Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chelsea Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2016

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,759 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    One for Gav...

Not on the rise here, but do you know what would be funny? If Leicester signs up John Terry in the summer. He's out of contract (I think??) and has loads of love for Ranieri

Just saying

On a personal level, I'd be quite happy to see him go to Leicester if he does leave at the end of this season. If he stays with us, it's unlikely he'll ever play in the UCL again, whereas he'd have at least 6 games more with them.

It would also be far more palatable to see him end up there than anywhere else in the EPL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Wouldn't mind Leicester either, but I don't think he'll stay in England. He said as much recently. He'll probably get reasonable offers from the US and ridiculous offers from China. He could probably secure his families finances for life by playing 1 season in China.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

One for Gav...

Not on the rise here, but do you know what would be funny? If Leicester signs up John Terry in the summer. He's out of contract (I think??) and has loads of love for Ranieri

Just saying

I dont think he'd join another EPL side., I think he even said it previously but I'd have to check it.

America or even more so China for two years for mental money would be more likely, IMO.

I cant see him having many moves from a European side either.

If Spurs can be a bit more consistent they'll be a serious threat again next year.

Thats on top of the defending champions who'll be hoping to finish as high as possible and not make a bo**ocks of the defence of the title like we done.

Utd will probably have Jose and a about 200m to spend.
    City will have Guardiola and about 200m to spend.
    Chelsew will have conte and probably 150m to spend.
    Pool will have Klopp but it'll be too soon for them yet, the year after I expect them to be serious contenders though.
    Arsenal will more than likely have Wenger and a huge war chest but the age old question of will he spend it will crop up.

Thats 6 teams that will contest and thats before you mention West Ham who'll have a new ground and Bilic has had a fantastic first year.
    Southampton and Koeman have done a great job too.

Its going to take a very special effort to win the league next year as I cant see us, Pool, Utd, City all being as poor as we have been in various stages this year.

One for Gav...

Just saying

Here ya go Mick.

http://www.standard.co.uk/sport/football/john-terry-i-will-not-play-for-another-premier-league-club-after-i-leave-chelsea-a3169431.html
    "I couldn’t play for another Premier League club. I couldn’t do that to the Chelsea fans.

"It will be elsewhere for sure.

"I don’t know where and I leave that to the people in charge. It certainly won’t be in the Premier League.

I'm still hoping we keep JT though.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,603 ✭✭✭grumpymunster

GavRedKing wrote: »
    If Spurs can be a bit more consistent they'll be a serious threat again next year.

Thats on top of the defending champions who'll be hoping to finish as high as possible and not make a bo**ocks of the defence of the title like we done.

Utd will probably have Jose and a about 200m to spend.
    City will have Guardiola and about 200m to spend.
    Chelsew will have conte and probably 150m to spend.
    Pool will have Klopp but it'll be too soon for them yet, the year after I expect them to be serious contenders though.
    Arsenal will more than likely have Wenger and a huge war chest but the age old question of will he spend it will crop up.

Thats 6 teams that will contest and thats before you mention West Ham who'll have a new ground and Bilic has had a fantastic first year.
    Southampton and Koeman have done a great job too.

Its going to take a very special effort to win the league next year as I cant see us, Pool, Utd, City all being as poor as we have been in various stages this year.

I do believe the lack of European football will help us next year, its a bummer would of course loved us to be in the CL again but simply we were not good enough. Poor pre season, poor purchases, silly infighting we did everything we could do wrong totally wrong. This has to be addressed this season.

Next season could be a cracker City and Chelsea new managers with no PL experience. Most likely United with a new manager with absolute bags of experience, Saints and Happy Hammers steady as they go. Not sure about Spurs they may well falter like Liverpool (well to be absolutely honest I hope they do), Kloop I think could well have an excellent season. Arsenal are a mystery who will stay who will go who will they buy - are they just happy with top 4? I can't really see And Leicester doing it again but then I couldn't see past City or Chelsea for this season so what do I know????

For me if Jose rocks up at Old Trafford they are red hot favourites for next season. For us a huge amount depends upon our transfer business should be good for a top 4 at least and that has to be the minimum goal next season. Other than that will have to see who lines up for who on the first September could be classic though.

