Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chelsea Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2016

• Registered Users Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭tombliboo83

Would've been a perfect season for bamford, Christensen and kalas to stake a claim but then again the other lads aren't, I'm exasperated

• Registered Users Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

I'd say he has a few games after the break to try and turn it around, but it wouldn't surprise me if the board considered other options while he's away. I do want him to stay, but what worries me is that he may have lost a decent portion of the dressing room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Polo_Mint wrote: »

Wow, spectacular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭McDave

I'm guessing Hazard has decided in his head he wants to move on from Chelsea. Costa probably won't be here after this season.

This season is a write-off. And that includes Europe next season. The rebuilding has to start now. Players in and out in January. The rest of the season a pre-season for next year. If Jose has a plan along these lines, and core players he can bring along with him, let him keep the job. Anything else will be short-termism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

Time to fire up football manager and manage Chelsea myself :p

• Registered Users Posts: 7,603 ✭✭✭grumpymunster

Ah well next season we will have a great shot at the league not having any European football to worry about.

Not sure if that wil be the PL or the Championship though.

What is going on behind the scenes something certainly is, who was he having a pop at.

gosplan wrote: »
    Wow, spectacular.

As I said yesterday it is never boring being a Chelsea supporter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭symbolic

As I said yesterday it is never boring being a Chelsea supporter.

And ye can buy new players and manager anyway, be winning the league again in no time :) exciting times :) go team!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

That was some rant from Jose.
    Epic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,847 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

In all honesty.. They sound like the words of a man who wants to be sacked and knows he is on his way out. I'd be surprised if he still had a job in the morning, you can't really come out and say that stuff after a game as a manager no matter how 'honest' you think you are being. Even his general demeanor on the bench is a shadow of his former self. If rumors are to be believed he has lost the dressing room and the backing of senior players including Terry and that is reflected in the performances and lack of. Ok if things didn't happen as he wanted ie. the sale of Cech to Arsenal and not getting the players he wanted he still shouldn't cut off his nose to spite his face and spit the dummy you just get on with it for the sake of the players and fans. Pissing a bit on his legacy I feel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

I like Jose but I have to say this season he has lost his way. He always loved himself but this year it's all about himself. From 'I bet there's people who like to see me in this position' to 'I'm not that kind of man...'. Most interviews sound like little self-therapy sessions these days.
    Its almost as if he considers himself as important or even more important than the players or the club. He loves to hear his own voice, but you wonder is it out of fear that he's lost it.
    Another symptom if his edginess this year was the poorly handled lady doctor thing. First bit of adverse condition and he's throwing his subordinates under the bus. Sign of a manager buckling under pressure. He didn't come across well there and it has also caused some unrest.

Something just isn't right. If it was anyone else I'd wonder if there's a way back from that.

symbolic wrote: »
    And ye can buy new players and manager anyway, be winning the league again in no time :) exciting times :) go team!

Never boring being a Chelsea fan reaction of Arsenal fans normally is.

reaction of Arsenal fans normally is.

They've had boring reactions over the forty years?

If Jose does go what are your thoughts on the future? What is the philosophy? If a project is mooted then who is best to take charge of it? Will our younger lads EVER be given a decent chance?

symbolic wrote: »
    They've had boring reactions over the forty years?

Yea but at least that's consistent which is more than you can say for the team.

TSHO will survive not being happy with failure will be looking for major trophies next season, not like some managers who are happy with minor trophies and 4th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

Maybe it was a bit of a meltdown, but Jose has come out fighting and desperately wants to stay at Chelsea and turn this around.

He is right to challenge the club and Roman to have stability. And he is totally correct that he is our best ever manager and that we can't get a better manager.

That interview was full of emotion and showed the pressure he is under but in a way it was nice to see, he has come out fighting and now so do his players.

If he gets the sack I will be fcuking gutted. Love Jose.

If Jose does go what are your thoughts on the future? What is the philosophy? If a project is mooted then who is best to take charge of it? Will our younger lads EVER be given a decent chance?

I hope sense prevails and we move on, who makes it better? Kloop big risk, anyone else? They don't come to mind at all.

TSHO will survive not being happy with failure will be looking for major trophies next season, not like some managers who are happy with minor trophies and 4th.

Arsenal are indeed very inconsistent. Mourinho will indeed be looking for major trophies next season, I'd even say this season. Well capable of it he is, and enough talent under him to do it.

I feel like you're trying to have a go at me, maybe i'm picking you up wrong tho :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Very Bored

Wow... I can't believe that's Mourinho. I don't follow English football much, but I am aware that he generally runs rings around people like he did when he was with us in Italy. He seems like a completely different man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

That fracas with the medical staff seems to have taken all the positive energy out of him.

