Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ireland vs Germany - 08/10/2015 - 19:45 - RTE2/SS1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,093 ✭✭✭Patser

Also from BBC, description of last second equaliser:

I'm still trying to get my head around that leveller for Poland. It was a dreadful free-kick that somehow made its way through the serried ranks of dark blue jerseys, hit the post, rolled along the line and who was first to meet it? The great Robert Lewandowski, of course.

What would the permutations mean if Scotland won?

Fecking delighted! Sweated buckets for the last 20 minutes

If Scotland won we would have needed a draw only. Something George Hamilton didn't seem to comprehend.

Now we most likely need to win away in Poland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,043 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Patser wrote: »
    You have to feel sorry for the Scots.

for Naismith? don't think so :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,395 ✭✭✭sjb25

Knex. wrote: »
    Nahhhhhh :D

Maybe a little........ But........ Nahhhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

rarnes1 wrote: »
    If Scotland won we would have needed a draw only. Something George Hamilton didn't seem to comprehend.

Now we most likely need to win away in Poland

Draw 2-2 and we go through, due to some odd rules.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Very Bored

Fecking delighted! Sweated buckets for the last 20 minutes

Irrelevant as Scotland and Gibraltar are both out.

If you meant had Scotland won tonight it would have left us only needing a point in Warsaw rather than a win.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

You have to feel sorry for the Scots. From BBC:

BBC Scotland reporter Chick Young at Hampden
    Posted at 21:44

"Every fan leaving the ground will feel the same. The heart and soul has been ripped from us. This was going to be my final campaign. That's the tin hat on that now. I feel absolutely torn apart and shattered. I won't sleep tonight. People will wonder how on earth that happened. It's always us."

Glorious failure.

I always thought they were exaggerating about that but it seems to be true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,787 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Guaranteed at least a playoff place if we won right?

Scotland can't catch us.

2 minutes away from finishing in 2nd place after tonight's games and Scotland still wouldn't be able to catch us.

A tough draw against Poland and it's automatic qualification.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

What time do we go out onto the streets whooping and shouting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,640 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭spock.

niallo27 wrote:
    Hang in don't the best third place team quailfy too. We have to be up there.

Unfortunately not.
    Hungary have 15 points.
    We have 12.

(Games against 6th seeds are excluded)

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

I think this result ensures one fiercely important.

After the putrid unambitious reign under Trap where no teams feared us by the end, we can now say we've made Lansdowne Road a fortress again. No team will ever come here thinking they can beat us. We've restored the fear of teams having to come here now that we lost under Trap.

I'm not saying we're a world class team all of a sudden, but the world class teams will respect us again, especially at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,109 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Credit to Randolph to his role in the win. Done zero wrong and showed Neuer how to get an assist :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Great result, didn't get to see the game btmut fair play to the lads. Not many can/will beat that German side.

Also, the big mental block of not having beaten a higher seed since Holland in 2001 is gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

You have to feel sorry for the Scots. From BBC:

BBC Scotland reporter Chick Young at Hampden
    Posted at 21:44

"Every fan leaving the ground will feel the same. The heart and soul has been ripped from us. This was going to be my final campaign. That's the tin hat on that now. I feel absolutely torn apart and shattered. I won't sleep tonight. People will wonder how on earth that happened. It's always us."
    To be fair, it used to always be the Welsh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,294 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

A draw or a win in Warsaw would have seen Ireland qualify automatically, everyone cheered when Poland scored which now means Ireland need to win or at least a 2-2 draw. A 1-1 draw will see Poland go through automatically

spock. wrote: »
    Unfortunately not.
    Hungary have 15 points.
    We have 12.

You sure on that?

Any link?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

luckyboy wrote: »
    What happens if it finishes 1-1 in Warsaw?

Poland go through on a better goal difference. They have +22, we have +13.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭Sideshow Mark

Angela Merkel, are you watching? Your boys took one hell of a beating!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,446 ✭✭✭glued

niallo27 wrote: »
    Hang in don't the best third place team quailfy too. We have to be up there.

