Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chelsea Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2016

• Registered Users Posts: 7,603 ✭✭✭grumpymunster

GavRedKing wrote: »
    Someone pointed it out, theres very little between Delle Alli and RLC, the only thing is Alli is getting starts for Spurs. Now, Spurs dont have the quality of our CMs or our #10s but the thing is, our quality players have failed to perform this year too, so RLC should have got a shot and maybe he'd be a starter too.

He'd probably faeture for a few EPL teams at this stage of his development and hes only 19. As you said above, we've to nail him down to a long contract and hopefully the 45mins and goal and support from the fans n social media will sway him towards staying.

He could drop down a level or two, even to a lower EPL side and work up in the coming 3-4 years but I'd love if he stayed here in proved hes got what it takes to make it to the top for us.

Much as it pains me I admire Pochettino if Kane, Alli and Carrol played for us they would be out on loan and yea I think RLC is better than Alli (who is a fine player and even been in my Fantasy team since the first week of the season :p). Alli is very rash getting booked a lot but has come on leaps and bounds by getting game time and being trusted, being told you are going to get a run and being whipped at half time (when playing well) is not how you bring players on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Ah silly season Gav it is also reported no bid has been made for Teixeria

http://www.chelseafcblog.com/transfer-news/shakhtar-boss-no-chelsea-bid-alex-teixeira/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+chelseablog+%28Chelsea+FC+Blog%29

And that we are looking to sign an Amadou Diawara on the strength he has scored one goal all season (still right age profile dpending upon price I guess).

http://metro.co.uk/2016/01/11/chelsea-prepare-transfer-bid-for-amadou-diawara-report-5614711/?

I reckon we'll end up with Teixeria but it might drag on a bit, Shakthar have no reason to sell now but I think their president or someone high up said there was no plan to block any move if the right bid came in.

The way Falcao and Remy always seem to be crocked it would be handy to have another option whos played upfront a bit more than Pedro or Hazard who seem to be the fall back options, even though we've now got Bamford who'll probably end up on loan again and Traore, who should be on loan, capable of playing uo top.

Much as it pains me I admire Pochettino if Kane, Alli and Carrol played for us they would be out on loan and yea I think RLC is better than Alli (who is a fine player and even been in my Fantasy team since the first week of the season :p). Alli is very rash getting booked a lot but has come on leaps and bounds by getting game time and being trusted, being told you are going to get a run and being whipped at half time (when playing well) is not how you bring players on.

Nah, Sherwood deserves all the plaudits for Kane although given his other options were Adebayor or Soldado, it wasnt that difficult IMO. :o

I think Alli is a good player too but had RLC also started out in the lower leagues with a team like MK Dons he'd probably have a similar amount of games under his belt, I think Alli had nearly 60 senior games under his belt before moving to Spurs, the fact RLC has played about 1/10th of that at senior level and looking every bit as good is testament to the lads ability.

i've no doubt if he was playing League 1 or championship he'd have went to the EPL for a similar fee as Alli.

which is why we've to really take care of RLC.

So just browsing through the FA cup 4th round draw which is on today, we're the magical number 25, clearly a throw back to the magican Zola.

I'll be hoping for a home tie and avoid Spurs/Leicester, Utd, City and Arsenal. :o

So if Costa is not fit to play the Baggies along with Falcao, Remy and Hazard who plays up front?

Pedro is struggling big time to get to the pace of the game here so Cesc, Traore or Bamford for me we might as well throw Bamford in it is at least his specialist position. If we do win it will most likely be 1-0 so its our defence I would be more concerned with (as normal).

Cahill cannot play, I can't see a clean sheet with him in the side and I expect Obi back in CM.

Any takers?

So if Costa is not fit to play the Baggies along with Falcao, Remy and Hazard who plays up front?

Pedro is struggling big time to get to the pace of the game here so Cesc, Traore or Bamford for me we might as well throw Bamford in it is at least his specialist position. If we do win it will most likely be 1-0 so its our defence I would be more concerned with (as normal).