Its going to be interesting, with the Euros and Copa America too teams will struggle to get any business done before playes break up for holidays after the tournaments.

Of course teams will be approaching players now or have already by sounding them out for moves in the summer. I reckon if we keep the majority of our better talent and get our ducks lined up early in terms of transfer deals, we'll have a good season, I'd take baby steps now and be delighted with top 4 again next year and have a stab at the domestic cups.

With only 40 games to play too though we dont need a squad of 25, Conte could easily go with 20 senior players in supplement them with youths if he wants too.

We just need to make sure we get the right business done and early too.

Looking at our potential squad next year is strange.

You're allowed 17 non-HG players and 8 over 21 HG players and as many U21s players from anywhere as you like.

So that leaves us with : (HG players in Bold, U21s underlined)

Courtois
    Begovic
    Blackman

Ivan
    Azp
    Cahill
    JT
    Mizaga
    Zouma
    Rahman

Cesc
    Matic
    Mikel
    Loftus Cheek

Pedro
    Willian
    Hazard
    Oscar

Costa
    Traore
    Remy
    Falcao
    Pato

So I count 5 HG players in the team, 3 U21s and 15 non-HG players thats before guys fro mthe youth teams and loans are added in which would take forever at this stage. :o

So we should be ok on the non-HG front as at least 5 of those above will be gone in the summer.

Few of the Spurs players like Dembele had a right moan in the press before the game about how it was unprofessional for Chelsea players to say they wanted to stop Spurs winning the league.

I hate that sh*t. Players shouldn't be friends on the pitch, especially when they are traditional rivals. Frankly, warts and all, that was one of the most enjoyable derby games we've had with them in a while. We usually have heated derbies with Arsenal but it's nice to get the blood up against Spurs too.

I think in games like that there is a mutual respect between the two, Spurs probably players went overboard a few times but I don't think anyone will hold any grudges after it, it was all left on the pitch.

Keep those type of games coming, they make the league IMO and probably make both teams better. And in between the petulance and fighting there was some cracking football on display.

The same game also showed me that I'm hoping for Cesc to be our next vice captain or captain, in the first half he was one of the only players that actually bothered.

Ivan is a complete liability and if Conte wants to do well next year he'll tell Ivan he'll be used as a rotation option.

Bayern v Atleti tonight, hoping Atleti get the job done and then City to turn over Real and then get beat by Atleti. :o

The same game also showed me that I'm hoping for Cesc to be our next vice captain or captain, in the first half he was one of the only players that actually bothered.

Ivan is a complete liability and if Conte wants to do well next year he'll tell Ivan he'll be used as a rotation option.

Yep, agree on Cesc. He's as petulant as they come and I understand why teams don't like him but he's a winner and a natural leader. Jose promised him he would be the leader of the next generation of Chelsea and it's good to see him step up.

I think he'll really shine in a Conte team, he needs to play in a 3 man midfield to be effective in every game though. Consistency has been his problem throughout his Chelsea career but hopefully that can be addressed next season.

Lukker- wrote: »
    Yep, agree on Cesc. He's as petulant as they come and I understand why teams don't like him but he's a winner and a natural leader. Jose promised him he would be the leader of the next generation of Chelsea and it's good to see him step up.

I think he'll really shine in a Conte team, he needs to play in a 3 man midfield to be effective in every game though. Consistency has been his problem throughout his Chelsea career but hopefully that can be addressed next season.

The first 6 months of his first season he was sensational and the last 2 or 3 months of this year hes been much, much better.

Hes not a leader like Keane, Vieira or Gerrard but hes certainly got qualities to stir the team into a response and a fight. I think his years playing North London derbies too probably gave him an extra incentive to perform last night too.

It is going to be interesting to see how and where Conte deploys Cesc though from next season and a 3 man CM with him at the base and 2 willing runners either side to go back and forth would be ideal.

The first 6 months of his first season he was sensational and the last 2 or 3 months of this year hes been much, much better.