We can't qualify as the best placed third team. Hungary are ahead by 3 points but if we beat Poland we'll automatically qualify anyway.

Faugheen wrote: »

After the putrid unambitious reign under Trap where no teams feared us by the end, we can now say we've made Lansdowne Road a fortress again. No team will ever come here thinking they can beat us. We've restored the fear of teams having to come here now that we lost under Trap.

I'm not saying we're a world class team all of a sudden, but the world class teams will respect us again, especially at home.

Shhhhhhhhhhh.

Don't spoil it by mentioning T**p.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Kenjataimu

My man of the match is Glenn Whelan for getting booked in the last match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Unfortunately not.
    Hungary have 15 points.
    We have 12.

Yes Greece being **** ****s everything up

• Administrators Posts: 54,110 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

internet here is shakey, cant get on to BBC. can someone post a table

Edit: ah feck you anyway Nib

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Someone's not happy...

365010.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

• Registered Users Posts: 2,304 ✭✭✭madcabbage

Kenjataimu wrote: »
    My man of the match is Glenn Whelan for getting booked in the last match.

Should get himself booked more often if that's the case!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,826 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

We just beat the Germans, has anyone updated their wiki page yet?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,093 ✭✭✭Patser

If we do make it, is a group of England, Wales, Norn Iron and Us possible (all in different seeded pots?) ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,516 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Unfortunately not.
    Hungary have 15 points.
    We have 12.

Not sure if it makes a difference but the bolded bit is wrong. Its 6th place finishers, not sixth seeds.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Why do we qualify if it's 2-2 against Poland? Is it head to head on away goals?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

We can qualify as best 3rd place too, right? Is there too many permutations?

The Germans were blowing alot of gas out tonight, just like their cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

CQ0sdggWgAA10X3.jpg:large

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

antodeco wrote: »
    Why do we qualify if it's 2-2 against Poland?

Goes to head to head
    Was 1-1 in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭Brian017

antodeco wrote: »
    Why do we qualify if it's 2-2 against Poland? Is it head to head on away goals?

Correct

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Whosthis

Headshot wrote: »

I think the only 3rd place team that can't outdo us is Albania. The rest are all still in with a chance.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Got to commend the players for the fantastic game management in injury time. When I saw 4 minutes I thought that it'd be spent camped in our own box. But 3 of the 4 minutes were spent comfortably in the German corner. It's absolutely beautiful when you're hanging on to a lead and you can spend so long in the opposition corner :D

• Registered Users Posts: 884 ✭✭✭zefer

Eamonn Dunphy "he's my love child" talking about wes hoolohan 😀😀

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

How far up in the rankings will we now go?

20 places? More?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Faugheen wrote: »

Lets not get ahead of ourselves here or try to reverse history on the back of a cracking result tonight.

Trapattoni guided us through the 2010 World Cup campaign and 2012 European Championships campaign losing only 1 home game in groups that contained Italy and Russia (2 if you include the France game in the playoffs). That's a four year period of competitive action.

It went sour at the end and it was time for a change, but there's no need to try and belittle his achievements with us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,826 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

It was so n the news that the world is supposed to end today.
    That makes us world champions...heh hemm.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Very Bored

Headshot wrote: »
    You sure on that?

Any link?

2-2 or a higher draw just confirmed on Sky as qualification for us. F**k that though, we need to go out to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Bail that out, yah ***** :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,238 ✭✭✭✭briany

Pleasure overload is all I can say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭spock.

Not sure if it makes a difference but the bolded bit is wrong. Its 6th place finishers, not sixth seeds.

Oh yeah sorry that's what I meant.

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭LordAwesome

This is our greatest victory over the Germans since WWII.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Very Bored wrote: »
    F**k that though, we need to go out to win.

Definitely worth giving it a go. We've nothing to lose really, if we're defeated we make the playoffs anyway. It's really not in O'Neill's nature though. It'd take a dramatic shift in his style to go for it.