Cahill cannot play, I can't see a clean sheet with him in the side and I expect Obi back in CM.

Any takers?

Without sounding to disingenuous, its only West Brom and we're at home, we should win but we cant take anything for granted this year.

Id rest Costa unless hes 100%, with Hazard, Falcao and Remy also out it has to be up to Pedro, Kenedy, Cesc, Traore or Bamford to play up top.

I'd personally go with Bamford, if Bamford isnt even in the squad, you can bet your bottom dollar he'll be out on loan by the end of the window.

I'd also echo that Cahill cant start, it has to be Zouma and JT.

Saying that, the XI will probably be

Courtois
    Ivan Zouma JT Azp
    Mikel Matic
    Willian Cesc Pedro
    Costa

We know Remy, Hazard, Falcao are out, possibily Oscar and Costa too.

If Oscar is out we've a wealth of options including Cesc at #10 and Matic besides Mikel or even RLC might get a run, which is highly unlikely when we still need to win as many games as possible now.

Our biggest issue now is CF if Costa is out as hes scoring goals again and moving more freely picking less fights while still looking strong and dangerous.

Yea assuming Costa is a doubt I would pull him for the Everton game which should be more taxing and their defence is definately suspect a Costa feeling good should do well there. That being the case go with the above team switching Bamford for Costa or Cesc for Costa and RLC for Cesc. Though you can almost see if Costa is injured

TBo
    Ivan, Happy, JT, Dave,
    Obi, Matic
    Ram, Willian, Pedro
    Cesc

That being the case boring 0-0 all over it

Yea assuming Costa is a doubt I would pull him for the Everton game which should be more taxing and their defence is definately suspect a Costa feeling good should do well there. That being the case go with the above team switching Bamford for Costa or Cesc for Costa and RLC for Cesc. Though you can almost see if Costa is injured

TBo
    Ivan, Happy, JT, Dave,
    Obi, Matic
    Ram, Willian, Pedro
    Cesc

That being the case boring 0-0 all over it

A win will put us up one place to 13th depending on how Southampton do, if we beat WBA by 2 clear goals we'll leap frog them into 12th.

I think we'll get the job done anyway and given that Everton are travelling to City away and then us away in the next two games, we could be pushing the top 10 with 2 wins in the next 2 games.

What a time to be alive. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,829 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

What a time to be alive. :)

90's nostalgia!

Panthro wrote: »
    90's nostalgia!

Stop, looking for Chelsea on the old teletext/ceefax usually meant scrolling to the 2nd page of the league table. :o

Did we actually exist in the '90's????

Nope, Chelsea formed as a direct result of the New Roman Empire

Much like football didnt exist before BSkyB and the EPL there was no such thing as Chelsea FC before 2002.

I suppose its not bad for a 14 year old club to win so much in that time framce compared to the other established clubs.

Actually on the history note, theres not many other premier league teams other than Chelsea who have only have 1 permanent home.

Newcastle and Pool have, off the top of my head anyway. Other clubs have had to move and we ourselves tried that in recent times but it was blocked by the CPO, actually, if it wasnt for the CPO I actually suspect we'd probably have a new stadium by now or at least a stadum would be in development somewhere in the area.

In way I'm gutted we didnt get Battersea but I'm also deligted we'll get to play at the Bridge for the foreseeable future with the new stadium design.

Battersea would have been iconic for sure but it is South of the river so bah humbug to that.

Trying to find that much room in the centre of London is no easy feat anymore and I am delighted we are staying put, non too shabby for a team with no history not to be playing at the same ground for over 110 years.

B
    The Battersea proposal looked absolutely awesome.
    It would have been an epic fortress of football!

But sure, the Bridge revamp looks pretty solid too.