Exactly. The players have to back Jose aswell though but I fear he has lost too many of them. Now is the time to decide what kind of club we are. I hope he gives rlc, traore and kennedy a chance before we look for inflated January reinforcements

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

Very Bored wrote: »
    Wow... I can't believe that's Mourinho. I don't follow English football much, but I am aware that he generally runs rings around people like he did when he was with us in Italy. He seems like a completely different man.

To me ( and it could just be me) hes cracked.

No matter how **** your team has been, You cant come out with that **** publicly.

Even Moyes handled the ****up better then that.

He would have been better just saying yes/no comments.

Its quite embarrassing for your Club and the Club Board to see this.

I think he is one loss away from getting sacked and Ancelotti brought in for the rest of the season.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭googled eyes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

• Registered Users Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭googled eyes

Hmmmm 2007

U7Ghu2sh.jpg

:o

To me ( and it could just be me) hes cracked.

No matter how **** your team has been, You cant come out with that **** publicly.

Even Moyes handled the ****up better then that.

He would have been better just saying yes/no comments.

Its quite embarrassing for your Club and the Club Board to see this.

I think he is one loss away from getting sacked and Ancelotti brought in for the rest of the season.

I don't necessarily agree. He did similar when he was with us. Back in January 2009 we lost 3-1 in Bergamo and he came out and slaughtered the players. It brought a positive reaction and we went on to win the title. Equally, we drew 3-3 at home later on in the same season with Roma and he came out with a masterpiece of a speech about Italian journalists trying to manipulate public opinion against the team by criticising Inter but not Roma, Milan and Juve who he said would end the season with nothing. In the same speech he said Juve won many points thanks to refereeing errors and it was better to send out the youth team against Juve because you never knew what the referee would do. Again, there was a positive reaction. I think the timing is critical. At Inter, Mourinho always had the dressing room behind him and so speeches like that would galvanise the players. Currently, at Chelsea, it would appear he's lost the dressing room and so speeches like that aren't likely to do him any favours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

• Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MonsterCookie

Now to be fair, that taunt has become a little boring. Time and time again we have Wanna be Mourinho clones ****ting on about lack of trophies this and being happy with 4th that. Fukcing bull****. Mourinho is obnoxious but it doesn't mean you have to be too dude!

Nobody at Arsenal, including fans, are happy with 4th no matter how much you want to think it.

And now we start to see how fickle Chelsea fans are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Specialist in failure.

1 out of 20. Blah blah.

What goes around comes back around.

Karma escapes nobody Jose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Specialist in failure.

1 out of 20. Blah blah.

What goes around comes back around.

Karma escapes nobody Jose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,831 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Take a look at this comment by Mark Anthony on the article "‘If the club wants to sack me, they can sack me’" from TheJournal.ie:
    http://c.jrnl.ie/4299696

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭delaad

Own up, "special" one, be a man and apologise publicly to the woman you disrespected, because until you do, you will have confirmed yourself in the eyes of most decent-minded people to be a bowsie.

Remember, "no hell hath the fury of a woman scorned".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,225 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Maybe it was a bit of a meltdown, but Jose has come out fighting and desperately wants to stay at Chelsea and turn this around.

He is right to challenge the club and Roman to have stability. And he is totally correct that he is our best ever manager and that we can't get a better manager.

That interview was full of emotion and showed the pressure he is under but in a way it was nice to see, he has come out fighting and now so do his players.

If he gets the sack I will be fcuking gutted. Love Jose.

Will Matic come out fighting? The same player Mourinho threw under the bus yesterday. Mourinho came out fighting for himself and his planet-sized ego. Can't see how players will respond to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭Sirsok

J. Marston wrote: »
    Will Matic come out fighting? The same player Mourinho threw under the bus yesterday. Mourinho came out fighting for himself and his planet-sized ego. Can't see how players will respond to that.

Mastic should come out and play his heart out next time he gets a chance. And in no way was he thrown under a bus, he was brought on when it was 1-1 , the commentator mentioned that someone else was gettin substituted before Southampton scored. So out of all the players on the pitch midfield to strikers who was the least likely to contribute to a goal, Matic. He was brought on for a reason and when Southampton scored 2 on the second half that reason to have him on was no longer relevant, and abother tactic was thought up

Also by his "meltdown" he is deflecting the attention away from his under performing players. If he came out and gave a normal post match interview the media would be looking for somebody to slate, which in turn affects the confidence of whatever player they have targeted. Mouriniho is to smart to just do that interview.