Hes not a leader like Keane, Vieira or Gerrard but hes certainly got qualities to stir the team into a response and a fight. I think his years playing North London derbies too probably gave him an extra incentive to perform last night too.

It is going to be interesting to see how and where Conte deploys Cesc though from next season and a 3 man CM with him at the base and 2 willing runners either side to go back and forth would be ideal.

Kanté and Naingolan would be a start. I'm not sure we'll ever get the old Matic back.

Nainogglan seems to be nailed on but I wouldnt believe it until it happens.

Conte will have had a good few weeks/months to look at the team and the players he wnats to keep and use so hopefully he does identify targets and gets his first choice in the positions he wants.

I reckon Kante will be wnated by nearly everyone in the league and he wont leave unless Real, Barca, Beyern, PSG come in for him because he'll get UCL with Leicester as it stands.

Nainogglan seems to be nailed on but I wouldnt believe it until it happens.

Conte will have had a good few weeks/months to look at the team and the players he wnats to keep and use so hopefully he does identify targets and gets his first choice in the positions he wants.

I reckon Kante will be wnated by nearly everyone in the league and he wont leave unless Real, Barca, Beyern, PSG come in for him because he'll get UCL with Leicester as it stands.

I wouldn't count my chicken with the Naingolan deal, the reports were very premature. They do have Strootman coming back from injury though so it probably depends on how he gets on. They might need to sell too because of FFP.

Juve are supposedly seriously interested in Kante but he has said that he doesn't see himself leaving the PL as it really suits him. He's some player though, Makelele re-incarnated.

I wouldn't count my chicken with the Naingolan deal, the reports were very premature. They do have Strootman coming back from injury though so it probably depends on how he gets on. They might need to sell too because of FFP.

Juve are supposedly seriously interested in Kante but he has said that he doesn't see himself leaving the PL as it really suits him. He's some player though, Makelele re-incarnated.

If he could get Van Ginkel back at the expense of Mikel or Matic, that woul dbe a decent start IMO. He'd be a great option to rotate into the team too, a bit like RLC next year.

If we had RLC, MVG, Nainogglan, Cesc and Matic we'll say for the 3 CM slots, we'd be well served.

I like Kante, he covers nearly every blade of grass, a real work house but a very compotent footballer too so he is very much in the Makelele mould in that regard.

If we had RLC, MVG, Nainogglan, Cesc and Matic we'll say for the 3 CM slots, we'd be well served.

Too light DM wise. Going into next season without decent competition for Matic could be catastrophic IMO.

Some quotes from Tbo, I think we as fans are a little too quick to rush to judgement and the media manipulate this a bit to suit their narrative.

Yes he talks to much for sure but he's never actually been quoted saying that he wants to leave. He wants to be playing at the highest level which is natural.

Also speaks volumes that none of these quotes were picked up by UK papers.
    Courtois has since spoken to Sporza in Belgium and he sounds very much like he's ready for a fresh Chelsea start, and a hit at the Premier League title next season: "I'm still a Chelsea player and next season will also begin pre-season at Chelsea. With the new coach we can again fully go for the title."

The goalkeeper went on to say that he hasn't spoken to any media saying he's unhappy, and that, given Chelsea's poor season, it's to be expected stories are made(up?) about players.

Right now, the Belgian international is focused fully on a good end to the season, ahead of Euro 2016. After that, then it's on to a hopefully successful Chelsea season: "Now we want to end the season as well as possible. And next year we go with the new coach, fully again for the title."

"The Champions League is not on our agenda. Hopefully it turns out in our favour. We will have more time to prepare for the league games."

FYI, the reports of him leaving originated in Mundo Deportivo which is a complete rag. It said Barca were willing to spend €70m on him too, which would never happen. Nevermind the fact that he wouldn't suit their style of play one bit, he's not great off his line and he suits deeper systems much better. They need keepers in the mould of Neuer and DDG.

Beat me to it just came on to post that WAGNH piece. Good to read nice that the players are accepting the responsibility it is not all their fault but a good chunk is.