Battersea would have been more expensive in the long run I'd say considering the entire site is bloody massive and we'd probably had to have implemented lviing space and office space on the site as well as local amenities. There would have also been an upgrade on the local tube station to consider so even though are move, between construction and renting Wembley will probably cost us about 750m, I reckon Battersea would have been north of 1 billion.

We'll still have a unique stadium on our current site so I'm happy about that. :)

Just seen that Jonjo Shelvey coul dbe joining Newcastle for 12m.

Jaysus. :o

Messi won has 5th Balon Dor.

The man is a God.

Shame DWW is departed but sure he is excited of the prospect of Cobblers playing us

Ya, on paper its a very favourable draw for us anyway hopefully we've a passage to the 5th round now.

• GavRedKing wrote: »
    Ya, on paper its a very favourable draw for us anyway hopefully we've a passage to the 5th round now.

Don't diss the might of the MK Dons.

They knocked us out before 4-0 :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

What an u-21 game , Spurs 4 Chelsea 5

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    Don't diss the might of the MK Dons.

They knocked us out before 4-0 :o

Bradford did ok at thr Bridge last season as well.

RLC reportedly getting a new contract too.

Would be a big deal for the future for everyone involved.

peteeeed wrote: »

That is extremely bad news
    RLC reportedly getting a new contract too.

Would be a big deal for the future for everyone involved.

Hopefully will come to pass that will be extremely good news

Surprised Ivan got offered a new one.

More convinced than ever he has photo's apparently one year extension with an option of a second .....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

How did Ivanovic manage to get a new contract

Fair question also how did Ivan get a new contract and apparently Ola Aina is off to Arsenal where is the joined up thinking?

yeah that is worrying aina has so far refused a new contract, out of contract in the summer , free to leave

My only hope about the Ivan extension is that next year hes going to be very much back up to Azp and Rahman. We cant afford to be buying LBs for 20m every year, make a tiny loss and them and keep giving that donkey Ivan playing time and new contracts.

If Rahman isnt up to it, grand, but we've one of the best Fbs in the league playing out of position and doing an exceptional job, it only stands to reason he'd be quality in his natural position.

I get the reasoning behind keeping leaders in the team but that didnt happen with Cole or Lampard, who granted, left Chelsea when they were older than Ivan but its a very sentimental contract IMO and one I'd only truly support if hes back up RB.

On the back of an apparent deal for Ivan a deal for JT is surely on the table too? Who is much more important for Chelsea than Ivan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,752 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

LB has always been an issue for us, apart from Ashley Cole who was already proven. Del Horno? Zhirkov? Beletti?

duploelabs wrote: »
    LB has always been an issue for us, apart from Ashley Cole who was already proven. Del Horno? Zhirkov? Beletti?

Filipe Luis, came to us on the back of an impressive few years with Atletico Madrid and couldnt dislodge Azp at LB, which was more to do with Azp being immense rather than Luis being poor.

Luis was certainly a bit suspect on the defensive side of his game in terms of 50/50s and aerial defending but that wasnt his asset and he was never truly given a full tilt at LB, as I said, partly because Azp was playing very well and Ivan, was actually playing well too at RB, which seems like about a decade ago.

I fear but hope Rahman doesnt do what Luis does and ends up back in Germany as the guy has clear qualities as an attacking FB but Jose said it, he wanted at least 3 big defenders, Azp is I think 5'10, while not small it does make him a target for a big winger or CF for cross field balls or cross from the right wing.

I dont think Guus will tinker with the back four much either, it will only be Cahill, Zouma and JT rotating until May unless Ivan or Azp pick up injuries so Rahman can pretty much write off this year but I'm hoping he takes it on the chin and becomes stronger, so to speak, for next year and takes over at LB, having two natural FBs is something we've not had for the best part of 3 seasons now and our output own the left involves Hazard cutting in 90% of the time and not being backed up by Azp as he has to stay back because Ivan is caught about 50yards out of position on the opposite flank and takes an eternity to get back.