Sirsok wrote: »
    Also by his "meltdown" he is deflecting the attention away from his under performing players. If he came out and gave a normal post match interview the media would be looking for somebody to slate, which in turn affects the confidence of whatever player they have targeted. Mouriniho is to smart to just do that interview.

Generally I would agree, as its something he's done time and time again, but he looked confused in that interview, which I have never seen him looking before. He rambled on about the same thing three or four times. The Jose of old was controversial but to the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Sirsok wrote: »

This has to be the biggest myth in football that gets thrown out on a weekly basis at this stage.

Mourinho has magnified everything. Sure Sunday supplement spent about 20 minutes talking about Chelsea including slating the performances of ivanovic, Terry, cahill, matic, fabregas, falcao, costa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Neil Ashton, who has good Chelsea contacts, says that Mourinho has been given a stay of execution after a board meeting following the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,302 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

It is always nice to see when a bully gets his comeuppance. He is angling for a massive pay off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

It occurs to me that Jose has built many teams but never rebuilt one.

He's amazing at taking a decent budget and delivering a league.

However when things drop after the initial success, he's tended to be gone.

This drop is far earlier and more pronounced than anyone would have expected but it's new territory for Mourinho.

I think between that, his more abrasive character this time around, and the fact he's getting or has gotten literally nothing out of so many of the players he has signed, means that Jose has the very difficult task and new of motivating players he is absolutely reliant on.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,586 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Did Pedro play yesterday? After a high profile debut haven't heard much about him the last few weeks. Wonder if it'll work put for him. Falcao was a strange one, hasn't looked a player for a long time, maybe it was a favour to Mendes to get something further down the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,283 ✭✭✭gucci

Iv had a scan through here (apologies? Sunday morning focus isn't the best!) Of he was to leave or be sacked, who would Chelsea look for as replacement? Ancholotti?
    David Moyes? Sepp Blatter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

jaykay74 wrote: »
    Did Pedro play yesterday? After a high profile debut haven't heard much about him the last few weeks. Wonder if it'll work put for him. Falcao was a strange one, hasn't looked a player for a long time, maybe it was a favour to Mendes to get something further down the line.

Pedro came on, pretty hard for him to look good in a team full of under performing players though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

gucci wrote: »
    Iv had a scan through here (apologies? Sunday morning focus isn't the best!) Of he was to leave or be sacked, who would Chelsea look for as replacement? Ancholotti?
    You're being a bit obvious there; more subtlety required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

gucci wrote: »

I'm sure Ancelotti wouldn't come back because of the way he was treated last time.

Moyes? lol.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭Garzorico

There's more and more speculation about who will be Joses successor. I know paper doesn't refuse ink but no smoke without fire and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭hots

Was the worst performance I've had the misfortune to see live sadly. We created nothing and are just so poor on the ball all round. Massive shift in tactics and playing style needs to Happen.

Poor azpi having to play with the ten clowns on the pitch yesterday. The only one trying and performing every week. Ivan may not have been a direct cause yesterday but watching him off the ball he is out of position all the time. The amount of times he was waving at cahill to come and help was unreal.

Falcao was ****. No movement and for some reason Begovic was chucking kick outs at him too. Cahill was all over the place.

No idea why Willian was taken off. No idea why he brought matic off, we couldn't keep the ball at all and you sure as **** won't manage to keep in with only 1 midfielder. Oscar offered nothing and kept giving poor passes . Remy might have been involved twice for the entire time he was on the pitch.

As for sacking mou... I'm not waving his flag anymore anyway. The only thing that makes me think he has to stay is the lack of world class managers that could come in and fix it. Haven't watched the rant yet but I'm sure that won't have helped...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,504 ✭✭✭Masala

Wow Jose... Were we watching the same match???? Koeman was done out of 2 penalties in that match!!! So can't see the argument that ref is picking on Chelsea

And really... falcoa made a mess of that dive. How Jose sees that as a peno I cannot understand.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,586 ✭✭✭jaykay74

On the face of it looking at the results only it would make sense to give Mou the opportunity to turn things around and just try to target 4th for the season. The unknown is how many relationships are broken in the dressing room and whether they are playing for the manager anymore.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

GavRedKing wrote: »
    As long as Jose doesnt come out speaking garbage about how we deserved something ill be some what appeased.

Its bad enough when ye need to replace 1 defender but right now we need 3 of them.

Not only three of them, but three ready-to-go proven defenders. There's no way Mourinho will pick anyone he doesn't trust or is a 'young project'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

This is why i love this league.

We beat Arsenal and theyre trouncing Utd :pac: