave dimples in lino flooring but otherwise Great!!
    they fit shimano shoes fine.
    cant complain about the price!!

• Registered Users Posts: 397 ✭✭lukegjpotter

Any tips on buying nappies lads?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IdvXYkpOxnI

• Registered Users Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭stecleary

So last night I joked about borrowing our club bike and doing the b Race for the leinsters, for some silly reason I'm picking up that bike tonight and actually doing it :o what have I got my self in for, the course is said to harder than this year's nationals

Is the registration open for the Leinster Champs?

Btw - can non Irish nationals take part in the main race?

^^^ i *think* that once you live in, or are registered with a club in the province you can take part regardless of nationality.

I am not in a club, but I think there is province field in my CI Licence....