Guus press conference is scheduled for 1.15pm anyway.

Costa and Remy both fit

Hazards back but wont be rushed into the 1st team

Q to Hiddink: "Do you think he (Eden Hazard) needs an arm around him?
    Hiddink: I'm not his mother.

Q to Hiddink: "Do you think he (Eden Hazard) needs an arm around him?
    Hiddink: I'm not his mother.

#ThugLifeGuus.
    As Ludacris would say..."Moveeee Bitch get out dee wayyy!"

#ThugLifeGuus.
    As Ludacris would say..."Moveeee Bitch get out dee wayyy!"

You can tell hes got no pressure with the job, hes not expected to get anywhere near top 4, I know he keeps mentioning it but its probably only to save face.

I dont the board would have allowed Jose so many games if they expected Top 4 to be the objective, Guus is there to mend fences and offer a steady hand to the players and guide them up the table and possibily a cup run.

In fact, if we were to get top 4 from here I'd celebrate it as much as winning the UCL in 2012, its so far fetched it shouldnt and isnt likely to happen.

Finish top 8, be lovely to win the FA cup and go again next year.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,750 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Is there substance to the rumour Aina is leaving? Would be the height of stupidity but unsurprising, it's Chelsea. He's one of the most promising players from our youth set-up. I suppose if he's looking for first team starts, he's still a season or two away from that but he'll not get that at Arsenal either.

Theres a serious amount of talent in the ypuths but the rpoblem with chopping and changing managers is they never get played.

Although, Jose was pretty relcutant to play them too, we did buy Nathan and Kenedy who are dangerously close to Brown, Solanke in age, although Solanle and Brown are better equipped than Nathan, Kenedy could be a star for us and thats before we talk about Colkett, Musonda, Boga and even at FB, Aina and Dasilva.

This crop is much better than the crowd from about 7 years ago that dominated the youths with Mancienne, Bruma, MacEchran etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

In fairness with the Ivan extension, you don't go letting one of your last leaders go when the team has clearly suffered because of a lack of them. His role will be much reduced next season when we have more options at RB. I think he could be moved into the centre eventually.

Lukker- wrote: »
    In fairness with the Ivan extension, you don't go letting one of your last leaders go when the team has clearly suffered because of a lack of them. His role will be much reduced next season when we have more options at RB. I think he could be moved into the centre eventually.

Hes an even bigger liability at CB, I get what youre saying about leaders, players this year lacked any belief and character and it didnt help JT started so badly too and was being dropped and replaced at HT.

My hope is, he gets a 1 yr extension, is a last resort at CB and deputy RB and next year then himself and JT are left go, JT will get a coaching gig if he wants it and that would also keep players onside too as his influence would still be felt, a bit like the possible return of Drogba.

Actually, now that Remy and Costa are both fit and able to start tomorrow I'm pretty confident we'll get the win.

Team now picks itself with Hazard out injured IMO.

Courtois
    Ivan Zouma JT Azp
    Mikel Cesc
    Willian OScar Pedro
    Costa

Begovic
    Cahill
    Matic Ramires RLC
    Kenedy
    Remy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,752 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

duploelabs wrote: »

You can only laugh at some of those rumours. :D

Things you can buy for 12m,

1 Kurt Zouma
    1 Jonjo Shelvey

Just on big Kurt, hes already played 18 league this season, last year he was largely a sub and managed 15 appearances. At this stage it should be asked whos going to partner Kurt at CB, hes raw and lacks positional sense sometimes but hes got every physical attribute you could wish for in a CB.

With the price of CBs, hell, any player an EPL side wants, 12m could be a relative bargain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Hiddink says Remy is staying and also that we are in the market for another striker. Berahino being mentioned. He has potential for sure, but I don't see him featuring loads if I'm honest. I'd still have Remy a level above him and he can barely get a game although I expect him to play more under Hiddink, who seems better at rotating the players.