Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chelsea Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2016

• Registered Users Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭Garzorico

Johner wrote: »
    Batshuayi should be burying that.

He is a dreadful finisher from what I've seen of him. Not the real deal at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Garzorico wrote: »
    He is a dreadful finisher from what I've seen of him. Not the real deal at all.

Very little so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Tubbs4

Not looking good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Begovic really shouldn't be getting beaten from there.

Terry is running round like a headless chicken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

Christ. I would have tucked that one away myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

Some ball from luis, shame about the finish!

Moses is missed willian gone backwards again.

Hmmm. Without Costa, we look severely toothless in attack. It's doubtful T-Bo would have let two long range efforts in. Terry looks slow and dare I say, probably has a bench in his future a lot. Hazard's done jack since coming on - the general drop in intensity since the Utd game is palpable.

And Oscar's living on the memories of some Hollywood goals years ago when he first arrived. That was his worst display yet.

Couldn't buy a goal

Prefer to loose this game than the one at the weekend. Getting into the top 4 is the priority.

Just bought a goal but too late. Really need to get rid of some of the squad players. Oscars on his bike please.

Willian was our best player bar the end product. He created something from nothing by running at West Ham. Costa should have scored.

Our finishing was dreadful and we conceded 2 sloppy goals.

West Ham fully deserving winners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

good game last night , 7 changes was always a risk
    JT looked way off the pace of the game . we dominated the 2nd half but west ham looked good on the break , very pacey , some very sloppy finishing by both sides
    alonso and moses were a big miss , hazard and costa came on at 2-0 was a big ask

roll on sunday , going to be a tough one

• Registered Users Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

Lukker- wrote: »
    Willian was our best player bar the end product. He created something from nothing by running at West Ham. Costa should have scored.

Sums up his Chelsea career tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Lukker- wrote: »

24 hours later but....Willian missed a sitter when Costa set him up, Batshuayi should have made it 1-1 when Oscar played him in.

The problem was the changes that were made, the most ineffective were in the most crucial area, upfront.

Oscar, Batshuayi and Willian will struggle for games in this formation. Willian is the most obvious to fight with Pedro on the right of the three but it could go either way regarding who starts their long term.

Need an upgrade on both Willian and pedro to be honest, I will always hold William in high regard after his efforts last season when no one else seemed to care but all to often he's been left wanting in my opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

kev1.3s wrote: »
    Need an upgrade on both Willian and pedro to be honest, I will always hold William in high regard after his efforts last season when no one else seemed to care but all to often he's been left wanting in my opinion.

He fitted into the Mourinho system perfect because he helped out Ivanovic impeccably, but his end product for the most part is poor.

I do have full faith that Conte will sort all of this out in the next window though.

some wonderful rumours flying around
    ivan to barca and aguero to be sold by man city with chelsea one of 3 clubs in for him ......SILLY SEASON

• Registered Users Posts: 7,603 ✭✭✭grumpymunster

peteeeed wrote: »
    some wonderful rumours flying around
    ivan to barca and aguero to be sold by man city with chelsea one of 3 clubs in for him ......SILLY SEASON

Yea enjoyed them even better was the Glen Johnson to Barca story priceless that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,752 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

TimRiggins wrote: »
    He fitted into the Mourinho system perfect because he helped out Ivanovic impeccably, but his end product for the most part is poor.

I do have full faith that Conte will sort all of this out in the next window though.

mkhitaryan is gathering dust these days

Southampton press conf

Conte says the situation for the injured players is the same. Fabregas remains out but Ivanovic is available.

he watched the game against West Ham back on TV and saw many positives as well as things we can improve.

'It's not a win or a defeat that can change my ideas or the confidence of the players. This system is a good fit.

'John came back from an injury and it's not easy to find the right shape, but I'm satisfied with him and the team.'

'John is an important player for us, if he plays or if he doesn't play, for the changing room and the club

this league is very difficult & anything can happen in every single game. For this reason 'continuity' is crucial, he adds

'we shouldn't look at the table' but just concentrate on training and the next match. That will lead to improvement

he might consider putting a GPS system on himself to monitor his heart-rate during a game!

Southampton are very strong and he is impressed with the offensive football they play.

their performance at Man City last weekend was excellent. He says it will be a 'good test' for his team

'This test is different. We are playing away against a team in good shape. It's a big test for our ambition.'

he saw a lot of things in the West Ham game that can be useful for the future, like playing Pedro as a wing-back

• Registered Users Posts: 7,603 ✭✭✭grumpymunster

Pedro as a wing back what is he on?

the left :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

He's filled the role for Barca on more than one occasion. Peps final year there they used a 3-4-3 system for quite some time. So he'd also have a bit of experience in the responsibilities of the role. Pedro, offensively at least, is one of those technically solid players that's not exceptional but positionally is very intelligent. Hence why Pep loved him and Jose wanted him.

Back to the usual team with Pedro retaining his place instead of Willian and no room for JT for Southampton?

Id say we'll start with the same team that played vs Utd.

Pick up a win tonorrow and we'll be keeping teams behind us which is needed. Our christmas run is very tough. Some very tough away games.

Chelsea team today: Courtois; Azpilicueta, David Luiz, Cahill (c); Moses, Kante, Matic, Alonso; Pedro, Diego Costa, Hazard.

Chelsea substitutes v Southampton: Begovic, Ivanovic, Terry, Chalobah, Oscar, Willian, Batshuayi.

peteeeed wrote: »
    Chelsea team today: Courtois; Azpilicueta, David Luiz, Cahill (c); Moses, Kante, Matic, Alonso; Pedro, Diego Costa, Hazard.

Eyethankewe

No surprises so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,827 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Kmon youu Blues!

gerrin

• Registered Users Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭LightningBlue

Moses is an absolute baller. He's perfect as a wingback.

Good to see Hazard back on top form too. Great finish.

Dave is mighty.

Alonso has been very poor so far.

Jesus, could our build-up play be any slower?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭hots

Only concern with this lineup is the lopsided-ness of the height.. Austin set up well to exploit it with only moses, dave and kante to defend that side of the box. Tbo hardly troubled so far but we need some possession for a while.

Fabulous finish by Costa.

Costa!!! That is world class.

An absolute peach from Costa. 2-0.

Moses has been brilliant again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Chelsea were 6/4 this morning. Hope some of yous got in on some of that.

How the hell did we not score there.
    Fecking Pedro. Just pull your boot on it.

Brana? Seriously?

Brilliant performance, delighted with that. 4 clean sheets in a row in the league since we moved to a back 3.

4 league clean sheets in a row or simce we moved to 3-4-3.

Saints home record is very impressive so going their and winning is an excellent result.

Delighted with that now TBH.

Hazard motm but could have been kante or matic easily.

Luiz was very good again too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

woeful performance only 7 shots on target...Conte OUT!