If we can get Costa, TBo, Matic, Cesc and Hazard firing again next season it will be very enjoyable I feel - though a few defenders would not hurt.

I must say though I really like the cut of MvG's jib I was delighted when we got him, sick for him when he done his ligament but he is going to be a really good player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

Feckin Torres with a useless penalty for athletico.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

That's probably why he wasn't let take one therein 2012.

kev1.3s wrote: »
    That's probably why he wasn't let take one therein 2012.

He was to be number 6 that night, he lost the plot because he volunteered to take one of the the first 5 but Di Matteo made him number 6.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

kev1.3s wrote: »
    Feckin Torres with a useless penalty for athletico.

Was never a penalty anyway.

Disgusted they went through to be honest.

Was never a penalty anyway.

Disgusted they went through to be honest.

I'd prefer Atleico to win it over Guardiola anyday.

and Atletico over Real or City if I have to choose too. :o

So interwebnet reports today that the Dembele incident will be viewed as an extraordinary event by the FA and slap him with a 10 match ban. Proper order deserves no less.

Good, but if Costa had done it no doubt he'd be executed by firing squad in the morning .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

The new jersey looks very nice.

Would have been nicer without the crest though, just caught Hazard and RLC live on facebook and it looked nice but on closer inspection it's not as nice.

Johner wrote: »

looks a bit flimsy ..

Any pics mate?

Edit, I've sen it. Looks ok, will have to see it IRL before judging properly.

I'd be shocked if it was that much, I'd expect 3, longest ban maybe 6 games, anything over that and I'd be actually shocked with the FA.

€135 for the Adizero match day version and print. F**k me. :pac:

Thought they were dropping the tyres and having just Yokohama but it has a traditional look to it, not bought a jersey for ages might splash out on this one though.

Us portly types don't concern ourselves with matchday versions :D

I'd get it on those chinese unofficial sites, they are all made in the same place and same quality anyway.

€135 for a jersey made in China is criminal.

I remember when football jerseys were made in the UK.

I'll be getting mine from Asia anyway, about €20-25 delivered.

The print always falls off them after a few washes but I usually just use them for 6 a side anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,911 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

I'd get it on those chinese unofficial sites, they are all made in the same place and same quality anyway.

€135 for a jersey made in China is criminal.

I remember when football jerseys were made in the UK.

Jumpers for goalposts eh?

The normal jersey will probably be half day, €60-70 which is still expensive. I wont bother with one unless I can get one with Loftus Cheek on the back. :pac:

Would that not make it very hard to wear and wash? You can't put a footballer in the washing machine you know and with Loftus Cheek on the back it would be rather heavy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

Would that not make it very hard to wear and wash? You can't put a footballer in the washing machine you know and with Loftus Cheek on the back it would be rather heavy.

Where did I put that ban hammer?

JT26 wrote: »
    Lads is the new Jersey 135? What the ****

No, thats the fancy player version that they wear on the pitch, 99% of people wont get that one.

The normal replica will be about €60-70.

€90 on the megastore for the regular version, but they are always super expensive. Would be €70 in shops normally at launch. Ali-express ftw

Ya, the only official Chelsea stuff I usually buy are the training tops as I'd get more wear out of them and I've neever bought a training top from Asia.

Dembele is facing a ban for poking Costa in the eye.

Walker has got away with kicking out at Pedro.

Lamela has got away with stamping on Cesc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Dembele is facing a ban for poking Costa in the eye.

Walker has got away with kicking out at Pedro.

Lamela has got away with stamping on Cesc.

And Dier for hacking down everything that moved as well I suppose ?

terrible decision making from the FA - surprise surprise - is their motto "Turn a blind eye"?

greendom wrote: »
    And Dier for hacking down everything that moved as well I suppose ?

terrible decision making from the FA - surprise surprise - is their motto "Turn a blind eye"?

Dier got booked once for 3 very reckless tackles which TBH, should have all been reds and at that late stage a red to either side wouldnt have made much difference to the score so I'm surprised Clattenburg bitc*ed out and only booked and talked to Dier.

The Refs assocation have to pull Clattenburg aside too, his performance was shocking and led to the incidents.